BBB Accredited Business since

Hardware World LLC

Phone: (800) 385-8320 Fax: (425) 615-7118 15600 Redmond Way Ste 101, Redmond, WA 98052 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hardwareworld.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers an online hardware store, selling painting equipment, paint, cabinet hardware, builders hardware, solar lighting, brewers supply, cabinet supplies, canning supplies, motor supplies, appliance parts, auto parts, camping supplies, electric equipment, lawn and garden supplies, lighting supplies, plumbing parts and supplies, pest control, air conditioning parts, drywall equipment, farm supplies, industrial equipment, landscaping equipment, masonry supplies, plumbing and rebuilding kits.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hardware World LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hardware World LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hardware World LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 02/01/2005 Business started locally: 02/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/16/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter Horadan, Member Ms. Sandra Taylor, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Horadan, Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandra Taylor, Operations Manager
Business Category

Hardware - Retail Cabinet Hardware Hinges Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Retail Ironing Boards Lighting Fixtures - Supplies & Parts Painters Equipment & Supplies Paint - Retail Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Rubber Clothing & Footwear Sundries Stores Tools - Cutting Tools - Electric Tools - Hand Woodworking Tools - Retail Water Heaters - Dealers Safety & Rescue Equipment Sales & Services Lamps - Supplies & Parts Pest Control Supplies & Equipment Product Sales - General Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Drywall Contractors Equipment & Supplies Farm Equipment Farm Equipment - Repair & Parts Farm Supplies Hardware - Builders Industrial Equipment & Supplies Landscaping Equipment & Supplies Mason Contractors Equipment & Supplies Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Wholesale & Mfg Safety Equipment & Clothing Solar Energy Products - Retail Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Brewers Equipment & Supplies Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Canners Equipment & Supplies Electric Motors - Supplies & Parts Machine Tools - Repair & Rebuild Playground Equipment Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Auto Parts & Supplies - New Beer Home Brewing Equipment & Supplies Campers - Supplies & Parts Caning Supplies Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Fertilizers Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies General Merchandise - Retail

Refund and Exchange Policy
We accept returns within 30 days of the item's delivery to you. Items being returned must be in new, unused condition, and in the original, undamaged packaging. For specific returns, RMA & instructions, please contact us directly.
Alternate Business Names
Hardwareworld.com
Products & Services

Paint & paint equip, cabinet & bldrs. hardware, appliance & auto parts, camping, survival & tactical gear, electrical & lighting. Lawn & garden & farm. Plumbing. Pest control. AC/Heating. Drywall equip, tools of all kinds and masonry.


Additional Locations

  • 15600 Redmond Way Ste 101

    Redmond, WA 98052 (800) 385-8320

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is perhaps the worst customer service experience imaginable. After returning my purchase in new condition, they would not honor a refund as the box was not in original condition. The box! I did have to open the product to see that it wasn't the right fit for me. I did have to ship it. Now no refund since the box was damaged! How does a box remain undamaged by a user when they must open it and ship it. As it stands now, they have my money and my product and I have 2 shipping charges to show for the experience. Oh ya - there solution - donate the product to habitat for humanity. As if a charitable donation makes their lack of service acceptable. I'll decide when and where to donate to charity thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my purchase per their return policy

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/16) */ Should a customer be able to order a product and then destroy that product so it can't be resold and yet still expect a refund? That is basically what the customer demanded that we to do. Our return policy is clearly posted on our website, and in each customer's account. The customer at no time contacted us for an RMA and did not follow the return instructions for a return and refund. The product box was ruined by a plethora of shipping labels, packing slips and transit routing labels and sustained in-transit damage as well. This could have easily been avoided had the customer re-used the original shipping box rather than the product display package for shipping the product back. He returned the product in the manufacturer's box that the product is SOLD in. For example, if you were to purchase a television at a retail outlet, would you purchase one in a box that had some other customer's return labels, writing and a hole in the box? No, you would consider that a used item and not available for resale. You certainly would not consider this a "new" item. We pack our shipments out to the customers so the items are not destroyed or damaged before reaching the customer, we expect the same courtesy if the customer is returning the item to us. Common sense dictates you put the item in a shipping box. We have an outstanding record of customer service. This issue is not about our customer service. When it was explained to the customer that the condition of the product was not restockable, and that we could either return the product to him or donate it to a charity in his name, he became threatening, and tried to bully the staff into a refund. His emails promised an internet smear campaign if his demands were not met. Yet, this customer is a CEO of a company, and intelligent enough to be able to read and comply with simple return policy instructions conveniently posted both on our website and in his account. These were not difficult instructions to follow, the customer merely had return the product in restockable condition, placing the packaged product inside a shipping carton. No one will buy the product now in its condition, yet the customer insisted on a full refund on a product we cannot sell. So, while he can conduct his threatened smear campaign against us, our track record stands for itself. We maintain the highest customer satisfaction ratings on many websites, and with the BBB. Photos of the returned condition of the product and copies of his threatening and bullying emails are available upon request.

4/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently placed an order ( ***** ) with Hardwareworld LLC. During the checkout process we selected UPS shipping for very specific reasons and they charged us $10.64 for this service. They however without communication or notice sent the product through USPS. At any time they could have contact us to see if this was acceptable, but they did not. We attempted to call them 8 times and they never picked up their phone. We also didn't receive a response to any emails or customer inquiries until we had opened a dispute with PayPal for the amount of the shipping cost. They have stated repeatedly that they dropship this item and they could "Do us a favor" and ask for a refund of the shipping costs from the manufacture. This is unacceptable as the payment we sent went directly to this company as is verified by PayPal Inc.

Desired Settlement: We would like to see resolution to the following items. Honest information about your shipping practices posted on each product. Communication with the buyer before shipping using different carriers. Start answering your phone number. Start responding to customer issues before needing to be escalated to a claim/chargeback. A refund of $10.64 in shipping costs due to the the fact that you were dishonest with us about the carrier you would use. Compensation of an additional $20.00 due to the fact that we had to stay home from work to receive your package. Items sent via USPS are frequently stolen as soon as they are dropped off at our location, and this forced us to remain at home to await delivery.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/09) */ We take our customer care very seriously. It is evident from our record here and other websites that keep ratings, that we do a stellar job. Occasionally there will be a glitch, it is only human nature. Things happen. In this case, the product is shipped directly from the mfg. warehouse. We did not know of any change of carrier until the customer informed us. We did email responses to Mr. ****** in a timely manner and IP tracking shows his email server did receive the emails we sent, though he has denied receiving them. We did explain to Mr. ****** that we had to consult with the mfg. to confirm the shipment was made via US Mail and not UPS as he requested. Upon confirmation from the mfg. that they did select a different carrier than he had requested and approved the refund, we refunded Mr. ****** in full for the shipping fee he incurred. We will not be providing any further compensation for Mr. ****** for his assertion that he had to stay home from work to receive the package. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They do not. Facts point otherwise. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/04/12) */ It is pointless and unprofessional to engage in a he said/she said contest. As stated previously. We have no further comments on this case. Our maintained high ratings here and thru other internet services speak for us.

2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service