This business is not BBB accredited.

Longview Sewing & Kitchen

Phone: (360) 578-2628 Fax: (360) 423-2648 1113 Vandercook Way, Longview, WA 98632

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Longview Sewing & Kitchen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Longview Sewing & Kitchen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Business Management
Mr. Brad Park, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Park, Owner
Business Category

Craft Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Longview Sewing & Fabric

Additional Locations


    1113 Vandercook Way

    Longview, WA 98632 (360) 578-2628


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my Brother PR650 multi-needle embroidery machine serviced prior to taking it to Longview Sewing Superstore to have it calibrated. (I knocked it out of calibration which is easy to do) When I picked up my machine **** the owner of the store claimed to have had to re-build the number one tension. I did not authorize him to do that. When I got my machine home it was not calibrated. I called to complain. He told me he did calibrate it. He informed me he had been in the business for 25 years and he knew what he was doing. He proceeded to tell me the computers 2nd motherboard might not be holding the calibration and may have to be replaced. I went on line downloaded instructions and calibrated my machine myself and it has held the calibration perfect through multiple designs. **** the owner of Longview Sewing made no attempt to explain why he rebuilt the number one tension that was working perfect when I brought it into his store. I paid him over 200.00 for a service he did not do. I also did not give him permission to do anything except calibrate it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would accept a re-fund for the service he DID NOT DO!. I would also accept a believable explanation. I did file a complaint with the *************** in which **** is a dealer

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, CEO Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** ***** is incorrect in what she is stating. She brought in two machines. I charged her for one machine but not the other. She brought in a needle threader part that she did no buy from me but bought online. It is funny how a service department is there when you need it but not when you need parts because you might save a buck or two. I sell these machines but neither machine was purchased from me. I did indeed fix the number 1 tension unit but this in now way cost her any money. She was given a repair estimate and paid no more than the estimate. As far as the calibration goes...I did calibrate the machine. The test sew showed perfect stitching and it matched to the grid before it left the store. If she did something after that then I can't be held accountable. I offered to come to her place and calibrate the machine as it sits so there was no moving involved but that was not good enough. Instead she files a complaint. I said I had been in business for 23 years not 25. This just seems like a person who likes to try and get something for nothing. I wonder how many complaints she files? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me say this is the first complaint I have ever filed in my life. I did bring in two machines. I did buy my needle threader on line thinking I could do it myself. I also told **** that. He charged me $45.00 to install it. I have the receipt stating that charge. I also have no complaint about that. I was never given an estimate. It was only a verbal conversation in his store. The only problem with my second machine was the calibration and yes that was my fault. This machine was just serviced at ******* ****** prior to me knocking it out of calibration. I have the perfect stitch out proving the tensions were all perfect on all six needles plus the service record prior to taking it in to Longview Sewing to have it re-calibrated. **** did not offer to come to my house. He offered to tell me how to do it over the phone. I told him I had gone online, downloaded the instructions and my friend and I did it ourselves. (It was sew simple) I never expect anything for nothing but I do expect the service I pay for. **** also did not mention his statement on the two mother boards and possibly my machine was not holding the calibration and that the secondary computer may need replacing. (I will check this statement out when I meet with **** from ******* ******** What difference does it make where I buy my machines from??? As a business owner myself I am shocked at his bizarre response and assumptions. In conclusions I paid **** $199.00 plus tax to calibrate my machine which he did not do. I will also make a note that he told me 23 years not 25. Sorry ****. My mistake! As far as getting a re-fund I would have been happier with an honest response which I did not get. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/07/07) */ You did get an honest response. I am shocked to think that the machine was serviced elsewhere with no use prior to me servicing it. When I took the covers off There was nothing but built up lint on the back shafts. It is tragic to think that someone serviced the machine prior to me yet left all the lint there. As far as the tension unit goes it was wrong. I have a great reputation in this town and do my business honestly. If you saw how you had to stand on your head to replace a needle threader you would understand the charge. I am guessing you understand that since you could not do it yourself. Again you went online to buy the part when you could have easily called ******* or myself and ordered it from us. What difference does it make where I buy my machines from? Honestly do you think everyone just puts all the money in a big pot then divides it up? Would you embroider product for free if someone brought you the shirts and the design and the thread? If so I will pass that along. I will stand that I did calibrate the machine. It stitched dead center as it was supposed to. What happened after it left my location I can't say. Please don't call me a liar. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I in no way called **** a liar! **** stated he charged me for one machine. The other machine he did at no cost. (I charged her for one machine but not the other) I stated I had a receipt with a charge of 45.00 for one machine and 199.00 for the other. Again let me make myself clear. I had no problem with paying **** for the service he did on replacing the needle threader. I am so sorry he had to stand on his head to do it. **** stated he wrote me an estimate. (She was given a repair estimate and paid no more than the estimate) It was a verbal conversation in his store. **** stated he offered to come to my place. (I offered to come to her place and calibrate the machine) **** offered to tell me how to calibrate it myself over the phone. **** stated "I did indeed fix the number 1 tension unit but this in no way cost her any money." If I understand this statement correctly, ****'s service charge of 199.00 was for the calibration only. I did not receive a stitch out sample to confirm ***** claim of a perfect stitch out. I did receive a beautiful stitch out from ******* when my machine left their shop. I will pass ***** finding of lint build up on the shafts of the machine to **** ******* owner of ******* ******* Last but not least **** is claiming to have a good reputation in this town. ***** his brother has the great reputation. In conclusion I know my 4 Brother and 3 baby lock machines will continue to be serviced at ******* ******* ***** responses to my complaint are truly getting too bizarre.