This business is not BBB accredited.

Georgie's Ceramics & Clay Company Inc

Phone: (503) 283-1353 Fax: (503) 283-1387 View Additional Phone Numbers 756 NE Lombard St, Portland, OR 97211 http://www.georgies.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers art supplies and clay manufacturing.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Georgie's Ceramics & Clay Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Georgie's Ceramics & Clay Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1965 Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 10/16/1983 in OR
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Mazer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Mazer, President
Business Category

Craft Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Georgie's Ceramic & Clay Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    756 NE Lombard St

    Portland, OR 97211 (503) 283-1353 (800) 999-2529

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been purchasing pottery supplies from Georgie's for a few years now. I purchased a 50 lb bag of Gertsley Borate, several 50 lb bag of dry cone 6 clay and a 50 lb bag of dry glaze mix and a gallon of sodium silicate. The bags were wrapped in black plastic garbage can liners and had no indication of what they were on the actual bags. In my work, I use the Georgie's dry cone 6 clay with the sodium silicate to create liquid casting slip that I pour into plaster molds to make forms that can be used such as vases, bowls and such. I opened the bags and compared the dry ingredients to what I had in my ceramic studio. I called Georgie's to try and trouble shoot what had happened over the phone. I used my receipts and the dates to try and determine which bags were which. I had several pending orders to fill on my **** store and had limited time to have my husband's help to lift the 50 lb bags . We accidentally added Gertsley borate to the casting slip since it was not properly labeled, it looked identical to the cone 6 clay when we opened the bags. We then called Georgie's to try and determine what fix could be made because the casting slip was a "fluffy" consistency instead of the usual consistency. I was told there was no way to fix what had happened, that I would have to discard all of it and start all over again. I asked if some of the materials could be replaced. I had purchased all of the items form Georgie's and it was an honest mistake. I would have never added the Gertsley Borate to the casting slip if it had been labeled properly. I was told by *** at Georgie's that it's my responsibility once the items have left the store and that they would not be replacing anything. After buying an unmarked bag of what I thought was casting slip and being told over the phone by *** it's my responsibility nothing will be replaced I was really frustrated. This unmarked bag has ruined 100 gallons of casting slip. Casting slip I purchase regularly in 50 lb bags as the cone 6 dry. So now I am out at least 6 bags of the cone 6 dry, a 50lb bag of Gertsley borate, and gallon of the sodium silicate. All I asked for was the dry cone 6 and the Gertsley borate to be replaced and I would GLADLY drive to Portland and show the bags to them. I also took pictures of the casting slip that was ruined. I felt that was a compromise and they would keep a customer. *** says it's my responsibility and I need to take ownership for the mistake. He said if I wanted to drive to Portland he would give me some plastic lined boxes so I could dispose of my costly mistake! That's not a solution to this problem. I am not going to drive to Portland from Salem to get boxes, that's ridiculous! This innocent mistake that could have been easily avoided if the company had properly labeled their bags of dry ingredients. I am out several hundred dollars of materials, orders I cannot fill, the cost of discarding the 100 gallons of wet casting slip that is ruined, plus the cost of replacing all these materials.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from ***. I would like an apology from the owners.I would like to have my raw materials compensated. I have had to re order all my replacement materials at an approximate cost of $431, plus the cost of disposal of the damaged items

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, owner Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ***@GEORGIES.COM Customer ***** **** purchased from Georgie's the following: 1/18/13 - 50# dry glaze 4/27/13 - 50# dry stoneware slip 5/6/13 - 50# dry stoneware slip 12/27/13 - 50# gerstley borate 1/29/14 - 50# dry slip 1/29/14 - 50# dry glaze Each 50# bag produces approximately 5 1/2 gallons of product. On January 31, 2014 ***** called Georgie's, calling to let us know that she received 2 50# bags & they were both "unmarked" and she couldn't identify what was in each bag. The owner of Georgie's apologized and offered to bring 2 replacements bags to her house on Saturday, February 1st, as she was driving by *****'s location that day. The owner proceded to speak to Georgie's customer service man that had loaded *****'s car and explained to him her problem. He stated that in order to pull the product from Georgie's stock, each bag has to have clear identification, otherwise, how would he be able to pull her product. He also explained that ***** had requested Georgie's to put each bag that she purchased in plastic bags, as she did not want the material to get her car dirty. He did as she asked. The owner called ***** back and left a message letting her know that the bags were clearly marked when they left Georgie's & where she would find that marking. ***** called back shortly thereafter & apologized profusely. She hadn't bothered to take the bags out of the black plastic bag that she had requested & she felt silly for the original call. She found the markings on each of the bags & they did not have to be replaced after all. ***** called our store again on February 4, 2014 and explained to *** that her husband had mixed her stoneware slip for her and didn't know what "that" bag was, but turned out her husband chose to add the gerstley borate (this bag is clearly marked on the end of the bag, just as the previous two were) into the slip mix. She admitted this to ***. It did ruin her slip. Again, a 50# bag makes about 5 1/2 gallons of liquid slip (not 100 gallons). After admitting to *** that her husband made a mistake, added ingredients from a bag that he wasn't sure was correct, but what harm could it do, she asked *** for Georgie's to replace her product, admittedly ruined by her husband. She claimed it ruined 100 gallons, however, a 50# bag makes only makes approximately 5 1/2 gallons. It wasn't Georgie's fault at all. We sold her the products, the products were clearly marked when they left Georgie's, the bags were placed in plastic garbage bags at her request, she admitted that she found the bags identification after she had called & said that she couldn't identify them, and she admitted that her husband made a mistake when mixing her slip. If it was in any way Georgie's error, a replacement would have been made, no charge, no questions asked. However, in this case, it was clearly the customer error. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would have never added the Gerstley Borate to the casting slip if it had been labeled properly. This unmarked bag has ruined approximately 100 gallons of casting slip. Casting slip I purchase regularly in 50 lb bags as the cone 6 dry. So now I am out at least 6 bags of the cone 6 dry, a 50lb bag of Gertsley borate, and gallon of the sodium silicate. Their response that the unmarked bag ruined 5 1/2 gallons proves the fact that they didn't bother to read the complaint properly. Again it ruined at least 6 bags of cone 6 dry clay. Georgies is also using another circumstance in their response and not the circumstance at hand. Clearly they do not want to accept responsibility for their mistake. Georgies is also claiming that I requested the bags of product to be placed in plastic garbage bags which I did not.I have been purchasing products from Georgies for at least 6 years now and they have NEVER put anything in garbage bags for me before. I didn't even know they would. The bag of Gerstley Borate is NOT clearly marked on the end of the bag. If it was I would not have a problem, *** is lying by stating that I admitted to him that it was. It took going through receipts to even figure out what was in the unmarked bag. At no time did I say the error was my mistake, at no time did I ask for any product to be placed into garbage bags, at no time did I admit my husband ruined the slip by adding the product in the unmarked bag. I have forwarded all of this information to my attorney. If Georgie's refuses to replace the products or compensate me for my loss I will pursue a more formal approach.