BBB Accredited Business since

CoEnergy Propane LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 738-6733 Fax: (541) 738-8306 4920 SW 3rd St Ste C, Corvallis, OR 97333 http://www.CoEnergy.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial propane sales and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CoEnergy Propane LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CoEnergy Propane LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CoEnergy Propane LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 19, 2003 Business started: 08/01/2001 Business started locally: 08/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 967-6291
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Randy Camp, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Camp, Managing Member
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Licensing

According to Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CoEnergy Propane LLC's contractors license is expired as of February 8, 2014. To verify the company's current status, please contact the Board at (503) 378-4621 or www.oregon.gov/ccb.


Additional Locations

  • 3000 S Highway 97

    Redmond, OR 97756 (541) 504-9444

  • 4920 SW 3rd St Ste C

    Corvallis, OR 97333

  • P.O. Box 2329

    Corvallis, OR 97339

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The State Fire Marshall inspected my propane tank installation in April 2010. They provided a Notice and Order of Correction to myself and CoEnergy that required closure of basement vents in the vicinity of the propane line that enters my house. I corrected that deficiency. The State Fire Marshall also pointed out at the time of his visit that there were safety concerns in how the tank was placed. Namely that the tank was placed such that a long horizontal segment of the line extended out from the tank and hence was at risk of damage due to deer potentially travelling between the tank and the adjoining slope. I informed Coenergy several times about the latter issue and despite several promises to inspect and correct this problem they have failed to do so. They have also failed to respond to phone calls in the past and a recent phone call requesting clarification of their policies on refunds for remaining gas in the tank as well as any other charges relating to removing their tank. I have since bought my own propane tank and installed it in a safe manner.

Desired Settlement: I want their tank removed. I want a refund on the gas remaining in the tank at either the cost/gal that I purchased it or the present price/gal. I do not want to incur any further charges for removal since their poor service required me to finally remove their tank and purchase another. I do not want to incur any rental charges beyond what would be prorated on a daily basis.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/01/19) */ The original tank set for Mr. ******** was set in 2009 and resized to a smaller one at a later date. I in the process of contacting the Oregon State Fire Marshal's Office to find out about any discrepancies that the Fire Marshal found when he inspected the job at Mr. ********'s location. The process with the Fire Marshal is that any discrepancies found during his inspection are written up and sent to the installer to correct. If these discrepancies are not corrected in a timely manner, the installer is subject to fines. I have not been able to find any discrepancies for this installation, thus I am working with the Oregon State Fire Marshal to see what happened. As for the tank being picked up, I have told the Service Manager at our location to call Mr. ******** to make arrangements for the tank to be picked up and credit issued. As soon as I have more information on what happened I will respond again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My issue with Coenergy has been their lack of service and failure to respond to my concerns and the concerns of the State Fire Marshall. I never received any notice that a reinspection was done on 5/20/10 and I doubt the accuracy of the statement that this notice was received on that date. The recommendation by the State Fire Marshall that the tank should be moved to reduce risk for inadvertent damage to the outflow line was a verbal recommendation to me. I relayed that recommendation to Coenergy on several occasions (despite their claims that they never received any communication from me to that regards). My phone records will show that there were several calls made and returned to Coenergy in regards to this concern. The last call I received from Mr. ******* was that he would be out to evaluate the situation in the Spring (Spring of 2014). That promise was never kept. Coenergy points out that I called on 11/11/13 to request a possible gas grill connection. I believe this was the call that I was promised by Mr. ******* that he would be out in the Spring to evaluate possible tank removal. I will note there was no response from them to evaluate for the possible gas grill connection as well, and this was despite an email request and at least two requests by phone. I initially emailed Coenergy about my dissatisfaction with their service and requesting clarification of their cancellation policies on 11/10/14. They never directly responded to me. The only reason I have gotten any response from them is because of my complaint to the BBB. Even then it has taken them more than a month and a half to respond to the BBB complaint. So again, the issue is the failure to respond to customer request for service and failure to respond to concerns about safety issues. At this point I am willing to drop this issue and agree to their response if: 1) They remove their tank and issue a refund on the remaining gas in the tank at the current price/gal. 2) I don't want any additional charges from Coenergy for tank removal since I am cancelling their contract for poor service. 3) I do not want to incur any rental charges (or any other charges for that matter) beyond what I paid in 2014 since this issue could have been resolved earlier if they had responded in a timely manner to my email of 11/10/14. If this is acceptable Coenergy can pick up their tank at any time. I have moved it to the top of the driveway. I took the initiative to do this on my own only because of the lack of response by Conergy to the safety concerns the Fire Marshall raised and their failure to move the tank to correct those concerns. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/02/02) */ As stated in my earlier Response, CoEnergy will pick up our tank and equipment and will credit *** ******** for any propane that is in the tank at the going rate on the day we pick it up, per his request. Again, I am sorry for this getting to this point, but as I stated in my earlier response, the Oregon State Fire Marshal indicated no other discrepancies with this installation other than the one that was corrected and reinspection was done and approved by the Oregon State Fire Marshal. I can only go by what information I have and I have talked with everyone at the Redmond office about documenting all conversations with customers for this very reason, so no one slips through the cracks, which is what appears must have happened with *** ********'s communications to our office. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this miscommunication may have caused ad CoEnergy Propane will make sure that there is no other charges (only a credit) assessed to *** ********. As soon as the tank and equipment is picked up, I will ge the refund check processed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 25, 2015/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm sure there will be additional customer complaints if Coenergy employees continue to ignore customer complaints and concerns or requests for service. A request by them for additional info and/or a clear statement that they don't feel obligated to address safety issues raised by the State Fire Marshall would have been preferable to simply ignoring the customer or making unfulfilled promises to address the issue.

2/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessive price for home delivered propane. Once you lease one of thier tanks it seems you are at thier mercy when it comes to pricing, I was charged #3.949 per gallon. ******* shows the state of oregon is in the $2.40 range for home delivery, *** also shows that wholesale is $1.004 per gallon. Coenergy's competition is between $3.09 per gallon and $3.25 a galllon for the same service. A mark up of 393% is a little excessive. Product_Or_Service: Propane Order_Number: sale*****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Partial refund to what local competitve pricing should be.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/25/14, Co-Energy took my propane tank without any reason that I know of. They are saying I requested this but I did not. I am a disabled Veteran who has cancer. They took my tank without any notice which left me with no heat or no way of cooking. It has been below freezing in Terrebonne. My sister tried to call them the next day to see what the "story" was. She left two messages - neither time did they return her call. I have had to find other propane dealers - this has been a real hardship for me especially because of my health issues.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me for two weeks of propane usage + penalty ($200) and a formal apology. I have been able to get another propane company to provide me service - but I truly believe they need to be penalized for what they did - They should never take a tank from someone without notice especially from a person who has health issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/10) */ I have attached the complete file from our system for you. The keey things to note is that *** ***** is very verbally abusive to anyone he talks with. He have hung up on most of us when we have called and tried to help him. The other key thing to note in this case is that we picked up our equipment because he told us to do so. Once it was picked up, then he complained that we did what he asked. If there are any questions concerning any of the information I have attached, please do not hesitate to give us a call. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/17) */ That is a lie, I never told them to pick up my tank. The Attorney General already caught them in that lie. Why would i tell them to pick up my tank in the dead of winter when I am a bedridden cancer patient. 100% disabled veteran. Why would i want them to get rid of my heat and my means of cooking? It took 2 weeks for me to get someone else out here to restore my propane and heat. It was cold and the only way I could cook is with my microwave. The only way to stay warm was to throw a whole bunch of blankets over myself. My next step is to get the media involved. They already told my they didn't like veterans. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/03/18) */ In response, *** ***** did tell us to pick up our equipment, more than once to more than one person. We record all of our phone calls, so I have asked for the call from *** ***** to be located in which he requested that we pick up our equipment. As for his statement concerning the Attorney General, No lies involved, as the issue was on the amount of his credit. We had issued him a credit based on his last two deliveries and the AG office wanted us to base it on his last delivery only, which we did. As for his statement that we told him that "we don't like veterans", that never happened. I am a veteran as are others who work for CoEnergy. We actually have a truck that has been dedicated to those who served. As soon as I get a copy of that recording, I will let you know.

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service