This business is not BBB accredited.

Logan's Maintenance & Finish

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 513-6878 PO Box 833, Brush Prairie, WA 98606 http://www.logansmaintenance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general construction services specializing in residential siding and handyman services. They do a lot of bank foreclosures/REO bank owned homes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Logan's Maintenance & Finish include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Logan's Maintenance & Finish
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2007 Business started: 09/01/2005 Business started locally: 09/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Roscoe Logan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roscoe Logan, Owner
Business Category

Handyman Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12607 NE 95th St STE A100

    Vancouver, WA 98682

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 833

    Brush Prairie, WA 98606 (360) 513-6878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, November XX XXXX I signed paperwork authorizing you to begin repairs as required by the lender for the sale of my home, located at **** ** **** ****** Vancouver, WA. I was assured by ***** ********* my realtor from ******* *********** that you were the most affordable option and that you would do only the work required. He also assured me that you had agreed to be done in less than two weeks. He stated all communication with your company should go through him. On Sunday, November 17 I met you at the house and explained how very important it was to move quickly with the repairs and that I was moving out so that you could do everything all at one time, and not be hindered by my presence. I continued to slowly move my things as you were working. The mess was appalling once you did begin. ***** and I arrived one evening and could not use the toilets downstairs as they were not attached, the water was off and the upstairs toilet was unflushed and used. On Monday, December 2, I wrote my realtor: I left the house before the sale was complete so that ****** you, Logan's Residential Maintenance would have the opportunity to work quickly and uninterrupted. I did not abandon the house to him. He, and his workers, have been dragging dirt all over the carpets. They used my towels to mop up their messes in the bathrooms. Yesterday I found that they had used my bathrobe, that my sister sewed especially for me, as a towel to mop up the bathroom floor! I also found that they were using my grandmother's heirloom needlepoint footstool to get in and out of the attic crawl space! The toilets are still in pieces. They left the water off for over a week. I would have had to have moved out as they have made the house unlivable. 1. the bathrooms are still not done and are trashed. 2. the upstairs bathroom is trashed and they weren't even supposed to be in there. 3. there are now dirt stains all over the carpets. 4. they put off painting TWO weeks of beautiful sunny weather and they are not done yet. 5. they have left crawl spaces open for two weeks. 6. they said they would be done this weekend and are not. Every day that goes by is costing me money and patience. ****** has been disrespectful of my home (and the future owner's), my time and my things. this is NOT acceptable. I would just as soon give the house to the bank so that I could not pay ****** for what he has done over the last two weeks. He cannot replace the bathrobe or repair the footstool. Is he planning on cleaning the carpets? Paying for my time in the apartment? I would have had to go to a hotel rather than be without water... I am paying for the water they are wasting (spilling all over the floors), the heat they are letting out into the crawlspaces, the electricity they are using for their tools. Judging by what I have observed during the last two weeks finishing the clean out, I am terrified by the idea of what they have been doing while nobody was watching. On Thursday, December 5th I still did not know if/when you you were intending to complete the work on the house. I had no communication from your company nor from my realtor. I wrote my realtor: 1. Does *** ***** intend to make some attempt to pay me back for the destroyed robe, stool, carpets and the delay of completion? 2. Please understand, I hold him responsible for not completing the paint work two weeks ago when it was warm. He made the choice to delay. I did not approve that. 3. I also hold him responsible for the horrible way he treated my home and my belongings. I am appalled at his apathy. On Tuesday, December 10th I found out that you were the buyer's recommendation: not the least expensive choice for repairs to the house. 1. You did a three color whole house painting. The lender required only: " repaint areas with missing/flaking paint to match." 2. You do not hold standards where completion date is a part of the commitment. 3. You do not have standards for appropriate clean up and lack of collateral damage to the property. I have photos of your work on my ex-house at **** ** **** ****** in Vancouver. My son and daughter went up on December 13th to complete the last clean out after the house finally closed, and were appalled by your workmanship. Pillars were painted on one side only, soffetting unfinished, rust still visible.

Desired Settlement: the expense for the complete paint of the house as opposed to touch ups. 1000 The price of four weeks of rent and mortgage that I incurred leaving the house so that you could complete your work as close as possible to the original close date of November 20th, but you did not. 1850 The cost of the towels you ruined. 50 The cost of the bathrobe that my sister made me and the emotional loss thereof. 300 The cost of the cleaning of my grandmother's footstool. 100 The cost of water and electricity. 200 The cost of cleaning the house. 400 This amounts to: $3900

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/24) */ I was contacted by ***** ******** with ******* ********** ***** 10/29/2013 requesting an estimate for repairs at **** ** **** *** Vancouver, WA. I went over the repair list at the property and put an estimate together, forwarded it to ***** for review. ***** had the estimate signed and forwarded it to me 11/15/2013 @ 11:15 AM. We were asked by ***** to hold off on the job because the owner needed more time to move out, and when we did start the project the house still had a lot of personal items, in fact it didn't look like she had moved. We started the interior work as we were experiencing very cold weather. While working on the interior we were working around other people who I assumed were the estate sale workers. We were held up on the exterior work because the weather, the exterior work was pretty extensive project. There for a couple weeks the weather wasn't getting above 20-24 degrees and was as low as 9-12 degrees. We needed to powerwash the house for painting and the weather hindered us as the water would freeze. We worked around the weather for the roof by covering it with tarps to keep off the frost in order to walk on the roofing. The roof project was completed in two days. When the weather broke the paint job took 4 days with extensive preparation. As far as the water being turned off, the toilet shut-off valves would not shut off the water leaving the only way to shut them off was the water main. The house was vacated and assumed the water off would not be an issue. The water was off Thursday through the weekend to complete the dry-rotted floor repair. After re-installing the toilets and turning the water on the hall bath toilet was leaking between the bowl and tank. The majority of the personal items were moved out what was left was a robe with other garbage. Meanwhile I grabbed the robe thinking it was garbage to soak up water. The floor was new and it was clean water, not sure how the robe was damaged. Unable to contact the broker we repaired the toilet at our expense so it would not damage the new floor. As far as the other accusations I believe ****** is being unreasonable. The house had been neglected and maintenance had been deferred, the carpets were in terrible shape and we wouldn't walk on them in our socks. Later I found they had just had an estate sale before we started work. The house was a mess when I first showed up and entered through a unlocked door which the house was always unlocked. I tried communicating with her after her first email threatening to discredit my company. I offered to pay for the robe within reason and told her I had no idea what stool she was talking about. ****** was unreasonable with her claims and what she wanted for compensation. I was unable to communicate with her as she was pugnacious on the phone. The only contact through out the entire project was with ***** who hired us to do the job, never was I contacted by ******. The only communication I had with ****** was one day I showed up she was there moving items out and asked for a hand with a piano. I told her I would be happy to help and she was very nice explaining to me how much she appreciates the hard work and how good the house is looking. She never called me with any concerns, as far as I knew we were doing a good job as usual. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had not, in fact, finished moving out when *** ***** began work. I was and have been working 2 jobs, seven days a week, and had just my daughter to help with the move. *** ***** cannot have it both ways - either he assumed we had moved out completely and he could ASSUME that he had a right to abuse whatever was left in the house OR I had not finished moving out and therefore everything in the house was still in the process of being moved and should be treated as personal property that he should not touch. I had mostly moved out the weekend after I signed the papers as I had told ****** the Realtor, I would - to make it easier for the repairs to be done quickly. Closing had been scheduled for November 20th. I was anxious to help speed the process along. The weather the week of the 17th, when *** ***** was requested to begin, was in the 50s, and all painting and exterior work could have been done at that time. Mr ***** chose instead to start inside. The weather change had been widely broadcast and as the owner of the company, I believe it was his responsibility to look into that and plan the repairs accordingly. I understand that I seemed "pugnacious" to *** ***** on the phone. I disagreed with everything he said. We continue to disagree. We did meet the weekend of the 23rd. He was putting up tarps on the roof and did help move the piano (in the house after he started working - NOT garbage) I told him that I was glad to see him and that I was very anxious to get the job completed quickly - I pointed out that I had moved out specifically so that he could come in and do everything quickly without having to work around my continued presence and get it done fast. I tried to make the point that the original close date had already passed and I was very much in need of his help to get the house done quickly. I pointed out that a week had passed and he had not yet completed the interior and the temperature had dropped 40 degrees! I didn't complain about the work because I was trying to be encouraging and to get him on my team and to get the work done. I didn't want to judge the actual work as he had completed none of it yet, and I was more concerned about the timely completion of the project. I did not call *** ***** personally at any point thereafter as my Realtor said that he was handling the situation and that we didn't want to make the contractor angry so that he would slow down even more or do worse work. *** ***** made no attempt to call me either, despite the fact that I had provided my number and asked him to do so if there were any questions or anything more I could do to help. It is my understanding that *** ***** was there to complete a set of tasks as set forth by the lender and given to him for estimate. It was not his place to make judgments about me or the house. It is my belief that it was his responsibility to come prepared to do his job as quickly as possible with all the required equipment. If he turned on water and there were a leak - as the repairman it would be his job to bring something with which to clean up his mess. His assumption that what was left in the house was garbage - like the piano, the robe, the queen size bed, the chair....was a mistaken assumption. I still owned the house and everything in it. It was my private property. At NO time did I feel like anything left behind was garbage or set out for *** ***** to use. I still owned the house and everything in it until I closed a month later on December 13th. The workmanship of the repairs provided is horrible. He did not respect our contract that required only touch up painting. And there are simply places that he painted the wrong way. There are columns that are white on one side and black on the other. There are paint-overs that are not cleaned up. There are places he did not paint at all. The "new" bathroom floors are dirty, badly installed and he did not clean up after the work was completed. It is still my feeling that *** ***** had no right to to make any assumptions about my house or my belongings. He did not know about my plans for cleaning the house or for moving the rest of my belongings or if I had planned to live there until the close date. He was to complete the job as described to him, which he did not, in fact, do. I will not reiterate my previous list. The financial hardship caused by his delays is measurable. The bathrobe was a handmade gift from my sister which he used to clean up the bathroom floor from toilet water. The footstool was a handmade heirloom made by my grandmother. The emotional trauma of that month of procrastination and the disrespectful treatment of my house and my belongings is immeasurable. I accept responsibility for: 1. Having trusted Logan's Maintenance. a. not staying in and at the house to supervise everything they did. b. not vetting and hiring my own contractor. 2. Allowing the Realtor to be our point of contact. a. not calling *** ***** for updates and to being more specific about my expectations. I have filed this complaint to make *** ***** accept responsibility for his inaction, his shoddy workmanship, his disrespectful treatment of other people's belongings and his lack of planning. Reparations to me are a part of that responsibility. I am still requesting the payment of $3,900 as previously stated. I am hoping to prevent him from treating other homeowners in this way. Final Business Response /* (1000, 31, 2014/06/16) */ Ill sent a check this week. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/04/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had offered to accept any form of apology, any payment or letter, back in January. I provided my new address and asked you to do the right thing. Your response was to do nothing. I will believe it when I see it: send the check and I will happily close this complaint and move on. Consumer Response /* (2000, 42, 2014/07/10) */ I was out of the country and just returned. I did receive the check. I will call the matter resolved. They can never make up for what they did to me or to my poor ex-house. I choose to move forward and away from the horrors. Thank you for your help. Alicia