BBB Accredited Business since

Sunset Glass Company Inc

Phone: (425) 454-5087 Fax: (425) 637-8884 11660 NE 8th St, Bellevue, WA 98005

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential glass sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunset Glass Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunset Glass Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunset Glass Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1954 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 09/24/1959 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Bond, President Ms. Barbara Beckwith
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Bond, President
Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window

Method(s) of Payment
We accept All Forms of Payment EXCEPT- Am Ex

Additional Locations

  • 11660 NE 8th St

    Bellevue, WA 98005 (425) 454-5087


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sunset Glass entered into a verbal contract that stated that specific merchandise (mirrors) will be delivered on a very specific date. That has not happened so Sunset Glass has breached the contract. They did not deliver the goods on an agreed date - the date was one of the conditions of entering into contract. They have charged my debit card for $500 and $235 claiming this is the money I owe them for service.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all monies that were taken from my debit card account without authorization.

Business Response: Regarding Case ID: ********

On December 4th we were contacted for a quote by the customer.

Our estimator met with the customer as scheduled at one thirty pm on 12/17/14.
On 12/19/14 a quote was e mailed to them.
12/23/14 at eleven thirty am customer responded to quote with an acceptance.
Due to the holidays our company was closed 12/23/14 at 2 pm thru 1/02/2015. We were back on
Monday 01/05/15.

The customer called looking to schedule the job on 01115/15. At that time the first available date
given was Friday 01/23/15. Because of the volume of installs, we use the acceptance date for
scheduling to keep things fair. She explained she needed to have it done for the closing of her

The customer insisted that she had spoken with someone in our office and was told she would be
scheduled for 01/16/15. The person identified does not do the sceduling and would not have given a
time for this.

As I had stated above, I had scheduled with the wife for Friday 01/23 at 9 AM. Shortly after that
the husband called and cancelled the job and said he would have the charges reversed on his credit

At noon the same day we had a cancellation. We attempted to contact the customers both by phone
and e mails and offered that day if they called back. We had no response.

Late that same day another phone message was left and another e mail sent. I had called several
homeowners to ask if they would change their time slots and I offered the 20th. In that email it
was explained the quote was a contract and had been accepted. Upon their acceptance custom cut
mirrors and been ordered and received at the time of the phone call. We asked that they please
work with us to make the
20th work. We had no response.

Per the terms written on the quote that was e mailed to the client, they were charged for the
mirrors as ordered for and all the time spent thus far.

In the final e mail to the clients with their final total and reciept they were told their mirrors
would be held for 30 days and they could pick them up at any time.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is very simple - service was not performed on the date we have agreed with Sunset Glass that it would be performed. Since - no payment is owed.
Sunset Glass was aware of the situation from the beginning that we have to have the mirrors installed on a certain date, otherwise we would choose a different supplier, not them.

My wife sent Sunset Glass an email on Dec 23rd asking for the installation date and followed up by phone with Lisa the same day, scheduling the service for a fixed date, the 16th, paying a $500 advance by debit card. The installation service on Dec 16th was THE CONDITION of contracting Sunset Glass to do the job.

Once again, there was a verbal contract to deliver specific goods on specific date (not on a random date chosen by Sunset Glass), which the company was not able to do - even the emails attached to this claim by Sunset Glass show that the scheduling process is very unprofessional.

If you read the mails you will learn that Sunset Glass did not contact us before installation and only after calling them they started to look at available installation dates.

Sunset Glass claims that we paid the advance money without scheduling any date, which is absurd and simply not true, additionally they claim that Lisa cant schedule installations. This is not my problem, since it is the internal issue of the company.

After all that Sunset Glass billed my debit card for over $300 WITHOUT authorization, which is committing fraud.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
Case ID#- ********

Sunset Glass Co. Inc., has been serving the Eastside for 60 Years. Because of our longevity, we
operate strictly on Customer Generated Interest (No "Cold Calls"). Sunset Glass provides a "NO
CHARGE" Quote to our Customer's upon request. Once we have been asked to the home to look at the
scope of work, Our Estimator provides a Quote.

Upon Acceptance of a Quote, per the Terms, we collect a Deposit to "Start the Order". No
Installation Date is provided until ALL PRODUCT is received. We CAN NOT & DO NOT schedule an
installation date, PRIOR to Receipt of Goods!! Sunset Glass uses many Vendors. Each Customer's
individual needs, dictates which vendor is needed. When dealing with Glass, there are MANY REASONS
why what is
shipped, is not acceptable. Wrong "Make-Up" or Thickness / Wrong Size / Scratches or Dirt- Finger
between the panes. Taking all of this into consideration, it can take SEVERAL deliveries before we
"Good Product" and are able to Schedule with the Customer.

As in many Contracting Business', Duties are divided among personnel. Lisa, whom the Client
contacted to "Start" their order, is responsible for Accounting and ALSO Types up the Client
Quotes for our Outside Estimator. She is a Part-Time Employee, She has more duties than time
allows!! Lisa does not, and has
Not ever done scheduling for Install of Product. This Client says that Lisa was made aware of their
and Promised them an Installation date at the time they started the order. There clearly was a
communication error somewhere!! In the interest of fairness, we schedule Installation of Product
based on the "Date order was placed". Lead Times vary, based on product needed, Specific to Job
Site and Vendor providing goods.

3 Mirrors were custom ordered for The Client. We DID have to reject 2 of the 3, due to a Scratch on
1 and a wrong dimension on the other. Once we had received all in good order, the paperwork was
placed in "The Box" on the "Scheduling Desk". The Client called on 1-15-15 to check on things,
and I tried to schedule the job, based on Availability on the Installation Schedule and the Men
needed to do the Job.
It is at this time, that I was being informed of the clients "Wants"!! Unfortunately, the Men
needed to do the Install were scheduled thru till Friday -1-23-15.

At this time, Sunset Glass has ordered and Paid our Vendor for 3 Custom Mirrors for this Client.
Because they did not get the date they wanted for Install, They Cancelled the order and have had
all costs refunded to them. In the End, we proceeded with the order as normal, and have been left
holding 3
Custom Mirrors.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sunset glass:

- is not telling the truth in the letter they have submitted to you: they have not returned the funds, it is the ***** bank that forced them to do so

- failed to mention that they charged my debit card WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION

Also, it is not my problem what are the companys internal issues and how the company processes the orders from customers or issues with suppliers - I order the goods and pay for tchem, and expect the service to be delivered and delivered on time and as agreed. That haven't happened.


**** ****