This business is not BBB accredited.

Harry & David

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 864-2121 View Additional Phone Numbers 2500 S Pacific Hwy, Medford, OR 97501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.harryanddavid.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides retail and Internet sales of chocolate, flowers, cheesecakes and fruit.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Harry & David include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Harry & David include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harry & David
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1952 Business started: 01/01/1914 Business started locally: 01/01/1914 Business incorporated 09/28/1945 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kay Hong, President/CEO Mr. Bill Ihle, EVP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kay Hong, President/CEO
Business Category

Gift Shops Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Internet Shopping Food Products Fruits - Dried Fruits & Vegetables - Retail Gift Baskets & Parcels

Alternate Business Names
Bear Creek Orchards Inc Harry & David Bellevue Stores Harry & David Bend Factory Outlets Harry & David Columbia Gorge Premium Outlets Harry & David Country Village Harry & David Holdings Inc Harry & David Inc Harry & David Lincoln City Factory Stores Harry & David Operations Corporation Harry & David Outlet Shops at Burlington Harry & David Seaside Store Harry & David Seattle Premium Outlets Harry & David SuperMall of the Great N W Harry & David Wholesale Harry & David Woodburn Company Stores

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1001 N Amey Rd Ste 204

    Woodburn, OR 97071

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10600 Quil Ceda Blvd Ste 522

    Tulalip, WA 98271

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1101 Supermall Way Ste 1364

    Auburn, WA 98001

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1111 N Roosevelt Dr Ste 350

    Seaside, OR 97138

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1314 Center Dr Unit A

    Medford, OR 97501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1500 SE East Devils Lake Rd Ste 308

    Lincoln City, OR 97367

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2500 S Pacific Hwy

    Medford, OR 97501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2518 S Pacific Hwy

    Medford, OR 97501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    256 Bellevue Sq

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    450 NW 257th Ave Ste 506

    Troutdale, OR 97060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    484 Fashion Way # 31

    Burlington, WA 98233

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    61334 S Highway 97 Ste 120

    Bend, OR 97702

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 8th I made on order for an over-night express delivery of a gift at 7:30 am PST, one and a half hours prior to their order cutoff time. On the morning of January 9th I called, wondering why I hadn't received shipping confirmation. It hadn't shipped, so they "adjusted" their delivery date to the 10th. Still, it never marked at shipped. I followed up 2x on the 9th and again on the 10th with still no delivery. I don't understand how a company can fail the delivery on a promise without repercussion. They are in the business of delivering gifts, and thus a consumer should be able to rely on them to delivery it on time as promised.

Desired Settlement: For everyone to know not to purchase items from them because they can't fulfill the obligations as a business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/02/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** **** Exec. Svcs Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@harryanddavid.com February 3, 2015 Mrs. ********* ***** **** ******* **** *** Moscow, ID 83843 Dear Mrs. ********* *****: We are very sorry for the frustration and inconvenience we may have caused you this season. As per our conversation on January 13, 2015, you have requested for a full refund on your order with us. A refund was processed on January 15, 2015. I have also sent a complementary gift of Moose Munch Popcorn to *** ****** *****, which was delivered on January 20th 2015. We're sorry for any disappointment this may have caused and hope the gift brought your recipient all of the enjoyment intended. Best wishes, ******** **** Sales and Service www.harryanddavid.com

2/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivery was extremely late sent to the wrong address by the time the product arrived the food was rotting and delivery was extremely horrible service. Had multiple issues when calling into customer service to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: Refund and a sampler product, to see if deliveries can arrive at an appropriate timeframe with no issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/09) */ Dear Mr. ***** *******: We are very sorry for the frustration and inconvenience we may have caused you this season. As per our conversation on February 05, 2015, you have requested for a full refund on your order with us. A refund was processed on February 05, 2015. I have also sent a complementary gift of ********** ********** to Ms. ***** ***** and have arranged for a complementary gift of our Favorites Gift Basket to be sent to you. We're sorry for any disappointment this may have caused and hope the gifts **** bring you and your recipient all of the enjoyment intended. Best wishes, ******** ** Sales and Service www.harryanddavid.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed my first order with Harry and David on Dec. 8, 2014. I had never used them before, and never will again. I had problems with them from the beginning. I told them I would like this delivery closer to Christmas, not wait until the last minute to ship. Person that took the order didn't bother to tell me there was extra shipping. I had to call back numerous times about that. As it has gotten closer to Christmas I have been checking it every day. Saturday, Dec. 20 I received an email from them. I thought it may have been an update about delivery but it was really nothing but "we know you are excited about your order." No update, no tracking, no nothing. Started Monday, Dec. 22 calling. Got a very rude employee,***, asked him to connect me to his supervisor.Surprise, he cut me off. I called back and got a surpervisor,*******, that didn't seem to know him from anything. They have serveral call centers. Was in a chat, Dec. 23, ****** assured me it was on schedule to be shipped. If that was the case, I asked, wouldn't it have to be gone by Monday, Dec. 22? Well got the run around began again that it could go out anytime, maybe even Wed, Dec. 24. Which makes no sense. Called back Tues, Dec. 23, lady looked at the screen and said, looks like label printed out Dec. 21, Sunday and just been sitting since. She said, "Let me get a supervisor to call you back." Almost 24 hours later, never heard back. I didn't ask for one, she suggested. Called back Tuesday night, Dec. 23,got a lady that gave me product id numbers and told me you could use them on ***** to track. She also told me to check the order after midnight and the tracking would be updated.I know they were all lies, but it was confirmed, Wed.,Dec. 24 when I called again. Called at 7:00 am my time and asked for a supervisor, ****** Was on the phone with her for over 30 minutes. She confirmed you can't put a product id number in anywhere on ****** confirmed if you were going to get a supervisor it would be then not a call back, confirmed she never saw where a shipping label printed out. Still don't know anything except she doesn't think my order has left. Then why was I lied to all the other times? Just to get me off the phone I am sure. Why would someone place an order 2 1/2 weeks ahead of time, to avoid this very thing, only to have it happen. I didn't ask for them to wait last minute. I tried to get info from ****** but really didn't. Never dealt with a company that didn't know if your item had left their building or not.Tried to blame it on the actual supplier of the item, or *** *** Said she would refund my shipping, but for as many times as I have called and what I have gone through with them, lies, wrong info, etc., I am seeking a total refund and will never use the company again. Hope the CEO of this place sees this and can retrain the employees.

Desired Settlement: full refund of products

1/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GIFT BASKET WAS TO BE DELIVERED ON MNDAY 12/22, IT'S STILL MAY NOT BE DELIVERED TODAY 12/24, WAS A CHRISSTMAS GIFT FOR ONE OF MY CUSTOMERS

Desired Settlement: THEY CAN ADVISE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ ***** ********* Dear *** *********: We are very sorry for the frustration and inconvenience we may have caused you this season. In reviewing your Harry and David order we show that the thoughtful gift you had ordered for Christmas delivery arrived on 12/24/2014. This order was also fully refunded on 01/13/2015 per your request. We're sorry for any disappointment this may have caused and hope the gift brought your recipient all of the enjoyment intended. Best wishes, ****** ****** Sales and Service www.harryanddavid.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ads sent out are misleading. I spent over an hour on the phone and only 3/4 through the call did she explain that the offer was only good on one item/2 items. When the order came through they did not even honor the price on the one or two promised. They offered free shipping. This is a misleading company.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to place the actual offer in standard size font so you know up front tat it is only good for one or two items. Also don't waste my time staying on the phone for so long only to tell me that tat offer that I called about and stated at the first of the call was not good. Very deceptive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/18) */ Thank you for contacting our Sales and Services staff regarding the recent promotional offer you received. While I regret the circumstances that prompted your call, it was a pleasure speaking with you last week. Your comments are very valuable to us and we thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your concerns. As discussed, your feedback concerning the font size used to describe the limitation of this offer has been passed along to the appropriate departments for review. At this time, I cannot advise you of the resolution or changes that may be implemented in the future. Please accept our apologies that the offer was not extended as a courtesy when you initially contacted us. As promised, a credit has now been applied to your order. This credit will appear on your bankcard statement shortly. We are constantly striving to provide quality products and services to our customers, *** *****. The fact that you took the time to contact us will help us in our continuing efforts to achieve this goal. Sincerely. Harry and David

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Take me off your mailing list. I never asked to be on your mailing list, have never purchased anything from your company or any of your subsidiary, umbrella or partnered companies. We have never done business and I have no idea where you purchased my name and mailing address from for the purpose of mailing me this unsolicited advertising. That you would even advertise to me is ridiculious given that your own mailer states that the neared store to me is "only" 55 miles away from where I live. Also the fact that this mailer points out that it is "environmentally friendly" & recycled is laughable considering that you wasted all this paper to mail this advertisement off to someone who had never heard of you before. ***** ****** *** * ***** ** *** Westerville, OH. 43081 USA

Desired Settlement: Take me off your mailing list

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/13) */ ***** ****** *** * ***** ****** Westerville, OH 43081 Dear *** ******: Thank you for contacting us regarding our literature. I regret the circumstances that prompted your contact. In reviewing our records, I do not find your name and address on our mailing list database. As you may be aware, we do utilize rental lists from other companies throughout the year. The coding on the Harry and David catalog you returned indicates that your name was obtained from one of these lists.. Please be assured your name has not been added to our permanent mailing file or released to any other party. As long as you do not order from our catalog, you should receive no future mailings as a result of that rental. All rental lists we procure are run against the files of the ****** ********* *********** and our own files to ensure the removal of those individuals who have indicated their desire to receive no catalog mailings. You may wish to contact the *** and ask to be added to their national "removal" list. Please be aware, however, that all name and address variations under which you are receiving mailings must be reported to them to ensure they have complete information. They may be reached at ****** ********* ************ **** * ******* Washington, D.C. 20036. We regret the inconvenience you have experienced, *** ******, and appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance. If any unresolved issues remain, please feel free to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, Harry and David Executive Services

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company continues to send marketing materials to my post office box after requests to unsubcribe.

Desired Settlement: Remove my address from your solicitations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/24) */ November 20, 2014 ********* ************* Occoquan, VA 22125 Dear *********: Thank you for letting us know about your concern regarding receiving catalogs from Harry & David. Your request to the Better Business Bureau was forwarded to us for a response. In reviewing your account, I can confirm that your mailing address has been removed from Harry & David's mailing list. However, some of the company's literature is prepared well in advance of mailing and, with the company's holiday mailing schedule already in progress, there was no way to stop some catalogs that were already in the process of mailing. Accordingly, we anticipate that two additional catalogs, which could not be retrieved, will arrive approximately November 24 and December 2. let us know should you have further questions or concerns. We regret any inconvenience you may have experienced, and appreciate your understanding. Sincerely, Harry & David Customer Service CC: Better Business Bureau Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called to attempt to remove myself from their email list five time online and an additional 5 times by phone to their tech support phone number, but the emails persist.

Desired Settlement: Removal of my email address form their sales list, the continued emails constitute digital harassment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Dear *** ***** Thank you for contacting us regarding the receipt of promotional emails from our company. I deeply regret that you found it necessary to contact us more than once and wish to confirm actions taken. Please accept my apologies that your request was not acted upon when you initially contacted us. In reviewing your account, I find that your email address has been removed from our email list and I have asked our email manager to expedite the changes to your subscription status. This action took effect immediately. However, since our email broadcasts are prepared well in advance, you may receive a few more. We regret the inconvenience you have experienced, *** ***** and sincerely appreciate your patience and understanding. I hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Harry and David. If I may be of further assistance, please let me know. Best wishes, ***** ****** ********* ******** Harry and David ************************* ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered product on 2 Dec. 1213 for delivery on 18 Dec 2013. Credit Card charged $70.91 on 4 Dec 2013. Received email on 10 Dec. 2013 order was shipped. When I did not receive confirmation email that order was delivered I went to the shipment tracking number provided by the co. This link showed no such tracking number existed with the shipper ******** I called ***** and the tracking number co. gave me was bogus. ***** also looked at the shipping address and had no record of it. Called Harry and David (co.) & found out item was out of stock. No explanation why I was given a bogus tracking number. Co could not send a substitute gift to arrive in time. I was promised an immediate refund. Called Customer service the next day & treated very rudely by the supervisor. Nothing was their fault & I was left with them having my money & no gift. He did not even apologize. On Dec. 20 2013 received a PARTIAL REFUND of $66.90. Checked my account on the co. website and it showed they were still charging me the $4.01 taxes. Called customer service yet again and more rudeness. They said "taxes are treated differently & it was up to my credit card co. if I got the taxes back." Again, my account shows they, Harry and David, did not refund the amount they charged me for taxes. This is a 1st, A COMPANY CHARGED ME TAXES FOR GOODS THEY NEVER GAVE ME. In summary, I spent time picking out a gift that was never sent. I ended up with no gift. This was for a business & Harry and David sent me a bogus tracking number. I wonder if they thought I was not going to notice since this was a business gift (no family or friends to talk). Now they send me a partial refund and keep taxes I paid for merchandise Harry & David never provided. Was I not going to notice? Does the tax code require businesses to charge taxes on goods they never provide? Did Harry and David give the government these tax dollars or keep them? This is a horrible company that rips off the consumer and they need to be stopped.

Desired Settlement: I request my tax dollars be returned and compensation )for the amount of my money Harry and Davisd kept for such a long time) for extreme hassle, inconvenience and that while I ordered early, I was left with no gift. I also request an apology. If Harry and David refuse to do this I request proof that the taxes were paid (WITH NO REFUND to Harry and David) and that keeping taxes for the purchase of goods that was never provide is in accordance with the tax code.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ *** ******** placed an order for a gift to be sent to a recipient on 12/2/13 for 12/18/13 delivery. Our records indicate the gift was shipped 12/9/13 via ******* ******* ********** However, the ***** tracking number applied to that shipment was invalid and it appears to be due to a system error. Because of this system error, the company had no way of knowing if the gift was shipped or received by the recipient. When *** ******** contacted Harry & David on 12/18/13 about the invalid tracking number, the customer service associate incorrectly processed an incomplete credit of $66.90 to the Visa Card. This error resulted in a credit that was short by $4.01. When *** ******** contacted Harry & David on 12/27/13 about the shorted credit, the associate did not provide *** ******** with the correct information about the status of a refund for the sales taxes. After receiving the BBB complaint, Customer Service credited her bankcard for the additional $4.01 and called *** ******** on 1/15/14 to apologize for the errors made in handling her complaint. An apology gift was offered and, at her request, was sent to her recipient via ***** priority. The gift (a bakery gift valued at $69.96) was delivered on 1/16/14. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for expedited delivery in order to ensure delivery "by Christmas", but unfortunately this did not occur. The first delivery attempt failed because 'Harry and David' sent the wrong delivery address to ****** I contacted 'Harry and David' on 12/22 when I discovered this. They promised that they would re deliver through ***** in order to guarantee delivery by 12/24. 'Harry and David' also agreed to give me a 10% discount because of their mistake. This second delivery was completed, but not until 12/26. While I am disappointed that it was tardy, I am even more disappointed because this could have been prevented. I actually contacted 'Harry and David' on 12/23 when I realized ***** did not schedule my delivery until after Christmas. Unfortunately 'Harry and David' choose not to respond, instead claiming to me repeatedly that ***** had simply not updated their tracking website. They assured me that the delivery would be on time, and they even promised me that they "would do everything in our power to make it right if the delivery is not on time". 72 hours have past since this delivery failed to arrive on time, and I am still waiting for 'Harry and David' to follow up with me.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of delivery charges for failing to deliver a service as promised. Full refund of purchase price for deceptive business practices. I had time to source another vendor before Christmas, but chose not to because 'Harry and David' guaranteed that delivery would be on time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/07) */ Dear *** ***: We're sorry to learn of your disappointment and appreciate the opportunity to make amends. Your complete satisfaction is very important to us. Let me apologize that the Roxy Ann Gift Basket Deluxe for the **** *** Family did not arrive until after the holiday. Both the original and replacement shipments were made as specified, and I'm sorry for the mishandling the package suffered after leaving our hands. And since we stand behind the carriers to whom our packages are entrusted for final delivery, we're glad to make an adjustment. In reviewing your order, I find that express delivery was not requested for this shipment and a coupon was applied for free standard delivery. I've verified that adjustments of $9.95 and $2.09 were credited on December 22. I have now adjusted $96.30 and $2.83 for the balance of your order. These credits should be reflected on your ******** ******* statement shortly. We are constantly striving to provide quality products and services to our customers, *** ***, and appreciate the opportunity to demonstrate the sincerity of our guarantee. I hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Harry and David. Best wishes, **** ******** Executive Services Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Met my requested resolution

1/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a gift basket and the advertised delivery date was 12/24/13. The order confirmation I received via email also indicated delivery by 12/24. However, the shipping confirmation has the order arriving 12/31. In addition, the wine I had added to the basket was out of stock and they did not inform me until after the basket shipped and they had already substituted it with something else. When I contacted customer service the response I received was lackluster and not at all helpful. The only thing they offered to do was mail an apology letter to the recipient.

Desired Settlement: I paid for expedited delivery in order for the package to arrive by 12/24. I would like for that amount, at the very least, to be reimbursed - $9.95.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/01/07) */ Since filing the complaint, Harry and David credited me $33.45 (more than what I asked them for) and a manager from their customer service department also contacted me. I am more than pleased with this outcome and am happy to consider the complaint closed if that is possible?