BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (206) 632-0800 Fax: (206) 547-0800 View Additional Phone Numbers 4320 S 131st Pl Ste 100, Tukwila, WA 98168 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers commercial and residential damage restoration and insurance remodeling construction services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BELFOR USA Group Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BELFOR USA Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BELFOR USA Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1968 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Kurt Daviscourt, Regional Manager Mr. Ted Sitterley, Senior Project Mgr Mrs. Danielle Willcut, Executive Assistant Mr. Sheldon Yellen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kurt Daviscourt, Regional Manager
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Alternate Business Names
Belfor Property Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 4320 S 131st Pl Ste 100

    Tukwila, WA 98168 (206) 632-0800 (800) 775-8006 (206) 632-0800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Belfor restored my condo after severe water damage in August 2014. Took 6 months to complete. Moved back in Feb. 2015. After moving in discovered the master bathroom vanity, microwave and carpet on stairs leading to garage were extremely damaged. Have tried to contact Dan and Brian with Belfor on separate occasions. Very frustrating. I just want my items back to how they were before the damage occurred.

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for the items listed above. I would like a check for the value of the items so I can replace them in a timely manner.

Business Response:

We will contact Ms. ****** and review her concerns in person.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Belfor construction left my condo unfinished. The head guy, Dan coursed me into signing that the project was complete but promised to ensure he come back if anything was not completed. While moving in several things were noticed.
1. Microwave Cracked
2. Carpet Up Stairs Worn to the wood
3. Master vanity severely water damaged but not replaced
4. Had to rekey the whole house because they didn't give us access to our key
Complaint ID#: ******** is the original complaint number I made but it went to the wrong Belfor. I refuse to allow them back in my home. I would like the money to replace the items myself.


******* ******

Business Response:

We will address each of Ms. ******** complaints individually.  First, we will provide a little background on the project.  Ms. ****** sustained minor water damage to her condo caused by a leak from the icemaker in the kitchen.  ******** performed the water remediation and demolition.  BELFOR was contacted to perform the reconstruction.  Ms. ******** insurance adjuster *** **** walked the unit prior our engaging in repairs.  Before any repairs were started, BELFOR performed a photo documentation of Ms. ******** unit.  Photos are available upon request addressing each concern.
1.       Microwave cracked – handle was cracked before BELFOR engaged in repairs
2.       Carpet upstairs worn to the wood – the carpet was in this condition prior to our beginning of the repairs
3.       Master vanity severely water damaged but not replaced – photos are available showing no water damage to the vanity.  The BELFOR scope approved by Ms. ******** insurance adjuster *** **** did not call for replacement of the vanity but to detach and reset.  The vanity was detached and placed in the garage by ********.
4.       Had to rekey the whole house because they didn’t give us access to our key – A key was placed in a lockbox on the outside of Ms. ******** unit.  The lockbox contained a single key for access.  Ms. ****** accessed her unit from the garage during repairs.  BELFOR not providing access to her key during reconstruction is erroneous.
We are happy to address any concerns Ms. ****** has regarding our scope of repairs.  The items she is addressing in her complaint were not part of the scope of repairs and/or are completely fabricated and false.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. J**** is continuing to ignore my rmail response. 


******* ******

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Belfor has repeatedly admitted the substandard nature of the work, impact of the associated delays, and work left undone: 1. Flooring done improperly—vinyl crooked, not level, and I incurred damage to door jam. Profuse apologies by Belfor for using, and I quote, "the B Team." Blefor continues, "They should never have left your house with it looking so bad." 2. Painter admitted that brush painting was incorrect method for these floorboards. During painting inspection, I was told by Belfor, and I quote, "I'm taking pictures so I can show people what wrong looks like. It should not have been done like this." No effort on the part of Belfor to rectify gaps in painting or quality. 3. Carpets: Never cleaned.

Desired Settlement: I would like Belfor to consider a 100% write-off after work is complete and done to satisfaction, having already spent 3 months trying to get them to do it correctly.

Business Response:

This is complete nonsense.  The house looks amazing.  However, Mr. ***** is very abusive, swears, threatens our staff and the women in our office.  As a result, we have elected to refund Mr. ***** for the work we performed so we can move on with our lives and get this mentally unstable person behind us.

4/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called them several times and talked to ****** ****** I want to know why I'm being charged $286.45. I want to know the specific reason for the charge. I can see nothing was done at my house. I am complaining because they are avoiding me.

Desired Settlement: I want to know what they did at my location, and if they did nothing I want the $286.45 charge dismissed.

Business Response:

I recently received your letter regarding the complaint filed by Mr. **** ****** and apologize for the delay in responding.
I spoke with Mr. ****** on Tuesday 3/24/2015 regarding his bill. Mr. ****** requested information in regards to the nature of the work performed on his property by BELFOR. I explained to him that I would have to get back to him once I pulled the file from our warehouse. Due to the age of the file it was stored in our warehouse and would take a little time to retrieve.
The evening of 3/24/2015 I had to attend to a family emergency that lasted several days. It appears during that time Mr. ****** initiated the complaint to your office. No forceful action has been taken by BELFOR to obtain these funds from Mr. ******; we simply had a statement sent to his address for work performed by the request of the Fire Department. These statements are sent out automatically by our internal software.
We are routinely called out by the Fire Department to perform emergency services such as; board-ups, tarp a roof, installation of temp fencing, etc… This is a service we perform for the community at large, and a service that is covered by most insurance policies. In this particular case, the Fire Department requested that we install temp fencing to protect the property from access.
Had Mr. ****** allowed me some time to research and respond, as I indicated to him, I would have informed him of the nature of the work performed, yet I completely understand his frustration and hope we can resolve this matter to his satisfaction.

When BELFOR performs these services we never pursue payment from an insured directly and only ask that they pass this through to their insurance carrier. It is never our intent to burden a homeowner, especially one that has sustained a loss such as this, but in this instance it seems the issue escalated rather quickly.
I apologize for the frustration Mr. ****** has been dealing with over this and hope that he understands this was not our intention. I have instituted a new policy that an informational letter be included with each statement for jobs performed for the Fire Department. This letter will inform property owners of how to process these billings and instruct them to forward the billing to their insurance carrier.
Mr. ****** can disregard the billing and consider this matter closed.
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
****** *****
Program Manager
BELFOR Property Restoration
Cell: ************
Email: *********

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2013 we suffered water damage in two of our apartment units (units********) resulting from a tenant overflowing their washing machine. Belfor was called in to perform the clean-up and repair. The damage was extensive to unit * and a lot of drywall was removed & replaced and the entire unit had to be repainted. We recommended using Miller Paint which is the brand we've used for 20 years in this building. Belfor used a different brand and now 9 months later the paint in unit * is peeling throughout the unit. We have multiple photos showing the damage. Our tenants are obviously not very happy. They notified us on Sunday December 14th of the paint issue. We responded immediately and toured the apartment the following Sunday December 15th and took several photos. We then notified Belfor the same day of the issue. There response has essentially been "we'll get to it when we can".

Desired Settlement: We expect Belfor to address this issue with the same urgency that we (and our tenants) have. Since it was the holidays, we already had plans to be out-of-town and asked if Belfor could stop by for an initial evaluation prior to our departure (Thursday Dec 19th). They were unwilling to make the effort to get over to our building. Now our tenants will have to wait until after the holidays to get this issue resolved, assuming Belfor stands behind their work. We want unit** to be repainted, this time using the appropriate process and materials so the unit is not peeling again in another 9 months. In 20 years of painting apartment units this has never happened before.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ BELFOR was notified via email on Sunday Dec 15th that there was an issue with paint peeling in one of the units being repaired. The owner insisted that we inspect and address the repairs within 72 hours as their son was leaving town and unable to provide us with access after Dec 18th. BELFOR explained to the owner that we would try to schedule the repairs on short notice but that peeling paint did not warrant an "emergency response" scenario and that we may not be able to address the paint within the time/access constraints allowed. BELFOR committed in writing to schedule the repairs during the normal course of business as access was allowed. (See attached). At no point in the discussion did BELFOR use the words "when we can". The customer wanted it corrected within 3 days period and the commitment was that we would make every effort to address it but that it may have to be scheduled with a little more advanced notice. Additionally, there was a regional cold snap during this time period and BELFOR was inundated with actual emergency responses and had to prioritize addressing a "paint warranty" issue accordingly. There is no issue with the paint applied as the same paint was applied throughout the project by the same painter. The problem is a result of a reaction with the pre-existing paint or substrate that the paint was applied over as all the areas where new material were painted over are performing as expected. BELFOR has not received ANY communications from customer since access was denied after December 18th. BELFOR would be happy to prep and re-paint the affected areas if provide access to same during normal business hours. From: ************* Sent: Wednesday, December 18, 2013 8:51 AM To: *************; ************* Cc: ************; **************; ************; ************* Subject: RE: Number 3 bedroom *****, We understand your concern, however there is no "health issue" with delaminated paint. This paint is not "defective" as it is bonded fine to all of the areas that we repaired, it is delaminating from a pre-existing painted areas (that was not repaired but only painted over). This is almost certainly due to a reaction with something on or in the existing paint rather than an issue with the new paint that was used throughout. This was brought to our attention a couple days ago and it will be addressed during the normal course of business. It does not necessarily constitute an urgent or emergency status. It simply needs to be brushed off the wall, primed and repainted. ***** is making every effort to address it by the end of business tomorrow. If he is unable to accomplish this, it will be addressed on ****** return based on access restrictions you've delineated. Best regards, ************* - Senior Project Manager BELFOR Property Restoration *********************************, Seattle, WA 98168 Ph: ************ Cell ************ P Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail IMPORTANT: This transmission is sent on behalf of BELFOR USA Group, Inc. and it may be privileged, proprietary or confidential. It is intended only for the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient or a person responsible for delivering this transmission to the intended recipient, you may not disclose, copy or distribute this transmission, or take any action in reliance on it. If you received this transmission in error, please notify us immediately by telephone at ************ or by email at ************* or by facsimile transmission at ************, and please dispose of and delete this transmission. Thank you -----Original Message----- From: ************* [mailto:*************] Sent: Wednesday, December 18, 2013 8:16 AM To: ************* Cc: *************; ************; **************; ************; ************* Subject: Re: Number 3 bedroom I'd like more than a "best effort". I'm concerned this could become a health issue. There was something defective in the paint used and our tenants should not be exposed to that. **** is heading out of town Thursday (as I indicated on Sunday) and I don't want workers going there without one of us around. ***** Sent from my iPhone > On Dec 18, 2013, at 6:59 AM, "*************" <*****.*******> wrote: > *****, > I've already spoken with ****, telling him I'd make every effort to get them there today. > ************* > BELFOR > PropertyRestoration > ********************************* > Seattle, Wa 98168 > Cell: ************ Ph: ************, Fx: ************ > > On Dec 18, 2013, at 5:50 AM, "*************"<*************> wrote: > > ***** > Is someone coming to Unit * today? This needs to be addressed. Thanks. > > ***** > Sent from my iPhone > > On Dec 15, 2013, at 5:30 PM, "**********<*****.*******> wrote: > > Can we get the beat contact number for access? > > ************* > BELFOR Property Restoration > *********************************, Seattle, WA 98168 > Ph: ************, Cell ************ > > "Sent from my iPhone" > > On Dec 15, 2013, at 3:28 PM, "*************" <*************> wrote: > > ***** > Thanks for the quick response. If someone could come by no later than Wednesday that would be appreciated. We are in Denver already and **** & ****** are heading this way Thursday morning. > > ***** > Sent from my iPhone > > On Dec 15, 2013, at 4:25 PM, "*************" <*****.*******> wrote: > > Hi ***** > That looks very strange. We will send someone by this week. It may not be "Monday morning" but we will come out to assess and correct as needed ASAP. > > Thx > > ************* > BELFOR Property Restoration > *********************************, Seattle, WA 98168 > Ph: ************, Cell ************ > > "Sent from my iPhone" > > On Dec 15, 2013, at 2:54 PM, "*************" <*************> wrote: > > ***** > Our Eastlake Unit * that was restored and repainted by Belfor is pealing very badly in several rooms. There is no leaking or water damage causing this. It's as if the paint just went bad in several rooms. We need you to send someone to come look at this Monday morning. Obviously we expect that Belfor will take care of any issue at no cost to us. I will forward several more photos. > > ***** > Sent from my iPhone > > Begin forwarded message: > > From: ************ > <************>> > Date: December 15, 2013 at 3:50:30 PM MST > To: ***** ******* > <************* ***>> > Subject: Number 3 bedroom > > > Wall on left side of the door > > > > Wall above the door >