This business is not BBB accredited.

Hardware City.com

Phone: (888) 252-4252 Fax: (206) 495-0842 1065 12th Ave NW Ste E9b, Issaquah, WA 98027 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thehardwarecity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online hardware sales including home hardware, plumbing, electrical, automotive, paints, supplies for landscaping, garden, do-it-yourself projects, adhesives, glues, caulk, sealants, automotive, power tools, tools, hand tools, garden, lawn Care, and Construction Supplies.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hardware City.com include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Hardware City.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hardware City.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 20, 2008 Business started: 06/01/2007 Business started locally: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated 06/15/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sumesh Bhagat, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sumesh Bhagat, President/CEO
Business Category

Hardware - Retail Internet Shopping Hardware - Builders Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Bhagat LLC TheHardwareCity.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1065 12th Ave NW Ste E9b

    Issaquah, WA 98027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered sku: XXXXXXXI received sku: XXXXXXX. This item also had "Free Shipping" listed on the ad. When it was added to the order shipping increased $3 which I had to pay. The seller is adding shipping to items they advertise as free shipping. There were no qualifications or requirements for this item to ship free. I contacted the seller via their live chat option. When I informed of the mistake I was asked for the bar code off the bottom of the box. I did not have the box at my desk. I asked if this could be looked up their web site. The rep then said they could not look it up and told me they would not help me anymore. They then disconnected from the chat and banned me from starting a new one. The UPC numbers are clearly listed on each item of their web site. The rep just refused to even do this. It appears this is a tiny company with the owner acting as the customer service rep. After seeing feedback from the internet about this company, I do not feel me contacting him again will help resolve this issue. He had links for "Trust" site like BBB and ************** He is not registered with these sites. The advertise them the way he does seems very dishonest to make it appear that his site has been approved by these "trust" groups.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting: - a call tag to return the wrong item - the correct item shipped to me. - a $3 refund for the shipping overcharge from what the web site says.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/14) */ Replacement has been sent and also the wrong item has been received with pre-paid label was provided. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Seller banned me from customer service when I asked for correction of mistakes. Convo went a about like this: "Hello- you sent me the wrong item can you please ship me the correct one?" - BANNED. Other reviews sound like simualr treatment. It took a BBB and ****** case to get this seller to fix issues and then they still owe $3 for overshipping charges. The web site does not calculate shipping correctly for items with free shipping. I was overcharged $3 and this has still never been addressed by the seller. Took the seller shipping three times to get the correct item to me. I do now have the correct item and have returned the two wrong ones. At this point I am still out the $3 overcharge and a huge hassle.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original order info: Order Number: XXXXX Order Total:$210.01 Order Date:05/02/XXXX XX:XX AM I have only dealt with thehardwarecity.com once and it has not been a pleasant experience. You can forget ever getting them on the phone or getting someone to call you back. If you are lucky you might get a vague email response. The only way I've found to make contact with them is to use their LiveChat option (when it's available). Even then you get "**** ***" every time who can never help you. Most of the time you are told they must check with the warehouse. They ask you to give them 15 minutes and they will email you what they found out... that's just to get rid of you. In my FINAL contact with them I was instructed basically to call the manufacturer and deal with it myself. They, THE SELLER, couldn't fix it. So that is what I am now in the process of doing. ..this is WAY too much work just for a composter & rain barrel... Oh...to be fair. After putting me off and giving me the run around for over a week they did finally offer me my money back, but now I'm just determined to get the **** thing!

Desired Settlement: I just want what I ordered. I would like it sent overnight at TheHardwareCity.com 's expense because they are the one's advertising and selling items without having any idea what the stock levels are. I ordered it over a month ago and have had an absolutely terrible time trying to get anyone to fix it or to take ownership of the problem. My original order was back ordered.. fine, I waited. When it arrived only half of it was correct. Now I'm told the replacement part is backordered and to contact the manufacturer directly if I still want to wait for it... I did contact the manufacturer, their number is XXX-XXX-XXXX, company name is **** ***** **** and I spoke with ****** She was nice and gave me a tracking number like a good customer service person... Why couldn't the hardwarecity do that? Why do I have to track down and correct their mistake? I guess I'd also like an apology. From a supervisor. On the PHONE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/24) */ We have replaced the wrong product. The replacement item was shipped and delivered on 6/13 via****** tracking number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a wood stove from thehardwarecity.com. Customer Service was HORRIBLE. The item took 2 weeks to ship and was damaged upon arrival. This company promised to provide updates and return phone calls, but never did. They purposely avoided phone calls from my phone number, but answered when i would call from a different phone. This company did not respond to NUMEROUS emails. Eventually, we were told the item we purchased was "no longer available" yet it is still on their website for sale.

Desired Settlement: Our money is supposedly being refunded. I just want other people to beware of this company and their terrible customer service. Our purchase was over $1000 and they did not return call or correspondence at all. that is unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/20) */ This order was placed on Oct. 30, we informed the customer that the item is shipping out on the Nov. 7, apologizing for the delay due to inventory problems. The next email that we got from *** ******* was on Nov. 18 informing us that there was a delivery but it was damaged so they refused the delivery. On Nov. 19, we replied to the customer's email saying that we are coordinating with our warehouse to get a replacement, and later on that day we informed the customer by phone that we will have to wait until the damaged item gets back to our warehouse before we can send the replacement out. We informed the customer on Nov. 25 by phone that the item is out of stock and we will not be able to send the replacement so we decided to issue a refund on Nov. 26. Apparently this customer is claiming that she made numerous phone calls but we only heard from her on Nov. 18 when she reported that the item and another phone call asking for an update few days after we sent out the refund. We have profusely apologized to this customer for the delay, but we only got 2 phone calls and 5 emails that we have diligently replied to from this customer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This explanation is simply not true and absolutely unacceptable. I NEVER received a phone call from this company. Any contact that occurred was initiated by me. I left multiple messages on their answering system...sometimes multiple messages daily..and NEVER received any response from them. I am positive that they were screening their calls and deliberately attempting to avoid my calls, as I would call from my phone and get no response, and then call immediately from another phone and get someone to answer. I never received any type of apology from this company. When I asked for a number to reach a supervisor or manager, I was given a non-working number. I am appalled that this company would offer these lies as their response....but not surprised. It is about what I would expect. Good riddance. I will never do business with this company again, and would not recommend that anyone do business with them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/08) */ We have refunded to customer immediately after receiving the product.

9/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told item in stock but not delivered. No one seems to know where the product is. Just drag time to buy time.

Desired Settlement: Correct false advertising.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (12210, 5, 2013/08/26) */ I couldn't find any order in our system from a customer with name '**** *****' . If it was for medicine cabinet , then we do have longer processing time as it goes through a different facility for over packing and double boxing to protect the glass. Different medicine cabinet requires different time and during this period it is difficult to find the status until it gets shipped out.

6/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on there website, thehardwarecity.com Friday the 14th. I paid for 3 day Ground Shipping thru *** *** Per my order confirmation email, I would receive a separate email confirming items have shipped. I called Monday the 17th to inquire about my order, because I had not received my confirmation email, actually wanting to add an additional item if the order had not already shipped, but was told the order went out that same day, asked why I didn't receive an email and said I would get shortly. I called again Thursday the 20th to see why I still had not received a shipping confirmation email. She said it still has not shipped and would check and be back in touch. Got an email Friday the 21st saying it has shipped, and now its saying delivery date of 6/27 Thursday. 2 weeks past my estimated delivery date from initial order. Need help. I think I should be refunded shiiping.

Desired Settlement: Refund my shipping of $14.99

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/26) */ We have issued refund of $14.99 that you have asked. It is refunded back to you ****** account and the Transaction ID # ***************** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received a refund as the business stated.