BBB Accredited Business since

River City Environmental

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 252-6144 Fax: (503) 288-3658 View Additional Phone Numbers 5410 NE 109th Ave, Portland, OR 97220 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rivercityusa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers grease trap and industrial services, parking lot maintenance, plumbing and septic services, storm drains, catch basins, and water truck services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that River City Environmental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for River City Environmental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on River City Environmental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1995 Business started locally: 05/01/1995 Business incorporated: 05/19/1995 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve McInnis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve McInnis, President
Business Category

Environmental & Ecological Services Pumps - Service & Repair Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Water Analysis Pressure Washing Plumbers Pumping Contractors Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Water Main Contractors Business & Trade Organizations

Alternate Business Names
Affordable Septic Service & Repair Jerrys Septic Tank Pumping

Additional Locations

  • 5410 NE 109th Ave

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 363-2454 (360) 896-5256

  • PO Box 30087

    Portland, OR 97294 (503) 252-6144

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RIVER CITY ENVIRONMENTAL PORTLAND OR FRAUDULENTLY CHARGED MY PERSONAL CREDIT CARD FOR WORK DONE IN A BUSINESS THAT I MANAGE. THEIR AFFILIATE COMPANY AFFORDABLE SEPTIC OF VANCOUVER WA WAS GIVEN MY CREDIT CARD INFORMATION A YEAR PRIOR FOR AN EMERGENCY SITUATION IN A BUSINESS IN WASHINGTON THAT I MANAGE THAT REQUIRED COD PAYMENT I GAVE MY PERSONAL CREDIT CARD TO AFFORDABLE SEPTIC AND AUTHORIZED A ONE TIME CHARGE. MY ONSITE MANAGER CALLED OUT THIS COMPANY UPON RECOMMENDATION FROM AFFORDABLE SEPTIC FOR ANOTHER SERVICE OVER A YEAR LATER IN A BUSINESS I MANAGE IN PORTLAND. THEY DID NOT TELL HER IT WAS COD AND THEY DID NOT GET AUTHORIZATION TO CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD. Product_Or_Service: REPAIR OF WATER MAIN Order_Number: WOXXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) IMMEDIATELY TEAR UP MY PERSONAL CREDIT CARD AND WOULD LIKE ASSURANCE THAT THE COMPANY POLICY WILL NOT DO THIS TO ANY OTHER CUSTOMER. I ALSO WOULD LIKE THE COMPANY TO BE INVESTIGATED FOR FRAUDULENT BUSINESS PRACTICES.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ We are writing with respect to your letter dated March 24, 2014 regarding the above mentioned case. Please be advised that this matter has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction on 3-6-2014. Unfortunately, we had a new employee in place who inadvertently charged *** ******* account in error. It is most definitely not our policy to charge our customers' accounts ever, without proper authorization. We in turn credited this customer's account in full for the entire amount of $1428.76 on 3-6-2014 and adjusted her account as well. Additionally, the employee who took this matter into her own hands has in fact since been terminated and all employees have been made aware of this error so that it never happens again. We have also contacted this customer to make certain that everything has been handled to her satisfaction and according to *** ******** everything has been resolved appropriately and to her satisfaction. Should additional information be needed, please feel free to contact me at any time. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Please adjust our activity report to reflect the proper information accordingly. River City Environmental, Inc. has a very high standard and would never make it a company practice to charge our customers' accounts without proper approval. Moreover, River City Environmental, Inc. wishes to keep our rating with the Better Business Bureau in a well-respected manner at all times and will always go over and beyond proper practices to make certain that our organization does exactly that. Thank You Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept their response in full, they did credit my personal credit card after I filed fraudulent charges with my card. I have not received any apology or response from this company I have only received correspondence from the BBC. The comment from this company stating they contacted the customer to make sure everything was handled correctly did not happen. Nor do I have any knowledge of them adjusting my owners account. I am still wanting this company to be investigated for fraudulent business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/16) */ River City Environmental immediately reversed the charges on Ms. ***** card and apologized. The service in question was performed on Dec 26,2013. River City is still awaiting the payment promised to us when Ms. ***** contacted us regarding the charge to her card. We have removed her credit card from our records. Rest assured River City Environmental strives to provide the best customer service possible. We do not engage in fraudulent business practices as Ms. ***** claims, as I am sure our record shows.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The roads in our community were iced. I went to******* to attempt to purchase Ice Melt. They were out, however an employee referred me to the person that was scrapping their lot. The gentleman called River City Environmental to give them my information and told them my situation. ******* from River City Environmental, called me soon after, she pulled up our community on Google Maps, I explained to her and others where I needed for the roads in the community to be de iced. I asked her for a quote, and gave her my credit card information. She stated that they will have a driver out soon, I gave her my cell number as I wanted a call when the driver was on the way. ******* stated that they would give me a call.At approximately 6pm the driver called me on my cell, at that time I was 10 miles away. He asked me where he needs to spray, I asked him "didn't your office tell you where to spray" he could not understand me and I could not understand him due to the language barrier. The driver then said clubhouse side walks, this was not correct, he said "you come show me, yes", when I told him I was several miles away, he said "ok, I come back". I told him to please call his office that I need the streets sprayed now, I was very upset at this as 1. no one called me before 2. the driver did not spray where I told them I needed it sprayed when I talked with the office. I called River City today, I asked for a receipt, and asked to speak with a supervisor. The person that answered said the supervisor was busy and they will fax a receipt as soon as they find out how much was sprayed, I was told the minimal charge is $150.00. The person that I spoke with this morning was short and did not help me, he asked what the issue was and told him that the driver that I spoke with was behaving like a chump, Product_Or_Service: De icer/driver to spread it Order_Number: not given to me Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Please, I just want what I paid for, I had to go to ******* early this morning, to get Salt Melt, slipping and sliding in the community my staff and I, spread the salt on the roads, and we have been trying to break it up with shovels.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/21) */ We are sorry that the client didn't feel that we met her needs on the services we provided her. When she called she was distraught due to her community having ice on their roads and sidewalks from the unexpected weather that came a few days before. She had asked for our pricing and when we quoted her the pricing she thought that it was expensive but still decided to go with our services due to not being able to find any deicer at **********. So, our staff pulled up a google map of her community and spent twelves minutes on the phone with her going over where she wanted the ice melt to be laid. She first stated that she wanted the house in the back of the club house and then the hill that starts at the back of the club house de-iced. When our staff verified what she had said she wanted done, she then changed the areas she wanted de-iced to something different. This time she stated she wanted us to start at the front of the club house and then go up the hill behind the club house. After some more discussion the client and the RCE staff had agreed on two areas one was in the front by the club house and one in the back by the club house. The client agreed to those areas. That same day the client called back saying we had not gotten the correct area around the club house. So then we sent our technician out a second time at no charge to the client. This time she was on site and showed our technician where to lay the deicer. She also asked our technician at that time to do some extra sidewalks. Our technician was happy to do this for her. This also was no charge. The next time the client called in she was yelling, rude, calling our employees "Chumps" and hanging up on our staff. Our customer service manager called the client to apologize for the miscommunication and to see what had happened. After talking to the client we decided that we would waive all fees for the services we provided. We take pride in our company and services we can provide to the community. We strive for customer service satisfaction, this is why we took the extra steps to go out for a second time at no charge and complete the job that was asked of us. It is our goal here at River City Environmental to treat each client as they are our number one client. As stated in the last conversation with the client we hope that we have shown that we do take care of our customers and we would like to move on from this point.