BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance repairs and all phases of commercial and residential construction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McBride Construction Resources Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McBride Construction Resources Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McBride Construction Resources Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1988 Business started: 04/01/1984 Business started locally: 04/01/1984 Business incorporated 06/18/1984 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Witte, President Ms. Cristy Burnett, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Witte, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Building Construction Consultants Construction & Remodeling Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McBride Construction Resources Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 224 Nickerson St

    Seattle, WA 98109 (206) 283-0290 (206) 283-2758 (206) 283-3141 (206) 283-3284 (206) 283-3477 (206) 283-3502 (206) 283-4513 (206) 283-7124 (206) 283-7142 (206) 283-7415 (800) 676-5053 (206) 283-7121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The request was to repair water damage to my home in June of 2013. The customer response was very poor. The issues of customer service were prevalent all throughout the construction. Once the full scope of damage was realized I don't know that the estimate was ever submitted to the insurance company. The work was completed 10 months into the project and should have been completed within 6 -8 weeks at the most. I had to do a lot of the work myself. I had to ask repeatedly for McBride to invoice the job before the insurance company closed the claim on the 1 year anniversary. At month 16 the invoice and estimate are still not aligned and I am being asked to pay the difference. I cannot get follow through on the part of McBride to resolve the invoice and the estimate.

Desired Settlement: I need this resolved by whatever means possible and promptly. All of the repairs should have been submitted and covered by insurance or made clear to me as a customer as to what would be at my expense.

Business Response: BBB Case # ********
Re: Mr. ***** *****

The following shall constitute McBride Construction Resources, Inc.'s, ("McBride's",) response to Mr. ***** *****' complaint filed against McBride. Mr. *****' complaint contains several inaccurate statements which demonstrate a fundamental misunderstanding on Mr. *****' part, or a willful disregard to the truth. McBride's position is that we did excellent work that Mr. ***** accepted, (note that he makes no complaint about the quality of the work performed;) Mr. ***** was paid by his insurance company, in-part, for our work; but Mr. ***** has refused to pay McBride in any amount.
Mr. *****' complaint states that he does not "know that the estimate for the repairs was ever submitted to his insurance company." McBride contracted with Mr. *****, not with Mr. *****' insurance company; and Mr. *****, alone, authorized the scope of work and repairs to his home. McBride cannot control what is covered or not cover by Mr. *****' insurance carrier. However, as a courtesy to Mr. *****, McBride's estimate for repairs was sent to his insurance company, twice. Mr. ***** should know this because he was copied on the email. McBride has no way of knowing about any specific limitations that are in Mr. *****' policy, which is why we do not do work contingent upon payment by the insurance company - a point that is clearly stated in our contract with Mr. *****.
Mr. ***** contends that the work took 10 months to complete. This statement is false. We have included a timeline below shows that the bulk of the work was satisfied from the dates of 9/10/13 - 10/25/13, the only thing that was not completed in that time was a replacing the chimney cap because that work was not included on the original estimate, and was agreed upon at a later date. Moreover, the chimney cap was a specialty Item that had to be specially manufactured. But for this item, the work was completed in a matter of a few weeks. It is important to note that our start date was September 2013, not June 2013, as Mr. ***** contends.
A baffling statement in Mr. *****' complaint is that he "had to do a lot of the work himself". When we first inspected the damage to Mr. *****' home, he stated right away that he wanted to perform some of the work himself, but asked that McBride provide him with a complete estimate. He reiterated his desire to do the work himself in an email to McBride's project manager, dated 7/29, before any of the work had started on his house. At his request, McBride agreed on the items that he would be performing, and informed him that the agreed upon items would be reflected as a credit in our billing. That his choice to do work himself would somehow result in a complaint about McBride's customer service and professionalism is baffling because he did the work at his insistence.
Mr. ***** also stated that he repeatedly had to ask McBride for the final invoice for the work that was performed. The only recollection that Mr. ***** requested the invoices was an email sent on April 8th, and the final invoice was sent on 4/24.

Finally, Mr. ***** contends that "the invoice and the estimate (******) are still not aligned and I am being asked to pay the difference." As stated above, McBride has no control over whether or not Mr. *****' insurance company covers all or part of the damages for the claim that he filed with them. In this case, part of the work was not covered due to exclusions on his policy. McBride has no way of knowing this & furthermore it was not brought to our attention until 8 months after total completion of his project. Mr. ***** provided this information to McBride on 10/18/2014 in the form of an email that he received from his insurance carrier:
"Review of McBrides invoice includes work not covered under the policy. They have included the exterior repairs to siding on the chimney. these damages were not storm related, and our from wear/tear, and deterioration over time. If you remove those charges from their invoice and the over head and profit associated with those charges. The new amount of their invoice for covered work is $9524.52."
The work in question was included in the estimate provided to Mr. ***** at the beginning of the project, and the work authorization that was signed by Mr. ***** clearly states:
"I acknowledge responsibility for any difference in the insurance payment and the amount of the final invoice, such as for the deductible, changes I request beyond the scope of insurance - approved costs etc. ... Should the insurance company deny coverage, I agree to make full payment to McBride Construction Resources for the amount of the job."
To this day Mr. ***** has not paid McBride any funds whatsoever, even the undisputed amount, 7 months after the bill was presented to him.
Mr. *****' desired resolution has nothing to do with McBride's contractual right to be paid for work performed. He claims that he needs "this resolved by whatever means possible and promptly. All of the repairs should have been submitted and covered by insurance or made clear to me as a customer as to what would be at my expense." As set forth in our response, McBride provided Mr. ***** with an estimate at the beginning of the project, which was also submitted to his insurance company before McBride started the work, (Mr. ***** cc'd.) While Mr. ***** states that he would like them to be "covered by insurance" in order for this to be resolved, that is not something within McBride's control. Mr. *****' complaint should be directed at his insurance carrier, not at McBride. McBride had no way of knowing that a portion of his claim would ultimately be denied under his policy. He did not make McBride aware of the final amount that was approved by his insurance carrier until long after the work had been completed.
In conclusion, Mr. *****' complaints are largely unfounded, and in many cases, the complaints are directly contradicted by verifiable facts. McBride submitted the estimate to his insurance company, and cc'd him on the submission. All of the work, other than the later-contracted chimney cap, was completed in a matter of a few weeks. Inexplicably, Mr. ***** has turned his insistence that he conduct repairs on his own into a grievance about McBride. Mr. ***** is complaining that his insurance company will not cover all of the contracted for repairs, and somehow, McBride - who has no control over his policy or his insurance agency - has caused this issue. Lastly, McBride performed the agreed upon items of work; Mr. ***** has no complaint about the quality of work; he was paid, in-part, by his insurance company for McBride's work; yet he has paid McBride nothing. Rather, he has the temerity to blame McBride for the sufficiency of his insurance policy. McBride's desired resolution is for Mr. ***** to pay us for the quality work performed.


(Timeline has been added as a document due to the length of response)

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
McBride has made a defense based on a detached perspective of the issue and has attempted to extinguish the validity of my claim lead by debasing my character and intent. However they are talking about the condition not the root cause of the complaint. Customer service. Please refer to the litany of emails and texts that reflect the difficulty in contacting the project manager and even in getting the invoice to myself or the insurance company. In one instance on Mon, May 19, 2014 **** comments, we have not heard from McBride since 2013. Similar to another complaint against McBride on BBB records "the finish carpenter was assigned to run this job. The project manager was unresponsive for the majority of the project". That would be the case in this instance as well.
I will not deny that I do owe them money. However there is no clarity in why the work performed exceeded the cost of the estimate and they have failed to work with myself, the estimator or the insurance company. There was minimal effort but insufficient follow through. By their own acknowledgement I am owed several thousand dollars in credit and will gladly settle the balance of the bill when I can have the confidence that the billing is correct and matches the estimate or an accounting of the differences has been identified and resolved. Up front, I was assured by the project manager that any additional work that was discovered would be coordinated with the estimator and McBride and submitted in a change order to my insurance company which aligns to the terms document.
It was obvious from the beginning that the scope had grown and I wanted to ensure that this very problem would not occur, I was very vocal about this. Here is a comment from **** "Can McBride provide more details/explanation for why their estimate increased from $7,097.80 to $13,145.72? We don't have anything on file to justify why their estimate almost doubled."
McBride contends that there weren't any craftsmanship issues. The siding had to be rebuilt as well as the top band several times. It is now correct. However, the chimney cap should not be charged to me as it was damaged as a result of this poor craftsmanship. This was acknowledged by James in his own timeline submittal. Therefore if it is submitted as a charge I would argue that I would like to see that change order.
Additionally I have never seen any correspondence that indicated lack of coverage. The only information I received from the Insurance estimator is that I had a 2500 dollar limit on mold remediation. As a cost avoidance, I tore out the fireplace and hearth and re-framed it just to ensure that I would be within coverage limits.
In the interest of closing the debt I would expect that McBride would be more than helpful in this driving this to closure with my insurance company but it seems that there is no interest in supporting the customer. I have never known a customer to have to pursue an invoice to be able to pay for work completed. Somehow McBride contends that any correspondence with my insurance company is a courtesy. Please reference the emails I have provided in support of this effort.
I am attaching a timeline of email phone and text conversations as well as the dialog exchanged with my insurance company via web-portal and all with the common thread of a non-reply from McBride Construction. It is correct that I had intended to save money by performing some menial work on my own home. McBride's asserts that my repairs are somehow the only crux of my grievance. My repairs have no bearing on the total cost other than a credit. However if the invoice is underfunded then I lose that credit and actually pay for the work I performed. That is where I am asking McBride to step up and provide clarity as to why the invoice does not align to the original estimate.
Based upon the fact that McBride has failed to resolve the invoice to estimate disparities, I would like point out the following contract language in their General Terms document.
"C.) Unless the Contract expressly states that the work is to be performed for a fixed price, the Contractor is performing its work pursuant to an estimate ..., then the Contractor shall submit documentation of this condition to the Owner to receive authority to proceed with repairs. If the Owner elects to not repair such conditions, or fails to direct the Contractor, via Change Order, to repair these conditions..."
If work exceeded the estimate why it was not submitted via change order to the insurance company?
In conclusion I believe that my records clearly show the poor customer service, lack of oversight and engagement. The invoice submitted is not being paid in full as a direct result. I would ask that McBride works with the insurance company to ensure the entire statement of work performed was covered. OR I should be funded for the work that I performed and whatever is unfunded should be absorbed by McBride.

Business Response: We are reaching out to Mr. ***** to try to come up with an amicable solution. Will update once we have a response.

James S*****

Consumer Response: The only follow up I have received since McBride's last correspondence is a letter from an attorney to collect money.

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We engaged McBride Construction in August of 2013 to repair water damage in our downstairs area. They were one of the recommended companies that our insurance provider guaranteed. We met with ***** ***** and walked him through all of the areas that would need to be repaired and gave him very specific expectations. We were told this project would take 10-14 days. ****** ***** was assigned to our project. We met with him the beginning of September and reviewed what needed to be completed. ****** started the work yet failed to meet several of the project requirements which resulted in serious delays. We called McBride to express our concerns and they sent ***** ********** to the job site to meet with us and ****** to clarify expectations. ****** failed to meet *****'s expectations and per our mutual agreement with *****, was removed from the project. **** ****** took over as project manager and after approximately 45 days, McBride Construction informed us they were done with the project. Our next conversation with McBride Construction was not until approximately 40 days later when ***** ***** requested a walk through. During this walk-through, we pointed out several issues with the quality of work. ***** ***** also pointed out an issue with the quality of work in our entertainment area and commented that it should have been addressed as part of the project. At no point did ***** ***** offer to correct any of these issues. Our next communication from McBride Construction was in January when we received a bill asking for payment. We responded to the bill asking for clarification as to why we were being billed for work that had not been done, partially completed or not completed to our satisfaction. Per a conversation with ***** *****, we called ****** (owner) and tried to discuss the issues we had with the bill and the project. During this conversation we made what we felt was a more than fair payment offer. He rejected this offer without taking any time to discuss our concerns. His response was for us to itemize all the issues we had with the project. After careful and thoughtful review of the bill, we e-mailed McBride Construction our detailed discrepancies with the bill. Based on the information we e-mailed to McBride Construction, we received a response from ***** *****. He asked us for estimates on cleaning our home theater, music collection, repairing sofa and temporary rental of home theater equipment. All of these estimates were due to McBride Construction's failure to fulfill one of the basic expectations of the contract, which was made clear to all representatives of McBride Construction who entered our home. Shortly after McBride Construction's request, we received a bill ignoring all our issues and concerns. We have been asked to pay for work that was not done, was of inferior quality and not compensated for damage caused by McBride Construction. This could have been avoided had they met one of the basic requirements of the contract. At no time since McBride Construction stopped working on our house have they offered to correct or address any of the craftsmanship or billing concerns that we have tried on several occasions to discuss. If they would like to meet with us to discuss a mutually agreeable solution to this, please let us know. We have been trying to resolve this issue for several months, but have been unable to receive any reasonable or constructive response from McBride Construction. Best regards, ********* ***** and ****** *****

Desired Settlement: Fair payment of services completed and bill reduction for damages done and inferior work that needs to be redone.

Business Response: Please accept this letter from McBride Construction Resources, Inc., ("McBride",) in response to ********* ***** and ****** *****'s, (the "Customers",) Original Complaint for case # 22437304. Upon reviewing the Customers' complaint, we acknowledge that the customer has disputed the sufficiency of the services provided by McBride. However, McBride has made efforts to reach an amicable resolution to address their concerns relating to the craftsmanship and billing, despite the Customers' statements otherwise. We hope that through the BBB process, we can reach a resolution with the Customers.
The Customers' acknowledge that ***** *****, of McBride, met with them after the completion of the work. The intent of Mr. *****'s meeting was to observe their concerns first hand and amend the billing to reflect their concerns. A previous concern of the Customers was that construction dust had accumulated in areas adjacent to the construction area. In response to that concern, McBride sent a cleaning crew to clean the affected areas. As a result of Mr. *****'s efforts to address the Customers' other concerns, McBride revised the invoice amount. These efforts were not satisfactory to the Customers, so McBride requested that they provide a detailed account of their concerns with the work and the related billing. What is missing from the Customers' complaint; where they acknowledge that they emailed their concerns to McBride, and that ***** ***** (on our behalf) responded to their email; is that Mr. *****'s response consisted of a direct response to each of their concerns - set in red font to contrast from each of the Customers' concerns - and a bill that has been revised from the original estimate of $14,775.16 to $10,732.41. Mr. *****'s meticulous response is in addition to the Customers' acknowledgment that Mr. ***** requested estimates for cleaning electronics Mr. *****'s letter in response to their concerns is submitted with this response.
It is simply untrue that McBride sent a bill without addressing their concerns. In response to the Customers' concerns, McBride has sent a crew to clean the dust that had accumulated, and has reduced the bill by $4,043.19. As of this date, the Customer has paid McBride nothing for the work performed by us. A good start to a resolution begins with the parties agreeing to the basic facts, and one basic fact is that McBride has made a great effort to resolve the Customers' issues fairly, and in a manner that reflects the merits of their concerns. McBride is entitled to be fairly compensated for the work performed, and is committed to working with the Customers to reach a resolution. It is our hope that common ground can be reached with the Customer, and we look forward to working within the BBB's dispute resolution program to resolve this matter.
(Bath remodel with SL responses.pdf)

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To: Better Business Bureau
Case ID #22437304
Re: Response to McBride Construction regarding *********** complaint dated June 27th, 2014
We have reviewed McBride Construction's response to our Better Business Bureau complaint. They are still not willing to come to a mutually agreeable resolution.
The basic issues are:
1. Work was completed on October 26, 2013.
2. ***** ***** did not complete a walk-through until December 5, 2013.
During the walk-through, we pointed out issues with paint, damage to sofa, and other concerns. ***** ***** also pointed out to us issues with the drywall in the main room that should have been corrected at the time of painting. No offer was made to correct any of these issues.
3. The next time we heard from McBride Construction was when we received an invoice dated January 8, 2014.
After reviewing this invoice, we discovered that McBride Construction was billing us for work that was not done. We sent a response asking for clarification on the bill and were instructed to call Dennis, owner of McBride construction.
4. We contacted ****** and spoke with him about our concerns. Rather than taking time to discuss issues, he requested that we send him a detailed list of concerns.
The information requested was e-mailed to McBride Construction. In response, ***** ***** asked for estimates on cleaning home theater and stereo equipment as well as music collection. He also asked for an estimate to recover our sofa.
5. Before we were able to collect all the estimates per ***** *****'s request, he sent a response stating that McBride Construction was not responsible for damage the dust caused due to their failure to protect our personal belongings. As well as damage done by the cleaners which would not have been needed if McBride Construction had installed the curtain wall and ventilation as originally requested in the estimate.
6. Instead of discussing issues with us directly, McBride has turned over the matter to their lawyer who then issued us a letter demanding payment. When we responded to McBride's lawyer in the hopes of resolving the issues, we only received in response a new invoice with two months of interest added.
7. In ***** *****'s response regarding his visit on December 5, 2013. During the walk-through, he states that 'we agreed to remove several scope items'. This is misleading due to the fact that these items were part of the original estimate. It was made clear and agreed to before work started that McBride Construction would not be completing these items.
As of this date, McBride Construction's only method of contacting us has been to send invoices demanding payment. At no time have they asked to meet with us in order to discuss our concerns.
Due to this, we now ask for binding arbitration. We considered mediation, but due to McBride Construction's complete lack of willingness to discuss issues and acknowledge their failure in addressing poor workmanship and damage this appears to be our only option.
Please let us know what our next steps are to resolve this complaint.
Thank you for your time.