BBB Accredited Business since

All About Air Heating & Cooling

Phone: (360) 254-3008 Fax: (360) 254-3018 118 NE 88th Ave, Vancouver, WA 98664

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers heating and cooling equipment, sales, and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All About Air Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All About Air Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All About Air Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Lyndon Hewitt, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lyndon Hewitt, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 118 NE 88th Ave

    Vancouver, WA 98664 (360) 254-3008


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the same young guy take a look at our furnace twice. The first time he did was before we bought our home. He told the sellers that the furnace was in great condition.Our furnace broke down 3 days after we closed on our home. The same young man came over and lit the furnace with a lighter after I left the room and added two unattached wires to the furnace so it would run non stop all day. There was no way I could turn off the furnace unless I removed the cover and pulled the wires out.Fortunately, my family knew someone trustworthy who had worked on their furnaces. This trustworthy man came over, pull out the unattached wires. He told me that if he had not pulled these wires out, my furnace would have most likely heated the house to 90 degrees and we would have had to call the All About Air Heating & Cooling and had someone come out to turn off the furnace. All About Air Heating & Cooling would have charged another $96 pull out two wires that they hooked up to our furnace knowing that our heater would not have turned off.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for this service. All About Air Heating & Cooling did not inform me that they had manually lit the fuse and set up our furnace to not turn off. We had to pay for a second company and pull out the two unattached wires to turn off our furnace.

Business Response: Response by Timeline:

2/16 All About Air Service Technician performed maintenance and inspection of furnace for pre-sell of property, requested by existing home owner (seller), ***** ******.
- Service Technician performed basic system inspection and cleaned equipment as affirmed by signed invoice/Service Ticket #*****.
- At time of inspection and maintenance, the system which is approximately 20 years old, was identified as “Ok at this time.”

3/11 the new property owner, ***** and ***** ********, contacted All About Air with a “no heat” service call where our Service Technician found the ignition control board to be faulty, which was resolved by adjusting the wiring until ignition success – Service Technician completed testing and was not able to replicate the problem.
- New owners were informed of the faulty ignition control board and advised that ****** (furnace manufacturer) has discontinued most of the replacement parts because of the age of the furnace. However, the Service Technician was able to locate a replacement ignition control board in Clackamas, OR with an estimated repair cost of $600.00.
- Service Technician also recommended upgrading the equipment as soon as possible.
- Home owner opted out of repairs or replacement options and paid for service call.

In regards to the comment of “and lit the furnace with a lighter after I left the room” - Based on the design of the furnace pulse combustion chamber, it is physically impossible to ignite the burner with a lighter, which is sparked by the sparkplug internally. Our Service Technician did not use a lighter at any time with the customer in the room, or after they had left the room.

We do recognize there may have been a human error by our Service Technician on 3/11/2015 for the repair call. We cannot positively identify the physical error, since our Service Technician would have corrected such error on site and not left any problems unattended on purpose and we were not given a 2nd opportunity to correct any errors.  The Service Technician left the property with the furnace in working order and running, which in his domain resolved the service request to customer satisfaction. There was no act of setting up the furnace so that it would “not turn off.”

At no point did we ever hear back from the property owner with any complaint that something may have been wrong or a request to come resolve a problem.

The BBB complaint notification was the first time in which we were aware of any issues that had come from the service visit.

Action to Resolution:
- The Owner of All About Air, ***** ******, immediately contacted the customer by phone to inquire about the problem with the furnace and the complaint received – an apology was given to the customer and a promise to refund the service fee was expressed.

- All About Air “Resolved” this issue by refunding  the total amount of $96.48 to new home owners, ***** & ***** ******** by credit card reimbursement on 3/13/2015.

It is unfortunate that we were not given the opportunity to resolve this issue up front. With a single call to All About Air we would have gladly come back out at no charge to review and correct the error. In no way was any party at All About Air negligent by acts of dishonestly or untrustworthiness.

As a trusted and family owned and operated local Vancouver, WA business All About Air expresses great concern over the fact that we were not given the opportunity to resolve this before a formal Better Business Bureau complaint was filed (also a negative Google Review posted on our page). We have a long-standing A+ rating with the BBB and 4.5/5 Stars with 41 Reviews on Google – in the last year alone, all reviews have been  5 stars and we are proud of our stellar service to our customers and their equipment.

If you have any questions, concerns, or comments please contact the All About Air family at ***** ******** or by email at *****

***** ******
Owner, All About Air Heating & Cooling

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

All About Air Heating & Cooling told the sellers of the home we were buying that the furnace was working. On February 16, 2015, they
documented that the “operation of the unit was tested.” (Can send copy of receipt from seller)

Seventy-two hours after we closed on the home (March 6, 2015), the furnace quit working. We had All About Air Heating & Cooling
come out to take a look at the furnace on March 11, 2015. They jumped the furnace to facilitate consistent air flow. They also documented that the ignition control board needed to be replaced. (Can send copy of receipt)

Two days later, we had a different company come out and take a look at the furnace. This company discovered that the heat ex-changer was cracked, turned off the gas, and condemned the furnace. (Can send copy of receipt) The furnace should not have been turned on by All About Air Heating & Cooling because it was most likely leaking carbon monoxide throughout the house with the cracked heat ex-changer.  There was no way that the heat ex-changer could have cracked in less than 48 hours.

My grandfather states that All About Air Heating & Cooling’s license should be revoked. We bought this home when I was 6 months pregnant. We mostly likely had carbon monoxide leaking throughout our new home trusting All About Air Heating & Cooling first report that the furnace work. We were also without heat during a cold month of the year for 21 days.

Because of All About Air Heating & Cooling incompetence or negligence, we had to pay $7,500 for a new furnace. This cost should have
been worked out in our negotiation with the seller after the first inspection on March 11, 2015.

We would like All About Air Heating & Cooling to cover about ¾ of the cost of our new furnace. The amount we would like to be reimbursed
by them is $5,500.


****** ********

Business Response:

Ms. *****:

This is in response to Ms. ********’s last statement.

All About Air was originally hired by ***** ****** not by
Ms. ********. We have attached the February 16, 2015 invoice. All About Air was
hired to determine whether or not the furnace was working and perform routine
maintenance. A technician went out, inspected the furnace, found it to be
working, and performed routine maintenance. All About Air invoiced *** ******
$204.88 and he paid this amount.

Almost a month later, on March 11, 2015, Ms. ******** called
All About Air because her furnace had quit working. We have attached the March
11, 2015 invoice. A technician went out and found that the ignition control
board was faulty. The technician did not have a replacement part because the
unit was nearly 20 years old and the parts were out of production. The
technician was able to locate an upgraded part that cost $600.00. The
technician adjusted the wires so the furnace would ignite but recommended that
Ms. ******** upgrade as soon as possible. Ms. ******** opted not to have the
upgrade and paid All About Air $96.48 for the service call.

Ms. ******** stated that the technician “lit the furnace
with a lighter after I left the room.” This is impossible because the unit is
sparked by an internal sparkplug. We have attached a print out of the furnace
pulse combustion chamber. Further, we do not know how Ms. ******** could have
observed the technician doing this if she was out of the room as she stated.

The next time we heard from Ms. ******** was when she filed
the BBB complaint and demanded the refund of $96.48. We did not receive any
other calls regarding the furnace. The owner of the company, ***** ******,
personally called Ms. ******** and after listening to her offered, by way of
compromise to pay her the amount she originally claimed. She accepted and All
About Air reimbursed her card $96.48 on March 13, 2015. Immediately after this,
Ms. ******** left a negative review about our company on Google. We have
attached the review.

Ms. ******** states that she had another company come out
and condemn the furnace because it had a cracked heat exchanger. Please note
that Ms. ******** has not produced the name of the technician or company and we
have not seen any work orders or invoices. Even if the heat exchanger was
cracked that could have easily happened after All About Air inspected it as the
unit was 20 years old. After this, Ms. ******** increased her original demand
of $96.48, which All About Air paid, to $5,500.00, 2/3 the cost of a new

In short, Ms. ******** cannot claim breach of contract for
work All About Air did for
*** ****** when he owned the home. She hired them for $96 to get her furnace
working which they did. She refused to upgrade the control panel. The heat
exchanged then cracked. This is common for a 20 year old unit. Out of good
faith All About Air refunded her money then she turned around and demanded
$5,500.00. All About Air has no further obligation to Ms. ********. This is our
final response. Thank you for your time and consideration.