This Business is not BBB accredited

Northwest Personal Training & Fitness Education

Phone: (360) 574-7292 Fax: (360) 574-7283 1011 Broadway St, Vancouver, WA 98660 http://www.nwpersonaltraining.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides personal training, group fitness classes, fitness education and nutrition consultation services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Personal Training & Fitness Education include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Personal Training & Fitness Education
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2006 Business started: 05/01/1999 Business started locally: 05/01/1999 Business incorporated: 05/01/1999 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Sherri McMillan, Secretary Mr. Alex McMillan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Sherri McMillan, Secretary
Business Category

Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health Clubs Training Programs Educational Consultants

Alternate Business Names
McMillan Fitness Group Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1011 Broadway St

    Vancouver, WA 98660 (360) 574-7292

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased some training sessions from this company on two occasions. 12 hours for $936.58 on 18 September 2013 and 20 hours for $1409.20 on 29 November 2013. Most of the first 12 sessions have been used. Over time my health conditions that I started with during this training have gotten worse. In fact the last few times I went I was in a lot of pain and complained a lot about my arms with the trainer just saying oh come on you can do it. I have a shoulder/arms issue and inflammatory issues throughout my body resulting from injuries on duty overseas in the military. I am working on these with the VA but meanwhile I cannot work out except for my physical therapy with the VA. I am also in the process of moving to North Carolina for a job. So even though I was due to have surgery, it is on hold until I get settled in North Carolina and have spent sufficient time with the VA there and their determination whether or not they will do my surgery or recommend another avenue. Anyway I called NW Personal Training on 10 April 2014 to request a refund. I gave the information to ***** who stated that ****** would have to handle this issue and he wouldn't be back until 14 April. I had not heard anything, so I called again today the 17th of April. She said he would call me back. He didn't, he sent me an email stating that no refund would be forthcoming per the signed agreement when I bought the first set of training sessions. I was not provided a copy of this and could not find this in any of the paperwork that I do have. As a veteran of our US Military for over 18 years and a patient of the VA with intense issues that only became worse in trying to work with a trainer at NWPT, I certainly understand their business guidelines under normal circumstances. But due to my situation I feel like they are being a little unreasonable. Shortly I will not even be in this state to use these sessions even if I could and can't use them now. Product_Or_Service: Private Training Sessions

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund of the last 20 hour Private Training Sessions I purchased on 29 November 2013 and any left from the first 12 purchased on 18 September 2013.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/02) */ Hi ******, I've tried calling you a few times and haven't been able to get through so I wanted to respond here so you didn't think I was ignoring your concerns. First, I want to apologize for ******** initial response to you by email. Everything he wrote was accurate but I told him it was a little impersonal and it would have been better to have called you directly. He explained that he had just returned from Spring Break, it took him a few days to sort through emails and that was the reason for his delayed response. Then he opted for email just to speed up his response to you which I believe came off as abrupt and impersonal. Then I spoke to **** so I could better understand your entire relationship. First, she mentioned that she really enjoyed working with you and was saddened that you were so upset with us. She mentioned that you had stopped training and were thinking about shoulder surgery however, she had tried multiple times to connect to get you back in to work on other areas like your core or lower body. She is one of our rehab specialists in the studio and can very easily work around injuries and work very closely with your medical professional to help stretch and strengthen weak areas surrounding the injury. **** mentioned that you still had 2 sessions left but you purchased more because you wanted to take advantage of our holiday special. **** said she spoke with you specifically to come in and continue training to utilize the sessions you had purchased but you had mentioned that was the least of your worries. **** said that she did her best to try to get you back in to utilize the sessions you still had in your account. Again, she feels really bad and wishes she could have somehow got you back in so it wouldn't have led to you feeling so frustrated about how we dealt with you. It is very rare that we are asked for refunds - probably because our trainers take such great care of our clients. We definitely take this complaint very seriously - especially since it's our first BBB complaint ever! I wanted to explain why we don't refund our services so you can understand better versus just believing that we are mean and don't stand behind our services. First, there is the obvious point of accountability for our clients. Most people don't like to exercise so once they make the commitment, it's our job to help them adhere to the program (versus quit and ask for a refund because they are not enjoying working out and/or results aren't coming quickly enough - most times they have to stick to it long enough to experience life changing results vs quitting too early in the process). Secondly, our trainers spend a great deal of time outside of the sessions programming, planning and preparing for sessions so refunding sessions doesn't account for all the hours that a trainer puts in outside of the sessions and then it's not fair to them. I know **** really enjoyed working with you and would love the opportunity to continue until you move out of town. So here are the options that we have available for you. 1. You can come back in and work with **** (or another trainer if you like) to focus on your core and lower body and not involve your shoulder.There is so much literature on the importance of just moving your body to increase blood flow and circulation and how that aids in the complete healing process. 2. You can come back in and work with **** (or another trainer) to focus on your entire body including the shoulder area with strict instructions from your medical professional about which exercises and stretches you should and shouldn't be doing. 3. If you do not want to come back and work with us, we also offer the opportunity for you to transfer those sessions to someone else - a friend, relative etc to maintain the full value of the sessions so you don't feel like you are losing out if you just don't want to come back. Please let me know how you would like to proceed and please call me personally on my cell phone at ************ if you would like to discuss this further. Thanks again for being a client with us and I hope we can win you back! ****** ********