BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers construction insurance repair. This company offers fire and water damage restoration services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 3701 W G St

    Bremerton, WA 98312

  • 9618 Midvale Ave N

    Seattle, WA 98103 (360) 792-2565 (800) 660-4312 (206) 522-9570

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nordic Services was hired on 11/6/13 to complete repair work after a pipe burst, flooding my family's vacation home. The contract amount was for $111,488.71 plus tax of $9,476.54 for a total of $120,965.25. The total insurance scope is now coming in at $132,561.54. We have been working with the company for over a year now to wrap up the work on the house and what remains are:1) Evidence that repair of a fireplace is removed from scope because the contractor has refused to handle this work.2) Credit for redesign of work on a wall that was changed from a dual door design to a single door, and we were told there would be a cost savings.3) Correction of issues around custom built shelves in the living room that were not built to scope and we have repeatedly requested a change order since last August that they will not provide. The request is to build two additional shelves, but we have not requested those shelves be installed.Additionally, we were recently at the house for one of the first opportunities we have had to be at the property and found that one of the circuit breakers can not be enabled. This was just reported to Nordic, so we are not aware yet if they will resolve this issue.We desperately want this issue closed, and have already paid them more than the $120,965.25 that we believe was due. Currently there is $5000 left unpaid on the account as we have tried to resolve these issues with the company but there has been no traction for months. They have not been willing to speak and work out the issues by phone, and have no taken a lien out on the property yet we do not feel the work has been completed.

Desired Settlement: Resolve dispute over total payments due, the three outstanding issues, and repair of the non-working circuit breaker.

Business Response:

Nordic Services is responding to the above complaint filed against us by ****** ****

 

Complaint #1: Evidence that repair of a fireplace is removed from scope because the contractor has refused to handle this work.

The homeowners’ insurance company estimate dated 3/15/15 does include the costs to replace the wood stove, ($4,313.58). The replacement of the wood stove had been discussed with the homeowners who indicated that they were hoping to use the company that installed the original one. On 12/15/14 we emailed the insurance adjuster and the homeowners indicating Nordic would be happy to coordinate the replacement of the wood stove if desired. On 12/28/14, the homeowner responded that they preferred to have another company handle the wood stove; so Nordic did not get involved with that repair, nor did we bill the owners for the costs associated with it. Nordic would have completed the work but the homeowner opted to work directly with the insurance company to replace the fireplace insert.

 

Complaint #2: Credit for redesign of work on a wall that was changed from a dual door design to a single door, and we were told there would be a cost savings.

The home had a set of double doors in the basement that went from the garage into the Rec room. In order to change a double door to a single door involves reframing the opening, insulating the wall, additional drywall, texture and paint.  There is no cost difference when taking into consideration the additional work necessary to change to a single door.

 

It is unlikely that the owners would have been advised that there would be a significant cost savings by making this specific change. Other changes they made in this area of the home did result in significant savings which is reflected in the billing provided to the homeowners.

 

Complaint #3: Correction of issues around custom built shelves in living room, that were not built to scope and we have repeatedly requested a change order since last August that the will not provide. The request is to build 2 additional shelves, but we have not requested those shelves be installed.

The custom built shelves in the living room are virtually identical to the damaged shelving; including the cleated type construction / installation. We were not aware of any ‘issues’ with those shelves.

 

Nordic would be happy to provide a change order to build additional shelving. However, in order to provide an accurate cost, we have requested additional information from the homeowners which we have not yet received.

 

 

Complaint #4:  We were recently at the house for one of the first opportunities we have had to be at the property and found that one of the circuit breakers cannot be enabled. This was just reported to Nordic, so we are not aware yet if they will resolve the issue.

 

Nordic Services stands behind our work. We will dispatch an electrician to research the issue, and if it is related to the work we performed, we will make the needed repairs.


 

****** ******

Business Manager, Seattle Branch

Nordic Services, Inc.

************* ****

************ ***

**** ******* ****** *****

Seattle, WA 98103

 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nordic refuses to take responsibility for the repair/replacement of a cabinet that their worker (****** ***** installed incorrectly, which now needs to be either replaced or repaired at my cost. I have been in contact with Nordic via email with no resolutions. There is also a problem with my kitchen floor, also installed by Nordic, that now has a 2% drop on one side and has developed a very loud creak when you walk on the floor. Their worker had lied to me about several issues when he was working here. **** ********** a rep for Nordic came to my home one day with ****** **** and I expressed the fact that I was unhappy with the work that he was doing. **** ********* told me that I had no right to criticize his worker like that and he pulled the worker off the job and walked out, telling me that they were not going to come back. Nordic is claiming that the issues I have are due to an uneven floor and claim that ****** **** used an 8'foot level when replacing the joists and wall supports. In fact, I witnessed him using a 3' level on the entire floor and at no time did he have an 8'level in this house. Nordic stands firm in believing their worker, who has lied to me and to them. He has been employed with Nordic for 4 months and he was the only worker in my home to make repairs and he was left totally unsupervised the entire time. No one came here to check his work or talk to me. They have been defiant in their claim that he is qualified. I am extremely frustrated and unhappy with the work that they have done. **** ********* has been verbally abusive to me and ****** ******, the Business Manager is defending Nordic, **** ********* and ****** ***** I, as a customer who hired them, have had no say at all in this matter and in fact they have accused me of using foul language directed at their workers. I received a letter from ****** ****** the day after Nordic quit this job and she says in the letter that I used 'harsh criticism and false accusations' towards ****** **** when he was here with **** ********** This is ABSOLUTELY UNTRUE

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the repairs made that need to be made and put my house back in the condition that it was in before this water claim. I am not asking for anything more than that. I do not want ****** **** or **** ********* back in my home again. I want Nordic to be responsible for the cost of these repairs and an apology for the way that I was treated. However, I realize the latter request *** never happen. Please, give me back my home

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Business M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, **** Contact Email: ************@nordicservices.com Nordic's owner performed a site visit to view the concerns first hand. The homeowner's complaint regarding the cabinet was valid. We agreed to repair the cabinet and install crown molding to fit. We ordered the materials and scheduled the repairs with the homeowner. After the work was completed on 2/4/15, Ms. **** called Nordic's owner to tell him she was satisfied with the work we did and thanked him for taking care of the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/02/17) */ Nordic Services came to my home and viewed the damages and agreed that my complaints were valid. They kindly offered to fix the problems by sending another employee who is much more qualified. That employee has done a wonderful job in repairing my kitchen and I am very happy with his work. I would like to thank the BBB for assisting me with my complaint and assisting the public in resolving issues that we may have with other businesses. I would also like to drop my complaint against Nordic Services because they responded to my complaint in a professional manner and they made sure that I was a happy customer.

7/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ********** From Nordic Services came to our house on 11/27/2012 to give us an estimate for water damage on our roof. After inspection, he told **** ***** that they could do a portion of the work, and would like for **** to sign the agreement for construction services only to speed up the process. He stated that it was not a binding contract if we decided to choose someone else. We also needed to find someone else to do the tile portion of the job and it was suggested by him that we get an estimate from **** *** ******** We called this company and made appointments that became no-shows. On the third attempt, someone finally arrived, spent less than ten minutes and sent us a bid on 1/15/2013. With that information at hand, we felt that this was not the company we wanted to work on our roof. We called ****** ********** back and left a message to see if he knew of anyone else to come out to give us this estimate. No one called us back. Since both these jobs had to be done at the same time, we waited another week or so and then decided to look on our own for repairs. On 1/30/2013 we came home to someone looking at our roof. He said his name was **** and he would be the foreman for the job from Nordic. We had received no calls from Nordic or that anyone was coming out to our house. I called Nordic and talked to a woman, I believe ******* about this situation. She stated at first that we had a contract, but then agreed that this was not binding and that we can choose anyone to repair our roof. I told her that we were still looking into estimates and would email our decision. ****** ********** called after this discussion and stated that he was not responsible for giving us a referral. I replied that he was responsible for returning calls, and not leaving us up in the air. After looking into other companies, we decided it would be to our best interest for only one company to do all the repairs. We sent an email February 18 stating that we had chosen someone else. On 05/21/2013, four months later we received a bill from Nordic Services. They now state that what we signed was a binding contract, even though both ****** and (I believe her name was ******** said not, and that even though they profess free estimates, we owe them $363.65 for job set up, phone calls and coordination. In our opinion we are not liable for any payment.

Desired Settlement: Written note rescinding this bill.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 8, 2013/06/18) */ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 18, 2013/07/19) */ Per conversation with ***** ****, he has satisfied all our concerns. Please take our complaint off of Nordic. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/06/28) */ On November 27 ****** ********** did an inspection of the complainant's home at the request of their insurance company. As a preferred provider for the insurance company, Nordic Services was required to review the damages to confirm the adjuster's estimate for only that portion of the repairs covered by insurance. The area of the roof that caused the loss was not covered by the insurance therefore an estimate was created for the resulting damage repairs only. During the inspection ****** informed the complainants that they would need to hire their own roofer to repair the portion of the tile roof that had caused the damage and referred them to **** *** ******** The complainants were responsible for making contact with the roofing company. Nordic was not involved in this process and had no control over whether the roofing company kept their appointments, nor did Nordic have any involvement in the preparation of the roofing company's estimate or scope of work. ****** did have the insured sign an Agreement for Construction Services at the time of inspection. He did not state that the agreement wasn't binding, but rather that the agreement was pending an agreed scope of work and cost between Nordic Services and the Insurance Company. This agreement was for the damage only, not the roof repairs which caused the damage. Nordic received the Insurance Company referral on December 31. An agreed price was reached with the insurance adjuster on 1/3/13. Per our agreement with the insurance company it is the adjuster's responsibility to provide a copy of the estimate to the insured. On January 4, after the agreement was reached, in good faith, Nordic set up the job, assigned a lead, and mailed a letter to the complainant which clearly notified them that we were beginning the repair process. At that point we began incurring labor costs. A lead was assigned on January 4 and he made an appointment to meet with the homeowner on January 7. The lead discussed the job process and the need to have the roof leak repaired with the homeowner. He also followed up with the roofing company and began preliminary work to coordinate a schedule. On January 25 a new lead was assigned. The complainant had still not hired a roofing company at that time. The new lead exchanged several phone calls with the homeowners and spent time in research attempting to help them locate a roofing company that would work on a tile roof. There is no record of a phone call regarding personnel on the job site or questions about the contract. On February 18 we received an email from the complainant advising us they had changed their mind and did not want us to do the work. No billing was ever sent for an estimate. The invoice sent to the complainant clearly states that it covers job set up and field employee time. The estimate and the estimator's time were provided free of charge.