BBB Accredited Business since

Fabric Depot Inc

Phone: (800) 392-3376 Fax: (503) 252-9556 View Additional Phone Numbers 700 SE 122nd Ave, Portland, OR 97233 http://www.fabricdepot.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of an assortment of fabrics as well as craft supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fabric Depot Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fabric Depot Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fabric Depot Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2006 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 10/01/1991 Business incorporated 10/21/1991 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Renee Beacock, Human Resources Ms. Trudy Parry, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Renee Beacock, Human Resources
Business Category

Fabric Shops Rayon Fabrics Upholstery Fabrics - Retail Non - Woven Fabrics Bridal & Millinery Supplies Costume Fabrics, Trim & Accessories Craft Supplies Drapery & Curtain Fabrics - Retail

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday
9:00am - 9:00pm

Sunday
10:00am - 7:00pm

Additional Locations

  • 700 SE 122nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97233 (503) 252-6267 (503) 252-9530 (888) 896-1478 (800) 392-3376

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fabric Depot's website misrepresents its prices and discount information, and their employees are not able to clarify when contacted. I went to their website to get prices on fabric. When I went to purchase, the website would not allow me to purchase 3 yards even though that was showing available, so I called to see if I could pick it up in store and ask if the 25% off sale applied to in store and online items. The person I talked to said she would hold the fabric for me and that the sale should apply to online items. I came in and the woman I picked it up from looked at the fabric and exclaimed, "this is from e-commerce! They shouldn't have held this for you!" As if it was my fault. Then when I went to purchase the other fabric I was looking for I found the prices were 25% greater than they're listed for online. When I went to check out I told the teller I found the price discrepancy misleading, since it's not made clear on the website that prices are different in store. She said she didn't know anything about the website, but the people had complained in the past. However, her resolution was to tell me, "you don't have to buy if you don't want to", which does not help the fact that their false advertising had led me to drive all the way out there in the first place. She also told me that online orders are available for pickup in store, which makes no sense if they're charging different prices for the same fabric.

Desired Settlement: They should charge the same in store for fabric as they do online.

Business Response:

Please see attachment for our response.  Please respond to Elaine Love, *******@fabricdepot.com, regarding any further correspondence of the complaint.

Best - Elaine

*******@fabricdepot.com
*** *** **** ****

July 24th , 2015

RE: ID ********

To whom it may concern:

We are writing in response to a complaint from *** ***** received through the Better Business Bureau
regarding a recent purchase made at our retail store. We would like to take the opportunity to
apologize to Ms. ***** for the substandard customer service that she received. We have spoken with
the Retail Store Manager, Special Orders Department Manager and Ecommerce Manager, regarding her
experience and have taken steps to improve our service and communication.

We would like to speak to the price differences between our retail store and our ecommerce website.
FabricDepot.com and Fabric Depot retail store operate separately. Due to the differing marketplaces in
which we compete, our prices and promotions will vary in our retail store and online. For example, the
retail store may carry a fabric not offered on fabricdepot.com, or, a sewing tool or fabric yardage may be
priced differently in our retail store than on fabricdepot.com. Similarly, promotional offers (such as
coupons and additional discounts) offered at one, may not be used at the other. For example, a coupon
offered for Fabric Depot’s retail store may not be applied towards purchases on fabricdepot.com;
alternately, coupon codes, free shipping offers, and other promos on fabricdepot.com may not be
applied toward Fabric Depot store purchases.

In response to Ms. ******* complaint, we are working to train our managers and staff to offer the lowest
advertised price to our customers. Additionally, we have added language to each product page on our
website stating “ Pricing, promotions, and availability vary online and in our retail store ”, and we have
added language to our website further explaining our Pricing Policy [this can be seen at the bottom of
our Retail Store page on our website at http://www.fabricdepot.com/retail-store ]. We hope that these
changes will provide clarity to our customers regarding our Pricing Policy.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint and for prompting us to make these changes.
Fabric Depot is a local, family owned business, with one retail location and we rely on a positive
relationship with our customers. We value our customers and want to give the best experience, price
and selection.



Sincerely,

Elaine L***
Operations Director

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your security man falsely arrested me, mistreated me, refused to listen, repeatedly lied. now he is removing and blocking facebook posts, emails, etc by me and my husband which complain of his injustice and misconduct. He is trying to cover his tracks and save his job, hiding his misdeeds from the company owners. He needs to be fired immediately!!! He possesses NO reason and apparently no brain in his head. Now he is calling and harassing me! Grilling me for information and pretending to be from corporate all the while refusing to give his name or explain his call. My poor son, less than two years old, puked his guts out as soon as we left. I have had constant intense anxiety and panic attacks from the horrible treatment and feeling so powerless to defend myself against a man who is only concerned with justifying his paycheck. It is WRONG, it is INJUSTICE, it is UNFAIRNESS, and should be a CRIME. Not what I did, which had a perfectly reasonable and logical explanation, but him trying to ruin my life and reputation simply to justify his wages. I am pursuing a lawsuit against him and the company. If he harasses me again I will be contacting the police and filing a restraining order. This man needs to be STOPPED. I will protest as longly and loudly as I need to be for the owners to realize he is a liability to their company and will cost them thousands in missed revenue and legal expenses. He is a complete idiot and it is unfair that I should pay the price of his mediocrity and folly

Desired Settlement: Drop all false charges with the police and courts, fire the security employee in question, restitution for damaged reputation and trauma to both me and my toddler son

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 10, 2014/04/07) */ Final Business Response /* (1010, 11, 2014/04/07) */ Re-submitting response, uploaded file appears to be formatted incorrectly. Re: Case ID # XXXXXXXX: ***** ***** Following is Fabric Depot's response to the complaint filed by ***** *****. (Please note that Fabric Depot did not receive the first notification from BBB; the email notice was caught in the company's spam filter.) Fabric Depot has investigated this incident and found Ms. *****'s account to be baseless. Fabric Depot has a retail store in Portland. On March 14, 2014, Ms. ***** entered the store with her two-year old child at around 3:45 PM. She placed about $300 in Fabric Depot product into her personal shopping bag. Without paying, Ms. ***** then left the store with the merchandise and headed for her car in the parking lot. A Fabric Depot loss prevention agent, who had observed Ms. *****'s actions on closed circuit camera, approached Ms. ***** outside the store, identified himself, and asked her to accompany him to the loss prevention office. Ms. ***** complied, bringing her child with her. The loss prevention agent then questioned Ms. *****. A female Supervisor was also present as a witness. Ms. ***** acknowledged leaving the store without paying for the merchandise. She further acknowledged that she did not have sufficient money (or credit) to pay for the items she had taken out of the store. Ms. ***** said she left to go to her car to retrieve a diaper for her child. Ms. ***** said that before leaving she had sought permission from a Fabric Depot employee, ****** ********. Ms. ******** denies that she had any such discussion with Ms. *****. Fabric Depot videotape of the incident shows that Ms. ***** simply place the items in her bag and left without any interaction with any Fabric Depot employee. Fabric Depot telephoned the police and Ms. ***** was charged with Theft 3. We understand that those charges are still pending. The evidence suggests that Ms. ***** attempted to shoplift merchandise from the store and that Fabric Depot employees responded appropriately. Ms. *****'s further allegations are similarly baseless. During the brief time she was in the loss prevention office, Ms. *****'s son was calm and did not appear to be in any distress. Furthermore, as far as Fabric Depot can tell, none of its employees or loss prevention agents have attempted to contact Ms. ***** after the incident. To the contrary, since March 14, Ms. ***** and her husband have repeatedly telephoned Fabric Depot, posted false and defamatory statements on the company's Facebook page, and sent strident emails to the president of the company. Ms. *****'s complaint should be dismissed. Please let me know if you require any further information regarding this matter. ******* ******* HR Fabric Depot, Inc XXX-XXX-XXXX

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fabric Depot 'compromised' my visa Card. I had to obtain another one. Time & expense. then they sent an apology letter. they said I qualified for a 30% off order; 10$ gift card; free fabric scraps. I placed an order. I received it FOUR WEEKS AFTER PLACEMENT. NO FREE FABRIC. On 4/ 23 I tried to use the 10$ gift certificate. Their on line order said my zip code was not correct. The gift card is useless. They will NOT accept phone orders. I have a pay-as-you-go phone ONLY. I am well over the so called FREE 10$ gift card- because of my 6 phone calls on 4/23 to the headquarters @ XXX-XXX- XXXX. This is a sham. They did not protect my credit card. They did not follow through with free fabric. They did not answer phone- put on hold x 6. They did not allow me to use the FAKE free 10$ gift card.

Desired Settlement: ALL phone calls refunded. I can provide records. !0$ cash/ instead of fake 10$ gift card. Whatever FREE fabric they were offering 'ripped off 'credit card customers

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/13) */ May 13th, 2013 Business Response to Customer Complaint, **** **** #XXXXXXXX I was made aware of **** ****'s complaint April 25th. I placed a call to her either the 29th or 30th of April, I left her a voice message saying who I was and why I had called her. I did contact BBB about our response time frame, I asked if we could extend the response time, I spoke with ********* she extended to May 14th, 2013. I waited for a return call from ****, she did not return my call, I emailed her May 8, included below; hoping to amend any unresolved issues from her order. She replied, also listed below, the same day. On May 8th, I believe we were able to revolve all the issues **** had experienced with her order. We are still striving to provide excellent customer service for our customers. Our website is currently in the process of being redesigned, and we are aware that some of the processes are problematic. This can be very frustrating to customers, and presents a feeling of insecurity when placing an online order. Our customers are our number one priority at Fabric Depot we will do what ever is necessary to remedy their concerns. We have increased our staff, our phone lines and pc's to accommodate the need for more customer support, with good results. I have included all correspondence regarding **** ****'s order. Sincerely, ******* ******* Fabric Depot, Inc XXX-XXX-XXXX ex *** Also sending an additional 11 pages of full documentation of all correspondence with **** ****, today, May 13th, 2013. On May 8, 2013, at 10:40 AM, ****** ******* <******@fabricdepot.com> wrote: Hi ****, Great to hear that. I appreciate your response. In reading your reply, you said you were not able to place your 30% discount fabric order? I rechecked your order, #XXXXXX, and can verify that the additional 30% discount was applied to your order. Our current website is not capable of processing additional discounts, so we manually apply all additional discounts to orders. I'm sure that process was very frustrating for you and others as well, and I'm so sorry you had to go through that. A new website is currently under construction. :) If there is anything else I can do for your, please don't hesitate to contact me again. Have a Great Day! ******* ******* Fabric Depot, Inc XXX-XXX-XXXX ex *** XXX-XXX-XXXX ask for ******* ________________________________________ From: "**** ****" <***********@att.net> To: ********* *******" <******@fabricdepot.com> Sent: Wednesday, May 8, 2013 9:48:10 AM Subject: Re: Customer Serivec Fabric Depot ******: I finally DID receive the free fat quarters you offered as compensation ( credit card compromise). They shipped them along with the two spools of thread I ordered with the 10$ gift card. It was very frustrating to be put on hold several times; and not being able to place the 30% discounted fabric order. Then when I didn't receive the free fat quarters, it cost me more in phone calls. You sent 15$ to compensate for that- so all is resolved. Thank You, **** **** ________________________________________ From: ******* ******* <******@fabricdepot.com> To: ***********@att.net Cc: ***** ***** <******@fabricdepot.com> Sent: Wed, May 8, 2013 12:25:33 PM Subject: Customer Serivec Fabric Depot Hi ****, My name is ****** and I'm reaching out to you in hopes we can correct the issues with your order. A voice message was left on your phone the end of April, I have not heard back from you. I am very concerned about the customer service you received from our e Commerce department, and hope you can assist us in correcting some of the problems you experienced. We strive to provide excellent customer service, and can only improve our service by continuing to educating our staff is areas they are lacking. Understanding that you have already spoken with our staff, I'm hoping that you would allow us the opportunity to resolve all your concerns regarding your recent online order, #XXXXXX. I will not attempt to contact you again if you do not respond to this message or reply by phone. I respect your privacy and do not want to impose upon it. I apologize that we failed to provide you the customer service your deserve. Sincerely, ****** ******* Fabric Depot, Inc XXX-XXX-XXXX ex *** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) free fabric finally received.

4/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues