BBB Accredited Business since

Virginia Mason Medical Center

Phone: (206) 223-6600 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 9th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101 http://www.virginiamason.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers physician health care services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Mason Medical Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Mason Medical Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Mason Medical Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1920 Business started locally: 01/01/1920
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Gary Kaplan, MD/CEO Jennifer Bradley, Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jennifer Bradley, Director
Principal: Mr. Gary Kaplan, MD/CEO
Business Category

Health & Medical - General

Alternate Business Names
Virginia Mason Dept of Plastic Surgery

Additional Locations

  • 1100 9th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 223-6938

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (206) 223-6938(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have now received and paid 4 bills for the same service. Called twice now to remedy issue. Talked to customer service today and informed again that they will correct. Service on 4/12/14 for an ultrasound. First bill I have is dated 7/20/2014 for $312 and it was paid on 7/31 Bill amount was $312 paid amount was $312 Second bill came on 7/26/14 showing $108 charge pending with insurance for this same service. Third bill came on 8/17/14 that included other services and showed the $312 payment pending with insurance. I was uninsured at the time so not sure how this could be. I paid for the other services on is bill Fourth bill came on 8/23 for $108 that was the price if it were billed through my previous insurance carrier. This bill never should have come. I paid it anyway. Fifth bill came on 9/14/14 for $312. I called on 9/22 and they told me they would correct the issue. Sixth bill came 10/12 for $624 now for this same service. Called today and they told me again they will fix the problem and send me an updated bill. This process is completely unacceptable and I believe intentionally criminal. This would have never been called out and caught if not for me tracking. They would have sent me to collections for false bills. This practice must be stopped and the general public must be notified of their practices.

Desired Settlement: Refund for overpaid expenses $108 plus interest. A complete review of their billing practices by an outside agency at Virginia Mason expense to ensure that this is not an isolated incident as it feels like this billing practice is policy. full admission of guilt.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/31) */ October 30, 2014 *** ***** ***** *** *** *** S **** Seattle, WA XXXXX Re: *****, ******* Account: XXXXXXX BBB case: XXXXXXXX Dear *** *****: Thank you for your recent inquires to our Patient Relations department and to the Better Business Bureau. I appreciate your patience as we researched the transaction activity on *******'s account. The following summarizes the activity on *******'s account by date of service: Date of Service: 4.12.14 Total Professional Charges $108.00 These charges were initially billed to you as we had no record of insurance. On 7.22.14 ******* requested we bill the services to United *********** ****** denied the claim as coverage had terminated. We then balance billed you. On 8.29.14, we received an on-line payment in the amount of $108.00. Balance due = $0.00. Total Facility charges $312.00 These charges were initially billed to you as we had no record of insurance. On 7.22.14 ******* requested we bill the services to ****** *********** ****** denied the claim as coverage had terminated. We then balance billed you. On 9.22.14, you contacted our office and requested we bill ******** ******* denied the claim as 'unable to id' for that date of service (your benefits were not in effect until 4.13.14). The balance was then billed to you. Balance due = $312.00. Date of Service: 7.02.14 Total Professional Charges $410.00 These services were billed to ******** ******* paid $119.40 leaving a patient responsibility of $290.60. On 8.1.14 we received an on-line payment from you of $290.60. Balance due = $0.00 Total Facility charges $737.00 These services were billed to ******** ******* paid $397.52, leaving a patient responsibility of $339.48. We received an on-line payment from you on 8.1.14 in the amount of $312.00 and an additional $27.48 on 8.23.14. Balance due = $0.00. I have attached a spreadsheet with this information for your records. If you believe you have made additional payments beyond what we reflect, please contact me directly with copies of the payments so I can investigate further. Based on the information at hand, it does appear there remains an outstanding amount of $312.00. I am very sorry for the frustration you have experienced with the billing process. It is never our intent to create more complexity to the already complex process of healthcare billing. To acknowledge your frustration, I have requested the billing office adjust the remaining $312.00 outstanding. As of today, the balance on *******'s account is zero. I hope this information provides the clarity you were requesting. Please feel free to contact me should you have any additional questions, etc. Respectfully, ** ****** Manager, Revenue Stream Operations ************ *********@virginiamason.org Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on 5/9/2013 to work out a payment plan to pay my bill until I am reimbursed. I also called again on 5/15/2013 and talked with one of the ladies from the billing department to work out some kind of payment before it went to ******** ****** ******** because I told them I did not want to deal with ******** ****** ******** because of being threated one of ******** ****** ******** employees which is against the law when it comes to collections. During this conversation on May 15th I was told that she was going to send me some paperwork to fill out for some kind of charity reduction to see if I qualified. I was not sure about this as I will eventually hopefully be reimbursed for these bills but as of right now I was having to pay out of my pocket for these bills but was told to fill out the paperwork to see if I qualified before moving forward with billing arrangements. I have yet to see paperwork for this. I received a bill from ******** ****** ******** so I called Virginia Mason today 6/25/2013 to talk with someone about this as I was trying to work out a payment plan for this bill so it would not be sent to ******** ****** ********* I was told that I never called after the 5/9/2013 however I have a call log that shows that I called on 5/15/2013 to talk with someone about this bill. I was also told today that I am out of luck and I now have to deal with ******** ****** ******** for this bill unless I pay in full within 30 days. I am on a fixed income and cannot pay the full amount within 30 days that is why I was trying to set up a payment plan with Virginia Mason. If I would have known that they were not going to follow thru on what they said they were going to do with sending me that paperwork to fill out I would have called back again to set up a payment plan. All I am asking is that Virginia Mason do what they say they are going to do of working out a payment plan with Virginia Mason not ******** ****** ********* According to Virginia Mason because they have not worked with me to set up a payment plan I now have to pay fees and interest in addition to the balance thru ******** ****** ******** if I don't pay in the full in the next 30 days. Tell me how that is right when I have been in contact with them to work out a payment plan but told to do something else. To me it looks like they are just trying to screw people over just to get more money out of the patients. Virginia Mason has on numerous occasions screwed up billing which has taken several months just to get fixed if they even fix it at all.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for Virginia Mason to pull back the bill from ******** ****** ******** and set up a payment plan with me which should have been done in the first place when I first called instead of trying to send me on a goose chase with that charity reduction paperwork which I never got.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/28) */ Thank you for your inquiry regarding *** *********** Virginia Mason account. A review of the account indicates *** ********* was in contact with our office the same day she submitted her complaint to you. Virginia Mason has agreed to *** ********* request for account resolution and notes indicate she is satisfied with the steps taken to bring resolution to her outstanding account balance. Please let me know if you need any additional information. Respectfully, ** ****** Manager, Revenue Stream Operations Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)