BBB Accredited Business since

Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 640-5434 Fax: (503) 648-6397 4543 SE TV Hwy, Hillsboro, OR 97123 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ricksfencing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers cedar and composite decking, as well as, cedar, vinyl, chain link, and ornamental aluminum fencing. We also offer complete and partial installation and materials packages for the do it yourselfer.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 06/01/1980 Business started locally: 06/01/1980 Business incorporated 04/29/1985 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Stanley, President Mr. Stu Bailey, Store Manager Mr. Dave Harkins, Corporate Administrator Mr. Cliff Lengstorf, Store Manager Mr. Nick Marshall, General Manager Mr. Tom Marshall, Store Manager Mr. C T Warren, Store Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Marshall, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Rick Stanley, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11516 NE 66th St

    Vancouver, WA 98662

  • 20132 SE Stark St

    Portland/Gresham, OR 97233

  • 4543 SE TV Hwy

    Hillsboro, OR 97123

  • 4543 SE TV Hwy Ste A

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (503) 669-0795 (360) 253-3792 (503) 463-8331

  • 8755 Portland Rd NE

    Salem, OR 97305

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9120 W Clearwater Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (503) 640-5434

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a wooden deck removed and replaced with PVC and vinyl handrails. The deck was not installed correctly, one small issue with the handrails and debris with nails left all over, much of it was left under the new deck to attract carpenter ants. The customer service was non existent until I got really upset with them. I feel I was taken advantage of because I am a 71 year old widow.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the deck installed correctly and the debris removed. I have already paid them in full $36,373.73. I also believe that I should be compensated for the extra time, frustration and emotional and physical stress they have caused a senior citizen.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ I have met Mrs. ***** and gone over her project with her. Regrettably she is correct. We missed the mark both in workmanship and customer service. Mrs. ***** is a very nice and understanding lady. She is happy with the product and ****'s has her scheduled to have her deck fixed the first week of next month (September). Mrs. *****'s patience and understanding is greatly appreciated. ****'s Custom Fencing and Decking is committed to making all of our customers happy. In addition to fixing Mrs. *****'s deck, we will be doing a few extra home improvement projects for her at no charge. We will be fixing a bit of siding and wrapping a few cover posts. Thank you, **** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Rick's Fencing and Decking started my deck project, in the afternoon, August 4,2014. They told me it would be completed in four to seven days. It took seven days. I have clearly been taken advantage of because I am a senior citizen. They did a deplorable, incompetent and horrible installation. I have paid them in full $36,373.73 and they offer me menial home improvements at no extra charge? Those should have been included if the job had been done correctly. Their brochure states "Our highly trained and experienced staff". After they so badly botched my deck project they wanted to bring back the same person, that did the untrained,unexperienced work to train him how to do it correctly. I am not running a training school for Rick's. So I told them that was unacceptable. They agreed, but with the customer No Service I have received it concerns me that I must endure more time and stress with this incompetent company. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The person they sent, to completely tear off the deplorable first deck, was very professional and was the only person that delivered good customer service. The General Manager needs help with both professionalism and customer service. I signed a contract and was told it would take four to seven days and I paid over $36,000 dollars. It took thirty-four days and I had to adjust my life to their schedule for 34 days. I sincerely feel that they owe me a refund of $6000 for not doing what they promised and the General Manager acted like it was not a big deal. It was a really big ordeal for me and caused undue emotional and physical stress and time. it took 27 days longer than they promised and I think I should be compensated since they did not deliver what I paid and signed up for. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/09/22) */ I request that the BBB close this case as resolved satisfactorily. Mrs. ***** purchased a deck on July 8th 2014. At that time she was informed that our schedule was booked out about 4 weeks and we would be starting her project on August 4th and that the deck would take about 4 to 7 business days. On August 12th her deck was completed and Mrs. ***** signed a form stating she was happy with her deck and she paid her balance due on the project. Subsequently she contacted me as she had found a few issues with her deck. Some of the issues were legitimate problems with our workmanship and some of the issues were the result of her purchasing a "re-surfacing" of her old deck framing rather than a completely new deck. Rick's did not frame her deck, we replaced the old cedar decking that required maintenance and her wood handrail with new PVC decking and railing. Nevertheless, I met her the following Monday morning. At that time she was given the option of having her deck issues fixed by our Vancouver Crew Manager who could have started work on fixing her deck that day or to wait 2 weeks and have our a crew from our corporate office in Hillsboro fix her deck starting on September 2nd. She chose to wait for September 2nd. Since September 2nd I believe we have gone above and beyond what we were contracted to do for her in a sincere attempt to make her a happy customer. We have fixed the mistakes we made during her initial installation in addition to doing several items beyond the scope of our original contract. I would welcome meeting the BBB or any legitimate neutral 3rd party at the job site to review our work, what we were contracted to do, and what we have done at Mrs. *****'s home. Currently Mrs. ***** has reported Rick's Custom Fencing and Decking to the State of Washington's Attorney Generals office. The Attorney General has offered to involve themselves in the process if Rick's Fencing and Decking will voluntarily participate, and we will. Again, I would appreciate the BBB closing this case as satisfactory resolved by Rick's Custom Fencing and Decking. Thank you, **** ** ******** General Manager Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking www.RicksFencing.com

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a fence installed on May 28th. The fence line was taken out 3 inches at least from where the old fence was. Also the fence is not in a straight line. In this case I had to buy material to fix the gaps in my old fence and deck. What was a small gap ended up being over 10 inches in one spot. My child and dog could fit through the gaps. I had to fix the gaps. I called the Gresham office 3 times. Got to speak to a manager once. I was informed the field supervisor would be coming out to the location and calling me. They have not contacted me at all and it has been 3 weeks.

Desired Settlement: $100.00 refund. I had to by 2x4's, 2x12, 2x10, 2 cedar board and staining the wood. The materials were $60.00 and $40.00 labor. If they would have contacted me and supplied me with the lumber I would have called it even. I feel this is the least they could do.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/02) */ I believe this is all resolved and the customer is happy. I spoke with **** on the phone and apologized for Rick's not jumping to help him with his fence issue. While we were on the phone I asked **** for the information I needed to access his invoice/account. His invoice is actually under his neighbors name.....so it was a little difficult to find. This may have been a reason for us not getting him the service he deserved. (I hate excuses too). Never the less, **** and I have had a nice conversation. He is a very nice and understanding customer. I wish we had done right by him on our first try. **** is experienced in construction but was just to busy to build the fence himself. I appreciate that he took care of the fence issues for us. Rick's is mailing **** a check for his materials and for his time and effort. Thanks, ****. Sincerely, **** ** ******** General Manager Rick's Custom Fencing & Decking PH: (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. *** CE: (XXX) XXX-XXXX FX: (XXX) XXX-XXXX ******************** Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 11, 2013/07/17) */ Rick's Custom Fencing has contacted me. The issue has been resolved.

11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues