BBB Accredited Business since

Air Masters Inc

Phone: (360) 895-2527 3210 SE Mile Hill Dr # 101, Port Orchard, WA 98366 http://www.airmastersheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating, ventilation and air conditioning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Air Masters Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Air Masters Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Air Masters Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Krecker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Krecker, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Generators Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Air Masters Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3210 SE Mile Hill Dr # 101

    Port Orchard, WA 98366 (360) 895-2527

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had extensive water damage at our home. In January 2014, we paid for what we believed to be a full system diagnostic to submit to our insurance carrier for payment. We also explained to Air Masters that we were experiencing very high heating bills. Air Masters arrived and performed only a partial diagnostic but that fact was not disclosed to us at that time. Air Masters recommended replacing the TXV and contactor for $1439.19. The servicing was done and our insurance reimbursed us for the repair. Our heating bills did not significantly decrease. In May 2014 when attempting to use the cooling function it would not cool the house. We contacted Air Master for a diagnostic. They now claimed that they only performed a partial diagnostic in January. That we needed to pay $1107.60 to fix another TXV. Also they admitted in January they had overlooked cleaning the drain plug for the system resulting in water backup. We disputed the cost for the repair believing that it should have been disclosed to us earlier that there were other potential issues with the system. An individual identified as one of the owners of the business ***** spoke to us. He maintained this wasn't his problem and more than likely was caused by whatever company installed the system originally. He also strongly discouraged us from having another business come in and do another diagnostic. We checked our records and learned that *****'s company Air Masters installed the system in 2002. We have a detailed record of this fact. We called and left a message for ***** informing him of this fact. We had ******** ******* & ******* do a diagnostic for us. They determined that the cause was not the TXV but a clogged biflow dryer. According to **** from Air Masters the biflow dryer was replaced in January 2014 and is under warranty. It appears that Air Masters did not want to honor the warranty and they intended to charge us for another TXV that we didn't need because then they could replace the bi-flow dryer that was under warranty without any cost to them.

Desired Settlement: A full diagnostic of the system, replacement of parts that are failing or potentially may fail as well as our out of pocket expenses relating to repairs/diagnostics of the system and increased costs of running the system.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2014/05/29) */ The partial diagnostic as *** **** describes, is where our conversation starts. When we were asked to come out in January 2014 we diagnosed a bad heating thermal expansion valve and after replacing it, did a full heating diagnosis. But, unfortunately, no one can effectively diagnose the cooling mode of a heat pump in winter, when outdoor temps are low - as any heating company will attest to. But all attempts to explain this to *** ****, seems to have failed. I told him that I would be happy to write a letter to his insurance company explaining this because he was upset that this new diagnosis for the system not working in the cooling mode, now that the weather has gotten warm it would not be covered as the claim has been closed. He asked what might cause the problem we are seeing and I gave him some hypothetical situations, one being that most companies don't use proper refrigeration piping practices which creates dirt and debris inside the system, not knowing at that time that we sold and installed the system for a previous owner in 2002. In subsequent conversations with *** ****, I told him that I would be happy to work with him to find out what was wrong now and use those findings to decide whether or not his new problem was related to what we did in January and if they were-there would be no charge. But *** **** told me he did not want us to come back and that he was going to get another company to come out and diagnose the problem and upon doing this *** **** called me back and said they found the liquid line drier that we installed in January was plugged and questioned whether or not we changed it at all. I told *** **** I would immediately go to his home and look at the drier to see if it was new or not and in doing so I found that it was one of ours. At that time I told *** **** that I would like to have one of our technicians come out and double check the bad drier diagnosis, as in my 38 years of being in the HVAC trade I have never seen a drier plug up that fast. If it was plugged I wanted to cut it open (as it is a sealed unit) to determine what on the inside plugged it up. Then proceed from there, as to whether or not, there would be a charge. But, *** **** insisted on having the other company come back and change the drier. At this time, I informed *** **** that getting another company involved will only compound the problem and void any warranty on the January repair that carries a one (1) year warranty. But he insisted on getting the other company involved. So I said OK and shook the man's hand and left. *** **** is disgruntled because the repairs as of late will not be covered by the claim he had open in January and that is what I told him was his problem not mine. The bi flo drier did not fail, it did its job, if in fact it is plugged, something caused it to plug. But now that another company is involved, who will know- who did what. - Sincerely, ****** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The respondent has completely ignored the fact that his technician **** told us upon inspection of our heat pump that in order for the unit to be fixed we needed a TXV valve (which was not covered by our warranty), not simply a drier (which would have been covered since **** installed the faulty drier four months earlier). This was disingenuous on his part because upon both the inspection by the technician from ******** ******* and ******* as well as *****, owner of Air Masters the fact that the drier was plugged on the cooling end was easily observed. Upon seeing the plugged drier, ***** acknowledged that the drier parts and labor were covered by an Air Masters service warranty but he was certain that there was more of a problem that just the plugged drier. ***** said he wanted to saw the drier in half to see what was plugging it. This struck us as very odd and to our knowledge this is not a common practice. ***** explained that in his opinion the drier couldn't have failed so quickly and he was sure our system had to have some major issue that wouldn't be covered under the warranty. ***** said he thought it was filled with sludge and that must have caused the failure. At no time did he entertain the possibility that his technician could have improperly installed the drier, which appears to be the case. ***** made it clear in no uncertain terms that we would be paying out of our pockets if they looked into the issue with the drier because it couldn't be the technician's fault or a faulty drier since in his opinion that is so very rare. He at no time suggested an acid test to see if the system was acidic and created sludge which then plugged the drier. Due to *****'s refusal to entertain the possibility that Air Masters could have done anything wrong regarding the installation of the drier back in late January, we were not comfortable allowing ***** or his people to do any further work. We again contacted ******** ******* and ******* and arranged for a technician to come out and replace the bad drier. At this time we learned that ***** had called both a technician and the owner of ******** ******* and ******* telling them not to work with us. He made disparaging remarks about the two of us and our professions. This was very unsettling for us to hear and again showed how unprofessionally ***** has conducted his business. The following day ******** ******* and ******* conducted an acid test on our system and it was negative. Then, they installed a new drier. The system has worked perfectly since the installation of the drier. There is no question that the drier was the problem, that it should have been covered by warranty and finally that Air Masters was trying to cheat us by making us pay for a repair we did not need. We have saved the drier and can prove this is the case, if need be. ***** apparently thinks he can negate his warranty because we had another business examine his technician's work and diagnosis. He does not have that authority and we would challenge him to prove otherwise. Air Masters engaged in deceptive business practices and we caught them. At the very least they should apologize but clearly they should also pay us for our out of pocket expenses pertaining not only to this latest repair of the drier they installed but also as to the faulty repair in late January. Additionally, ***** had the nerve to try and make us pay a $108.65 service charge (after we made our complaint to the BBB) for the misdiagnosis of our heat pump that his technician **** made last month. We were astounded after all of this hassle and deception that ***** sent us a bill. **** repeatedly said there would be no charge because his service call was under warranty due to the fact that he hadn't cleaned our drain plug. Additionally, ***** has now acknowledged the real cause of our problem was his technician's installation of the drier in late January and his warranty covers parts and labor. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The respondent Air Masters does not deny anything we have alleged in our complaint. Air Masters has admitted that they gave us a false diagnosis of the issue with our heat pump. They admit they refused initially to honor our warranty for the service they conducted (installing the faulty drier in question) in January only agreeing to possibly honor it after cutting open the drier which we refused to allow them to do. They do not deny that they demanded that we pay them over $1200 to fix a part that was under warranty that they should have fixed without cost to us. They do not deny that they actually contacted the business we engaged (to get a proper diagnosis of the heat pump and then repair it) and asked them on multiple occasions not to work with us as well as making personal, disparaging remarks about us. Further, Air Masters does not deny that they attempted to bill us for work covered by their warranty in the amount of $108.65. Simply because Air Masters alleges others are happy with their work does not erase what appears to be the use of deceptive business practices on their part. We believe that if those comments ***** has posted on his website are genuine, then the public is largely unaware of how Air Masters truly conducts business. This is what is continually being made evident to us especially in light of *****'s latest response where he says he will only pay our bill from the other company after he decides if it was fair. We have never filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau before this one. We are simply trying to make the public aware of how we were treated by Air Masters so that these deceptive business practices cease. If Air Masters wishes to rectify this situation they have created, we demand that they reimburse us for the defective work we paid them for in January in the amount of $1439.19 (Repairs) plus $206.48 (Maintenance). Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/07/03) */ Mr. **** continues to make unfounded accusations, which has been the case since the beginning when we first spoke on or about 5/19/14 where his concern was "why did we not check the system in cooling when we there in January 2014." It seems no matter what I tell Mr. **** he insists on turning it around to suit him. Again I told Mr. **** when I was at his house that I would be happy to come out a pull the drier out and cut it open, which is a customary practice, to see what was happening and to make a determination from there where to go. But he would not give me the opportunity to come up with a scenario as to what happened-whether it was a misdiagnosis or something in the system causing the drier to plug up. I explained this to him, when I visited with him at his home on 5/22/14. But Mr. **** insisted on getting someone else involved with the intention of trying to get me to pay for it without the opportunity of being able to make any wrong doing on our part right from the beginning. Mr. **** has insisted on being part of the problem and not the solution, as far as, not having the authority to negate my warranty-as the owner of this company, I have the authority to set any policy I choose. In fact, it is usual and customary practice throughout this industry that getting another company involved in working on the same repair voids any and all warranties on that repair. As far as the $108.00 charge, it was sent out to cover ****'s trip charge before we had heard from the Better Business Bureau, again, more efforts by Mr. **** to make us look bad, more energy being put into the problem instead of the solution. Mr. **** never paid us anything nor would he let us do anything, so he is out nothing from us, since the repair in January which obviously took care of that problem or we would have heard from him sooner. With regard to my conversation with ******** ******** from time to time we have discussed problem scenarios with one another, as I have always had a good rapport with the owner and Mr. **** situation was compared to past scenarios, but I left it up to them to do what they thought was right. My only intention in calling was to try and get some input from the tech they originally sent out, as to what he was seeing so as to formulate what to do for him. But his only effort is to call me a bad player and to stand in my way. Also, I have not acknowledged the cause of any problem; Mr. **** refused me the opportunity to gather any facts by not allowing me to come back and turning the job over to ******** ******** Mr. **** keeps spouting technical facts which are incorrect, they are incorrect because he is not qualified to make them-he is not a certified HVAC mechanic. I recently tried to phone Mr. **** several times to invite him and his wife to my office, in hopes we might discuss the situation rationally face to face and to get to a point where we could move forward. But he obviously has caller ID and is not taking my calls. I also left a message, asking him to call me back, but to no avail. Mr. **** has tried to intimidate me several times by informing me that he and his wife are both attorneys, obviously to get me to give into his demands, from conversation 1; Mr. ****' comments have been both condescending and accusatory. I have done everything I can do in an effort to right the situation. But Mr. **** stands in my way at every turn with deliberate and vindictive attacks. I feel there is nothing further I can do and as a result, we request the arbitration process offered by the BBB. From Mr. **** last response, the following is my point by point response to Mr. **** allegations: Our young tech, ****, did misdiagnose the problem on the no cooling call on 5/15/14 where the problem was not a faulty cooling TXV but a plugged drier that was put in when we changed out the heating TXV back in January of this year. He has since received further training on the proper diagnosis of a bad thermal expansion valve. I do not admit to refusing any warranty, as I was never given a chance to find out whether it was a warranty issue or not. As far as a faulty drier, well that is just some more of Mr. **** uneducated assumptions. The drier did its job. It stopped whatever he has floating around in his system. My reason for cutting it open was to try and get a look at what plugged it up in the first place, which is a usual and customary practice, which any good HVAC tech will attest to and that I used to teach when I taught at *********. Tech in Tacoma. Mr. **** alleges that the $1,200 estimate was a warranty issue. Again, he is confused, that was for the misdiagnosed cooling TXV that he elected to not have us do and had nothing to do with the heating TXV we replaced in January. Heat pumps have two metering devices one in the heating mode and one in the cooling mode. Changing the drier is just good measure when opening a system and exposing it to atmosphere, it is nothing more than a filter. As far as contacting ******** ******* and making disparaging remarks, see previous rebuttal dated 6/12/14. As far as the $108.65 invoice he was sent to cover ****'s trip and vehicle charge, again see previous rebuttal. As far as our customer satisfaction letters we do not allege to have them, they are part of this document and on our website for anyone to see. As far as the deceptive practices that Mr. **** alleges, well they are purely his own fabrication. As far as the demand to reimburse them for defective work back in January of $1439.19 and the $206.48 maintenance fee, well that was not defective work. Mr. **** heat pump worked fine for the rest of the heating season and he received a maintenance for the $206.48 that he was charged. Sincerely, ****** ******* Air Masters, Inc.