This business is not BBB accredited.

eNotes.com

Phone: (206) 774-0221 Fax: (866) 291-5093 1605 Boylston Ave Ste 301, Seattle, WA 98122 http://www.enotes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online study materials for teachers and students.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for eNotes.com include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for eNotes.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on eNotes.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2002 Business started locally: 08/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/20/2007 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Bloomingdale, President Ms. Brandi Haker, Community Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Bloomingdale, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Brandi Haker, Community Manager
Business Category

Educational Consultants

Hours of Operation
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company's policy can be found at http://www.enotes.com/jax/index.php/faq/faq_controller/eventHandler=view/faqID=352779355
Alternate Business Names
ENotes.com Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1605 Boylston Ave Ste 301

    Seattle, WA 98122 (206) 774-0221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Enotes offers a 'free trial' period of two days...but the issue is, once you sign up and agree to put up your card there is NO way of cancelling. I tried to cancel multiple times and the option for it was just not available. I was billed for the monthly rate, even though I tried to cancel the membership multiple times. Seems to me and this isn't the first time it has happened.

Desired Settlement: For them to refund me the money they took from me.

Business Response: Hello,

We would be happy to look into this issue but that is not our order number and I was unable to find an email address attached to the email address on this account.  Please follow up with the following information:

Alternate Email
Order Id
Last 4 digits of the credit card

Thanks!

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to sign up for the free trial, but somehow ended up paying $49.99 for a yearlong subscription, which I do not want. Seeking refund now.

Desired Settlement: $49.99

Business Response: According to our records, this charge was successfully voided on 3-26-15 so the customer was not charged.

3/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our daughter used Enotes for an assignment. It was a free trial. You must notify them to cancel or monthly subscription would be active.We have emailed for 4 months now and continued subscrition is being debited.Email was sent before free trial ended. I have all proof of emails trying to get this done. You can only email them to cancel. After trying for 4 months now to cancel I am turning to you for help. They keep saying its cancelled but funds continue to come out of our bank account. We have all emails and bank transactions for proof.

Desired Settlement: refund of 4 months worth of unauthorized transactions of $14.99 each month (total refund $59.96)

Business Response: We have already refunded this person $14.99 x 4. Here's an email we send to them on 2/17/14:

Hi ******,

Thank you for clarifying the complaints. Your subscription has been successfully canceled and I have refunded your credit card $14.99 x 4. Please note that it will take 3-10 business days for this refund to process depending on the policy of your bank. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of further assistance. We hope you are having a good day!

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 30th 2014 I purchased a one month subscription with enotes. I did not sign up to do a monthly subscription with enotes as I only needed it for the month of February. I have been billed each month since and did not notice it until now. I have been billed $19.99 3 times more than I should have. This must be refunded or this is a poor business practice as well as theft. I have not used the site since February and assumed they would not do this to me.

Desired Settlement: I must be refunded for each monthly subscription that I did not authorize. I intended to pay for one month ($19.99) but have been billed four months in a row therefore I need to be refunded 3 times $19.99.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/08) */ We don't have a one month pass *** we never have. We have refunded **** $19.95 x 2 on May 6th. We are not able to process any further refunds. Also, the order form clearly states: Monthly at $19.99/month Renews monthly. Cancel anytime. You can fact check this information at this link: https://www.enotes.com/jax/index.php/shopping/checkout The confirmation email also informs the customer of the recurring nature of the subscription. We send every customer an email that says: Please note that you have purchased a subscription which will automatically renew every 30 days until you cancel. You can cancel anytime directly from your "My Account" page, or by simply emailing customer support at *******@enotes.com and indicating that you wish to cancel. Please let us know if you need any further information and thank you.

5/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Enotes has been making unauthorized debits from my checking account, in the amount of $14.95, since February of 2013. I have never been to eNotes\'s web site, and I have never purchased anything from or through eNotes. I did not authorized these charges or debits from my account. I cannot get anyone to answer their phone. I view this as fraud and have demanded that they cease and desist and that they return my money....all of it!

Desired Settlement: A complete return of all of the unauthorized debit charges, in the amount of $239.20. This is outrageous!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ Our CS staff spoke to Mr. ****** twice on the phone today. Mr. ****** said that his son ********* ******) placed the order. ******** ****** selected this option on the order form: Monthly at $14.99/month Renews monthly. Cancel anytime. All of our orders are immediately followed by a confirmation email that explains how our subscriptions work. The confirmation states: Please note that you have purchased a subscription which will automatically renew every 30 days until you cancel. You can cancel anytime directly from your "My Account" page, or by simply emailing customer support at *******@enotes.com and indicating that you wish to cancel. Moreover, before submitting an order on eNotes, the user agrees to abide by the terms of service, which clearly state that charges will be recurring unless cancelled. We processed three refunds of $14.95 for Mr. ****** today. Like most businesses, we are not able to process refunds past 90 days. I think we could agree that Mr. ****** was on notice that he was being charged monthly by eNotes through his credit card statement. You can understand, with the vast number of customers that eNotes serves every year, that we cannot make exceptions to this policy. Please let us know if you need any further information. Thanks!

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a book through Enotes on December 5, 2012. At the time the website was not clear enough to me, about Enotes intention of charging me a quote of 14.95 every month after my purchase. I was not aware until Monday Sept. 30, 2013 that they have been charging me for 9 months. When I spoke with ******* on Customer Service and explained I have not used their services but once on December, she said she can refund three (3) months. When I insisted on asking her to speak with someone with the authority to take decisions in order to negotiate a better deal for me, she got angry and hang up on me. Since I have not used Enotes services after my initial purchase, it is more than obvious that they did not incur in major expenses on my account so it would be easy for them to do a better refund in which both parties would be pleased with the results. Regardless my refund, it is important to point out that it is not ETHICALLY correct doing business in which a customer DOES NOT have the option of a ONE-TIME USE. Customers like myself, do not need to add the hassle of having to cancel services that I do not need, just because they did not offer me a one-time use option on their website. It is extremely obvious that it would be very EASY for Enotes to offer a one-time use, the same way that they offer they can "cancel AT ANY TIME" if you ask for it. The message they are sending is that their intention is to make it hard for one-time users to be done with the company after they are done with their transaction, which is unethical. Satisfied customers are going to go back to your company if you cover their needs without feeling TRICKED like I feel now.

Desired Settlement: ******* offered me (3) three months refund; nevertheless she only sent me refund receipts for (2) two months to my email which have not been credited yet, according to my bank. Since I have not used the website all these months, and I was not aware of the charges, I would appreciate the company to refund a total of (6) six months. I will take the rest of the loss. I also ask them to have a better customer care. Hanging up on customers, just because customers insist on their right to appeal, does not give Enotes the right to be rude to them. I also would ask them to add the one-time use option on their website. It is not difficult to understand that there should be plenty of people that use the website one time; and either have to go through the hassle of cancelling afterwards or allow the charges to go on until they realize they need to cancel and end up paying more than what they intended to spend on your company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/25) */ We will refund the requested 6 months. So we will process four more refunds and I just emailed ******* because we need to get her mailing address to do this. Here's the email: Hi *******, I am sorry about how your account was handled. You are right, only 2/3 refunds were processed and I apologize for that. We will go ahead and refund you the requested 6 months so we can process four more refunds for you for an additional refund of $59.80. However, we will need to mail you a check refund since the charges are too old for us to process on a credit card. Please send us your address and we will drop the check in the mail right away. Thank you!