BBB Accredited Business since

Fireside Home Solutions

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 598-2354 Fax: (503) 620-5699 View Additional Phone Numbers 18389 SW Boones Ferry Rd, Portland, OR 97224 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.firesidehearthandhome.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hearth products, garage doors and operators.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fireside Home Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fireside Home Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fireside Home Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 2000 Business started: 11/01/1982 Business started locally: 11/01/1982 Business incorporated 08/22/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Waterstraat, President Mr. Jeff Melberg, Vice President Sales Mr. Tim Reed, General Manager Mr. Steve Tate, Manager Mrs. Angela Tatum, Office Manager Mr. Tom Widdows, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Angela Tatum, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. John Waterstraat, President
Business Category

Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Garage Doors & Openers Garage Door Repair

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 4:00pm Monday through Friday
Alternate Business Names
Fireside Contracting Services LLC Fireside Distributors of Oregon, Inc. Fireside of Washington

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fireside Home Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13200 NE 20th St STE 100

    Bellevue, WA 98005 (425) 747-3473

  • 13980 SW Tualatin Valley Hwy

    Beaverton, OR 97005

  • 18389 SW Boones Ferry Rd

    Portland, OR 97224 (503) 641-1919 (503) 684-8535 (503) 598-2354

  • 21402 84th Ave S

    Kent, WA 98032 (425) 251-9447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective fireplace w/hostile 'customer service.' Fireplace lit approximately 6 times prior to evident defect. Fireplace is 5 months old. Please see email below: *****, On 6/5 all checked out when we completed our light-off. If something has happened since then there has been no record nor has anyone contacted me to let me know. I am going to wait for direction from ********** who will respond within the next 2 days. In the mean time feel free to open up the owners manual, try changing the batteries in the remote and the remote receiver. Hi *****, See email trail below between a customer, ***** ****** and myself. Please let production know that we need to hold off contacting her until after I hear back from the contractor. SO#XXXXXXX Thank you, *****

Desired Settlement: Immediate repair/replacement or full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/14) */ We do not show ***** ****** as the customer of record. The product, services and sales transaction was provided to ********** ********** *** ******* (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Our records indicate the fireplace installed at **** ** ****** ****** Camas, WA XXXXX was on 4/29/14. The install was completed with a light off to insure the product was working per the manufacture guidelines. The light off was completed on 6/5/14 and the unit was confirmed working properly. No other requests for service have been indicated from the customer ********** *********** We believe this complaint lacks any merit and should be stricken from the records. Attached picture of working fireplace. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three months ago, my electric fireplace's fan quit. The unit was installed under a year ago. The fan has been on order for 3 mos. I have requested a new unit be installed, since the fan is taking an extremely long time.

Desired Settlement: I want a new unit installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/04/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Ops Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@firesidedist.com Hi. Could I please get an address for the client? We do not have that name in our client records. It may have been installed for a builder, but I can look it up by street address. Thanks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 24, 2014/04/10) */ Wow, I'm just now getting a response? Already taken care of.

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called on Dec 8th when our pellet stove broke. We waited til the 18th for service. A part was supposed to be ordered. On Dec 23rd, we called about the status. We were told the part had not been ordered and they would order it now. On Jan8th, we called again. No part had been ordered and would be ordered and they would call back in a few days. Now on the 21st, no part. When we called them the manager **** ******** stated he "didn't want to deal with this anymore and to find someone else to fix it" They took apart our stove. It in pieces. We have no heat in our home. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: We want our stove fixed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/22) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@firesidedist.com **** ***** claims are not accurate and this is a second hand account of the issues. **** ***** is not the customer of record. ***** ******* is the purchaser. The pellet stove was installed on 11/11/11 - the product is out of warranty. Per our service call on 12/13 the homeowner took apart the stove voiding the manufacture warranty. Burn pot was fond to be damaged - warranty claim was voided by manufacture. As "good will" Fireside agreed to order and replace the burn pot at no charge and provide two tons of pellet fuel at no charge. As of 1/18/14 we had not received the part from the manufacture - internal order error on our behalf. 1/21/14 ***** claims to be able to secure the part locally. We agreed Fireside would reimburse ***** for part burn pot based on receipt. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This is a copy of the email I sent to *** ******* Thank you for your prompt response. I will update the case with the BBB. I am sorry this had to escalate to this, as I stated in our conversation, this all could have been avoided over a month ago had there been more of an urgency felt on you and your staff with our situation. Having gone for 47 days with no primary heat and having to run up our electric bill as we did, was just completely unnecessary. Hopefully the next time you have a customer in a similar situation, you will be more flexible and more willing to go an extra step to avoid all the hassle and grief that we have been put through.

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into my new house (never lived in before) at *************************** in Beaverton May 18, 2013. The house came installed with a new electric fireplace from Fireside distributors. From day 1, I noticed that the fireplace made a loud noise when switched on. I called the home warranty and they had someone come to check out my place (I think from Fireside) after 4 weeks or so after multiple calls. I was told the motor is bad. Mind well, this is a new product, never used before. I was told the new motor will be available in 3 to 4 weeks. So I wait, and contact my home warranty people and they said the product is defective and they have been in touch with Fire side Distributors and new motor will arrive new soon. Then I kept emailing my home warranty people (they had not given me Fireside info to contact them directly until Aug 8, 2013) and all I was told is it will arrive soon. Finally on August 8 they put me in direct contact with Fireside person . I contacted her twice and was told they are awaiting a new piece. It has now been 3 months. Finally when I last sent them an email (note - they never ever contact me once - every time I had to send them an email to ask the status, they don't seem to care at all) I was told the part has arrived but it will be 2 weeks before they can install is - why - because they are extremely busy - doing what? Fixing bad products that they install at client locations? This is the worst customer service experience ever. I would not recommend purchasing anything from this company.

Desired Settlement: I have already lost 3 months and not it seems they may install a new product on Aug 30, 2013. If they do I still don't trust it will work, and what if it does not work. It is impossible to deal with this company. There is no concept of customer service. Some action, legal or otherwise, should be taken against this company so they improve or develop a concept of customer service. Also customers should be notified to beware of this company. They should not be allowed to treat customers like this. They should have to submit some sort of an action plan to show they are serious about doing business and if not should be blacklisted.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *****@firesidedist.com The customer has been contacted by JM on 8/29/13 at 1:30pm. The service part has arrived from the manufacture and a service call to install the replacement part has been scheduled. The manufacture has been placed on probation from Fireside for unacceptable extended lead times on service parts. The cause of the issue related to the manufacture and should not reflect on Firesides performance.

1/28/2013 Delivery Issues
1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service