This business is not BBB accredited.

Expect Payment Solutions LLC

Phone: (877) 243-2221 Fax: (503) 907-7280 11805 NE 99th St Ste 1300, Vancouver, WA 98682 http://www.expectps.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers merchant services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Expect Payment Solutions LLC include:

  • 26 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Expect Payment Solutions LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Expect Payment Solutions LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2008 Business started: 10/01/2007 Business started locally: 10/01/2007 Business incorporated 10/19/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Derek Garvin, Member Mr. Brandon Skinner, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Garvin, Member
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
If we cannot save a business money, they can switch back at no fee to them. They must first meet with us and give us an opportunity to fix the problem.
Products & Services

Merchant services, credit card processing, merchant cash advance and gift cards.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Expect Payment Solutions LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11805 NE 99th St Ste 1300

    Vancouver, WA 98682 (877) 243-2221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: account number ******** I have already made a complaint against this company and I do not accept their resolution because they don't recognize my name I want to continue my complaint for refund of my $495 dollars they charged to my account without my authorization. My business name is *** *** ******* ****** in Eugene Oregon. I can't believe they used such a lame excuse to not deal with the problem. My bill always had my name on it. Again I do not accept their resolution to this problem. It wasn't clear what I was agreeing to. Thank you sincerely ****** ******** owner *** *** ******* ******

Desired Settlement: see complaint number ********

Business Response: ******,

I have in front of me a cancellation form sent in by you to close your account.  Written down at the bottom is the phrase "do not charge me the penalty fee."  While I can appreciate you feeling you should not be charged the fee, it is clearly stated in the agreement that you signed that we have an early termination fee of $495, it is listed on page 3.  As merchants you have the responsibility of living up to your portion of the agreement the same we we are held to the standard of living up to ours.  You cannot just add written statements to documents and expect that we are going to charge all of our policies because you don't agree with what you signed after the fact.  Can you park your car, walk away from it and just tell the bank your not paying the fee anymore?  I don't believe that is how it works.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I wrote do not cancel if you are charging me the cancellation fee. The contract states that if I am not happy with the service that I can cancel for no charge. Expect payment solutions promised to lower my fees if i switched over.  They did not , in fact I was  paying 1 1/2 times more than before. I was specific in my message do not cancel if you charge  me the fee. They cancelled and charged the fee. This is what I am contesting. Talk about keeping your contract, If you say you can cancel if you're not satisfied, and I am not satisfied, then keep your word. 

Sincerely,

*** *** ******* ********

Business Response: The savings were there, the equipment was out-dated and new equipment would have had to be purchased regardless of whether he went with Expect Payment Solutions or not.  You were not turned over to a collection agency by Expect Payment Solutions, this was done by ***** **** ******** ******** as they could not get the money owed per the agreement out of your account due to an account closure or blockage.  I do not recall you requesting a meeting with me at any point and I most likely would have told you know and that we should do this over email to avoid in confusion in what was or was not said...  Similar to what is happening right now.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *** ******* ********

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is the history/info regarding Expect Payment Solutions: - July 2013, ******* ****** who represented Expect Payment Solutions came in to our office and gave us a quote as to what we would save per month using their company over ****** ******** ********** - We were told we would be saving approximately $905/mth from what we were currently paying, which was around $3140/mth - A part of the monthly fee we were going to be charged was for an external credit card processing terminal, which we advised them we would not need since we process credit cards internally through our software program. They said this had to be part of the program, however it would be included in the total per month, still equaling a $905/mth savings. They still send us the terminals for back up, i.e. if the electricity was out, we could hook them up to the phone line and run a credit card. When this scenario actually happened and we tried to hook them up to the phone line, the equipment did not work because our phone lines are digital and apparently they can only be used with analog phones. This equipment has been worthless to us and just sits in storage. When we asked them to take it back so we wouldn't be responsible for them if something happened, we were told we could not return them since we are in a contract. - Once we started getting statements, were seeing our fees/charges were higher than what we were quoted. And on top of those fees, we were paying the extra fees for the leasing of the equipment, which again we were told was included. - In an email to ******* on August 27, 2013, I inquired about the ***** **** letter I received (***** **** is the leasing company for the equipment). The letter was talking about the money that would be taken directly from our account for the equipment, which again I was told would be part of the monthly fee total. In this email, they still guaranteed the savings the quoted us, including this fee. These fees have been charged ON TOP of the credit card processing fees, not included in them. - From there many emails between myself and ****** ******* were exchanged. We have been promised for a year now that our account would be looked in to and our rates would be lowered per our quote. On March 12, 2014, the owner/CFO ***** ****** emailed me stating they were again looking at our accounts and have agreed that we aren't getting the quoted fees. There would be three adjustments made and we would be receiving refunds electronically back in to our accounts. The email stated it should be done prior to our April statement. - ****** ******* contacted me many times by phone telling me the corrected rates and that he was updating them in the system, but that it takes while to update them and we'd see it reflected the next month, along with a refund, which never happened. - Finally on June 11, 2014, I emailed both ****** and ***** stating we are done waiting and we want a resolution. ***** again returned my email the same day stating the issue would be resolved shortly and again acknowledged their misquote and that we'd be getting a refund. - To this date, no refund has been issued. The ownwer left a message for ***** the week of September 22, 2014, and again September 26, 2014, with no phone call response. On September 29, 2014, we received an email with the letter attached from *****, again stating their misquote and the issue would be resolved. Quoted total bill per month would be approximately $2235.12, INCLUDING equipment fees. Last 3 month fee average $2619.47 PLUS $600 in equipment fees = $3219.47 Average overcharge per month = $984.47 x 14 months = $13,782.58

Desired Settlement: Quoted total bill per month would be approximately $2235.12, INCLUDING equipment fees. Last 3 month fee average $2619.47 PLUS $600 in equipment fees = $3219.47 Average overcharge per month = $984.47 x 14 months = $13,782.58 PLUS them to take care of the ***** **** Lease Equipment "contract" that we didn't even know we were signing, since what the sales rep said it was included in the monthly fee, not additional.

Business Response: Per the agreement that we have with them, we are attempting to fix the issue. Unfortunately, the people who were responsible for putting the quote together are no longer here. In purchasing Expect Payment Solutions outright from my former partner, I have many fires to put out, this being one of them. It is important to me and to our reputation to try and get these issues handled, however, it does take some time to do so.

The fact that you are no longer processing with us makes it more difficult to push this through as I am not trying to fix a problem for someone who is not with us.

I am working on getting this resolved but it will take me some time to do so, that is the bottom line.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********


I am rejecting this response because: Expect Payments has been given beyond enough time to resolve this issue.  At this point, we are not even sure if ***** ****** is a real person, as every time we have left him a message to call us, we only get an email back.  No one in his office seems to ever know where he is.  We would like to know what steps are actually in process to this issue being resolved, all we keep hearing is that it's being worked on.  The fact that it was said in the response that because we are no longer using his company, he is not trying to resolve this issue, yet in the next sentence says he's still working on it is completely contradictory.  Which one is it?  We had to go with an different company because were hemorrhaging money with how they were processing our credit cards, as we obviously were being way over charged.  Since nothing had been resolved, we had to move on.

Sincerely,

***** ************

Business Response: I can assure you that I am a real person, and let me give you a brief idea of how the buyback process works.  In dealing with buybacks, I will always focus on those companies who want to stay with us as we admit that there was an issue in how they were set up.  The ones who don't, I will still contend with, however, it will take a back seat to those who are still our merchants.  That is where the concept of still dealing with it and trying to work something out comes into play.  It is not easy for us to get some of these situations handled when the people we are handling them for are no longer with us.  I will continue to try and get something handled for this account but it will not take priority over those who are still with us.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ************

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wrote them a letter stating we were canceling, but if there was any fees to call before taking money out of our account. We decided not to switch so I called & left a voice mail. They automatically took out $3290.57 from our bank account. Called several times with no response. Finally got a hold of someone, spoke to **** and *****. Both said they would refund the money if I signed a letter stating I wouldn't switch until contract was up. I agreed, said it was in the mail twice now. Been 3 weeks and still no letter & no refund! I have called and left voice mail after voice mail with no response!

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting the $3290.57 that was taken out of our account without our permission (as stated in letter I sent them) and now I want to cancel with no fees since they are not honoring what they promised to me. Now I don't trust them and getting the run around.

Business Response: I believe that what yous stated above and what was said in your cancellation letter and form are different. Due to personal information, I will not include a copy of the form, however, your statement reads to "call you before charging any fees to discuss them". That is not how our industry works and the reason you placed that in your letter was for the fact that you wanted to try and "negotiate" a fixed fee which we do not do, it is in the agreement that you signed. You also told Mr. ****** that you did switch and that you did not feel good about the switch which is why you wanted to come back, and there was a break in your processing with us. As for the letter, I have sent it twice and will include a copy of the letter for all to see. It clearly states what needs to be done by you if you do indeed want to come back. There will be no refunds or reimbursements should you elect to cancel. We did nothing wrong, we followed the agreement and we were indeed saving you money, this is on you, not us.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  

I STILL have not received the letter they state that they sent. If they sent BBB a copy of the letter, I would love to see it as that is what my complaint is about. I was told you would refund the money stated if I signed that letter and I'm still waiting on that letter. If you do not believe me, then send it Certified mail!!!! I WANT the letter so I can get my money back that is rightfully mine! You keep saying you have sent a copy of this letter to me and everyone else and still have not received it! Send me the letter and refund my money and this all goes away!

Sincerely,

******* *****

Business Response: Mrs. *****,

In our email dealings over the last two weeks, I told you that I was having the papers drawn up for you to sign, at that point you will get your money back, do you not recall the conversation?  I believe I even sent you an email to update you on the fact that our attorney was gone for spring break at the time and that as soon as he can get to it he will.  Once I receive it, I will scan and email you a copy per your request.

Do you not recall our correspondence over the last few weeks?

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****

4/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered in to a contract with EXPECT because they promised us they could save us money on merchant service fees. After three months of fees higher than what we paid before, they agreed to cancel our contract and release us. We had to sign a lease agreement for the equipment but EXPECT has not gotten us out of that lease and the funds continue to be deducted from our bank account. At first, the "new owner"m ***** ******, said he was in the process of taking over ownership and was trying to work out the details of our contract. He has not responded to my last attempt to contact him and I feel we must now take additional action to stop the funds taken from our account.

Desired Settlement: We want EXPECT to stop the **** bank withdrawals for the equipment lease and refund us the $323.70 to date taken for months we have not used their services. Since it is Feb 24, I expect that another $64.74 lease "payment" will be deducted from our account before this issue is resolved.

Business Response: EPS never agreed to cancel the contract as stated in this complaint. Part of our guarantee of savings is that we are given the chance to fix the issue should there be one, in this case, they switched the service and never gave us a chance to make the adjustments that we can make to show the savings. Until such a time as we are given the chance to fix the issue, I will not move forward with anymore refunds or fixes. You cannot pick and choose which portions of an agreement you want to follow that only benefit you as a merchant. Our overall goal and commitment to our merchants is savings and in this case we could have shown that if given the proper opportunity to do so.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We began doing business with EXPECT Merchant Services
late May 2014. Every month, when we got our statement, we calculated what our
fees were and compared them to what we were promised by EXPECT. Each month, the
fees were higher than what we were promised. We spoke with *** ******* in their
office who kept trying to explain why the fees might be higher, asking to wait “one
more month” to see if the fees “evened out”. He was in disbelief that our rates
would be higher than quoted and said they, EXPECT, were giving us the best
rates possible, even losing money on us. *** and we spoke each and every month
and when we got our August statement, *** agreed with us that EXPECT could not
meet the rates we had been promised and agreed to cancel our contract with
them.  This shows EXPECT was given the opportunity to make adjustments to show savings.

The business owner/manager, ***** ******* also sent us an
email dated 12/15/14 in which he told us:

“Your lease with us will be bought back and you will be release of any further
obligation to **** (the equipment lease company) and you will also be
reimbursed for the money that has been taken thus far if you are willing to
work with me on getting it handled. “

We have opened this claim because it has been two and a
half months since that email and over five months since our business
relationship with EXPECT was terminated and the lease of $64.74 continues to be
taken out of our account.



Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response: As I stated previously, it is being attended to and we are working diligently to get the situation handled.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is (sort of) satisfactory to me. It has been nearly five (5) months to resolve this.

Sincerely,

***** ********

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales person came into our business promising to save us considerably on our merchant processing. We changed our merchant processing to Expect Payment Solutions. It was a nightmare from the start. From the moment we settled our first batch it took over two weeks for the funds to be deposited into our account. That was financially devastating, but that doesn't even compare to my main complaint. The sales associate deceptively got us into a lease agreement on 3, yes 3, credit card terminals. The sales associate grossly misrepresented our business. We owned our own machine and had one point of sale. When I discovered this, the sales associate said that two machines were for our point of sale and one was for backup incase they broke. I repeatedly told the sales associate I did not want ANY of the leased machines, as I repeatedly stated that we owned our own machine and never would knowingly lease a terminal, let alone three. She refused to resolve this issue and said we were now in a lease with another company and she couldn't get us out of the lease. We also repeatedly contacted EPS and were repeatedly told that the managers were in a meeting discussing our situation. We were never called back. We eventually cancelled their service but have been stuck with a lease on 3 terminals for 48 months at 210/month. All three terminals sit on our shelf unused and two have never even been opened. When we cancelled our agreement with EPS, they advised us that any further issues with the lease must go through the other company. They washed their hands of their wrong doing. The company holding the lease said there was nothing they could do.

Desired Settlement: I want the lease agreement for the terminals terminated effective immediately. I am seeking retroactive reimbursement for the lease on all three terminals from the initiation of service(3/29/130 until the termination o the lease.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/15) */ According to our notes and the notes from ***** **** ******** ********* the situation happened far different than explained above. Expect Payment Solutions did sign them up, we signed them up based on what we were told was needed during the merchant interview, that is the case with the equipment. on 4/8/13 we notified them that there was a block on there account put on by them and that no money could be withdrawn or deposited until they cleared up the issue with the bank. On 4/23/13 we finally received the proper documentation to fix the issue, they had the information for well over a week and did nothing with it, we could not proceed any further until we received the right documents. So yes, it did take them over two weeks to receive the deposit, no fault of ours as we notified them the next day when the problem occurred. We obviously cannot walk into their bank and demand letter and documentation as it is not our account. When we meet with the merchants, we have a detailed questionnaire for them to answer, our programs are based on that questionnaire and their answers, we put them in the program best suited for them and in this case, we were saving them money. Rather than calling us and giving us a chance to explain and show that, they elected to just cancel and not give us a chance. Our guarantee is simple, if we cannot save you money, we release you of your obligation, if you do not give us the chance to show you, then yes, you do have to contend with the remainder of the agreement that you signed, I believe that is the case in most in industry, not just ours.

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached by a salesman for a Merchant Service company(Expect). He stated they they would charge me less than my current company. He also stated that the fee per month of 99+ dollars for the lease on a new visa machine(I was required to lease) would be figured in to my savings. I was also told that they would dis-enroll me from my current Merchant service. As it turned out the first billing from them was higher than my current Merchant service, I had not been dis-enrolled and I was billed by my old Merchant service. I called Expect and they said that I had to dis-enroll myself with a form they would provide me. They also said that according to the statement of charges for my past account with******** Merchant service that they were indeed lower priced. When I inspected my old statement I found several misc charges that were for PCI non-compliance. They were figured into the Expect price quote. They as merchant service "experts" should have known those misc fees were for PCI problems and not figured them into the new service fee schedule. I have since had those PCI non-compliance fees refunded as it was a mistake on the part of******** service. I immediately told Expect to cancel my service and stopped using their service after the first month. I continued to be billed for both the leased machine and service fees from Expect. I continued to call and mostly got lip service and was told that I would be refunded the money for the lease as soon as the lease company got the machine back and they got their refund. I called the lease company and even though I sent the machine back to Expect immediately, it had not been returned to the Leasing company. I continued to call Expect telling them not to bill me and they said they wanted to compare three months of prior service with******** to what they could save me. It was weeks before they again got back to me even though I kept calling them. When they finally called me back I again told them I did not like their service and to give me my refunds. They said there would be no refunds They owe me for two months basic service which I did not use $73.17(October Expect fee) and $94.94(**** credit card terminal lease). I put a block on both fees that I saw in my bank account yesterday from Expect and ****. They will not stop billing me and will not refund the money for October.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop billing me as I do not use their service and I returned the credit card terminal months ago. I want my refund of $74.17 for their unused business service fee and the $94.94 credit card terminal lease fee for October from *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/23) */ In response to the complaint from *** ********, I believe that some of his facts are incorrect and I would like to go on record with the correct information. The per month fee for the equipment is $89 in this case, not $99+ as he stated and the initial promise was that we would save money with that fee included. We do let our new merchants know that we can help them with the break-up from their old company by writing their letter for them, ultimately they still have to sign it and send it away, we do not do every aspect of the break-up and we clearly outline that to our merchants. The miscellaneous fees he is speaking of were not mistakes on the part of US Bank, those were PCI charges and as an "expert" in the field, I can verify that most all processors have them if there are any PCI issues. ** **** did not make a mistake in charging those, they told him they would fix the problem after he notified them that he would be switching. Part of our service and guarantee is that if there is an issue, we have to have a chance to fix it, in this case, Mr. ******** did no such thing. We talked to him on numerous occasion and he was never willing to work with us in any capacity. At this point, we have no intention of refunding any money as we were not give a chance to correct any potential issue if there is indeed one. We are very fair in our promise of savings with our merchants, however, they need to live up to their end of the deal, in this case, *** ******** signed up with us, then called the bank, they panic-sold him in an attempt to keep him, and now he thinks he can just back out of the legally-binding agreement we have, that is not how it works nor is that what we plan to do until such a time as we are given a chance to correct any potential issues. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I was first approached by the company(Expect), the salesman said that I would save money and the company would disconnect me from my prior service. I did not know at that time that only I could accomplish this. I was not made aware of that fact until I contacted my old *********** ****** The reason I called them was to clarify why I had been charged a basic fee for a month I had not used them. Secondly it was to clarify what some miscellaneous fees were. The answer to the basic charge was that I had not stopped my service with them. That is how I found out that only I could do this, not another company as the salesman told me. The answer to the second question was that I had been non PCI compliant according to their records and was charged fees for that. When I provided records of the compliance they agreed to refund the money. My issue with Expect on this issue was that when I initially gave them a copy of my monthly charges, these miscellaneous fees were included and a so called "expert" would have noticed how high they were and questioned me about them. Instead he just figured my rate with them into his analysis and charged me more per month but "less" than I had been charged. When I questioned him about this he said to send him other merchant service bills that did not have them included. I did so immediately. It took over a weeks time, many phone calls and messages before anyone got back to me with the new fee schedule. I had also been talking to Expect about the inability of anyone telling me about how to disconnect my prior service. Truthfully, I have not had any problems ** **** even though they might be slightly higher in charges. After the initial month, many, many phone calls, mixed up charges, charges after I told them I wanted to stop using their service, continual billings from them and the terminal leasing company(that are both ongoing), I decided to keep service with US Bank. I did not go back to them because they fear sold me. It was my decision to go with a company that I could get answers from when I call and resolution immediately instead of calling, leaving messages with no return call, waiting a week or more for an answer, being told false information by a salesman then having it denied by another company representative. I have now decided to settle this matter in court as this company does not seem to want to stop my service, has still not returned the terminal machine that they received back from me months ago to the leasing company, continues to charge me basic fees while feigning following protocols. The leasing company continues to charge me because they say they have not received their terminal back from Expect. I should have never mailed it to them as they instructed as they are probably leasing it out to someone else or just keeping it hoping that I would continue to get charges for it. Why else would they not return it. Expect Payment solutions and I are not in any type of agreement as I was told also by the salesman that I could stop service anytime I wanted. If this has become a personal matter then that to will be dealt with in court. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/12/11) */ As I stated above, you are the only one who can let your previous provider know you are leaving as you are the signer, however, we do type up the letter and make it a very simplistic process. When we factor out our quotes, we do not add in miscellaneous fees so that would not have been included in the quote that was put together. If you did not have any problems with *** ***** why did you end up switching away from them in the first place, that does not make any sense. As I stated previously, our promise is the guarantee of savings and in order for us to live up to that, we have to be given the chance to prove it.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel as though the services/agreements I had originally been informed of have not been met. I have yet to have a side by side meeting with ******* wich she had promised to come in and show me a compairison of numbers I was supposed to be saving. Also, I have yet to recieve the 100 gift cards I was promised. I have attempted on quite a few occations to contact ****** by phone, and e-mail. I have not heard anything back from her. Furthermore, I have spoken with ***** and the owner in reguards to my concerns. I was informed that a check had been mailed out as a refund to all the fees that had been withdrawn from my account. I have yet to see this check. As of July, that I know of, my Bussiness number has been blocked from calling in to recieve assistance. I am in need of register tape, wich I understand they are supposed to supply,I haven't been able to get ahold of anyone. I have also had my co-worker attempt to contact them as well and still no reply. I have told them that they could contact my former processing company to find that I had never once called to complain.

Desired Settlement: What I would like to see happen is, for them to termintate my contract with no further fees and put me back to my former company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/16) */ I am very sorry that you feel that you have not received what was promised. I know that you have spoken to *** ****** ******* on numerous occasion and that he also informed you that ****** is no longer with the company and to call him with any issues you might have. The reason you have not received the gift cards is because you never sent us back the application we sent you in order for us to get them going. You state that you have tried on several occasions and again I know for a fact that on many occasion you have talked with *** ******* in regards to your account. We did state we would refund you money and we did indeed send you a check on May 31st for $186 which according to our bank has cleared. We have a full-time receptionist who handles our calls and we do not have the ability to put a "block" on any numbers and will gladly continue to field your calls. For register tape, all you need to do is call the office and we will send it out to you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No one has ever informed us that ****** is gone or that we needed to fill out a application for the gift card's. ****** had told us to email/call her with our gift card selection,wich we did. We never heard back from her. The check was to buy out a contract for a keypad that was never compatible with a previous terminal. As far a the blocked number goes, I have got that figured out, the problem was on my end with a long distance carrier. I am still very unhappy with the service provided. I would still like to have this contract terminated at no cost and returned to my former carrier, **** ***** You can call and verify that I have never once called to complain about the services I've recieved from them. I told *** ******* to do just that at one point in our conversation. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As Far as I am concerned, there has been absolutely no follow through with this company. I was NEVER informed of ******** termination, and she was our go between. We never received an application for gift cards., I was asked to call or e-mail our gift card selection, and I left ***** a voice mail. Not to mention, We never received our 6 month side by side comparison. (which we were told if we weren't happy, they would switch us back at no cost.) I even had my co-worker ****** try to resolve this issue before it came to this point. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2014/08/11) */ Given the amount of time and trouble that has been spent in trying to accommodate all of your calls, I cannot terminate this contract as we are far to invested financially. We have tried to get you the gift cards, you have spent the majority of your time talking with ****** *******, not ***** who does not work here anymore and you were notified. We do ask people to go to the website and choose their design, would you have preferred we choose for you, that makes no sense. I cannot agree to what you are asking given the time invested.

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted personally in my business by ******* ****** Account Executive from Expect Payment solutions.I was given a rate quote dated 3/6/2014 that stated the rate plus a Monthly service fee for $100.00 to process my credit cards. I informed ******* that I was going to contact my current credit card processor before I changed over.******* said that was fine and if I ever received a better rate, his contract was none binding.He was in town for a short time and indicated I needed to sign up before he left town. ******* also said he was going to do me a special service and give me a credit card processing machine. I didn't have a problem with that. My current credit card processor lowered their rates below what Expect quoted. With what ******* told me that voided their contract. That's not the complete truth now according to Expect. Now I must give them a credit card processing report and prove what I said and they must have the opportunity to give me a better rate or I must pay a $495.00 cancellation fee plus $50.95. ******* left that out. ******* also didn't mention a 48 month lease at $100.00 a month from ***** **** ****** ******** ( Apparently in the fine print on page 2.) I must only assume that its for the credit card machine that he mentioned before. Because I was never told anything about a lease on a piece of equipment I will never use.I sent it back unused. My business operates on a proprietary card system that will never work with that machine. I have 4 POS and 4 automated tellers that process my credit cards.This is only the tip of the iceberg in all their deceit.I feel I have been completely defrauded and lied to.I will never do business with a company like Expect Payment solutions.They use predatory business practices.I went online and checked out the comments about expect and I'm clearly not the only person they have done this to. I should have gone on line and checked them out first.

Desired Settlement: Expect Payment Solutions to void their contract and the 48 mth lease with ************************* at no charge. Also I want to expose Expect Payment Solutions predatory and deceitful business practices, so no one else will go thru what I have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/01) */ The date that *** ****** entered into the agreement with EPS was March 20, 2014. At no time did *** ****** tell him that better rates voids our contract, that is not how our program works. If you are quoted better rates, we are to be given a chance to match or beat them, that is how our agreements work. Additionally, the "fine print" that *** ****** references is listed in the middle of the page on the agreement in the same size font as the rest of the agreement. There is also a page that has to be signed and initialed 6 times by the merchant in order for us to proceed. After getting *** ****** approved, out technical department attempted on numerous occasion to get in touch with him to get him set up. They never received a call back from him. Much time and effort went into getting him set up, including the phone calls to the POS company to verify that we could indeed work with his system and we were going to pay the expense of transferring everything over. There would have been no additional fees to *** ****** for this agreement. I feel it is ironic that *** ****** calls us "deceitful" in our practices and "predatory" when he is the one using bad business practices. If you do not want to switch, don't sign agreements, wait over 2 months, then decide you don't want to go with that company without ever answering calls, returning calls, or letting them spend numerous hours working on account set ups. I hope other businesses are able to read this and will avoid entering into agreements with companies such as ******* who feel they can sign agreements and then pick and choose which of those agreements they want to honor. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******* ****** did say that a better rate would void the contract and he didn't say anything about having to give them a chance to give a better rate. I have a witness to that statement. Also, I did tell ******* I was going into spring break and there was no way I was going to change over at that time. I told him it would have to wait until after spring break and that is the reason for the delay. Expect payment solutions tech left a message for me to call him. So I called him back and He said they wanted to change my P.O.S. and tellers over to Expect Payment solutions. I told him that I was staying with my current credit card processor and this was the first time I had heard from them. He said they had already paid a fee to my proprietary card system company for the change over to use my current P.O.S. and tellers to process credit cards. I said you should have called me first. So in response to "they could work with my current system". Not using the credit card machine with the 48 month lease at $100.00 month that is completely useless to me that ******* never mentioned and I said was on the second page quoting what Expect Payment solutions representative said on the phone. I have no way to know because I didn't get a copy of the contract.The first sign of trouble.I also talked with ***** **** ****** ******* and they said they would send me a copy of the lease and I have not seen it yet.Also Both companies tried to take $400.00 the first month before they started processing out of my checking account.They said it would only be $100.00 a month total. Where is the honor in that! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm glad this is open for all to read.Every time we have any contact you change the story. I received your letter from your attorney: ******* ***** & ********** **** ***** ***** Attorney. X-XXX-XXX-XXXX about giving me 5 days to pay up $4387.28. Where did that amount come from Page 3 in the contract? I have all the rest of your threatening letters. Including going to the BBB and attorney general about my so called bad business practices. You do seem to know a lot about bad business. I have had 2 different Credit Card processors in 22yrs of doing business in my current location and they never had anything like this as part of any contract. This is like doing business with some email scam out of a 3rd world country. WARNING: TO ALL STAY FAR FAR AWAY FROM EXPECT PAYMENT SOLUTIONS! Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/07/18) */ As I stated before, people need to watch out and steer clear of people such as yourself who like to pick and choose which contracts they want to honor and which ones they don't. The concept of an agreement is to follow through when you sign up, hopefully people see this and proceed with caution.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales person came in our store persuaded us to change merchant companys. She promised us we could change back at any time if dissatisfied. We had the serve for one day, the first time we settled the batch their system credited all the customer purchases back to them. They said they didn't know what happened and gave us all customer cc #'s and told us to key in manually. We felt this was unethical but we are a small business and needed our sales for the day. This nightmare began on March 27, 2014 we a still waiting for the fee's they charged us.The amount they have promised us they will send is only $ 59.17 but they continue to bill us for monthly charges and we are concerned this will go to collection. The amount they say we owe is now $113.90.

Desired Settlement: They have promised to e-mail us a close of our agreement and contract repeatedly. ****** the sales person just keeps telling us it's handled. We want closure of any further contact with this company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/16) */ **** *****, ***** **** ******** ******** keeps notes on all transactions and issues as they arise, here is what we have for them: On April 30, 2014, transactions were run, at some point instead of batching out to receive funds, the transactions were reversed. Our office was called on May 5, 2014 and the information to key in the reversed cards were sent to you the same day as we were contacted. Because you did not process in April, we submitted for a refund of $59.17 for you, which is not given by us but rather by ***** The fees you were charged for the month of May were only for cards that were run, however, the fees could not be collected and the refund could not be processed because you put a block on the account. Regardless of what happened above, our goal is to make people happy, therefore, I am going to write you a check for the amount owed to you and submit to **** to waive the fees owed, Expect Payment Solutions will eat that fee. I do believe moving forward that your account has been closed and there should be no further issues. Please let me know if this works for you and I will put the plan into action. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unfortunately we have been repeatly promised the refund will be issued and a written statement of closure on our account will be sent. Expect has no credability with us. We used their system for one day. We want nothing more then for this situation to be resolved. We will accept the response when we receive the check and the written statement of closure. Thank you *** & ******* ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/18) */ You will get a check, however, I would again like to clarify that the block you put on your account is what stopped the refund from hitting your account in the first place. You called us with a problem, we assisted you and fixed it the same day.

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was an independent contractor leasing office hours at ***** ************ **** ** ******** ***** **** Portland, OR 97201) until final date of service in that office on June 29, 2012. While working in that office I paid $10 a month to Expect Payment Solutions to be added on for use of ***** *************** Credit Card Processing Machine. Upon leaving ***** ************ I made several attempts to contact the credit processing company to remove my bank account information from the system. I have left several messages with no return of my call. This company apparently uses another company to actually transfer funds from sales and withdraw any fees due each month. I was able to contact this company to which I am also filing a complaint, Discount Payment Processing, and was told that I had signed a 3 year contract. This is false, there is no term length in any part of the contract that I signed. The 3 year agreement was between ***** ************ and Expect Payment Solutions only with myself listed as an employee. I have stopped withdrawls from my account as of 8/5/13 and am pursuing a complete refund of the $10 monthly payment withdrawn without my authorization between July 2012-July 2013 totalling $120

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of all unauthorized withdrawals from my account totaling $249 between the dates of June 30, 2012 - September 15, 2013, plus an additional $249 for inconveniences.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/18) */ Can you please provided supporting documentation for what you are stating, if you do indeed have it and it is accurate, I have no problem refunding the money you feel you are owed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 29, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) These attachments are not opening. EMAIL THE CANCELLATION FORM TO ME AS I HAVE REQUESTED!!! THIS IS THE THIRD REQUEST FOR YOU TO SUBMIT THE FORM TO ME VIA EMAIL. This is clearly a recurring problem for you to comply to customer requests. It is no wonder, I have had to deal with this for over a year. You make it EXTREMELY difficult to communicate with your company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 34, 2013/11/19) */ Please provide me with your most current email address since clicking on an attachment is proving to be to difficult.

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ****** was the salesman that got us setup with thir credit card processing service. they guaranteed to save us money etc. not only did it not save us money but created other issues. we didn't ever use the card machine, everything was completed via 3rd party program on the computer. We asked them to take the equipment back we didn't want it, they assured us they would hold on to it until end of lease. End of the lease I talked to **** directly and he told me they would send back the equipment to the company and that would end our 4 year contract. that was in Nov 2013. Here it is 4-17-14 and we are still being charged the money monthly because the equipment wasn't returned. now when I called him today he told me they were waiting for equipment to send back, and now they have it and would be returned in a couple days. I am very unhappy and has cost our company a lot of money they they say they cant reimburse. all I want is them to cover the charges from Jan till the equipment is returned, ill eat the dec payment. BEWARE anyone who wants to use EXPECT PAYMENT SOLUTIONS get everything in writing or they flat out LIE to your face.

Desired Settlement: Id like them to cover the following Jan 2014 - 155.00 charge Feb 2014 - 155.00 charge march 2014 - 155.00 charge April 2014 - 155.00 charge Total 620.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ *****, We did not hold onto equipment for you as that would be against the policy set forth by ********** **************. My guess is it got misplaced somewhere and now you are looking to blame others for your lack of responsibility in handling items at your own business. At this point, there will be no refunds issued from Expect Payment Solutions. Ironically, if you had not chosen a public forum to deal with this issue and make comments as you did in closing, we may out of good faith done something to help you out even though WE DID NOT LOSE THE EQUIPMENT THAT YOU SIGNED FOR AND IS CONTRACTUALLY IN YOUR NAME AND SOMEWHERE AT YOUR LOCATION. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I NEVER used the equipment and **** told me they would store this at their office till lease end. Just goes to show how these people try to back out of everything they promise. And i made this complaint BECAUSE they told me they would do nothing to cover my costs on the expenses we got because of the sales rep NOT following up with what he promised the 1st time in sending the equipment back. And his response was we may have givin out the equipment to another company but i will get some equipment returned so your covered. Protect yourself and make sure you get EVERYTHING in writing, I hope this doesnt happen to another small business and its a hard hit for us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/05/20) */ We will be closing the account and sending a check in the amount of $300. EPS will make sure that the lease is closed out. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They will never accept that they made a mistake!! And will always point the finger at someone else. All I can say is BEWARE of this company or you get the SHAFT!

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When this company first came to my office to discuss their services I spoke at length with the sales representative, whom I asked several times if there were any monthly fees associated with their services, and was assured several times that there were not. This was in January of 2014. I finally received my card swipers in March and proceeded to call the gentlemen who was supposed to help me set them up. We completed the first part of the set up, installing the card swiper app on my phone and then he had me run a dummy transaction for .20 that came from my account and was deposited back into my acct. He then had me log online to sign my merchant agreement. In looking over it I discovered that they were planning to charge me $11/mo in fees. I told him I was told there were no fees associated and that I would not sign the agreement. He said that was okay, to close the browser and he would have someone call me. I did so WITHOUT agreeing to anything. No one ever called. I got an email at the beginning of April informing me of the money debited from my account. I was debited $11 in fees and then $2.26 for the dummy transaction I was instructed to make for .20! I called them, spoke with a manager, who told me there was nothing he could do, they would not refund my money, despite their hold advertisement that stated if I was unsatisfied they would return me to my previous card processor AT NOT CHARGE, and when I asked to speak to his supervisor he told me it was the owner of the company who I could leave a message for but that he was not often in the office and it was his prerogative whether he would call me back. It was unbelievable the poor customer service I received from them, and would NEVER recommend anyone work with them. They will just lie to you and then cheat you out of money.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a refund of the $11 monthly fee as well as the $2.26 I was charged for doing a test transaction for .20 that came from and was returned to my own checking account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ In reference to the complaint from Mrs. ******, as the one who handles the refunds, I can say that I received no message from her. Had I received a message, I gladly would have refunded $13.26 as it would not be worth the hassle that is happening right now.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This credit card merchant informed us that there was a year contract if we chose to switch to their company. We told the representative that we would not switch to their company unless we would be on a month to month contract, that way if we were unsatisfied with their services we could stop using them. The representative told us that he would have to get special approval to do a contract like this, but they have done it for other government entities in the past. The representative came back and told us that he got the approval, and the documents for us to sign to switch to their company would put us on a month to month contract. After a couple of months, their prices were much higher than they originally quoted so we stopped using their services and switched back to our old merchant services provider. They charged us $495 for an early contract termination fee, at which time we found out the contract we signed was not for month to month as we were told, but instead a 48 month contract! We are appalled that they would trick us like this and they refuse to reverse the charge. They also never deposited the funds from our final transaction in the amount of $71.25, which they claim they did

Desired Settlement: A reversal of the $495 early termination fee since we were told the documents we were singing would put us on a month to month contract.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/24) */ This company claims they will refund the money to our account for the $495 early termination fee, the $42.95 statement fee, and the $71.25 for the transaction that was not posted to our account due to a miscommunication between parties. We are now satisfied with the results of this claim.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for Expect Payment Solutions for credit and debit card processing and they took my terminal to program it. When they returned it they switched my Debit pin pad with one that is not compatible with my terminal. I cancelled my service because the rates I was charged were MUCH higher than advertised and I sent them an official letter closing my account with them. They proceeded to bill me 50.95 for a min monthly fee, statement fee, reg product fee, debit access fee.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund and an apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/26) */ We never took the terminal, we took his pin pad to encrypt it with our information, standard procedure for the industry. We returned him a pad that worked with our programming, if he switched, then it may not work with who he switched to, I don't know who it was or who their encryption is. Secondly, our guarantee promises savings but we do have to be given a chance to make adjustments when necessary, this did not happen. Based on when we received the closure request and the above information, there will be no refund or apology, best of luck. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 52, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the effective date of the cancellation form is June. Final Business Response /* (4000, 50, 2013/12/03) */ I believe that I did provide a copy of the contract? If not, I can certainly get one. It seems that at this point it is what they are saying was agreed to versus what I have in writing. In an effort to be fair to all of our merchants, we act on what we have in writing, which is why our applications state that no verbal agreement shall outweigh what is stated in writing in our contract. In this case, I am following the written guideline which states a specific cancellation date on the letter, up to this point, monthly minimum charges were incurred as stated in the contract. I may be willing to give a partial refund as this is taking up more time than what I wanted but in no way, shape, or form will we admit to any wrong-doing on our part for following our own rules and the customer's following those rules listed in the contract. Here is a copy of the contract he signed and the cancellation form we received. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a sales rep visit us to talk about Expect and their processing fees for credit cards. We met with ***** and said we would switch companies IF they could get a line of credit approved for us. He was not successful. A second sales Rep ***** came and told us they would be able to get the line of credit and asked us if we would switch. We told her ONLY if we got the line of credit. She said no problem. She moved forward with the switching even when we could not get approved for the credit. We had several phone conversations and email conversations saying we did not want to move forward. We received numerous monthly charges for services we never used. They finally canceled our contract and charged us an Early Termination Fee of $495. We want that money back.

Desired Settlement: $495 for early termination fee!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/25) */ I believe that this is not an accurate description of exactly what happened. Did you not state at one point to move forward and we would revisit the cash advance at a later date? Did we have a chance to set you up and show you the savings promised and why could we not get you approved for the cash advance and could you have let us know about any potential "issues" you had before hand? Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 40, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) A check dated 10/22 was mailed on 10/25 and received on 10/26 in the amount of $247.50. I will consider this case closed. Final Business Response /* (1000, 38, 2013/10/23) */ Check is in the mail

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the credit card service was presented to me they told me that I needed to use their credit card terminal even though I had the exact same one. I was told that they had you use theirs for servicing purposes and to get the best credit card fee rates. I was not told there was an $80.00 per month fee for 48 months during the presentation. When the sales representative came with my contract to sign he did not mention there was a monthly $80.00 charge( It was on the contract, but not mentioned). I have tried to resolve this to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I would like the contract canceled and the lease on the terminal terminated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ I have copies of the original contract that was signed that proves our point, however, due to the sensitive nature, I do not want to attach it for public record. How can I get it to you to prove our side without sensitive information being handed out? Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The salesperson did not disclose the charge for the machine. I agree that I signed the contract, but the charge was not disclosed (the salesperson I feel put it into the contract) and he was quick to have me sign in a few places, but he did not disclose charges. I have communicated with ***** ****** at Expect Payment solutions. I will copy the string of e-mails on our communication. He said that he wanted me to try their service for 30 days and if they were not cheaper he would cancel my contract. I tried them for over 20 days and they were more expensive. When I tried to have him cancel the contract he refused. The following is a trail of our e-mails: ***** *****, What do you expect our competitors will say, that you should stay with us and they cannot help you? I am afraid it is not that easy. The review is to be done by an Expect Payment Solutions employee, not an outside party attempting to secure your business from us. Nothing was misrepresented on our part, nor did you follow through with your end of the deal based on the paperwork that clearly lays out the parameters. Should we have any issues collecting the money rightfully owed to us, we will pursue collections and/or legal remedy as you have not given EPS the proper means and time frame to fulfill the agreement. Sent from my iPad On Aug 7, 2013, at 5:32 PM, **** ***** <*******@aol.com> wrote: *** ******: I am responding to your e-mail dated July 15, 2013. I must disagree with *** ******** recollection of the facts. He went over the equipment portion, but he did not go into the details of the cost. I have used your service from June 6, 2013 to June 27, 2013, and while not a full 30 days, I feel this is a fair representation. I had the other company review your statement and the following is what I received in an e-mail: ******* Expect has you priced at 0.15% and 9 cents a transaction and we are at 0.0% and 3 cents per transaction over the cost of interchange which is the same for both of us. Plus their monthly fees are $32.55 and we are $0. So they are definitely not cheaper at all. Plus the cost of equipment................ They cost you an additional $150 for that month plus equipment". Since you stated earlier that, if your company's service was not resulting in a cost savings for me, you would terminate the agreement. Not only is there no savings here, your company is actually charging me much more than the service I had previously. We have not used your service since June 27, 2013. I am instructing my bank to reverse any charges paid to Expect Payment Solutions due to the reasons stated above, and also due to *** ******** misrepresentations. I will be returning your terminal to you within the next 5 business days. Thank you in advance for terminating our relationship at this time. Sincerely, **** ***** -----Original Message----- From: *****.****** <************@expectps.com> To: **** ***** <*******@aol.com> Sent: Mon, Jul 15, XXXX X:XX pm Subject: RE: *** *****, According to *** ****** he did go over the equipment portion of the transaction with you. Part of the program is the new equipment regardless of what you had before, it is all wrapped up into one with the guarantee of savings. There is no need to arbitrate such a deal. Finding an effective rate for someone who is processing is very simple to do, by dividing what is paid by what is processed you reach a number. When we do this, we do add into the equation the equipment payment. This is why we request 30 days for the processing, the effective rate is something that you could do yourself. At that point, if we need to adjust, we do, however, it is rare that any adjustments ever need to be made on our end. There is so much more to the Ripoff Report you are speaking of, however, out of professionalism I will not discuss it with others. I can tell you that the person who wrote that has blatantly lied and the other reason I will not speak of it is because I cannot based on the legal proceeding we are pursuing with them. In the case of the April 30, 2013 complaint, the amount that was owed to her as a refund is the same amount she owes to us for paying off her previous processor, one of the services we offer and follow through with. Please remember there are two sides to every story but I will not get involved in "mudslinging" as I don't feel it will get us anywhere. We have over 2,000 merchants in the greater Portland area and have had 14 complaints, we are not perfect but do stand behind our product. At this point, I cannot just cancel the transaction based on the time and effort that has gone into getting everything set up. Can we not work out the ability to get you set up for 30 days? If we do not show you the savings, I will let you out of the obligations but cannot do so without showing that every effort was made to make the transaction work. ***** ****** Chief Financial Officer / Chief Operating Officer Expect Payment Solutions, LLC P: (XXX) XXX-XXXX F: (XXX) XXX-XXXX -------- Original Message -------- Subject: From: **** ***** <*******@aol.com> Date: Sun, July 07, 2013 7:58 pm To: ************@expectps.com Dear *** ******, Thank you for responding to my letter dated June 17, 2013. Unfortunately, I have lost confidence in your business due to the fact that **** ***** did not disclose the rental fee of $80.00 per month for a unit I already own. Therefore, the best solution I feel is to terminate the agreement immediately. I understand that your company would like to show me that I am saving money over and above what my current payment processor is charging, and you would like 30 days to collect data to substantiate this. My main concern is that if I agreed to this, who would arbitrate this? Who would decide I have a savings? If a savings could not be substantiated, could I then cancel the contract after 30 days? What guarantees do I have that this would actually happen? I am also concerned about the Internet postings on the Ripoff Report regarding others in my similar situation. One person states it was recommended by **** ***** that he use your machine for PCI compliance. It was important to this person that he have a PECAA partner vendor, which **** ***** advised that your company was. This was later found to be untrue, and now all the writer is receiving is the runaround from your company. This is per the complaint posted May 22, 2013. Another posting dated April 30, 2013 states the writer's company was overcharged vs. what your company's contract stated. Your company agreed to refund this person, but he still has received no refund, just the runaround. What assurances do I have that his would not happen to me? Due to all of the above reasons, please cancel my contract immediately. Sincerely, **** ***** " I would like them to cancel the contract. If after the BBB has looked into this I plan to go to the State of Washington Attorney General's office and to hire an attorney. I do not want this to happen, but I need to protect myself from the deceptive sales practices they have. I see from your website that there have been complaints about deceptive sales practices. **** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/11) */ He processed with us for 21 days, that is not a full month and our guarantee states that we HAVE TO BE GIVEN A CHANCE TO FIX THE ISSUE, or in this case, the alleged issue as we cannot just take the merchants word for it. We have our reps come in and we do statement reviews, that is why we say 1 full month. The agreement was not followed in full by the merchant, however, he is expecting us to honor what he wants to "pick and chose" from the agreement as it fits him, that is not how it works. Our stance has not changed.

8/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our practice is a member of ***** - an organization that represents and supports private practice physicians. As a member we have access to Vendor Partners affiliated with and endorsed by *****. We had recently been introduced to a few new Partner Vendors, including a merchant processing company. We make every effort to support *****, and with our current contract coming to an end, we wanted to move ahead with a change in merchant service providers. I received a phone call to schedule an appointment with a new merchant service provider shortly after our decision to go ahead with the new ***** Partnered Vendor. I thought it was in response to our interest in the ***** vendor. I scheduled the appointment and moved forward. During our first and second meetings both I and the doctor mentioned his "***** Affiliation" and our desire in supporting them. At no time did the sales person query about or disclose that he wasn't who we thought he was. There were a number of opportunities to do so. With our trust in his hands ... He miss-lead us to believe our current machine was going to be non-PCI compliant as it's software? wasn't keeping up with the continual updates of compliance requirements. Falsely advised IP/Ethernet connection more secure than phone line connection. Promised security services would be included in the "All inclusive HO package" to ensure we are protected. I was informed pin pads were required in order that a patron could use debit (for the keypad), and that they would provide additional security. Promised grand savings and told me when I ASKED DIRECTLY about additional charges or hidden fees outside of what he proposed on his "Merchant Analysis" sheet that there were none - what I saw was all we would be paying. Confident in *****'s endorsement we trustingly signed a contract with them. A few days later we realized our error. We called them first thing the following morning to cancel our contract with them. We had numerous discussions over the phone, and made it explicitly clear we wanted to CANCEL the contract until we look into it further. During this time we were also preparing for a personal trip to Mexico - our first big trip together as a couple - ever! And we've been married almost 8 years. Days after we returned from Mexico I opened a package that revealed the equipment and Lease information. it was a shock to learn that we were locked into a $10K "non-cancelable" lease for equipment valued @ $1.5K brand new. When we queried them on it, they advised that the lease includes or bundles the security services into the lease so we could take advantage of the new small business tax deduction from Section 179 for the purchase of equipment. At this point red flags were flying about in my conscience - I began looking into their claims/promises: I contacted the lease company: only the serial numbers for of the two machines we received, and two pin pads were the subject of the lease. She very confidently advised that there was nothing more, no services. I called the security company ***************: they couldn't locate any client of theirs with EPS name, or any client of theirs that had an affiliation with that name. I asked to estimate what fees they would charge a company such as ours based on a few parameters of our small business, the type of connection we use on our machines and our CC usage/storage policy. The cost for security was ball-parked at approximately $100/YEAR. He also he advised IP/Ethernet was a higher risk and much more easily used fraudulently - Phone lines can not be hacked into. The security service for IP/Ethernet was more expensive. I reviewed online reviews - not very promising. The first time I looked at their BBB rating it was A- .. It is now B+. Not a good trend. Calculating a 48 month lease @ 200/mo is significantly different than Security @ 100/year + Equipment @ 1,500 divided into 48 months = 40/month. That's a 500% profit. On April 1st we received a letter address to "Dear Valued Merchant" - we are now being billed an annual $199 Compliance Service Fee. Throughout this unpleasant awakening I had made a number of attempts to give them opportunity to explain exactly what we were paying for. I got fish-danced around with reflective questions that didn't answer the questions I was asking. I feel we have been seriously mislead, misrepresented and violated. Please look into this.

Desired Settlement: A non-monetary release from all contracts & agreements entered into, either directly to them, or to a third party.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/21) */ I will attempt to tackle this point-by-point as there are man discrepancies from our end with the information that is being relayed by **** ******. At no point and time did our sales rep identify himself or our company as a member of ****** In fact, business cards and flyers were given to both **** ****** and the doctor at the time of the visit that clearly stated who we are. An appointment was made through our marketing department who mentions nothing about affiliations in setting up appointments for our sales reps. Our practices do not involve using "scare tactics" to engineer the sale, we don't have to with our programs. It was never stated that the machine was "going to be non-PCI compliant". IP/Ethernet was brought up based on the number of transactions that they run, that it would be more efficient as it is faster than dial-up. **** ****** also stated they would like to have IP/Ethernet because they were already wired up for it. Our merchant analysis form does include the fees that are to be paid, obviously it is a bit of an estimate to an extent because no business runs the exact same cards for the exact same amount every month so there is some allowance for that. However, we give very good estimates based on the information provided to us by the merchant when we fill out our merchant questionnaire regarding their business. We never received a call to "cancel" the contract, just to put it on hold. As for contacting the leasing company, that is all they handle is the pure leasing, the services provided are taken care of at a local level by Expect Payment Solutions. Her calls to *************** could have easily been fielded by us had she called and given us a chance to explain it properly to her as the fee stated is incorrect. As for the reviews on-line, I was specifically told our rating had dropped because of the size of our business, we have answered every complaint that has come in and tackle all of our issues head-on, we do not "fish dance" around any of the issues. Nobody was mislead,misrepresented, or violated here except for us by **** ****** not living up to what she agreed to do. If she was so much against us, why did they agree to and set up a time to have our installation tech come out and set up the equipment AFTER she states they were gone and they tried to cancel everything? What she did is send numerous emails that did not pertain to the deal in an effort to try and get us to try and breakdown every dollar involved in the deal which is not possible given the variables of card types, transaction types, amounts, etc... She has wasted the time of many of my employees in bouncing back-and-forth with the "yes let's move forward" followed by an email stating "I don't know". Many man-hours have been spend because she cannot make up her mind and did not give any consideration to the the bottom line which is that our service will save you money, if not, we will let you out with no obligation, we stand behind the fact that we save people money but need to be given the opportunity to do so, that does not equate to one day, or one week, that means one full month of processing to get a fair comparison or rates and program. I still stand behind that and am willing to give them a full month to see exactly where the numbers fall, anything beyond that will not be accepted as we did nothing wrong in this case and have spend to much time on it to just walk away because **** ****** wants to cry foul. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Will forward via email to **********@thebbb.org Final Business Response /* (1000, 23, 2013/08/08) */ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

8/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was signed up for merchant services with *** ******* ******* with Expect Payment Solutions. I told *** ******* that I did want/need any new merchant equipment as I already have my own. I was told by *** ******* that there were NO charges for the merchant agreement. Later through billing, I found out that there was a monthly charge for the merchant equipment. Tried disputing, but I was still sent to collections.

Desired Settlement: I wish to discontinue the services and contractual agreement with Expect Payment Solutions and ***** ******************* due to breach of contract and fraud.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ We have a signed agreement with you in which you signed up for the equipment and it was presented to you properly. I have 7 signatures and 4 initials from you on the contract both accepting and agreeing to the equipment and the processing fees as well. You were sent to collections because you elected to disregard the fact that you had a contractual obligation with Expect Payment Solutions. We will continue to pursue this until such a time as you are willing to live up to your obligation based on the contract.

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service