BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (425) 481-9479 Fax: (425) 488-8155 19510 144th Ave NE Ste A1, Woodinville, WA 98072

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers cardio-type exercise and fitness equipment sales to retailers, vertical markets, health clubs, gyms, hospitals, and commercial dealers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SportsArt meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SportsArt include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SportsArt
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Sechrest, CEO
Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Wholesalers & Distributors

Alternate Business Names
Sports America Inc

Additional Locations

  • 19510 144th Ave NE Ste A1

    Woodinville, WA 98072 (425) 481-9479


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The welded frame in which I was advised orally as well as in the written literature at the time, carried a 'lifetime' warranty. The framing's weld of this particular 3100HR Treadmill has failed. It was purchased directly from SportsArt Sales Representative, ******** ***** in 2000. I was advised at the time of purchase, that SportsArt was committed to customer service and would stand by its product and its warranties, especially with SportsArt being a relatively new player in the North American market in 1999 & 2000. Other than the failed welded frame, the product has been a decent machine. However, with its defective frame, it's now, for the most part, not useable due to its related noise & instability. As recommended, I was told by a SportsArt operator in service to submit photos along with a email via their website and I would get a response. I did so, depicting the machine in otherwise very condition. Much to my dismay, a very prompt garden variety response from a ****** ***** in service basically denied any attempt for a positive win-win resolution (even with his admittance that a failed weld is extremely rare) as he cited the 'lifetime' warranty is only 7 years post last production date. That's a convenient definition for SportsArt, not for a customer that was promised differently. Moreover, I possessed nothing at the time that insinuated such a thing. I also find it interesting, that all of the marketing brochures stated 'lifetime.' There wasn't any asterisk or notation reference of what SportsArt's interpretation of 'lifetime' really meant to them. I believe most consumers would not share the same interpretation of 'lifetime', so, as far as I'm concerned, their promise was false, if not flat out fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: I feel they should stand by their 'lifetime' promise. If that product no longer exists, then they should do what I feel most other honorable manufacturers would pertinent to warranty items, replace it with a comparable model that's in existence today.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/12/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** * **** Credit Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXx*** Contact Email: ****** The product that *** ****** purchased did come with a "lifetime warranty" on the frame. I could not locate the exact copy of *** ******'s warranty card but almost all of SportsArt's warranty information cards are worded similar to this- "The lifetime is the serviceable lifetime of the product. This is defined as the period during which spare parts (components) are available or for a maximum of five (5) years after the date that manufacturing of the Residential Series product is discontinued." The difference in *** ******'s case could be that some of the maximum years were 7 or 10. Regardless of the specific serviceable lifetime on *** ******'s product warranty card, even if it were the maximum of 10 years, that time would have expired anytime from 2010 through 2012. The purchase made by *** ****** is clearly outside the serviceable lifetime of the product her purchased. I know that the terminology can be confusing but it is standard practice throughout the manufacturing industry in almost every state, nation, and country. If *** ******'s warranty card does not state the same or states something different he can contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX **** and I would be more than happy to review the warranty card he has with him and honor whatever the card says. If it has the standard wording provided above, we are outside the warranty period and have not failed to honor our warranty. Please let me know if I can be of any more assistance. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Having a background in contractual law, it is interesting to see SportsArt quote lifetime warranty and serviceable lifetime in their latest response. These words certainly are not defined in the owners contract (or again, in any of the literature that I possess) so that there isn't any ambiguity and questionable interpretation, especially from a legal standpoint. All that aside, we will just have to agree to disagree at this time. And, although SportsArt has finally offered something, this commences back to 8/23/13 when first speaking with **** and subsequently with *** ****** A long time without a serviceable unit. I've recently purchased a high end unit from a competitor's dealer, a manufacturer and company whom has long been considered a high end leader in the industry. It's truly a magnificent machine. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/01/28) */ SportsArt stands my it's original assertion that the terminology "lifetime warranty" is a standardized phrased used in the manufacturing industry to indicate that it is for the "serviceable lifetime" of the product. Additionally, I do not think that a frame issue after 13 years of use constitutes and "defect" as cited by *** ******. All that aside, SportsArt would like to work towards resolution of this matter. We would like to offer to sell one of our current treadmill models to *** ****** at our cost plus freight to have it delivered. If this is acceptable to *** ****** he can let me know via email (****** or calling ************* x **** and I can make arrangements to get this moving forward for him.