BBB Accredited Business since

Wildwood Dental Group

Phone: (425) 481-1889 Fax: (425) 368-0694 1617 183rd St SE Ste 1, Mill Creek, WA 98012 http://wildwooddental.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wildwood Dental Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wildwood Dental Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wildwood Dental Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 09/01/1981 Business started locally: 09/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. G. Douglas Beck, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. G. Douglas Beck, Manager
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
G Douglas Beck DDS PS

Additional Locations

  • 1617 183rd St SE Ste 1

    Mill Creek, WA 98012 (425) 481-1889

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had some pretty major work done, I have let them know in detail and in writing my concerns and disappointment. First letter was sent11-12-2012 and was ignored. When I went back to have some of the owrk corrected and denture relined Dr. **** was abrupt and rude. The denture has cracked, been repaired, cracked again. It has never fit right and the entire experience has been a nightmare. I sent my last letter to Dr. **** July 16, 2013 and what I received was a letter that he denies any responsibility and will no longer treat me as of september 8th. Are you kidding me? I will never let this dentist treat me again. I want him to refund the money for the partial denture that has NEVER Fit and is cracked on both sides. He refused any refund, and he owes me one. If you want the letters I sent to him I will be glad to send them to you.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund in the amount of $3000.00, the cost to have the work done correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2013/10/11) */ Original Message From: ******* *** (mailto:*******@WildwoodDental.Com) Sent: Tuesday, October 08, 2013 2:12 PM To: complaints Subject: BBB case #XXXXXXXX Our office received a call and email from ****** ****** BBB Services Consultant, regarding a complaint against our office. We would like to discuss the issue of this complaint with someone at BBB in regard to the fact that this is a medical/dental complaint. It would be a HIPPA violation to respond to this complaint through the BBB. Could I please receive a call from BBB in regards to this, I do not have a contact number. Thank you. ******* *** Wildwood Dental ** ** ******* ***** office Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 30, 2013/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No where on any of the paperwork that I received, including the bills submitted to my insurance, does it say "temporary denture" It clearly is stated as a "partial denture". It was fitted before any extractions, not after. In addition the dentist pulled several teeth that were NOT suppose to be extracted. I now have a very clear understanding of why he has so many negative "comments" and "feedback" on the internet. Horrible reviews that I should have read prior to going there. I have an appointment to have the work done, I will gladly pay for the work and I'm sure be much happier once it's done. I do Not Except the response, I don't beleive he should be able to do denture work, he is not a denturist! He is also very rude, and doesn't like being told he did inferior work, he get's his feelings hurt and throws tantrums and wonders why his patients cancell appointments. I felt so uncomfortable after he threw his fit, why would I go back. He has earned this complaint and I hope it will remain on his report. This is a valid complaint. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday - BBB Closed Final Business Response /* (1000, 28, 2013/12/13) */ *** ****'s complaint is not simply limited to the purchase of what she alleges to be a "defective" product. *** **** has this temporary denture as a temporary measure after extensive dental work (12 teeth extracted due to decay and bone loss). The temporary denture was always intended to be temporary, and she knew she would have to get a permanent denture, but failed to follow up in our office to get the treatment she needs. Now she has apparently lost her dental insurance and believes that Wildwood Dental should pay for her permanent denture. The temporary denture which she claims is defective has lasted her far, far longer than it was intended to. The need for a replacement permanent denture has nothing to do with the quality of the temporary denture - as is described in more detail below she has always needed to get a permanent denture and always had the responsibility to pay for it when she received it. *** **** is correct, the product she currently has is temporary and she has been using is for more than 20 months, considerably longer than the 6 months it was intended for. Her dissatisfaction stems from the fact that she failed to follow the Wildwood Dental's treatment plan. Unfortunately, now she has apparently lost her dental insurance and will have to personally bear the cost of the permanent denture. If she had kept her appointments at Wildwood and followed the care plan she would have had the permanent denture prepared while she was still insured and there would be no cost to her (other than a small co pay). *** **** has attempted to reduce her extensive dental treatment to a complaint about a "product" - the temporary partial. As is more fully described below, the "product" was but one step in a series of extensive and significant dental treatments - which she received in full from Wildwood Dental. *** ****'s complaints relate to medical care and treatment issues, not just a "product" and the BBB generally does not involve itself in medical care issues such as this one. However, her complaints persist, and since Wildwood was presented with a HIPPA medical release signed by *** **** it will discuss her medical care and treatment in more detail below to provide deeper understanding into the events involving *** ****. A brief history of *** ****'s treatment at Wildwood is as follows. In late 2011 *** **** was seen at Wildwood Dental several times because she had numerous complaints about her teeth and mouth. She had not had her teeth cleaned in 20 years. After examination it was determined that due to extensive decay and bone loss she needed numerous extractions. In March 2012, she had twelve teeth extracted (pulled). This was a major procedure and she chose to be sedated during these extractions for which there was an extra charge pursuant to the terms of her insurance coverage. Following the extractions she was fitted with a partial temporary denture. She was to use this partial temporary denture temporarily while her mouth healed after the extractions. This healing can take some time due to the extensive impact of the extractions to her mouth. After she completed healing following the extractions the next step was that she was to be fitted with a permanent denture. As her healing progressed adjustments were made to the temporary denture to keep it comfortable. The number and type of adjustments that she needed depended upon how her mouth healed, this is to be expected. Unfortunately, *** **** did not fully follow Wildwood Dental's recommendations for follow up care and this behavior coupled with the uneven rate of healing caused her to have more problems than typical with the partial temporary denture. She continued to complain about the fit of the partial denture, but she did not comply with the recommendations for further treatment. Rather than getting assistance, she cancelled appointments. If she had completed the plan she would have been fitted with a permanent denture, and the cost would have been nearly covered in full by her dental plan if she was still covered. *** **** now complains that the temporary denture is "defective" an she "knows" she has to have her remaining teeth extracted and a full denture made, claiming that 2 teeth are not enough to have a proper fitting bridge, and she claims we should pay for this work. We respectfully disagree with her lay opinion about the care and treatment she needs. She has delayed the care that she needs which potentially has made her medical condition worse. We cannot adequately opine about what treatment she now needs without examining her. She does need a permanent partial denture, she always has needed this. This permanent denture was the next step in her treatment process, but she never made it that far as she would not come into the office for the recommended treatment. The need for the permanent denture has absolutely nothing to do with the treatment she received at Wildwood Dental - the appliance she received from Wildwood was always intended to be temporary and this was explained to her. It was not intended for permanent or long term use, it was designed to last about six months while her mouth was healing Then she would have been fit with a permanent denture. Her insurance would have paid for most of the cost for this with a small copay. For reasons unknown **** **** failed to continue with her treatment and get her permanent denture, until now, long after she should have, and unfortunately she has now lost her insurance. This is unfortunate, but is not the responsibility of Wildwood Dental. With regards to the fees she paid, the majority of the fees she paid were for the conscious oral sedation which she requested for the session in which she had 12 teeth extracted. This cost was not covered by her insurance so she had to pay extra to receive sedation. She did make a co-pay of $115 for the temporary partial denture, the other payments were co-pays for the extractions (all services which she received). She did not pay $795 for the temporary partial denture. Further, Wildwood did not receive payment of $2,000.00 from Delta Dental for the treatment. It received no money from Delta Dental because *** **** was a DMO care patient. Please let us know if you need any additional information or explanation.