BBB Accredited Business since

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Seattle

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 264-0052 Fax: (425) 264-0070 View Additional Phone Numbers 18802 72nd Ave S, Kent, WA 98032

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers retail furniture sales, free interior design services and La-Z-Boy furniture repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Seattle meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2011 Business started: 06/08/2011 Business started locally: 05/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Washko, Member Mr. Dean Larson, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dean Larson, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Chris Washko, Member
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Home Accessories Interior Decorators & Designers Tables - Folding

Service Area
Puget Sound area.
Alternate Business Names
Sunshine Furniture LLC

Additional Locations

  • 17305 Southcenter Pkwy

    Tukwila, WA 98188

  • 18802 72nd Ave S

    Kent, WA 98032 (206) 575-1766 (253) 472-8488 (360) 308-0800 (425) 778-6068 (866) 264-9992 (425) 264-0052

  • 19230 Alderwood Mall Pkwy

    Lynnwood, WA 98036

  • 3126 NW Randall Way

    Silverdale, WA 98383

  • 6610 Tacoma Mall Blvd

    Tacoma, WA 98409


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/15/15 I purchased a sectional which included a sofa sleeper with a slumber air mattress which wasn't delivered until 8/15/15. When it was delivered they found the air mattress to be defective and told be I needed a new one. Then the service department called and wanted to send someone out to try and fix it. When the tech came out two weeks later he took one look and said it needed to be replaced. when they came out to replace it three weeks later the tech accidentally ripped the new mattress and now that one has to be replaced. It is now 10/21/15 five months after ordering the sectional and I still don't have the slumber air mattress.

Desired Settlement: I would like the slumber air mattress replaced promptly and would also like an adjustment made to my account to make up for my time and inconvenience.

Business Response:

We have this appointment schedule for the Saturday the 31st as requested by the customer for the mattress swap, we had an earlier day but they choose the Saturday appointment. I have forwarded the request for a discount to the store manager. If the consumer has any additional service requests we will be happy to get them resloved ASAP..

The customer received the sectional on 8-28-2015

We ordered the replacment Bladder as a service replacment from the plant, they had the part on a delay status, once we had been notified we pulled one from a stock unnit for installation. We are sorry forr any issue the dalay has caused.  

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I still don't have the mattress.  I am in disbelief in the lack of remorse LAZBOY has had.  The only reason I requested the mattress be delivered on 10/31/15 was because they refused to deliver it on 10/24/15 and I work during the week so of course I could not have them deliver it any earlier.  I have done nothing but work around their schedule and it doesn't seem to matter to them that I have been having to sleep on the sofa for the past two months.  An apology for the poor customer service would have been appreciated but then it obviously was too much to ask.  It took them 7 days just to respond to this complaint, guess they don't care much about their customers or how they are treated.  I will not consider this matter resolved until I receive my mattress.  With such poor customer service I'm actually sorry that I am still having to deal with them and will be happy when this is over and I have received everything I purchased over 5 months ago.  I will never do business with them again and will advise everyone I know not to do business with them.


**** ******

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased two brown leather electric rocker recliners totaling $4,248.57 on Jan. 21st this year. They were delivered on Jan. 29, 2015. We noted a stain on one arm rest, they noted it and said they would order and it would be replaced. We've never heard anything more about it. After about three weeks we noticed some color changes in the leather. As time went on the color discolorations became more dramatic. We called our salesman and he directed us to call the service department. We called service and I explained the problem to *****. No call back. Called again and she said we needed to talk to ****, the service manager. He did not call me back. Called again and ***** said before they could do anything they needed to send a tech out to take pictures so we scheduled a tech to come out. He came on April 23 and took pictures. We waited a week or so with no contact from them. I called again and finally talked to the manager, ****. He said he hadn't even seen the pictures yet. I suggested he needed to talk with his tech to get the pictures of our chairs. In the meantime, the discoloration on the chairs is worse. After calling them a few more times I finally got **** again and **** told me he couldn't really see a problem from the pictures. He stated that that was typical of the leather we got. I couldn't believe that so I took more pictures and drove to Kent (about 20 miles) to talk with **** in person. He looked at my pictures and said "yes, that is the way the leather was made. He took us out to the warehouse to show us a couch that looked like a rainbow of different colors on the leather and said that's how they come straight out of the box." I told him my chairs were solid brown when we got them and only changed over time. They didn't look like that out of our box. Finally he said he would call the Lynnwood store manager and the salesman and call us back that day or the next day. I'm out of room so my story ends with no satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: A return and full refund for these defective leather chairs.

Business Response:

Firstly, let me say that the customer did not purchase a solid brown leather chair because that particular style only comes in the Delvecchio leather and that is what she received. That particular leather has been processed to produce a "motled" look to the leather, meaning there are light and dark looks to the finish. There were other leather chairs in our leather gallery, but that is not what she purchased.

We spoke to the customer last week and while we understand her disappointment with what she purchased, there are no manufacturers defects in her chairs. She also complains that the dye is fading from her chairs and after inspection and more than five qualified personnel looking at her chairs we explained that they are not fading that they are exactly like the ones on display in our store. Again, let me say that particular chair isn't manufactured in another leather.

In the spirit of good customer service we offered to give her a store credit, even after she has had the chairs in her home for over 4 months. We would not consider a refund since there are no defects in the chairs.

We feel this is more than fair to the customer. After we spoke to her last week, she was going to think about it and then give us a call. We never received a call.

This is where we stand on this complaint. A store credit, but no refund.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:   The chairs have been in my home for 4 months because of La-z-boy's slow response to our complaints.  You need to see pictures of my chairs and pictures of the chairs they say they have in their warehouse because they don't look alike at all.  Only problem is I don't (this is embarrassing) know how to get the pictures on my phone transferred to my computer.  I will get that done and send them to you.  They should do the same.  When our chairs were delivered they were NOT multi-colored or we would have rejected them.  When you see the difference in the pictures I think it will be obvious what I'm talking about.  The reason I am not happy with a store credit is that it kills me to think that I'll have to buy $4,000+ worth of merchandise I don't want.  I will never do business with this company again.  I was shocked to see 354 reviews on the corporate website with the average rating at only 1.4.  So I wasn't going to get any help from their corporate headquarters as they must not care.


******** ********

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a chair and couch on Nov 15, 2014. It was delivered on 11/26. I also spent $200.00 for Pro care fabric protection. The chair started pilling less that 2 months after receiving it. Customer care service **** ******, said it wa my fabric causing the pilling, and too bad they only have a return policy of 3 days. What the, what???

Desired Settlement: I wish a full refund for this chair.

Business Response: I talked with Mrs. ****** regarding the pilling concerns, I asked her to send pictures which she did. After inspecting the pictures that have been sent we found that the fiber balls (pilling) on the chair are from a totaly differant color yarn than any on the chair, this shows that this is natural pilling which is a natual characteristic on some fabric. This is caused by excess fibers comming off of the consumers cloths or blankets and balling up from friction. *** recomends using a fabric shaver if this occurs. The following was sent to me from *** and is what they responded to her with. I am also sending the photes that Mrs. ****** sent to me directly too *** Warranty Services.... *****, Thank you and for your feedback.? Would you mind providing us with the unit information? This can be found on the units law label, we will need the ACK/LINE/ITEM, the style, cover and expect to ship date.The law label is usually located under the legrest, cushions, or bottom frame of the unit. If you are able you can submit photos of the pilling to ******** We would be happy to look into this further for anything abnormal, however, pilling is not considered a manufacturing defect. Pilling is only loose fibers in weave of the fabric, much like sweater.The fabric is not deteriorating. Once all loose fibers are removed, the pilling will stop. We recommend using a sweater shaver. Go over the unit 3-4 times to remove all loose fibers, and the pilling will stop. We look forward to hearing back from you. Thank you, La-Z-Boy ConsumerAffairs Team

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again this company has deflected responsabilty for their poor product with the "the best defense is a good offense" strategy. Perhaps if they provided sweater shavers with their products I MIGHT have accepted their response. This is just another example of a poorly run business that does not care one wit about a satisfied customer.

Business Response: The customer has also reached out to *** consumer affairs, they also after looking at the pictures which I forwarded to them have given the same findings per an email that I received. They explianed to the customer that this should be addressed with a fabric shaver and will dissipate after a few times as this is normal with some fabrics.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They have not accepted responsibility for the poor fabric. and I do not think I should have to "shave" the fabric. This is very poor fabric and I am extremely disappointed in this company, and that they continue to refuse to do anything to fix this issue.

***** ******

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a leather recliner at the Lynnwood WA La Z Boy Furniture store about a year plus ago. We paid about $1500.00 for it. The coloring is coming off of the arms and head rest and looks terrible. We went to the Lynnwood store and complained and they said we did not buy the extended warranty and said to call service, which we did. They said they would not help us. The reason we bought the chair there was we believed La Z Boy was the best and the leather was good...All untrue....I will never again deal with them or recommend them to anyone. They do not stand behind their products that are supposed to be made in the US. At any rate, I thought they would at least repair the chair because it is almost new. Product_Or_Service: chase recliner Rocke Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: $1033.00 plus WA tax

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Either replace the chair with an equal at no cost or repair with a guarantee at no cost to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/24) */ We offer a one year factory warranty and the customer can also purchase an extended service plan which we recomend on all purchases, the extended warranty gives the customer in-home service for five years at NO CHARGE (The ******** did not purchase this plan). The customer received the chair 1-31-2013 which is well over the 1st year N/C service that we (LZB) offer and the 1 yr factory warranty on the leather. We would be glad to send pictures to the factory and see is they will do anything if the customer would like us to. When the customer called regarding the issues on 12-10-2014 we explained the warranty and that was the end of the call, they hung up. We do stand behind our products for manufacturing defect, as all companies do we have a warranty that is included with the products purchase. We also can not control the conditions in which the furniture is being used in. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were offered the warranty but it was to much money after spending what we did on the furniture. I truly believed that Lazy Boy was made so well and the leather was top notch that I would not have to get a warranty. The leather and coloring is sub-standard....Non of our other leather furniture has lost color anywhere and they are not lazy Boy......Any reliable company would at least send out a repair person to take care of this. So, I do not accept their response. If all American companies acted like this selling American built furniture we would be in bad shape....America as supposed to stand behind their products....Thanks...***** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/01/08) */ We again would be glad to send pictures to LZB, with not allowing us to do this we have no other options available besided the service and repair to be on a charge bases.., Plase send the pictures to me at ***** Once I have them I will send to LZB for inspection, they will give us options on what they can do.. ..

12/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought sectional on October 9th 2014. Was quoted by saleswomen ****** delivery before Thanksgiving. Delivery did not happen prior to Thanksgiving. When I contacted saleswomen about delivery I received an Email saying that sectional would arrive to the store mid December 2014. That is past the 8 weeks stated on the sales agreement. As of this date 12/4/14 I still do not have what I have already paid for. Product_Or_Service: Sectional Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Partial refund in the amount of $1000 or a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ On October 9, 2014 we signed a special order contract with *** *****. The 8 wk. estimate is just that, an estimate. In the contract he signed, it states the shipping times are estimates and cannot be controlled or guaranteed by seller.In the spirit of good customer service I will gladly deliver his sectional at NC. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will accept this response when I'm refunded the delivery charge. As mentioned in the business's response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/13) */ I have given *** ***** delivery at NC and will be following up to refund his credit card for that delivery.

11/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a five year protection plan based on sales person stating it covered padding and fabric that included wear. Three in a half years later the fabric is worn and we are being told the plan we purchased only covers spills and damage. Store manager openly admitted have problems with our sales person ******* Store offered to pick up and attempt repair but only if we paid a portion of the cost.

Desired Settlement: Refund of purchase sold to us under false pretense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ The issues the customer is experiencing are not covered by either the purchased extended warranty or the La-Z-Boy manufacture's factory warranty. Whether the extended warranty was in fact "misrepresented" as per the customer's allegation is impossible to determine after 3 years have elapsed. As a course of normal business customer would have been given a copy of the extended warranty and the LZB warranty with complete disclosure of terms and conditions. We certainly regret and misunderstanding in this matter and have offered to either refund extended warranty cost or to repair furniture at a reduced price. We cannot and will not alter the terms and conditions of our written warranty Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no question that what we where told this extended warranty covered was misrepresented. The Tacoma Lazyboy store manager acknowledged on the phone with me that our sales person was known to use unethical sales tactics like this and now, "Whether the extended warranty was in fact "misrepresented" as per the customer's allegation is impossible to determine after 3 years have elapsed" is their position? I'm disgusted with that statement! They lied to us at time of purchase and are now showing their true colors by attempting to cover it up. Their own store manager openly ADMITTED having problems like this with our sales person!! If that's their final position then I suggest we move to arbitration. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/11/17) */ I'm pleased to report that myself and Lazy Boy have reached a mutual agreement in this matter and I would like to withdrawal my complaint at this time. Thank you

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've attached email correspondence with lazboy regarding a recliner I purchased from them. They never fixed the issue when it was still under the one year warranty and now they are telling me to use the extended warranty that I also purchased through lazboy but they never gave me the extended warranty info/card. I was unaware that there was a card they lead me to believe I would just have to contact lazboy. They put fixing my recliner and I'm stuck with broken chair. see attached emails. Hello, How convenient, your store will not fix the problem during the first year then after the first year I'm told to go through ******** for my "extended" warranty but I never received the card that is supposed to have my "extended" warranty #. I am well aware of the "piling" issue, I've been told numerous times (after the purchase) about how this is a "normal" condition. It would have been nice to know before the purchase not after the fact. If I would have known this before the purchase I would have NEVER chose this fabric. What LAZBOY calls "normal" is sub-par for many other manufactures. It would be nice if LAZBOY would stand behind their products. How do I get the ******** card with my extended warranty number. It's obvious LAZBOY cares nothing about customer service and honoring the warranty or this chair would have been fixed the first time someone came to my house to look at it. This has got to be one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had. From: *********** To: **********; *********** Subject: RE: La-Z-Boy review Date: Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:35:08 +0000 Hello *****, It looks as if you had contacted your local service center in May and was advised to file a claim with ********* your third party warranty- extended warranty. Did you follow up with making a claim? If you would prefer, your local service center can assist you but you would be responsible for the service fees to review your furniture to determine how to proceed. The service fee is $119 and would include the trip fee and up to 30 minutes of labor. The phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. The cover issue you are describing is called Pilling. Pilling is not a manufacture defect. It is caused by loose fibers making the way to the surface and these do need to be shaved off. This will stop over time. Please let us know if any further assistance is needed. Kindest Regards, *** ** XXXXXX From: ***** mailto:********** Sent: Wednesday, July 09, XXXX X:XX PM To: Comfort Care Subject: La-Z-Boy review Hello, Is there any updates to the emails listed below? Respectfully, ***** ******* From: ********** To: *********** Subject: RE: La-Z-Boy review Date: Tue, 1 Jul 2014 19:35:08 -0700 Hello, The chair leans back so far it feels like I've reclined. It did not lean like this for the first couple of months and the floor display in the store does not lean like this. The chair pops and creaks from the slightest rocking. When you turn it over, the base is not square to the frame. When the chair was looked at by LAZBOY, the technician asked my wife if I weigh more than 200lbs and then said that was why it leans. The chair leans extremely bad when my 80lb daughter sits in it! The second time it was checked out by LAZBOY they said the chair was "just a leaner" and that it was fine. The fabric piles up and I'm continuously having to shave it, we where told (by LAZBOY) to shave it and it would stop piling but I am constantly having to shave the chair. If I would have known this I would never have picked this chair and fabric. We also bought a couch and love seat that we are very disappointed with but not nearly as disappointing as the chair. On a positive side, we love the lamp and side table. Respectfully, ***** ******* From: *********** To: ********** Subject: RE: La-Z-Boy review Date: Tue, 1 Jul 2014 17:33:11 +0000 *****, Thank you for the information. Please advise specifically what the complaint is with the recliner so we may review the matter with the store where you purchased the recliner. Kindest Regards, La-Z-Boy Incorporated ****** ** Escalation Specialist From: ***** mailto:********** Sent: Sunday, June 29, XXXX X:XX PM To: Comfort Care Subject: RE: La-Z-Boy review Hello, Here is the info you requested. ***** *******, XXXXX XXXth *** *** ** ******** WA XXXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX, LaZboy store in Tacoma WA, Don't remember date of delivery think it was around Aug 2012 (and yes I am aware of the warranty but YOUR people would not fix it). Ack # XXXXXXXXX-XXX-XXX This has been the worst product and customer service I have received. Yes your warranty looks good on paper but getting LA-Z-BOY to honor it is another story and yes LA-Z-BOY used to make quality products (15-20 years ago), but not anymore. I spent too much for this poorly made chair. I can not wait until I can afford to replace this chair with a quality made chair. Respectfully, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Repair, Replace, or Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/31) */ We referred the customer to the after market warranty program they purchased, this program is called Guardian, under this contract they get in-home service at N/C for the first five years, if we go out under the LZB warranty they would be responsible for a trip fee and all labor charges. The customer contacted ******** and ******** has authorized LZB of Seattle to service the customers chair under the scope of the LZB warranty (at no charge to Mr. *******). We have an appointment scheduled for 8-13-2014 to address all of the customers concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It took me contacting the BBB to get the information about my extended warranty. But my chair still is not fixed and I do not accept their response until my chair is either repaired, replaced, or refunded. Lazboy has a bad business practice, refusing/put-off repairing my chair while it was still under the one year warranty and pushing the repair of their poor craftsmanship off onto another company. My chair needs to be repaired, replaced, or refunded before this complaint is considered resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/09/04) */ I'm having the same problems with this chair that I had 3 months after I bought it but lazboy kept saying it's just a leaner and kept putting it off until after the 1yr warranty expired and then they push it off on another warranty company, that I purchased at additional cost, and now after lazboy comes out and look at it they have a possible fix (at an additional cost to me). Why did they not fix it while it was still under the 1yr warranty. I find it odd that they have a "possible" fix for it after the 1yr warranty period but not during. How can this case be considered resolved when lazboy refuses to respond to my rebuttal? I would like for this chair to be REPAIRED, REPLACED, or REFUNDED. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/09/09) */ As requested by ******** we went out to the house to inspect the customers concerns. Under the warranty program all frame, mech and spring issues are to be covered at NO CHARGE which they are. When we arrived at the house the customer still had concerns regarding the chair having a slight lean back, per the tech this was normal. The tech inspected all areas of concerns and found a possible adjustment for the chair to make the customer happy was to add poly to the inside back (per LZB we are not allowed to make adjustments in this area)we offered to do this as I spoke with Mrs. on 8-26-2014 and explained that we would even split the cost for this adjustment, she stated that she would talk with her husband and let me know. I also explained that this was not something that ******** covers as they do not cover any poly concerns on any warranty program they sell. She stated that she still wanted to talk with them regarding this as she thought they should cover this. Our goal is to make sure that all customer needes are addressed.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a recliner from lazyboy, Lynnwood. after a few days my husband was having backaches and trouble with his legs from the chair to the point he could not sit in it. the chair is poor quality and you can feel the frame under the arms when you get up. we had our old lazyboys for 15 years and never had a problem, the only reason we wanted a new one was to change color and the old one was getting faded, my husband cannot use this chair.I called lazyboy 3 times and they never responded to me.Then I emailed the lazyboy head-quarters and they said to get hold of the store where we purchased the chair. I called and talked to the manager, who was very unfriendly and she said they have a 3 day return policy, which I think is ridiculous when you spent that kind of money. she said it has been to long to return it. After a month we cannot do anything. She also said there was no record of my calls. We didn't use the chair, it sat in our spare bedroom while I tried to reach this store. they never got back to me until it was to late to return it.Now we seem to be stuck with a chair we cannot use.we are senior citizens and on a tight budget, now we have a chair we can't use. this chair is not the quality of our old Lazyboy's. We bought the chair on 1/28/2014 but could not pick up the chair until four or five days later. Product_Or_Service: lazyboy recliner/rocker Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement we would like a replacement of better quality or a refund.How can a person know in 2 or 3 days how the chair will be.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/31) */ I am the manager that spoke to this customer and at no time was I unfriendly to her. I explained that the salesperson or I have been in the store every day since her purchase.He is here or I am here when he is off. We never received any messages from her and she couldn't tell me what day or whom she left a message with for us. As with all warranties, there are limitations and I explained that had she called within the 3 day return policy or even 3 weeks I certainly would have been able to assist her. We show up every day to work with our customers and see that they are satisfied, but I cannot take a chair back that they have had for 6 weeks. She did explain that she didn't have enough time just to keep calling us. And even when I was trying to help her she said it was evident that I wasn't going to help her and that she had to go. After 6 weeks the furniture is used and not saleable as new furniture. I wish she had been able to reach us. Our store is open until 8 and open 7 days a week.Also, our email address was on the card she received when she purchased. She could have emailed us, she was able to email you. I am sorry she is unhappy, but her sales order states our 3 day return policy on the front. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I tried to get hold of lazyboy 3 times, I left a message as no one answered. When I said I wanted to return my chair, I think they didn't respond until it was to late. I did send an email to customer service on march 6th and they answered me on march 20 th, saying I had to get hold of the lazyboy store where I purchased the chair. Then I called and got hold of ****. He said I needed to talk to the manager. I spoke with her and got the run- around. She says I said I had to go, well my company from out of state had just arrived and I felt I was getting nowhere anyway. If she wanted to talk longer or resolve this problem, she could have called me back. I will never shop at lazyboy again, they have lousy customer service. Thank you

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 5th, 2013 My wife and I ordered a power recliner that was on sale by the entrance, $1799.99, and a 3 piece couch set, piece one $950, piece two-$950, and piece three-$799 giving a $500 deposit at that time. Additionally we purchased a "Pro Care" protection package for the couch set $249.99, requested delivery $129.99. This totaled $5342.47 which included tax @ 9.5% (totaling $463.50). On 5/8/2013 we returned to pay the balance owed according to the sales order, $4841.39, as well as pick up the recliner with our own trailer. Due to multiple delays of our couch order and after several requests for a delivery time frame we decided to cancel the order, an option given to us by the manager, ***** ***** I have a copy of the sale order. The chair we purchased was at the front door with a "Sales" tag on it. We purchased it as is, with the missing battery cover for the auxiliary power. The sales order shows a deduction of $1970.99 from our previous down payments on 5/8, which would add up to the cost of the chair plus the tax, ($1799.99 and $171.00=$1970.99). There aren't any charges for fabric treatment showing on the sales order for the chair, only the couch. On 9/4/2013 La-Z-Boy wrote check # **** in the amount of $3064.90 as a refund, and sent to us in the mail. According to the sales order the refund amount should have been $3371.48. I contacted ***** ***** the manager, and she insisted that we purchased a Pro Care package for the recliner. I replied that it doesn't show it for the recliner on the sales order however it does show it after the couch order. When we picked up the recliner the full amount owed for the recliner was deducted as shown on the sales order copy. I requested to please return the full amount of $306.58 as shown on the previous copy of the check that was sent (I broke down the math on the check stub, then scanned a copy and sent it via email to ****** On 9/13 another check was issued from La-Z-Boy in the amount of $87.59. This still leaves a remaining balance of $218.99 to be refunded.

Desired Settlement: I would like the remaining balance of $218.99 refunded as well as a full accounting of every increase or decrease from the original amount of $5342.47 we paid to La-Z-Boy along with a detailed explanation of those increases or decreases.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/19) */ We will gladly have our store manager contact you with a full accounting. After reviewing the accounting we will gladly refund any monies owed to you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept the refund but am still dissatisfied with the lack of open honestyby this company regarding the request for a full accounting of every increase or decrease, let alone the fact that the amount does NOT show up on the sales order I have in hand and neither do the words "Extended Warranty". Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/09/26) */ we will refund the $218.99 and cancel extended warranty effective 09/26/2013.

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service