BBB Accredited Business since

Mercury Fitness Repair Inc

Phone: (425) 776-3200 Fax: (425) 776-3211 View Additional Phone Numbers 6248 NE 196th St, Kenmore, WA 98028 http://www.mercuryfitness.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mobile fitness equipment repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercury Fitness Repair Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercury Fitness Repair Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercury Fitness Repair Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2007 Business started: 02/01/2002 Business started locally: 02/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/06/2002 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Maehren, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Maehren, CEO
Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Service & Repair Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales

Service Area
Western Washington
Alternate Business Names
Mercury Fitness

Additional Locations

  • 6248 NE 196th St

    Kenmore, WA 98028 (425) 776-3200 (425) 776-3222 (425) 776-3233 (888) 637-2348

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mercury fitness was called by insurance company to resolve an insurance claim due to a move. We own a ******* elliptical purchased in Europe. We were provided a us power source for our elliptical the to replace the european power source lost during the move. We contacted the manufacturer in Germany who advised us that using the us power source would provide inadequate voltage and damage the elliptical. The tech,******,from mercury arrived on site. As he exited his van he said that our elliptical would require a transformer to function properly. After I explained the situation to him, he plugged the us power source into the elliptical. Much to the surprise of both of us the machine powered up. Without prompting from me ****** proceeded to test the voltage output. ****** noted voltage of 24 volts. Without prompting from me ****** pointed to the elliptical and stated that 24 volts was inadequate power for our elliptical. I then shared with ****** that the nanufacturer told me that powering a euopean powered elliptical with a us power source was similar to running a dieselengine with regular gas. It will work for awhile but it will eventually breakdown. ****** did not disagree with this analogy. I then asked ****** if his report to the insurance company would include all the above. He assured me it would. Imagine my surprise when the report did not include the above. I contacted, *********,customer service manager from mercury requesting that the report be amended to included the information ****** shared with me. His first response was that he wasnot at the site. I made a second request, he again was evasive and stated that he was not on site. M third request was greeted with an insulting response that included a lie of omission that is startling. The official report I Was provided states "unit power suplply only puts out 24 volts, unit needs step up transformer(needs step up transformer is linedout). Has power & has full range of resistance and functions properly." I questioned why the word only was in the report if the power was adequate. The two words arein contradiction. In his third response Hering stated" Tech found units power supply out-put 24v (ok). Unit has power with full range of resistance and functions properly in all modes." His Intentional omission of the word only is an admission of guilt.

Desired Settlement: That Mercury fitness amend their report to the insurance company to include ******s communication with me concerning the inadequacy of the voltage provided and the danger that this may present to future use of the machine. I am not now norhave IeveraskedMercury fitness tolie. In fact Iam begging them to tell the truth if what ****** sharedwith me, he expressed without reservation that 24 volts is an inadequate power supply for our machine. All I am asking is that what ****** told me be includedin detail in the report

Business Response: Mr. *******,

My name is ***** ******* and I am the owner and Service Manager of Mercury Fitness Repair. I have reviewed our documentation associated with your October 23rd service performed by our technician ****** *******, including the service request made by *** ******** with ********* ************.
My understanding is that a moving company lost your European (220V) power supply during your relocation from Great Brittan and *** ******** delivered you a replacement "domestic" power supply. I believe most of the confusion stems from a conversation you had with the manufacture *******. In my opinion, it is a very poor analogy that this is at all like running a diesel engine on gas. While it is true that international and domestic power supplies are not universally interchangeable, the power supply delivered to you by *** ******** has an auto-switching feature that allows the power supply to deliver the correct 24 volts to your elliptical regardless of the source wall-voltage (110 or 220). I suspect and can understand that the manufacture's warnings and analogy lead to some apprehension installing the power supply and testing the machine yourself.
Our technician was not immediately aware of the power supply's feature when he exited his service vehicle as Mercury Fitness did not source this part for you. After his initial inspection the technician did contact me via phone while he was at your residence for a consult. With a multimeter he was able to identify the correct operating voltage and perform a function test of your machine. He then revised his handwritten notes on the work order, and in doing so made an error. The word "only" should have also been redacted from the work order making it read "Unit power supply puts out 24 V. Unit has power & full range of resistance & functions properly."
*** ******* our Customer Support Rep / Dispatcher has tried to correct and clarify this with you multiple times. Mercury Fitness will not be able to modify our report to ********* ************ as it would be inaccurate. I do agree, we did make this one error while documenting the service onsite and I apologize for the confusion. Mercury did not charge you for the service as it was contracted through ********* ************. Otherwise I would offer a full refund for your troubles.
Please allow me to assure you that there is no increased risk operating the elliptical with this replacement power supply. The part was identified by *** ******** with *******, the parts was sourced from *******, verified by Mercury Fitness and is the correct part for your machine.
If I can assist in anyway please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Service Manager
Mercury Fitness Repair, Inc.
(******* ***** **************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:the business is simply not telling the truth.  Their technician stood no less than two feet from me and told me the machine required more than 24 volts.  At no time during his visit did he utilize his phone to call the office.  I specifically asked the tech before he left if his report would reflect what he told me about the voltage beinginadequate.  He replied in the affirmative.  He made no mention of contacting the office and receiving contradictory information.  

I contacted the service manager three times.  To say his responses were immature and evasive would be an understatement.  His first two responses were that he was not on site and could not help me.  Hs third response was insulting and again failed to answer the question asked.

I can sympathize with the business as I would not wish to publicly acknowledge that a technician was incompetent and untrained in the piece of equipment he was sent to service but that is unfortunately for the business the truth of this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: *****,

The person you spoke to in our office was our Dispatcher, not myself.  My name is ***** ******* and I am the Service Manager and Owner of Mercury Fitness Repair.   The dispatched technician obviously didn't not relay clear and correct information to you and I apologize again for this error.  However, I personally spoke to your tech while he was troubleshooting your product and established he was on the wrong track and a 24 volt input was correct.  We service nearly one hundred different brands of fitness equipment and most of these manufactures have made dozens of different models over the years.  Most of these are not designed for 240 volt international power.

None of us are perfect and I don't pretend that my company is error free.  Your service experience has been used as an example in recent training sessions to highlight the importance of communication.  We did error in documenting this service accurately but your machine is in full, safe working order. 

Sincerely,

***** *******
Service Manager
Mercury Fitness Repair

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: other consumers need to be made aware that thiscompany employs service techs that do not possess adequate knowledge of the equipment they charge exirbitant rates to service.

please lose this complaint with a grade of unsatisfactory as we have reached an unsovable impasse.

Sincerely,

***** *******