BBB Accredited Business since

A & J Electric Inc

Phone: (503) 359-5891 Fax: (503) 359-1981 PO Box 330, Forest Grove, OR 97116 http://www.aandj-electric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial electrical contracting services for new construction, as well as service and repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & J Electric Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A & J Electric Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & J Electric Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1998 Business started: 02/15/1971 Business started locally: 02/15/1971 Business incorporated 02/15/1971 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Terry Greason, President Ms. Leeann Cook, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Leeann Cook, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Terry Greason, President
Business Category

Electricians


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 330

    Forest Grove, OR 97116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A&J Electric provided a service call to diagnose why seven hall lights, controlled by 3 switches, had ceased to function and correct the situation. The electrician said the three switches were faulty and needed to be replaced. He also said that what we had was a very "Hgh-end" Lutron switch and would cost about $200 each to be replaced. He said he could replace the switches with much less expensive equipment that would provide the same utility. This was not an accurate statement! We learned, after the fact, that we have a Lutron "Radio RA" remote controlled lighting/dimming system that will not function without the designated Lutron switches. The result is our system: #1 No longer operates properly; #2 No longer has companion dimmers for three locations; #3 No longer has precise minimal dimming settings; #4 No longer has power failure memory; #5 No longer is driveway-approach operable and has lost the night-visibility and security features; #6 One of the replaced switches only operates "sometimes"; I also dispute 1/2 hour of labor charges (regardless of what A&J's cell phone records indicate.

Desired Settlement: A&J Electric can either refund $282.61 which is 1/2 of invoice #XXXXXX dated 4/16/2014 in the full amount of $565.21 OR they can provide, for our prior approval, a complete parts list including prices and their detailed plan to replace the switches with the requite Lutron switches, in the proper location that would bring the "Radio RA" system into complete operation again. ONLY upon our approval of the parts list and plan would they be allowed to provide, as previously offered,a warranty service call with no labor charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ First, this complaint is very unfair to our company. We will start with the 1/2 hour of labor charges. Upon hiring us, **** had requested that our electrician call her as soon as he was on his way to her house so she would know exactly when charges were beginning. It is a standard practice for service work to either charge drive time one way, otherwise charge an inflated rate for the 1st hour to cover the drive time costs since the employee has to be paid for the that time. We did exactly that, calling her as soon as charges were beginning so she could track the labor hours. Initially, the customers never mentioned any problems with any of the work, nor did they mention anything not working. They remitted payment, with the only complaint being that our time did not begin until 2:00PM, not 1:30 as we had charged for. At that time we examined the cell phone records which showed that we had in fact called her at 1:29PM and not 2:00 as **** thought. She must have remembered something wrong, our records show the times which matched with what our electrician wrote on his paperwork. We would be more than happy to show you her note about 2:00PM and our cell bill which indicates 1:29. During the phone call with **** explaining the labor charges and cell phone records, she then mentioned that one of the switches only worked sometimes. She still did not mention any of the other issues they have mentioned in this complaint. When we left her house the switch was working so this was our first notice that there was something that was not working properly. During the phone call I told her we would happily come repair the problem at no charge, it would be warranty. She declined and said she would have her husband call when he returned home in approximately two weeks. However, her husband never called. Instead we received a letter demanding half of their money back and threatening to call every imaginable company that would care (the CCB, the BBB, our insurance company, etc). It wasn't until we received that letter that we were made aware of any of the other problems they had with their system. We responded with a letter, again offering to come repair the lighting system with no labor charges. The only charge they would incur is the price of the more expensive Lutron Radio RA equipment that we would be installing. We told also told them we would credit back the devices that we previously installed so everything would be made right. Again, they refused to let us correct the problem, stating they would not be satisfied with anything less than 50% of their money back. They have REFUSED all of our attempts to correct the problem. They have been the party that has been very difficult to work with as we have tried to resolve the issue. Prior to their BBB complaint, the only resolution they would accept is 50% of their money back. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from A&J Electric contains too many, "he said, she said they said's". We continue to dispute 1/2 hour of labor charges. As outlined in our original complaint; there are only two acceptable solutions: #1 Refund 1/2 the original invoice in the amount of $282.50 or #2 ONLY upon acceptance and approval of a detailed A&J Electric parts and materials list (including prices) together with their specific plan indicating the location and plan to properly return our system back to the original "Radio RA" digital lighting/dimming system. Then, and only then, would they be allowed back to make a parts only warranty call. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The facts or this complaint are clear. We as, homeowners, hired A&J Electric as, professionals, to repair an electrical problem. After two visits our digital lighting/dimming system does NOT function and one their replacement switchs does not operate fully! A&J electric did not properly repair the problem they were paid to address. There are two possible solutions: #1 We request a refund for 1/2 the original invoice in the amount of @282.50 or #2 Only upon OUR APPROVAL of; A&J Electric's detailed parts list (including prices) accompanied with their plan to indicate how they will repair the system including the appropriate and correct placement of the replacement "Radio Ra" lighting control switches and dimmers. Only then, will they be allowed to make a parts-only warranty service call as they have requested. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/07/21) */ We have a PO Box. We picked up and signed for your letter on 7/3/14 which you should be able to verify with the post office since we had to sign for it. That was the last day of the work week as 7/4/14 was a holiday. We didn't get to read the letter until Monday 7/7/14. We had issued the refund 3 days later. We would have been far more willing to work with you had you given us the option of a repair "plan" and parts list PRIOR to filing a BBB complaint or if you had handled the entire situation more reasonably. We have no problem correcting any mistakes we make. We made multiple offers to do so and they were all refused. We had already issued you the refund check to make you happy, then received notice that you had filed a complaint. Unfortunately at this point I believe we are going to have to agree to disagree on this matter. We have already made our offer.