This business is not BBB accredited.

Mister Sparky

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 705-3996 Fax: (360) 570-0062 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 14547, Tumwater, WA 98511 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers electrical repair, replacement, servicing and installation.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mister Sparky include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Mister Sparky include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mister Sparky
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 07, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 01/04/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Darrell Boyd, Owner / G.M.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell Boyd, Owner / G.M.
Business Category

Electricians – Residential

Hours of Operation
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Alternate Business Names
Quality Electric Inc

Additional Locations


    7920 Center St SW STE A

    Tumwater, WA 98501


    PO Box 14547

    Tumwater, WA 98511 (253) 238-1275 (360) 705-3996


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a ****** backup generator that is fully automatic and runs on natural gas. If the power goes off, in four seconds the generator is supposed to turn itself on. It is extremely important for me, because I have emphysema and require 4+ liters of oxygen 24/7. When I am home, I use an electric powered oxygen concentrator. I cannot manage with portable oxygen tanks for any length of time because even the large portable tanks only last me about an hour and forty-five minutes. The last time our power was off for four days, I fell asleep the second night and didn't change the tank. The tank ran out while I was asleep. My helper found me unconscious the next morning and I ended up in the hospital. I purchased the generator so I would be sure to have power to run my oxygen concentrator. But the generator MUST HAVE REGULAR ANNUAL MAINTENANCE. The first year I had it, Mr Sparky did the annual maintenance and charged $315. Then last January, I paid $860 plus tax for a 3 year annual maintenance contract. Unfortunately, NOW THAT THEY HAVE MY MONEY, I have not been able to get Mr Sparky to come out and do the work. It should have been done FOUR MONTHS AGO. I have called and scheduled appointments with Mr Sparky several times for the ANNUAL MAINTENANCE. The first time they sent a guy out WITHOUT THE KIT they need in order to do the maintenance. I sent him away and told him I would not pay anything for his trip since he arrived unprepared to do the job. Another time, the receptionist called at the very last minute and said no one would be coming out because they hadn't been able to get a kit... I thought that sounded bogus but just to be sure, I emailed the ****** Company about their kits. Though ****** doesn't sell the kits directly to electricians, they said the kits have been available all along through ** *****. They just have to be ordered. And now Mr Sparky STOOD ME UP AGAIN this afternoon! This time they didn't even bother to call! They just didn't show up!

Desired Settlement: Enough! I am totally fed up with Mr Sparky. ******* ****, the owner and boss, is not the kind of business man I thought he was. I do not want anything more to do with him. He is irresponsible, to say the least. What happens if the generator needs some adjustment that would have been done at the annual maintenance and it DOESN'T turn on the next time the power goes out? "Gosh I'm Sorry," just won't cut it. Forget Mr Sparky. I want my $860 plus tax back so I can hire an honest electrician.

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around 14th of Dec 14 I came into agreement with Mister Sparky to install a 15Kw generator at my home in Lacey, Wa. After paying a deposit 0f 5660.00 around the 23rd of Dec 14. While waiting for approval of my HOA to have the generator. I decided to cancel the installation. I informed Mister Sparky by calling his Tumwater office my decision to cancel. After several weeks of being told once Mr. **** approve the refund request. I would have to fill out some paperwork from his to receive my refund. After nothing from this point I decided to email the owner on the Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 11:56 am. On Wed, Mar 18, I got this email saying" *******, I understand and you are correct it has taken longer than I anticipated. Just know that we had purchased your equipment and have been trying to get a return on it as well on our end. I can see that my staff hasn't explained that to you and for that I apologize. I will be getting you a check in the day or so as my return for your equipment should be completed by then from my vendor. Again, I apologize for the delay and this should all be resolved very quickly." After this email there was no more communication or action to resolve of the refund. I wrote him again on the 13th of Apr around 3:40 PM, but no response to my email. So, I believe I been fair in waiting on my refund, so I'm writing you.Regards,

Desired Settlement: The return of my paid funds.

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife called your company for a service repair for the two upstairs bathroom receptacles. 7/7/14 So your technician not only convinced her to have some massive estimate for a generator hookup, charged her $145.00 to hit a reset button on a GFI receptacle in the downstairs bathroom but then convinced her she needed your imaginary $99.00 yearly electrical panel inspection service.

Desired Settlement: I want my $99.00 refunded for this make believe service.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/11) */ The owner called me and provided a solution. The second tech did come by and replaced the GFI receptacle. Did scratch the paint on the wall with screw driver but I have touch up paint that I can cover with so I am good. You can close the case. Still not sure of the value but I guess time will tell and whether they do more damage upon the yearly check-up the will schedule.