This business is not BBB accredited.

Affordable Gutter Covers Inc

Phone: (541) 688-0574 Fax: (541) 868-0127 View Additional Phone Numbers 560 Commercial St Ste A, Eugene, OR 97402

! Affordable Gutter Covers Inc is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers manufacturing and sales of perforated aluminum gutter covers, as well as gutter and downspout cleaning, restoration and replacement.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Gutter Covers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2007 Business started: 10/01/2006 Business started locally: 10/01/2006 Business incorporated 02/21/2007 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Dunn, President Ms. Glenna Kirtpatric, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Dunn, President
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Manufacturers & Producers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    560 Commercial St Ste A

    Eugene, OR 97402 (888) 914-3130 (541) 688-0574

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Affordable Gutter Covers sold me gutter covers that they verbally and in a advertised pamphlet that it kept out pine & fir needles.My gutters were full of fir & pine needles to the extent that it clogged up my downspouts. They also advertised in it' pamphlet that it eliminates constant chore of cleaning gutters. No where in their contract or verbally with me did they state/say if I have a problem with cleaning out my gutters ( I bought these gutter covers for this not to happen. Nor was I told verbally when looking at the gutter covers and the signing of my contract was I told that If the gutter clogged up to call them to clean them out. I would never have bought them, knowing it required more maintenance and time to clean them out than to just clean them out without gutter covers. Product_Or_Service: Affordable Gutter Covers

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Company to stop advertising that their gutter guards keeps out Pine & fir needles, eliminates constant chore of gutter cleaning and water clogs up at downspouts from excessive needles when combined to roof shingle residue. I want their warranty contract to also address the issue of fir & pine needles, that they can get into gutter and cause problems that require cleaning the gutter out. Then I want a refund of monies, that I was mislead to give for the purchase of the Gutter guard covers.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/15) */ We installed gutter covers for Mr. ******* on March 10, 2007. As far as our records show we've had no complaints from the *******s since they were installed. Our first indication that there was a problem with our covers was when Mr. ******* was at the Florence home show the first weekend of March 2013. He was telling attendees that our covers didn't work. Our product display person went up to Mr. ******* and told him he could not be doing that, that if he had a problem with our covers to fill out a slip with his name number and address so we can take care of it. A week after the home show we received a certified letter dated March 6, 2013. Talking with our product display person Mrs. ******* **** it turns out that Mr. ******* told her he had taken the covers off. I sent a certified letter to Mr. ******* on March 21, 2013 in that letter I informed Mr. ******* that we do stand behind our product and have no record of him calling to advise as he was having a problem he has given us no opportunity to correct any problems because he never contacted us secondly he removed the covers. Our warranty is very clear that adjustments or tampering with the covers voids the warranty. Removing the covers would definitely void the warranty. I did inform Mr. ******* in the letter that we would fix the problem but if he had removed the covers he would have to pay to have them reinstalled and if he had thrown them away he have to pay to replace them. We have heard nothing until we received a letter from the Atty. Gen.'s office state of Oregon consumer complaints dated March 27. We have responded to that complaint and sent Mr. ******* another letter. Explaining to him that we will resolve the problem. We have a lifetime performance warranty on our gutter covers it states Affordable Gutter Covers warrants to the initial retail purchaser of Affordable Gutter Covers that the product will keep the gutters free-flowing. Free flowing is defined as movement, or the act of flowing or circulating. Affordable Gutter Covers is guaranteed to perform for the life of the home. As far as maintenance in our warranty it states Affordable Gutter Covers require virtually no maintenance, there are conditions in certain geographical locations were hardwood tassels, excessive tree staff sap and or resins from trees can be prevalent in excessive amounts. Under these conditions Affordable Gutter Covers should be sprayed off with an ordinary garden hose or pressure hose to maintain performance excellence. Roof maintenance were accumulation of excessive amounts of debris should be removed. Adjustments to or tampering with the custom engineered Affordable Gutter Covers system by unauthorized contractors painters roofers etc. or misalignment dents or deflections caused by ladders placed against it or Affordable Gutter Covers will void these warranties. Under remedy and rights if Affordable Gutter Covers fail to meet these warranties, Affordable Gutter Covers at its option repair or refund the full purchase price of the failing part. We have had in the past previous customers who had problems with their gutter covers. We have at no charge to the customer replaced the entire coverage of all gutter covers on their house under the rights and remedy part of our warranty. Mr. ******* had our covers installed in 2007 he never called us, never made any attempt to contact us to resolve any problems that he was having. Part of our warranty is a registration and transfer card that the original purchaser must fill out and send the card in for the warranty to be in effect with in 30 days Mr. ******* never did that. As far as the confusion about cleaning the gutters I don't understand his complaint. It's very simple we guarantee the gutters to perform for the gutters not to clog if the customer has a problem they simply call us and we take care of it there's no charge. Instead of contacting us he took the matter into his own hands and removed the covers, six years after installation. After he had taken the covers off then he started filing complaints he has never called us. We have over 1385 customers and over 155,000 feet that's over 29 miles of covers installed. We have over 100 customers in the Florence area alone with approximately 15,000 feet of covers everyone of them has the same exact trees as Mr. ******* yet he was the only one who has a problem. In fact we have multiple houses in the same housing development as Mr. *******. We have very few complaints. If a customer has a problem we fix it. We have made offers to Mr. ******* with three different letters telling them we will fix the problem he has yet to respond to our letters he just keeps filing complaints. Customer's desired resolution: We will not stop the advertising for our gutter covers they do keep needles out and they eliminate the constant chore of gutter cleaning and clogging of gutters and downspouts. We have too many satisfied customers to change our warranty or advertising. As far as a refund that's not the customer's option it is our option under the rights and remedies and we will remedy the situation by reinstalling the covers. If Mr. ******* wants to cooperates. Thank you *** **** Affordable Gutter Covers OUR WARRANTY Materials Homeowner Guarantee Affordable Gutter Covers warrants to the initial retailer purchaser and subsequent owners of Affordable Gutter Covers that for a period of 30 years from the date of installation Affordable Gutter Covers will not peel crack or corrode. This warranty applies under normal exposure to sunlight, temperature and other natural elements, proper installation and normal use and maintenance subject to the limitations, exceptions, disclaimers and other terms and conditions contained in these warranties. Lifetime Performance Warranty Affordable Gutter Covers is designed to handle all water runoff on all roof pitches up to 15/12 when properly installed. Affordable Gutter Covers warrants to the initial retail purchaser of Affordable Gutter Covers that the product will keep the gutters free-flowing. Free-flowing is defined as movement, or the act of flowing or circulating. This performance warranty is subject to the limitations, exceptions, disclaimers and other terms and conditions contained in these warranties. Affordable Gutter Covers will perform providing that it is not dented or misshaped. Affordable Gutter Covers is guaranteed to perform for the life of your home. Conditions For these warranties to apply it is required that your gutters first be thoroughly cleaned. Gutters must also be properly sloped, downspouts and underground drains be cleaned of any debris or obstructions and any downspouts screens must be removed. All warranties will be null and void if Affordable Gutter Covers is not properly installed by a Factory Trained Authorized Dealer. Exclusions to Warranties These warranties are granted to the initial retail purchaser and transferable with proof of transfer only, and cover only the manufacturing defects as specific herein. Warranties cover manufacturing defects only. They do not cover any other damage or material failure including, but not limited to, normal fading, damage caused by conditions beyond the control of the manufacture, such as improper installation, settling of the building, failure of the structures ( including foundations and walls), use of incompatible equipment, chemicals pollutants, salt, fire, flood ,ice dams, lightning, windblown objects, earthquakes, hurricanes, atmospheric conditions or other catastrophic weather as defined by the U.S. Weather Bureau, other acts of God, intentional acts, unreasonable uses or failure to provide reasonable maintenance. Affordable Gutter Covers requires virtually no maintenance, there are conditions in certain geographic locations where hardwood tassels, excessive tree sap and /or resins from trees can be prevalent in excessive amounts. Under these conditions, Affordable Gutter Covers should be sprayed off with an ordinary garden hose or pressure hose to maintain performance excellence. Roof maintenance where accumulation of excessive amounts of debris should be removed. Adjustments to or tampering with the custom engineered Affordable Gutter Covers system by unauthorized contractors ( painters, roofers act.) or misalignment, dents or deflections caused by ladders placed against gutters or Affordable Gutter Covers will void these warranties. (over) Complete and mail this card within 30 days of installation to: Affordable Gutter Covers *** ********** *** ***** * Eugene Oregon XXXXX. This registration of limited warranties must be completed by the initial retail purchaser of Affordable Gutter Covers and the Factory Trained Authorized Dealer. I have copies of all material. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 23, 2013/06/27) */ Please do not cancel our complaint issues are presently being reviewed by the State Of Oregon Attorney Generals office and the offer by Affordable Gutter covers is currently not viable due to a warranty issue. If this claim has been closed please reopen until it is resolve on way are another. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/05/09) */ May 9, 2013 BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX Complaint filed by: ****** ****** ******** (More) Complaint filed against: Affordable Gutter Covers Inc (More) Complaint status: Forward Consumer Rebuttal to Business (More) Case Description: Affordable Gutter Covers sold me gutter covers that they verbally and in a advertised pamphlet that it kept out pine... (More) Category: Advertising Issues Case opened date: 04/12/2013 Case closed date: Desired Resolution: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Company to stop advertising that their gutter guards keeps out Pine & fir needles, eliminates constant chore... (More) I receive the same letter from the attorney generals office a couple days ago. Mr. ******** second letter doesn't address anything. He compares our advertising brochure against our warranty he is trying to make the brochure a warranty and the warranty a brochure. The facts are during my presentation at their house they asked a lot of questions and I recall pulling the warranty out and explaining every paragraph to them in fact I also included on or contract "gutters will not overflow" as per their request. There was no confusion as what to do if they had a problem with there gutters. There just choosing not to remember The pictures he sent are bogus. I'm not sure if I understand does he mean this debris was in the gutters within six months of the initial install and March 2007 or what. Anyway the debris he shows in the gutters is not consistent for needles that have been in a gutter for six months. They are not matted down they don't even appear to be wet or moldy. In the picture where he shows our cover two things pop out. One that is a end cap it's what we use at the end of the gutter run to stop birds and bees from getting underneath the covers. Secondly he's got the cover upside down we don't installer covers upside down. It's evident he staged the pictures. I have consulted with our attorney and we will be making an offer to replace the covers at no charge to him. I will keep you informed as to his decision. *** * ****