BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers heating and air conditioning sales, repair and service, duct cleaning and specializing in oil, gas and electric furnaces.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dana's Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dana's Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dana's Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 10/07/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dana Pieze, President Ms. Donna Pieze, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dana Pieze, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Donna Pieze, Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Duct Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dana's Heating Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2161 SE Spring Creek Rd

    Port Orchard, WA 98367 (253) 851-5196 (888) 290-7670

  • PO Box 607

    Burley, WA 98322 (360) 876-7670


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called **** out to check heating system that was not working.The guy did some checks and replace a relay part I believe that was what it was called. Anyway he made the repair and I paid him 278.27 and he left. During the nite my wife woke up to the smell of overheating burning.This was on the 20th of feb.So on the 21st my wife called and told them that we stll had the same problem which is why they were called out.They said someone would be out.I then recieved a call alittle later stating the worker said he condemed the furence and they would not fix it. But they would send someone out to give us a quote for a new system.After taking to other company's for different est.We were told he should have told me thathe was condeming the furence instead of letting me put more money into it.He told me that the system was outdated and who ever worked on it before did a few things incorrect but not a word about condemed.They didn't even check to see if there part was bad.She just told me the guy was condeming it.Had we been told it was in to bad of shape to fix we would have saved the money for the new one.Which we are haveing installed.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I believe we should have been told upfront not to fix the furence as it needed to be condemed before we put money into it they are the pro's and should have been upfront with us. WE should be refuned the part price.All money over the house call fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/10) */ 03.10.2014 RE: Case #XXXXXXXX Response to complaint, On Feb. 20,2014 our technician went to the homeowners house at about 8:30-9:00AM. The unit is a seventeen year old Janitrol furnace that the homeowner said the blower would not come on. Our technician found the run capacitor for the motor was out of spec and rusted. He also noted the unit did not meet code for the gas flex entering the unit and the incoming power line was an extension cord cut off and wired to the furnace. Our technician advised the homeowner about the conditions, that the capacitor needed to be replaced for a temporary fix, and stated that no more repairs would be done to this unit by our company. The technician also recommended a Comfort Advisor to make a proposal for replacement of the furnace, which the homeowner declined at this time. Yes, it is true that when the homeowner called the next day our company said we would not work on the unit. Our technician says he spent ten minutes or so explaining the situation to the home owner. Please see below for a copy of the technicians invoice page of his work order which shows the diagnosis, repair, and recommendations. It also shows the billing of $109.00 for a diagnostic and $147.00 for the repair, payment $300.27 cash (our technician gave $22.00 change), and homeowners signature. As a general rule in situations like this, if a homeowner requests a comfort advisor and purchases HVAC equipment from us, our company works with them to credit a portion of the diagnostic/repair fees that were charged. Our intent was to get the homeowner heat for their comfort. We believe our technician performed the call with good practices and was professional in his work. We spoke to the homeowner Friday 03.07.2014 and agreed upon the refund of the capacitor repair $147.00 plus tax. This will be processed and delivered Monday 03.10.2014. The homeowner says they are happy with this. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Frist of all we are very happy that they returned the money for the part. Which they did take.I have the orignally reciept that they sent and no where is it stated that wee had all the problems they now state.And we did get an est.from them for a new unit.I still believe that they should have a least checked the part to see if it failed. But threw all this we found a wonderful heating co that installed anew unit.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My heat pump relay switch went out from hard starts according to Dana's Heating. They replaced this switch for a 600 bill. Later the same year my heat pump stopped working. When they investigated it was claimed that the system had a short and showed me the wires. The funny thing is they are the only ones to work on the system. I had them out several times just for maintenance since they installed the system. This caused my motherboard to fail on the heat pump. They charged me for a motherboard even though others companies in the area latter informed me that it should have been under warranty. That was 1000 bill to fix it from Dana's Heating. I recently got a power bill of 500 from ****** and they said another one was on its way. The increase in power was the same time Dana's heating did the repair. I had them back and now they are saying that my compressor on my heat pump is shot. They gave me a ball park figure of 2500-3500 depending on parts. I have made a dozen calls to them and their management but was left with excuses and promises of calling me back. Now after four days I am still waiting for their quote and time estimate to fix it. The amount of money I lost due to their spotty workmanship from their supervisor technician is incredible. I could have replaced the system for the price it has cost me. Heat pumps are supposed to save you money unless you have Dana's heating involved. I have called around and found plenty of other company who work on heat pumps saying they could do the repair for 1000 less than Dana's.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix the Heat pump that is failing due to their work. I have paid them for the work witch they guaranteed it worked but now they are trying to extort more money out of me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/05) */ Response to Case Number XXXXXXXXX from Dana's Heating: The heat pump in question was installed in June of '08 to the home's previous owner. The first and only maintenance on the system that we show in our records was performed on Feb. 14, 2011. This is also the first record we show for the current homeowner. On July 11, 2012, we replaced a contactor for an affordable fee of $272.59 plus tax (contrary to the $600.00 as stated by the homeowner.) The next visit we show was on Nov. 23, 2013 when our technician found a short in the system and traced it to the defrost board. This was replaced for $861.00 (contrary to the $1000.00 the homeowner stated). The time separating the repairs was over sixteen months (if the heat pump had failed later that year, then some time must have passed between when it failed and when we were called). The current home owner says he was told by others that the defrost board should have been under warranty. We have checked online and through the local distributor and have confirmed the defrost board was not under warranty at the time of service. The homeowner says he waited four days for a response from us on the compressor. His first call to us was 01.13.2014 at 7:33AM. I returned his call at 11:06AM that day and explained there might be a number of reasons why a system would use a larger amount of electricity and would like to send a tech out to verify set-up and the new defrost board. Our tech was there late on the fourteenth and found the compressor pulling locked rotor amps, which normally means a failed compressor. He was at the jobsite from 4:23-5:23PM for his diagnosis. On the fifteenth, our parts person located the parts, verifying warranty (when a home is sold it can have some effect on the warranty terms), etc. As a matter of course, when we change a compressor, we routinely change a few other components as there can be a higher than normal failure rate of these after a major repair like this. We also believe it best to test and replace refrigerant as necessary. Our parts person called in sick on the sixteenth, so when the homeowner called, the CSR that answered the phone was unable to quickly help him. We were in a team leader meeting and as soon as that was over, we called the home owner and gave him our information. His statements that he called a dozen other companies and they would charge a thousand dollars less may not include the complete parts list and/or refrigerant (which the warranty would not cover). However, to do the best we can in this circumstance, we took the additional items out and quoted a similar price (noting to him that those items would not be in the service). The homeowner was still upset, so **** (owner of Dana's Heating & Cooling) agreed that in this instance, to satisfy our customer that we would offer to split the cost with him. After relaying this to the homeowner, he agreed to have us do the repair. We received the parts and our technician was dispatched to the home to perform the repair. When he opened the unit, he noticed a burned wire on the start components had failed which would be a reason for the compressor to pull locked rotor amps. Our technician called us with this information. After some discussion we decided that if the homeowner was ok with this approach, and it worked, we would do the start component repair and a full tune-up on the unit at no charge to the home owner. If this did not work then we would proceed with the original repair. The home owner agreed to this approach. The start component repair worked and the unit has been running well since. Upon completion, our technician asked if the home owner was satisfied and the homeowner's response was yes. He also said he would retract his negative review. Apparently on or about 01.16.2014 the homeowner also posted a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Upon finding out about the complaint and seeing that the review does not appear to have been retracted, we called the home owner. He states the heat pump is still working well and has had no problems since the repair was performed. We asked about the retraction and he said he had done it (we still see no change). We then brought up the BBB complaint and he said he would take it back when they got back to him. In review, we believe the situation had been handled in a satisfactory manner, and the homeowner is satisfied.

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service