This business is not BBB accredited.

Square 1 Electric Inc

Phone: (503) 867-2423 Fax: (503) 914-0432   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.s1electric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electrical construction services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Square 1 Electric Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Square 1 Electric Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 Business started locally: 04/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kurtus Prewitt, Owner Mrs. Shannon Prewitt, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kurtus Prewitt, Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Shannon Prewitt, Owner
Business Category

Electricians Electric Equipment - Service & Repair

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I specifically had the estimator of Square 1 Electric come over to see the job site and to give me a bid. That bid was high $379.00 for 2.5-3 hours of work; but the estimator explained to me that bid is the maximum $$$ for the job that I should expect to pay and it's not to exceed that amount. That in reality, if the electricians would finish sooner, the bill would be less. When the electricians came to do the job, they worked very slowly dragging time, then they still finished the job in less time (2.15 hours) than was was quoted on the estimate, so I expected to pay less. As it turned out they billed me 58% over and above of what their original bid for that job was (or $601.50). It was a shock to me how somebody be so dishonest in business. When I tried to resolve this issue with the estimator, he was giving me lame reasons to justify their 58% over the bill. He was pushy, demanding of a full payment, and the owner had threatened me to send the bill to the collections agency on me. I paid them only per their original bid based on hours spent 2.15. I was shocked of their dishonesty and horrible customer service. I would never use them again. Product_Or_Service: Install of Light Fixture Order_Number: A-XXXXX Account_Number: Original Bid not to

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to receive a $0 statement that my bill with them is paid in full and satisfied according to the services performed in the time performed, and in accordance with the bid provided for that job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@s1electric.com August 8, 2014 This letter is written in response to being contacted by the Better Business Bureau for complaint case ********* ***** XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) The customer requested an estimate for 2 specific projects. This appointment was scheduled for Wednesday May 14, 2014. The estimate was to include: The first project was to install a chandelier in the front room. This was estimated at 2.5-3hrs of labor, estimated materials at $55. The second project was to install a chandelier in the kitchen nook/table area. This was estimated at 2 hrs of labor, estimated materials at $45. A State of Oregon required permit would be able to cover both items with one cost of $50. These projects were explained to the customer that it would be an estimated cost only, not a firm or exact price, as we are unable to give exact pricing until the electrician actually starts the project. We have the original estimate for exact wording and estimate, the customer has a copy of this as well. The customer stated to the estimator that she had only budgeted for $400 for a total cost of these two projects combined and we needed to accommodated that price, even though it was lower than had been estimated. He stated several times that we are unable to do that since we cannot know the exact price until work is started. He explained that the price could be higher or lower than the estimate given. The customer called on May 20, 2014 to schedule the appointment. She said to the scheduler that she only wanted to do one of the projects at that time, the installation of the chandelier in the front room. The appointment was made for Wednesday June 11, 2014. The information was given to the electrician, all materials were ordered, purchased, and picked up before the project started. The electrician followed all the requests of the homeowner for the installation. The homeowner requested more work to be done at this time. This was above and beyond the scope originally asked for by the homeowner and never requested at any time, other than when the electrician was onsite doing the agreed upon work. He completed this tack as well for the customer. When presented with the completed invoice, the customer refused to render payment which is due at the completion of the project. The customer requested that the electrician leave immediately and that no money would be given for the completed project. We have the original invoice for exact wording and prices, the customer has a copy of this item also. With the customer refusing to pay for services rendered, our estimator was contacted the next day about the situation by our electrician who was on-site. The estimator contacted the customer to discuss the project and the customer refused to pay anything but the estimated amount of $379. The customer also refused to pay for the cost of the State of Oregon required permit of $50 and then refused to speak to him and hung up in the middle of the conversation. He called again immediately to try and resolve the issue the customer was unhappy about. The customer had not, at any time, contacted our company or the estimator about the refusal to pay or the dis-satisfaction with the work that was completed. We then received payment of $346 check #RXXXXXXXXXXXX. This is $255.50 less than the total amount due. The owner contacted her about paying the balance. The customer refused and was belligerent with her threats to "give us bad reviews everywhere if we didn't give her a credit with the leftover balance due". She was adamant that "everyone would know how she was robbed if we took further steps to resolve this matter". We have no way to recoup the materials, labor and permit that were not paid for. We have yet to contact her again about this and are shocked by the accusations made. We take this matter very seriously. We would like a resolution that satisfies all parties involved. Thank you for your time, **** ******* Owner Square 1 Electric, Inc XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@s1electric.com XXXXX ** ********* ** *** ****** ********** ** XXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I refuse this Response for the main reason of so many LIES in their Response!!! The response is not truthful to the facts! 1) When the estimator gave me the bid for work, he specifically said that it is the MAX I should expect to pay. That they always overestimate the project cost, so the customer is NOT surprised later on. He told me that the project will NOT exceed that amount. That's why I budgeted for that amount and scheduled it a month later. 2) No major extra work was done: I asked the electrician to check on the switch that worked every other time. He did and changed the switch for a new one in 3 min. That time was included in the total time the electrician had spent at my house and got paid based on the hourly rate I was quoted originally. 3) I NEVER refused to pay. That's a total lie! I had cash of up to $379 at hand to pay. But when I saw almost doubled bill of $601, I was shocked and the dispute happened. Moreover, the electrician said that Square 1 Eclectic DOES NOT accept payments with the credit cards. Only cash, check, or money order. I thought it was odd for an electrical company not to accept credit cards from the customers. 4) I NEVER asked the electrician to leave my house. It's a total lie! He left on his own. I'm always polite to people. He said that I needed to speak with the estimator about this bill and left. 5) I contacted the company right away and left a message for the estimator to call me to solve this issue. When he called me and I expressed my shock with the deceiving bill and that I will only pay per the bid given to me, the estimator started threatening me with the collection action against me. After which I told him that I would contact the BBB for a complaint and for a resolution. The bottom line is this company is not honest in their business practices and billing of customers. They deceive customers with their estimates to get the job, but then present them with a double bill. Most homeowners give in and might be paying their double bill, but I am not like them. I only budgeted per estimate and had no money to pay more. That's not a right way to run a business. I will NEVER use them again. P.S. How could installing a new light fixture in 2 hours cost $601!!! I bet the owner would never pay $600 for a light install job in his house. It's a ridiculous price! I would have never considered hiring them for that kind of money. My second light install job was performed for just $200 - a very similar job. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/03) */ We take this matter very seriously. These allegations made against our company are startling. These statements go against what our business practices are in good faith with all of our customers. We provide estimates for work that are clearly written and are provided to our customers with the definitive explanation that they are estimates only, unless otherwise stated and contracted with the owner directly for a set and firm price. Every project differs from home to home and scope of work involved is not the same for all projects. Our team has the knowledge to do site evaluations and provide an accurate determination for pricing of projects. We can only provide the evaluation of a project requested without knowing the past wiring history of the home or business. We do accept Visa and Mastercard credit cards, personal and business checks and cash as a convenience to our customers paying for their invoices. We see this as an unfortunate situation and hope to resolve this matter amicably.