This business is not BBB accredited.

Monroe Fireplace & Stove Inc

Phone: (360) 794-8024 View Additional Phone Numbers 19922 Highway 2, Monroe, WA 98272 http://www.monroefireplace.com

! There is an alert on Monroe Fireplace & Stove Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of wood, pellet and gas stoves, fireplaces, mantles and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Monroe Fireplace & Stove Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1999 Business started: 08/19/1985 Business started locally: 08/19/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Martin, President Ms. Cecelia Martin, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Martin, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Cecelia Martin, Vice President
Business Category

Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces

Alternate Business Names
Monroe Fireplace
Out of Business

According to information provided to BBB, this company’s assets were purchased on March 23, 2015; therefore, this company is no longer operational under the previous ownership. For more information about this company under its new ownership, contact (503) 663-5363 or refer to its BBB Business Review at http://www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/fireplace-equipment-retail/monroe-fireplace-inc-in-monroe-wa-90003764


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19922 Highway 2

    Monroe, WA 98272 (360) 794-6753 (360) 794-8024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monroe Fireplace installed a gas fireplace in our bedroom. To do so, they put a chimney through the metal roof we have. This was several years ago, and we have experienced leakage for quite a while. Leakage means sheets of water cascading down the front of our gas fireplace. When we asked them to fix it, they got their insurance company involved and they have sent several inspectors out but since we can't recall who tried to fix the problem, they won't help us.

Desired Settlement: We want the roof fixed. We want the interior damage fixed (water stains on the wood floor and the wood enclosure around the fireplace, and on the ceiling). The insulation will need to be replaced. It is a mess. If they wont fix it, I will get it fixed (it is urgent at this point) and I would then like them to pay for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/22) */ The first notification of a problem with this installation came from the customer's attorney. The matter was referred to our insurance carrier, whose investigator determined that the problem was caused by failure of the roof penetration, which was not installed by us. The contractor the ********* hired to investigate the cause also concluded that the roof penetration failed. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for the service of reinsulating my fireplace doors. They were not sure what size rope to use even after providing pictures. I went there because I am new to the area and I figured they were the experts. I took the correct size rope after the 3rd time of taking them back 30 miles away (one way)and they still put in the wrong size and I could not close my fireplace doors. When I took the doors back for the 4th time the man there (I assume was the owner) told me too bad it was now my problem, and that I am lucky they did not charge me for the 2nd and 3rd time I had to bring the doors back. He could care less that I is my only source of heat to use my fireplace.I am a single unemployed 53 year old woman living in the mountains alone. Now I am out the money and still have fireplace doors that do not close.

Desired Settlement: The job done correctly I paid for a service that I feel I did not get. Even after pictures and the correct size product needed and was completely ignored.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/12) */ *** ****** brought her wood stove doors to us for gasketing. I greeted her personally and asked for any information she had that would identify the size of gasketing required and she had none. I explained at the time that in my 30 years in the business and thousands of stoves I had never seen these particular type of doors and from appearances they were 25-35 years old, so anything I put in would be a guess. We stock at least 15 sizes of gasket to cover the many different designs and configurations that exist or have existed over the years. I think *** ****** did not accept at the time, nor has she since, that we would or should not know the correct size by looking at the doors. Frankly, I do not even know whether or not any gasketing was part of the door design from the original manufacturer. In any event, we installed some gasket material on the doors and charged her for the gasket plus a small labor charge to cover the glue and time to do the work. *** ****** picked up the doors at our shop. Some time later she returned the doors to us saying that she could not close the doors due to the size of the gasket. We told her that we would try a smaller size. We removed the previously installed gasket, discarded it because previously installed material is not reusable, and installed the smaller material. When she picked up the doors, and was not charged for the new material or the labor to install it. Later, *** ****** returned again with the complaint that her doors would still not close, and she could not understand why we could not get it right. She brought in a picture, which did not provide enough information to determine proper sizing, but we told her we would try again anyway. She indicated that she did not understand why would could not get it right. At no time did the customer provide us with a sample of what, if anything, had previously been in the stove. But we tried again anyway. She picked up the doors and we charged her nothing for either labor or materials. *** ****** returned some days later and proceeded to berate the sales associate who was waiting on her for not getting the gasket correct. I overheard this going on from about 30' away and approached *** ****** that I had enough and was now done with this matter. She attempted to tell me I should get the size right with the info I had, and I told her that was not the case, as I had explained from the beginning, and the information she had provided did not help. I did not say it was her problem. *** ****** then exited the store yelling loudly at us and all of our customers in the store and in our parking lot to the effect of how incompetent a store we were. She is not welcome in our store any longer.