This business is not BBB accredited.

Absolute Marble & Granite LLC

Phone: (206) 571-3467 Fax: (253) 939-7251 View Additional Phone Numbers 2801 Academy Dr SE STE E, Auburn, WA 98092 http://www.absolutemarble-granite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers manufacturing and installation of marble and granite flooring and counter tops.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Absolute Marble & Granite LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Absolute Marble & Granite LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Oliver Tiu, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Oliver Tiu, Member
Business Category

Granite Wholesalers & Distributors Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2801 Academy Dr SE STE E

    Auburn, WA 98092 (253) 939-2747 (206) 571-3467

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I moved into a brand new house and the granite counter install was done by Absolute Marble and Granite, LLC. Before our 1 year was up there was several issues with our counters. We made these known to our builder and they referred me to the company and I made contact. Absolute Marble and Granite, LLC sent out an installer to verify the concerns and I was told there would be some sort of decision made in a couple of weeks or so. After over a month I get a call from the owner ****** **** He then came out and acknowledged the complaints and admitted he picked out a poor quality of counter and he couldn't fix the problems. There are several cracks in the stone and staining from the factory where it was cut and polished at. At that time we talked about compensation of money to live with it or replacement of the counters. I told him I wanted it all replaced with a better quality counter as this is a brand new home and we want our brand new kitchen to match it. A couple weeks went by and no word so I contacted ****** via email and he said he needed to come out a 3rd time to take some pictures of the cracks, stains and settlement. He gave off the impression that he wanted the builders to help fix it.

Desired Settlement: I would like all our counters replaced with a similar product that isn't cracked and stained or a cash out option of $3500

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/07/02) */ To whom it may concern, In response to complaint XXXXXXXX made by *** **** ******* towards Absolute Marble and Granite LLC, it should be brought to your attention that ** ******* is not a direct customer of Absolute Marble and Granite LLC. He is a customer of ******** **** *********** having purchased one of their new homes directly from them. The granite work performed for ******** **** *********** was contracted through ********* ********* and ****** for which I am their designated granite contractor. That being said, I, ****** ***, owner of Absolute Marble and Granite, have personally made every attempt to aid **** ******* in getting his granite issues resolved with his builder. I have personally been to his home 3 times and have also sent my general manager to look at the granite issues he is having with his new home. I sympathize with *** ******* insofar as there are numerous cracks that have developed in his granite, and also a dull spot on his counter that was not there at the time of his final walk through prior to taking possession of the home. The cracks in his granite and dulling developed after his final walk through. It is important I re-emphasize this because it must be recognized that the granite was never installed this way. In an effort to help ** ******* understand the issues with his granite, the first being the cracking, I pointed out that granite has a very low modulus of elasticity, meaning, it is not flexible. I pointed out to him that some of the cracking issues could possibly be caused by settling of his home or cabinets, or possibly stresses exerted on the granite from standing, leaning, or excessive weight placed on the counters. I pointed out to ** ******* that while the cracks developed after moving in and have continued to get worse over time, it should be noted that the seams (joints where the granite pieces are connected to each another) had not been compromised. Again, I explained that while our adhesives are somewhat pliable and able to resist movement, granite is not. When addressing the issue of his granite developing a dull spot, I explained to ** ******* that it is symptomatic of the lower grade finish seen in granite typically used for pre-fabricated granite, which is standard for the builder. I went into detail explaining that the majority of pre-fabricated material is polished and cut in china, I also explained to him that in all likelihood, the finish resin, or wax used to polish his granite at the factory was of potentially inferior quality and that is why it did not stand up to the rigors of day to day living in his home. In this case, heat. ** ******* had originally expressed concerns about the dulling of his granite in one particular spot when informing his builder that where he uses his rice cooker, there was a dull spot underneath it that had developed. I explained to ** ******* that while granite is inherently impervious to heat of such low magnitude, it should not be ruled out that the wax or resin used by the producer of his pre-fabricated granite may not be of a quality that is resilient to heat. I told him that it was possible that the heat from his rice cooker could have dried out the wax and caused it to turn white. He acknowledged that the heat may have been a major factor in causing the dulling of the finish and he went on to say that it wasn't dull when we moved into his home, he said that when the granite was originally installed, it was very shiny in all areas. I shared with ** ******* my professional opinion on pre-fabricated granite and explained that I have no control over those types of quality control issues in china and that I felt it was unfortunate that many of our contractors use pre-fabricated granite. In ** ********* complaint, he makes a comment that Absolute Marble and Granite "picked" out a poor quality granite. This is completely inaccurate. While I addressed his concerns, I did not say that I picked out a poor quality of material. What I explained to him is that for the builder to be able to provide slab granite as a standard finish in their homes, they choose to use what is typically considered to be the lowest cost alternative. I then shared my opinion again that pre-fabricated granite is usually of lower quality than granite that comes in large sheets and must be custom cut per job. I went on to tell him that as a company we were moving away from even offering pre-fabricated stone because I did not like being forced to use it by my customers. What ** ******* said in regards to Absolute Marble and Granite "picking" out a poor quality of counter is false. We did not "pick" out the color or product installed in ** ********* home. It was what was ordered by ** ******* through his builder. ** ******* went through a selection process in which he personally chose his color of granite. Additionally, while not in the standard color palette offered by the builder, we provided his color choice without any upgrade charges. Also, it should be noted that during his selection process he was given the option of upgrading to custom granite at which time he declined the option of paying an upgrade for a more custom product. I have done everything I can to help ** ******* understand the issues he is having with his counter tops. I have even offered to assist in getting his builder to work with Absolute Marble and Granite so that we can replace or resolve some of his issues. ** ******* was given an offer exceeding the wholesale cost of his kitchen counter tops and declined the offer, instead asking for more than the counters cost originally. Absolute Marble and Granite has diligently tried to explain to ** ******* the issues he is having with his counter tops even though we are not obligated to do so. At any one time, rather than defer all accountability to ** ******* and telling him that all damage to his granite were of his own doing, Absolute Marble and Granite has instead tried to offer viable explanations that may help him resolve his concerns with his builder. I have suspended any direct communication with ** ******* as I feel it is pointless. I suggest that any further complaints he may have be taken up directly with his builder. Sincerely, ****** *** Absolute Marble and Granite LLC. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with my builder and they have offered to replace it or cash out at the cost of the install. At this time the cash option is acceptable. I have communicated in an email that once I have payment I will be more than happy to remove my complaint. I haven't received a confirmation yet.