This business is not BBB accredited.

Kennedy Hardwood Floors Inc

Phone: (206) 794-0227 4803 216th Pl SW, Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043 http://www.kennedyhardwoodfloors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hardwood flooring services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kennedy Hardwood Floors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kennedy Hardwood Floors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Don Kennedy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Kennedy, Owner
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4803 216th Pl SW

    Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* flooring was hired to remove flooring, fill floor and sand for a total of $3876.75. When the flooring was removed by Keneedy the floors showed what appeared to be mold. Over the next three weeks we waited for the work to be completed and we were told that the floors were too wet to lay hard wood. In the meantime, the sale of the house was completed and it wasnt until after we owned the home that a third party told us to discontinue any work and investigate the mold. The results were positive and even more of the floors and walls needed to be removed to expose the additional mold that was hiding. This resulted in $11,000 of mold remediation that we should have never been responsible for had the ******* Flooring suspended all work and advised us to hire an expert prior to the sale of the home.

Desired Settlement: $2,209.90 the amount you received for the work completed.

Business Response:

I, *** *******, am responding to the BBB complaint dated 5/12/15 @ 2:08pm;  ID# ********.

 

Order of Hire;

*** ***** with the realtor **** ** ****** ************  (branch mngr is ***** ******** ************)

Hired ****** ****** with ************ ********** *************

****** ****** then hired my services, ******* Hardwood Floors, ************

 

FACTS:

I was contacted back in August of 2014 by ****** ****** to replace flooring in a house that had extensive water damage from a broken pipe.  I gave ****** a bid to do the work and ****** and *** agreed and hired me for the job.  I started the job on 9/14/2014 and I worked closely with both ****** and ***.

A guy showed up at the property, located at ***** **** ***** ***** Lynnwood WA. 98087, on the same day 9/14/14 and claimed he was the owner of the house.  He would not provide his name. He demanded that I stop working immediately and advised me that he also was not going to pay me.  I was startled and confused as I have not seen this person before so I walked out to my work van and I called ******.  ****** came to the house right away (about :30 minutes later).  ****** must have also called *** the realtor because as ****** was speaking with this guy, *** also showed up.  ****** and *** and this other guy were all talking.  Then ****** came over to me and instructed me to finish tearing out the water damaged hardwood so it could dry out as there was a lot of water damage and mold already present from the broken pipe. 

The next day I met ****** at the house and he instructed me to tear out more flooring and he wanted more sanding completed.  I advised ****** that it was still too wet (per code) and that I could return 3 days later as it airs out and re-check it for him.  So 3 days later I returned and checked the moisture level (as instructed by ******) and advised him that there is still way too much moisture to sand and lay new flooring at this time.  It was at that time that ****** and *** both told me to go ahead and remove all of my tools and leave the job because someone was threatening to change the locks and they didn’t want me to lose my equipment.  I have officially been asked to leave the job by the guy that claimed he was the homeowner. *** and ****** said there was nothing more that I could do at this point and they were sorry.

About 6 weeks went by (11/2014) and I didn’t hear from anyone. So I called *** and ****** to see where my payment was for all the work I had completed.  Both *** and ****** advised me that since the homeowner “kicked me off the job” they were also holding the money and they were saying they weren’t going to pay me.  The homeowners reason was because “the job was not completed”.  I was instructed to leave the job and not return.  By law I had to abide by that request.  (*** and ****** are both witness to this)

I have never received any phone calls, voice messages, emails or text messages from the homeowner.  I was getting ready to file a lien on the house due to non-payment but I finally got paid on 3/2/15 for the work that I did do on 9/14/14. 

 

*** *******