This business is not BBB accredited.

Peninsula Construction and Remodeling LLC

Phone: (360) 621-4297 1700 Annies Pl, Port Orchard, WA 98366


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers foundation construction, finish work, siding, decks,windows


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peninsula Construction and Remodeling LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Construction and Remodeling LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2012 Business started: 02/01/2011 Business started locally: 02/01/2011 Business incorporated 02/14/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Estabrook, Member Mr. Jonathan Scott, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Estabrook, Member
Business Category

Foundation Inspection Patio & Deck Builders Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Millwork Cabinet Maker Fence Contractors Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Foundation Contractors

Hours of Operation
By appointment

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1700 Annies Pl

    Port Orchard, WA 98366 (360) 621-4297

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired **** *********, owner of Peninsula Construction & Remodel of Port Orchard, WA, on a recommendation, to add on a master bath and walk-in closet to our bedroom. We were happy with both the work and the price. So we hired him to remodel the downstairs portion of our split level house at the beginning of May. We also had him reside the house at the same time. Once again the price was very reasonable. We were moving our elderly parents out from the Midwest to live with us and had a time limitation and he knew that from the very beginning. He told us that we would be his priority and he did start out like gangbusters. Even when we found structural problems and had to have much more work done than initially thought, he assured us that he could finish the project on time, which was the 2nd week of July. Based on that promise, we selected Sept 5th as the date to move my parents out. Since the project needed to be completed by Sept 5th, we thought we had plenty of time. But when we had to leave town the end of June for a few days, everything went downhill. He started showing up for work less and less and the quality of his work begin to decline. When I expressed my concern about completing the job on time, he assured me that it would be done. It was obvious that he had tired of our job and was ready to move on. The 2nd week of July went by and the remodel still was not close to being done. He took off out of town 2 times in the next weeks and almost nothing got done while he was gone and what was done, was unacceptable and had to be redone. It was now nearing the end of August and there was no way it would be completed on time. So we offered a substantial bonus if he could make us his priority and complete everything by Sept 5th. He agreed and started working hard at completing the project. We had to leave town on Sept 1st to pick up my parents. That would give him 5 uninterrupted days in which he could finish. The evening of August 31, he finally finished enough that we could at least start cleaning and moving in furniture in preparation for my parents. We worked through the night, catching our flight the morning of Sept. 1st. When we got back on the 5th, everything else was not done and it took him almost a week to show up. He did a few minor things inside the house and applied water seal to only half of the cedar siding. He told us that he would be back the following Monday to finish everything else. That was on Sept. 19. Today is Oct. 26 and he has never showed up since and has not even called. I had to hire another company to finish the water seal on the siding. I will do as much of the small things that require attention as I can, but will have to hire another company to finish the rest of it. He left us with the following: no screen door; a recessed light fixture in the living room that someone stepped on in the attic and pushed through the ceiling, tearing the ceiling; several spots on the hardwood floor that require sanding and staining; a carpet that is covered with dried drywall mud and several large items in the front yard that should have been disposed of. Any amount of money that we spend that is over the balance we owe him, we will send him a bill. (I'm very much aware that we will probably never see a cent of it. He has no ethics). We spent a large chunk of our life savings on this project and it was not completed. We made the mistake of giving him most of the money before he was finished. I guess the balance that we owed him upon completion wasn't as much as he could make on some of his other jobs. This man can do excellent work, but is very unreliable and when he is no longer interested in your project, his work declines accordingly. I will NOT recommend 'Peninsula Construction & Remodel' to anyone. ***** ***** Not starred

Desired Settlement: We want Peninsula Construction & Remodel to install a front screen door (a good quality one that we choose, not a cheap aluminum one); we want the two recessed light fixtures in the living room and the kitchen to be corrected and the torn ceiling in the living room to be repaired; we want three spots on the hardwood floor sanded and stained to match the rest of the floor, one spot being the threshold under the door to the den; we want the one un-grouted spot on our table top to be grouted to match the rest of the grout; we want the two spots where the paint has come off of the trim in the dining room and the foyer to be painted; we want the ceiling inside the hallway closet that is crumbling and falling down, to be repaired; we want the small holes in the floor at the bottom of the hallway stairs to be filled in and stained to match the floor; we want as much of the paint/dry wall mud as possible to be cleaned off of the carpet; we want the two unpainted wooden handrails to be painted; we want a filler strip to match the cabinets, to be mounted under the microwave and above the range; we want the sides of the kitchen cabinets beside the sink where staples are showing, to be stained the same color as the cabinets; we want the 200 lbs. piece of concrete removed from our driveway; we want the toilet paper holder to be mounted slightly closer together so that it doesn't fall down; we want the top of the side trim under the breakfast bar to be stained the same color as the cabinets; we want the dining room sliding door lock assembly to be repaired as promised; we would like to have a container of extra white paint for touchup as promised. Since we had to hire another company to finish the water seal on the siding, and I already completed some of the repairs and we already gave a bonus just to ensure that all of this was completed by Sept 5, (which it obviously was not), we do not want to pay any more money for this work, including the cost of the screen door.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/11/12) */ Recently I wrote a review on **** *********, owner of Peninsula Construction & Remodel of Port Orchard, WA. I had some harsh criticism of him and gave a less than glowing review. When I wrote that review, I was very upset that it had taken so long for him to complete the last 10% of our project and that there had been no communication from him in several weeks. I took out my frustration by writing a bad review, something that I should have written when in a less agitated state. One of the things I said was that **** ********* had no ethics. That is a statement that was made in anger and something that I know not to be true. Despite the fact that several weeks went by without communication from him, something that left a sour taste in my mouth, the totality of the very large job, (Dec 2013-Nov 2014) was a good experience. In fact, *** ********* is the opposite of unethical. He seemed from the beginning to have our best interest in mind and was continually advising us on ways to improve the remodel on everything from unforeseen structural damage repair to color coordination. Not everything that he did resulted in more cost to us. In fact, several times he found ways to reduce our expenditures, while providing us with quality materials and craftsmanship. (No substandard materials were used; neither were over-priced items). When he found a 1-1/2" sag in our living room ceiling, he found a way to remove the sag and give us exposed beams at the same time. This resulted in a series of structural questions from the building inspectors. *** ********* pursued the matter, getting an engineering firm to evaluate and sign off on the job, all without an increase in cost to us. We now have big exposed beams that add beauty and character to our home. There were no corners cut on this job, as well as no unnecessary work or materials added. He gave us a very reasonable quote for the job, and except for unforeseen and obvious structural damage, and things that we added to the job, there were no additional costs or fees, even when some of the work involved more time than originally estimated for. With two jobs going on simultaneously, exterior siding and interior remodel, payment installments sometimes overlapped each other. At one point, *** ********* informed us that we had overpaid him by $1500.00 on one job, and that he would apply that toward the balance owed on the other job. (You don't see that from a contractor very often). The quality of craftsmanship from *** ********* is excellent! The product we have in our home now is not only beautiful, it was done at a much higher standard than we had expected, and all within the original estimate, (except for the unforeseen damage and additions that we asked for). On the very few occasions that there was something that we either didn't like or thought was not correct, *** ********* took immediate action to correct the problem. What I am trying to show here is that **** ********* is in fact, an ethical and honest contractor that takes pride in his work. On the same day that I wrote my BBB review, I sent a letter to *** ********* explaining my displeasure with the lack of communication and the time delay. Before the BBB review was even posted, he contacted me, apologized for the situation and made arrangements to immediately come over and correct the discrepancies. Even after he received the less than glowing BBB review, he continued to show up and finish the job. To date, Nov. 7, 2014, we have everything completed except for the front screen door which had to be special ordered. Our house is now as we wanted it, and are very happy with it. I can't let *** ********* get off scott free though; after all, there were several weeks with no communication from him, and several projects that needed to be completed. However, after time to calmly look back at the entire job, I truly believe that the time delay and lack of communication was not intentional but rather due to a full schedule and improper time management. That is something that can be corrected with improved planning and scheduling. **** ********* is an excellent craftsman and will build you a quality home or remodel. Despite the fact that I said that I would not recommend him to anyone, I actually do recommend him. I would just suggest that plans for a completion date of the job be discussed up front and monitored throughout the job. You will be happy with the work that Peninsula Construction & Remodel will do for you. I would be happy to provide before, during and after pictures. ***** *****

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired **** ********* to remodel my bathroom. Part of the remodel was to install heated flooring and the thermostat. After he completed the work and I paid him, I discovered that I cannot turn the floor heat off. **** accidently took the instruction manual for the heated flooring, and he promised to mail it to me, but he hasn't. I called numerous times and left messages. I then contacted the heated flooring company, and they sent me the instruction manual which I followed, but the floor heating will not turn off. The company tells me that the contractor probably wired the floor heat into the electricity, not through the thermostat. I have called repeatedly, leaving messages about this issue, but **** is not answering my calls, nor is he returning them. Product_Or_Service: Remodeling

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want a response from **** *********. I want him to figure out why the heated floor will not turn off. He has received full payment from me, but I am not satisfied with his work until this issue is resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/18) */ I sincerely apologize to *** ******* for the issues she was having with her heated floor and that I forgot to mail the manual before going out of town. Once I had come back to work, the job I was working on was a dead zone and I wasn't receiving calls or messages. Once I did receive a message that there was a issue I called **** ******* and made appointment to fix the issue. I have been out to her house and the problem has been fixed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As far as I know, the heated floor is working now. At least, it is off. I appreciate ******* efforts to make this right.