BBB Accredited Business since

The Valley Athletic Club LLC

Phone: (360) 352-3400 4833 Tumwater Valley Dr SE, Olympia, WA 98501 http://www.valleyac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers health and exercise activities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Valley Athletic Club LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Valley Athletic Club LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Valley Athletic Club LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1995 Business started: 03/01/1975 Business started locally: 03/01/1975
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Katie Edmonds, Human Resource Manager Mr. Dan Sandy, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Katie Edmonds, Human Resource Manager
Business Category

Gymnasiums

Alternate Business Names
V Spa

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Valley Athletic Club LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4833 Tumwater Valley Dr SE

    Olympia, WA 98501 (360) 352-3400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the club to make sure that the person that I had been conversing with for months by email was there. She was not. I was told over the phone that I could come in and meet with another "sales agent". I went into the Valley Athletic Club on Friday February 27th 2015 in order to join the Valley Athletic Club. I spoke to this "sales agent" while being given a "tour" 15 minutes. I told her I would like to join and she sat me down at their lower counter to fill out paperwork. She asked the front desk to continue processing my paperwork and get me "SET UP" as she had another appointment. I filled out my paperwork. I was only given a copy of one of the many documents that I signed. I usually take issue with this but I am not confrontational and was excited about having a place to take my children to swim while having the ability to work out at the same place. There are not many options for this in Olympia. I finished up, was given membership cards and then spent 20 minutes in their "store" purchasing over 200.00 worth of merchandise. When I went to pay for the stuff (which was on sale) I noticed that the total was 185.00 higher than I had calculated. I questioned the girl processing the transaction. She said "oh sorry I forgot to discount for the sale" I said it was a good thing I had added it up in my head. She said "you don't have to be rude" Rude? You just tried to charge me double (I did not say this, it is what I was thinking). I left, got to my car,husband called and said add my step son. He lives with us and is 20. I went back inside and asked for this and was told no. I stated that I had been told by email that I could add anyone in my house under 24. I asked for the manager. Manager said I needed to provide their birth certificates. I have a blended family and my children and my husbands children do not share the same last name. I was offended. I stated that this request was ridiculous, my husband would be in. Saturday work out. membersh. cancelled because of rude behavior. no refund.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I want it now. I paid with a debit/credit card. Told they would mail me a check. Check should take 2 days maximum. Haven't seen it. No documents provided to me that my membership (12 month contract) was cancelled. Just verbal. I have been treated badly repeatedly lied to. The charges have already posted to my account. I want my money back. I want documents showing that I am not a member and will not be charged anything more. The person i dealt with said she is owner, is not

Business Response: We have read over the complaint filed by a previous member, Complaint
ID ********.  The previous member did
come in on February 27th to join our facility. After joining she
came back to add her daughter’s boyfriend to the account.  Our membership policy for persons on your
account is for immediate family members only, which he does not qualify as he
is not their child and whom they do not have legal guardianship/power of
attorney of. Our billing department offered her a full refund by credit card,
which she told us she did not want us to put the credit back on the card and
her husband would be in later that day to dispute the policy.

A while later, she called to speak to a manager about our
policy and how she didn’t agree with it. The manager reiterated what the
billing department had informed her of, which further upset her and
inappropriate language was used by the former member and hung up on the
manager. At that time the manager then spoke with employees involved with the
previous member’s interactions and conduct of being inappropriate with them as
well. The manager come to the decision to terminate the membership based on all
of the above and to offer her a full refund.

After cancelling her membership, February 27, 2015, we
offered to put the full refund, $199.15, back on the credit card she had used
when paying for the membership but she refused to give us the card to do so. We
sent her a check refund by mail the same day along with a letter stating her
membership had been cancelled.  One of
our managers had sent her an email on March 4th stating her
membership had been cancelled, we had issued a check and if she hadn’t received
it to give us a call or we could cancel the check and issue a credit on the
credit card is she choose to.  We did
re-issue a new check, as she stated she had never received it in this complaint
and mailed it to her certified return receipt. After we re-issued the check we
had notification from our bank that she had taken the original one mailed on
February 27th to the bank for deposit. We feel we have made every
effort to give this member their full reimbursement for their cancelled
membership.

5/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues