This business is not BBB accredited.

C & G Electric

Phone: (541) 383-2523 Fax: (541) 383-8185 View Additional Phone Numbers 65310 Swalley Rd, Bend, OR 97701 http://www.bendbbqcaterer.com/C-&-G-Electric.html


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electrical contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C & G Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C & G Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 02/01/1993 Business started locally: 02/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Cindy Dale, Owner Mr. Gary Dale, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cindy Dale, Owner
Business Category

Electric Companies Contractor - Electrical Electricians

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    65310 Swalley Rd

    Bend, OR 97701 (541) 383-2523 (541) 948-2597

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired and paid for C&G Elec to repair several elec outlets after an estimate. The next day one of the outlets failed. I called them to repair it under (I assumed) was warranty work. One man showed up (no estimate or charge was mentioned). It took him 2.5 hours to fix the outlet (with my help, which scared me). He left with no mention of a charge and said "these things happen". Then I got a $192 bill in the mail for the repair. I have gotten 1 collection call and 2 collection notices since then that I have responded to in writing explaining why I do not think I should have to pay for warranty work.

Desired Settlement: I am a senior citizen and a widow. The company knew I was on a limited income and should have told me this would not be considered warranty work. I cannot afford unexpected costs as I am on a fixed income. I want them to cancel this bill and collection agency and want an apology that they have threatened my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/26) */ We were called to her residence to fix some plugs that were not working. Those plugs were resolved. Shortly after she called back and stated that her refrigerator was not working. We quickly dispatched a person to trouble shoot this problem. The results of this, it was nothing we did on the first call. Her trailer is wired illegally and the results of the second trip was the refrigerator was on the washer circuit, which is a complete violation of code. This is one of the reasons why it took so long to find the problem. If this was wired to code it should have came directly from the panel as a dedicated circuit. Just because we're called out to fix a couple plugs, we should not be held responsible for everything else that does not work in the house. Again this is a late model mobile home and the wiring very poor in this residence. As for the elderly woman and fixed income this was not brought to our attention until after she was turned over to collections. If this problem was related to our first call we would be more than happy to fix it at our cost due to service man error, this was not the case. But one service call to fix two plugs does not constitute fixing everything in her house that is wrong. We drove 40 miles one way to make this service-call, we charged her a very reasonable rate. It was below the $85 hourly shop rate that we normally charge. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The plug that was fixed the second call was one that they had fixed the first time. A reasonable person would assume that is a warranty issue since it stopped working so shortly after. My complaint that they did not address was that of no estimate either verbal or written was given me. If I had known the cost of the fix I would NOT have approved it and would not have had the work done. As far as not knowing I was a senior citizen on a fixed income they knew the first time they came over. As far as my old wiring I was never told it was done wrong. I was simply told it was aluminum wiring. As far as the 40 mile trip I was told I would have to wait until they had someone in the area and I did. As far as the collection company, anybody who knows business knows it can write off a bad debt. No I do NOT accept the response from the business. I will certainly not recommend them to any of my friends. ****** ******** Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/11/06) */ IN REPLY TO THE LAST RESPONSE OF OCT 2014 The Original work with Est#XXXXX was done on 9/5/13. ****** emailed us on 9/11/13 From: *****************@aol.com mailto:*****************@aol.com Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 11:03 AM To: ******@bendbroadband.com Subject: inquiry on job to be finished Hi, ***** came out to my house last wednesday and fixed some receptacles and light switches. But after they left the receptacle behind my fridge stopped working again. It has been a week and I really hate having to plug my fridge into an extension cord. Can you tell me when I might expect someone out here to finish the job? I live quite a way from town and need to know if I need to stay close to meet. Thank you ****** ******** We responded the same day to come out the following day. From: ***** **** mailto:******@bendbroadband.com Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 8:28 PM To: '*****************@aol.com' Subject: FW: ******** inquiry on job to be finished From: ***@bendbroadband.com mailto:***@bendbroadband.com Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 7:58 PM To: ***** **** Subject: Re: FW: ******** inquiry on job to be finished how about Thursday my cell phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX **** **** The invoice for that call went out via e-mail 9/17/13 and ****** responded shortly after which was 9/19/13 then we responded on 9/20/13 Original Message From: ***** **** <******@bendbroadband.com> To: ***************** <*****************@aol.com> Sent: Tue, Sep 17, 2013 5:58 pm Subject: Invoice XXXXX from C & G ELECTRIC From: *****************@aol.com mailto:*****************@aol.com Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2013 8:48 PM To: ******@bendbroadband.com Subject: Re: Invoice XXXXX from C & G ELECTRIC I believe this was a mistake because it was a call back for work previously done that needed fixed. Thank you ****** ******** From: ***** **** mailto:******@bendbroadband.com Sent: Friday, September 20, 2013 12:55 AM To: '*****************@aol.com' Subject: RE: Invoice XXXXX from C & G ELECTRIC ******, The problem was at the wash machine, not connected to any work we did prior. Thanks ***** **** **********./C & G Electric/************ XXX-XXX-XXXX Office or XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax After I thought we clarified it was a separate issue she never responded to us again until March 2014 when finally got a hold of her trying to collect. And since she refused to attempt to pay we turned it over to collections. If we did not attempt to collect and just "wrote things off" we would no longer be in business. Being paid is how we stay in business. Just writing off debts is giving up our paycheck. How would it feel for an individual to give a paycheck every so often. Not so good I'm sure. We are a small business and every debt we have to write off is a huge impact. We put pride in our service and do quality work and this is how we have stayed in business for over 22 years. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2014/11/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There really has been no proposal on their part has there? They say they are within their rights to bill me for what I thought would be warranty work because I never had a chance to say yes or no to the work done by way of an estimate (like previously). So if there is no proposed resolution I guess we are at a stalemate. I can NOT afford a big bill that I have not saved up for or prepared for. And they want to bill me for 2.5 hours of work that they say was contract work, yet I did not see a contract. And yes I understand huge economical impacts, I am a senior on a FIXED income, trust me I know. Cordially ****** ********