BBB Accredited Business since

LA Fitness

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 669-8818 779 NW Council Dr, Gresham, OR 97030

Click for BBB Rating on LA Fitness

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a full service fitness center.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LA Fitness meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for LA Fitness. BBB Serving San Diego, Orange & Imperial Counties has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for LA Fitness.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1984 in CA Business started locally: 11/01/1984 Business incorporated 05/07/2003 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Jill Grueling, VP of Operations Ms. Aylin Medina, Corporate Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jill Grueling, VP of Operations
Customer Contact: Ms. Aylin Medina, Corporate Relations
Business Category

Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health Clubs Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Alternate Business Names
Fitness International LLC Pro Results Vision Quest Sport and Fitness

Additional Locations

  • 10515 156th St E

    Puyallup, WA 98374 (253) 466-0007

  • 1101 Outlet Collection Dr SW

    Auburn, WA 98001 (253) 333-7771

  • 11505 NE Fourth Plain Rd

    Vancouver, WA 98662 (360) 859-0006

  • 1200 Galaxy Dr NE

    Lacey, WA 98516 (360) 339-6209

  • 12015 31st Ave NE

    Seattle, WA 98125 (206) 417-4715

  • 12321 120th Pl NE

    Kirkland, WA 98034 (425) 298-1331

  • 1270 NE Weidler St

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 734-2950

  • 13244 Aurora Ave N

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 973-0232

  • 1400 NW Northrup St

    Portland, OR 97209 (503) 928-8892

  • 1402 SE Everett Mall Way STE 138

    Everett, WA 98208 (425) 290-9351

  • 14060 SE Petrovitsky Rd

    Renton, WA 98058 (425) 529-9303

  • 14130 Juanita Dr NE

    Kirkland, WA 98034 (425) 821-6604

  • 1416 NW Ballard Way

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 508-5030

  • 14905 4th Ave SW

    Burien, WA 98166 (206) 701-3446

  • 15024 Main St # 103

    Mill Creek, WA 98012 (425) 379-9703

  • 15053 Main St

    Bellevue, WA 98007 (425) 698-2575

  • 1629 220th St SE

    Bothell, WA 98021 (425) 483-3330

  • 19800 Highway 99

    Lynnwood, WA 98036 (425) 245-0673

  • 21970 NW Imbrie Dr

    Hillsboro, OR 97124 (503) 640-7872

  • 27245 172nd Ave SE

    Covington, WA 98042 (253) 458-0960

  • 27417 Pacific Hwy S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 941-5800

  • 2800 SW Hocken Ave

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 627-0737

  • 30050 SW Town Center Loop W

    Wilsonville, OR 97070 (503) 682-3550

  • 350 Baker Blvd

    Tukwila, WA 98188 (206) 331-4071

  • 35009 Enchanted Pkwy S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 838-5900

  • 4140 SE 82nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97266 (503) 345-0782

  • 4301 S Meridian

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 840-1111

  • 4330 SE International Way

    Milwaukie, OR 97222 (503) 653-0377

  • 520 Washington Ave N

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 859-7815

  • 550 106th Ave NE STE 215

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 688-8700

  • 5915 6th Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98406 (253) 590-4118

  • 715 N Landing Way

    Renton, WA 98057 (206) 922-0350

  • 7405 SW Nyberg St

    Tualatin, OR 97062 (503) 404-0126

  • 7601 S Hosmer St

    Tacoma, WA 98408 (253) 682-8600

  • 7607 NE 5th Ave

    Vancouver, WA 98665 (360) 546-3400

  • 779 NW Council Dr

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 669-8818


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a membership with Vision Quest Fitness in February 2012. It was a 24 month pre-paid membership and was paid in full, in advance, and was valid for any of their locations. They asked for my credit card information for incidental purposes and made a carbon copy of the credit card, saying that they did not have a credit card reader. I changed my job in the middle of 2012 and moved to California for work. As my membership was pre-paid in full, they informed me that they could not refund me when I asked them in person before I left WA. I assumed the membership would expire, and I forget completely about it. I got a call from Vision Quest, Tacoma location, (XXX-XXX-XXXX) at 6:02pm on 03/08/2014. The person left me a voice mail and mentioned that I have a pending bill with Vision Quest. I called them on 03/11/2014 at 12:14 pm and spoke 10 minutes. That person asked for my new credit card info over the phone. I explained to them that I had moved from WA more than 1.5 years ago, and the initial membership was pre-paid for 24 months. There was no reason to continue the membership as 'month-to-month' as that would be 'out of scope' of the initial contract that I had. That guy asked me to come to WA to cancel the membership, and mentioned that the business ownership was changed with change of policy and denied to cancel it over the phone. When I said, that was absurd and that I could not come to WA from CA just to cancel a membership that was 'out of scope' in the first place, they asked me to send a signed letter instead to their Tacoma Location address ***** * **** **** Tacoma, WA, XXXXX). I sent a signed letter as per the conversation on the same day and kept a photocopy for my record. I was assuming the issue got resolved and was taken care of. On 04/16/XXXX X:XX PM, I got a call from Vision Quest, Kirkland Location (XXX-XXX-XXXX), and someone named '*****' asked me to pay again. When I told her about the previous incident, she threatened me to pay the bill else they would send it to a collection agency. When I said that was insane and what they were doing was clearly business 'mal-practice', she said she could not do anything with that being company policy. When I asked why they dis-honored my previous communications and did not close my membership, she refused to answer. When I offered to send the copy of the letter via email she went to talk with the manager. When she returned, she refused to give any email address. Instead, she asked me to call the Tacoma location again. I called the Tacoma Location (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on 04/16/2014 at 7:51 pm. Someone named '***' talked to me. Again, he refused to solve the problem on their side, and said he did not have any authority to cancel the membership. Again, he asked me to visit WA to cancel the membership. When I asked about my letter, he asked me to communicate with their corporate office to cancel the membership and provided me a PO BOX number without any phone number to call Vision Quest, PO BOX XXXXX IRVINE CA XXXXX. He mentioned that they are not allowed to cancel any membership; it has to be done via their Corporate Head Quarter. I googled the address and found that it belongs to LA Fitness Corporate Office. After hours of endless talks over the phone, I felt harassed and stalked by Vision Quest. They are violating the contract and refusing to fix the problem which is on their end. Also, they repeatedly keep trying to charge my expired credit card which has raised a fraud alert with my bank. This isn't a simple matter in which I can fix the issue by paying some amount of money. Vision Quest is actually asking me to go to WA from CA, where I currently reside, to cancel a month-to-month gym membership for which I didn't even sign up, else they would keep charging me, make me defaulter and send it to a collection agency. They have no trouble in asking for my credit card information over the phone, but, for some reason, cannot cancel a membership that I don't even have over the phone. I wonder if they are harassing other people in the same way.

Desired Settlement: I expect Vision Quest to stop harassing me and stop the business mal-practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ Member has cancelled their monthly billed membership effective 4/17/14 and no further billing will occur. The past due balance of $37.86 was paid on 4/28/14. No further balance is owed. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you.