BBB Accredited Business since

Platinum Dental

Phone: (360) 682-5488 Fax: (360) 682-5488 231 SE Barrington Dr Ste 202, Oak Harbor, WA 98277 http://www.platinumdentalwa.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dental services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platinum Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Dental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Platinum Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2006 Business started locally: 05/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Andrew Lai, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Andrew Lai, Member
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Dental Implants Dentist - Prosthodontist Dentist - Sedation Dentistry - Children Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic X-Ray Labs - Medical & Dental Denturist Teeth Whitening Services

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
8:00am-7:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Lai DDS PLLC

Additional Locations

  • 231 SE Barrington Dr Ste 202

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277 (360) 682-5488

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i had work done 7-12-13,had ********************* which was 875.00,i had work done which came to 826.00 i also purchased their in home insuraunce program which was 30.00,i paid the whole amount and was not given a discount due to the 12th day,i had work done 7-15-2013,7-16-2013,7-17-2013,which totaled 826.00,then sept 3,2013 i received a bill for the insuraunce plan which they charged me 55.00,saying that i had added my mom onto my plan,but it was never finalized i talked to this one girl,and she argued with me about that i told her we never finalized for my mom so you need to reverse the charge's,never got an apology for her rude behavior and at that point i was done,i received a chk a wk lator and still no apology.and i cut my debit card off and reordered a new one,i don't trust them to do the right thing.i have not heard from them since that day.then on dec18,2013,recieved a collection letter from capital acct's saying i owed them 270.40,i called them and asked them what this was for and they told me it was for work they had done ,i told them i was payed in full,nothing owing they said not true.i called my community health plan and was told they were payed in full,0 patient owing,so we did a three way call and i that this was done,they even faxed the collection agency paper work showing they were payed,and they are still calling and harrassing me for this amount?i still don't know what the charges are for?like i have stated never recieved a phone call or any bill demading payment they just went and turned me into collection's?i have asked the collection agaency to forward what i owe them for,i recieved an e-mail today but no other paperwork.i'm very angry that they have done this to me.i'm not getting any where with them or the dental office.

Desired Settlement: i want this tak'n care of and the company to retract from the collection agency and for my pain and suffering do to the harrassing call's from this collection agency,i cannot beleive that a company can just make false allegation's about you and demand payment which you have no knowledge about.thank-you ***** ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/08) */ To Whom This May Concern: Our office offers a dental discount plan which we always state to the pt is not insurance in all paperwork and verbally. It is 30.00 a month and the only thing it covers that you do not pay for out of pocket is prophylaxis exam and x-rays 2 times a year. When patients sign up with this plan they are given the option to pay for the whole year by check or pay 30.00 a month at the first of every month by leaving a credit card number on file to be taken out automatically. It also states that if you are to cancel the plan at anytime you are to give us written notice and also pay a 50.00 cancellation fee if it has not been a year since you signed up. ***** came into our office with ********* ****** **** of Wa which only covered a small amount so we offered her our dental plan with that she saved 2551.23, *****'s main concern was about not having to pay anything out of pocket except the 30.00 a month for the plan. There was a point where ***** had filled out the paperwork to add her mom to the plan so she was charged for having two members on the plan for 55.00 a month. ***** then called our office and complained she was charged and she only wanted herself on the plan still. We apologized for the inconvenience that it might have caused her and refunded her immediately. We also made her come in and correct her form that she had circled 55.00 on and initial it so that we wouldn't have this confusion again and she did. Though we never received a single phone call stating that she wanted to cancel herself off the plan or written notice. These are two things that are required at the time of cancellation stated on the enrollment form and we read this to her over the phone again on 9/4/2013. After this date ***** still had one monthly charge come out in the amount of 30.00 for having herself on the plan it came out 10/1/2013 as scheduled. ***** never called to tell us that she did not want that charge or to cancel the plan then either. If she would have we would've explained to her again that there is a 50.00 cancellation fee and also she needs to give us written notice. Our office has apologized to ***** for what she claims was our mistake though simply she had filled out the enrollment paperwork incorrectly to give us the confusion to begin with. ***** was charged the 30.00 for the month of 11/01/2013 and since the payment did not go through and ***** never called us back to either cancel the plan or make a payment for the monthly plan she was charged a late fee. We also sent her many statements and still had not heard anything from her. She then was charged 30.00 for the month of 12/1/2013 for her monthly plan and the payment did not go through and we were told by her bank that her account was on hold by her bank and she needed to contact them as well. We then tried calling ***** again and sent out statement. She received a late fee for this as well. After that our office decided to send her a notice that we are going to automatically cancel her plan do to the number of missed payments and also if she did not get in touch with our office within 5 days she would be sent to collections. There was no effort made by the patient in reaching us to resolve this matter. The account was then sent to collections. When sending an account to collections our office looks at several things patients payment history, reliability and how much effort was made by the patient to contact us to resolve the account issue. Our office faxed over a statement to the collection agency which ***** claims that shows she does not owe anything on though we cleared the balance when it was sent to collections. The statement shows a collection adjustment for the amount that she owes us and the amount that was sent to collections so that is would record as an account that has been sent to collections. That does not mean she does not owe the money and is why the collection agency is still pursuing the matter and she has not got back to them as well. Our office can fax over a copy of all the forms signed by the patient if needed for the enrollment of our dental discount plan and any office paperwork signed by the patient as well.