BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance repairs and all phases of commercial and residential construction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McBride Construction Resources Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McBride Construction Resources Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McBride Construction Resources Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1988 Business started: 04/01/1984 Business started locally: 04/01/1984 Business incorporated 06/18/1984 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Witte, President Ms. Cristy Burnett, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Witte, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Building Construction Consultants Construction & Remodeling Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McBride Construction Resources Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 224 Nickerson St

    Seattle, WA 98109 (206) 283-7121 (800) 676-5053 (206) 283-7124 (206) 283-7142 (206) 283-7415 (206) 283-0290 (206) 283-3502 (206) 283-4513 (206) 283-2758 (206) 283-3141 (206) 283-3284 (206) 283-3477

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The request was to repair water damage to my home in June of 2013. The customer response was very poor. The issues of customer service were prevalent all throughout the construction. Once the full scope of damage was realized I don't know that the estimate was ever submitted to the insurance company. The work was completed 10 months into the project and should have been completed within 6 -8 weeks at the most. I had to do a lot of the work myself. I had to ask repeatedly for McBride to invoice the job before the insurance company closed the claim on the 1 year anniversary. At month 16 the invoice and estimate are still not aligned and I am being asked to pay the difference. I cannot get follow through on the part of McBride to resolve the invoice and the estimate.

Desired Settlement: I need this resolved by whatever means possible and promptly. All of the repairs should have been submitted and covered by insurance or made clear to me as a customer as to what would be at my expense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Re: *** ***** ***** The following shall constitute McBride Construction Resources, Inc.'s, ("McBride's",) response to *** ***** *****' complaint filed against McBride. *** *****' complaint contains several inaccurate statements which demonstrate a fundamental misunderstanding on *** *****' part, or a willful disregard to the truth. McBride's position is that we did excellent work that *** ***** accepted, (note that he makes no complaint about the quality of the work performed;) *** ***** was paid by his insurance company, in-part, for our work; but *** ***** has refused to pay McBride in any amount. *** *****' complaint states that he does not "know that the estimate for the repairs was ever submitted to his insurance company." McBride contracted with *** *****, not with *** *****' insurance company; and *** *****, alone, authorized the scope of work and repairs to his home. McBride cannot control what is covered or not cover by *** *****' insurance carrier. However, as a courtesy to *** *****, McBride's estimate for repairs was sent to his insurance company, twice. *** ***** should know this because he was copied on the email. McBride has no way of knowing about any specific limitations that are in *** *****' policy, which is why we do not do work contingent upon payment by the insurance company - a point that is clearly stated in our contract with *** *****. *** ***** contends that the work took 10 months to complete. This statement is false. We have included a timeline below shows that the bulk of the work was satisfied from the dates of 9/10/13 - 10/25/13, the only thing that was not completed in that time was a replacing the chimney cap because that work was not included on the original estimate, and was agreed upon at a later date. Moreover, the chimney cap was a specialty Item that had to be specially manufactured. But for this item, the work was completed in a matter of a few weeks. It is important to note that our start date was September 2013, not June 2013, as *** ***** contends. A baffling statement in *** *****' complaint is that he "had to do a lot of the work himself". When we first inspected the damage to *** *****' home, he stated right away that he wanted to perform some of the work himself, but asked that McBride provide him with a complete estimate. He reiterated his desire to do the work himself in an email to McBride's project manager, dated 7/29, before any of the work had started on his house. At his request, McBride agreed on the items that he would be performing, and informed him that the agreed upon items would be reflected as a credit in our billing. That his choice to do work himself would somehow result in a complaint about McBride's customer service and professionalism is baffling because he did the work at his insistence. *** ***** also stated that he repeatedly had to ask McBride for the final invoice for the work that was performed. The only recollection that *** ***** requested the invoices was an email sent on April 8th, and the final invoice was sent on 4/24. Finally, *** ***** contends that "the invoice and the estimate ********* are still not aligned and I am being asked to pay the difference." As stated above, McBride has no control over whether or not *** *****' insurance company covers all or part of the damages for the claim that he filed with them. In this case, part of the work was not covered due to exclusions on his policy. McBride has no way of knowing this & furthermore it was not brought to our attention until 8 months after total completion of his project. *** ***** provided this information to McBride on 10/18/2014 in the form of an email that he received from his insurance carrier: "Review of McBrides invoice includes work not covered under the policy. They have included the exterior repairs to siding on the chimney. these damages were not storm related, and our from wear/tear, and deterioration over time. If you remove those charges from their invoice and the over head and profit associated with those charges. The new amount of their invoice for covered work is $9524.52." The work in question was included in the estimate provided to *** ***** at the beginning of the project, and the work authorization that was signed by *** ***** clearly states: "I acknowledge responsibility for any difference in the insurance payment and the amount of the final invoice, such as for the deductible, changes I request beyond the scope of insurance - approved costs etc. ... Should the insurance company deny coverage, I agree to make full payment to McBride Construction Resources for the amount of the job." To this day *** ***** has not paid McBride any funds whatsoever, even the undisputed amount, 7 months after the bill was presented to him. *** *****' desired resolution has nothing to do with McBride's contractual right to be paid for work performed. He claims that he needs "this resolved by whatever means possible and promptly. All of the repairs should have been submitted and covered by insurance or made clear to me as a customer as to what would be at my expense." As set forth in our response, McBride provided *** ***** with an estimate at the beginning of the project, which was also submitted to his insurance company before McBride started the work, **** ***** cc'd.) While *** ***** states that he would like them to be "covered by insurance" in order for this to be resolved, that is not something within McBride's control. *** *****' complaint should be directed at his insurance carrier, not at McBride. McBride had no way of knowing that a portion of his claim would ultimately be denied under his policy. He did not make McBride aware of the final amount that was approved by his insurance carrier until long after the work had been completed. In conclusion, *** *****' complaints are largely unfounded, and in many cases, the complaints are directly contradicted by verifiable facts. McBride submitted the estimate to his insurance company, and cc'd him on the submission. All of the work, other than the later-contracted chimney cap, was completed in a matter of a few weeks. Inexplicably, *** ***** has turned his insistence that he conduct repairs on his own into a grievance about McBride. *** ***** is complaining that his insurance company will not cover all of the contracted for repairs, and somehow, McBride - who has no control over his policy or his insurance agency - has caused this issue. Lastly, McBride performed the agreed upon items of work; *** ***** has no complaint about the quality of work; he was paid, in-part, by his insurance company for McBride's work; yet he has paid McBride nothing. Rather, he has the temerity to blame McBride for the sufficiency of his insurance policy. McBride's desired resolution is for *** ***** to pay us for the quality work performed. (Timeline has been added as a document due to the length of response) ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) McBride has made a defense based on a detached perspective of the issue and has attempted to extinguish the validity of my claim lead by debasing my character and intent. However they are talking about the condition not the root cause of the complaint. Customer service. Please refer to the litany of emails and texts that reflect the difficulty in contacting the project manager and even in getting the invoice to myself or the insurance company. In one instance on Mon, May 19, 2014 **** comments, we have not heard from McBride since 2013. Similar to another complaint against McBride on BBB records "the finish carpenter was assigned to run this job. The project manager was unresponsive for the majority of the project". That would be the case in this instance as well. I will not deny that I do owe them money. However there is no clarity in why the work performed exceeded the cost of the estimate and they have failed to work with myself, the estimator or the insurance company. There was minimal effort but insufficient follow through. By their own acknowledgement I am owed several thousand dollars in credit and will gladly settle the balance of the bill when I can have the confidence that the billing is correct and matches the estimate or an accounting of the differences has been identified and resolved. Up front, I was assured by the project manager that any additional work that was discovered would be coordinated with the estimator and McBride and submitted in a change order to my insurance company which aligns to the terms document. It was obvious from the beginning that the scope had grown and I wanted to ensure that this very problem would not occur, I was very vocal about this. Here is a comment from **** "Can McBride provide more details/explanation for why their estimate increased from $7,097.80 to $13,145.72? We don't have anything on file to justify why their estimate almost doubled." McBride contends that there weren't any craftsmanship issues. The siding had to be rebuilt as well as the top band several times. It is now correct. However, the chimney cap should not be charged to me as it was damaged as a result of this poor craftsmanship. This was acknowledged by ***** in his own timeline submittal. Therefore if it is submitted as a charge I would argue that I would like to see that change order. Additionally I have never seen any correspondence that indicated lack of coverage. The only information I received from the Insurance estimator is that I had a 2500 dollar limit on mold remediation. As a cost avoidance, I tore out the fireplace and hearth and re-framed it just to ensure that I would be within coverage limits. In the interest of closing the debt I would expect that McBride would be more than helpful in this driving this to closure with my insurance company but it seems that there is no interest in supporting the customer. I have never known a customer to have to pursue an invoice to be able to pay for work completed. Somehow McBride contends that any correspondence with my insurance company is a courtesy. Please reference the emails I have provided in support of this effort. I am attaching a timeline of email phone and text conversations as well as the dialog exchanged with my insurance company via web-portal and all with the common thread of a non-reply from McBride Construction. It is correct that I had intended to save money by performing some menial work on my own home. McBride's asserts that my repairs are somehow the only crux of my grievance. My repairs have no bearing on the total cost other than a credit. However if the invoice is underfunded then I lose that credit and actually pay for the work I performed. That is where I am asking McBride to step up and provide clarity as to why the invoice does not align to the original estimate. Based upon the fact that McBride has failed to resolve the invoice to estimate disparities, I would like point out the following contract language in their General Terms document. "C.) Unless the Contract expressly states that the work is to be performed for a fixed price, the Contractor is performing its work pursuant to an estimate ..., then the Contractor shall submit documentation of this condition to the Owner to receive authority to proceed with repairs. If the Owner elects to not repair such conditions, or fails to direct the Contractor, via Change Order, to repair these conditions..." If work exceeded the estimate why it was not submitted via change order to the insurance company? In conclusion I believe that my records clearly show the poor customer service, lack of oversight and engagement. The invoice submitted is not being paid in full as a direct result. I would ask that McBride works with the insurance company to ensure the entire statement of work performed was covered. OR I should be funded for the work that I performed and whatever is unfunded should be absorbed by McBride. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/12/22) */ We are reaching out to *** ***** to try to come up with an amicable solution. Will update once we have a response. ***** ******

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service