Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Tony's Enterprises

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 562-5068 Fax: (907) 562-5015 7239 O'Brien Street, Anchorage, AK 99507 http://www.tonysenterprises.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a contractor specializing in remodeling, lawn and landscape maintenance, handyman repairs, decks and snow removal.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony's Enterprises meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony's Enterprises include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tony's Enterprises
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 17, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated: 12/19/2000 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Lawrence, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Lawrence, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Demolition Contractors Gutter Cleaning Deck Builder Construction & Remodeling Services Handyman Services Fence Contractors Window Cleaning Hauling & Clean Up Services Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Roof Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Saturday
Closed Sunday

Alternate Business Names
Higher Powered Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tony's Enterprises has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7239 O'Brien Street

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 562-5068

  • PO Box 243431

    Anchorage, AK 99524

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Tony's Enterprises

For first time customers get two hours of labor for $99.

$51 Labor Savings, Special Does Not Include Materials.

We do it all from lawn care to handyman projects.

Call (907) 562-5068 for details or visit tonysenterprises.com.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Tony's Enterprises on 10/6 and hired them to mow my lawn and pick up leaves on 10/7 for a verbally agreed upon $55/hr, and that they would call me if for any reason they thought the work would take more than 3 hrs. They took down my information; including my phone number, address, credit card number and email. My card number, due to the fact that I would not be present for the work. When I arrived home later on 10/7 the work had been done satisfactorily and I was pleased until 10/9 when I received a pre-paid invoice for a different amount than agreed upon. Let me stress that I was not given any work papers or an invoice prior to the work being done or prior to the money being charged to my account, regardless of their knowledge of my email.The pre-paid invoice was for a total of $568.50, quoting 2.3 hours of work by three workers, using 52 bags to remove debris. This is absolutely ridiculous; as I agreed to pay by the hour, not the man hour and there was no discussion of bag fees. I hired the company because my grass had gotten long, to where I could not cut it easily with my push-mower (man-powered push mower, no engine) and most of the leaves had already fallen. Thus a commercial law mower was needed and expected to get the job done efficiently and fast. The problems I have with the company and the invoice are as follows:1. I was charged a different price than that quoted me2. It takes me ~2 hrs to mow my lawn, by myself, with my man-powered push-mower (as in no engine, it is literally three spinning blades that move only when you push the contraption)3. I bagged my leaves last year after ALL of the leaves had fallen and it took 8-9 bags (the ninth wasn't entirely full), and from mowing the lawn and disposing of the cut grass I do not believe that they could not fit the trimmings into 3-4 trash bags. So, a generous total of 15-16 would be plausible, not 52.This is a despicable & immoral way of doing business. When I called to dispute the charge they refused to speak to me Product_Or_Service: lawn care

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund of my money for trouble I've had to go through to dispute this claim as well as the strain on my finances this charge has created. However, I am willing to settle for a fair and honest payment for a lawn mowing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/14) */ We did respond to this customer when she called and complained about the price. First thing that I want to make clear is that I have been in business for over 20 years and that we make clear our rate is per man per hour when talking about any job on the phone. The customer stated that it takes her 2 hours to just mow the lawn. This lawn was tall (over one foot tall) and needed to be cut twice to make it look right. We not only cut the lawn , we also weed whacked all needed areas. When you arrive at a lawn that has not been maintained you first need to rake up any concentrated groupings of debris so you don't clog your mower,the patio in the back yard was also cleaned and sweep, we identified stumps and picked out tennis balls etc before mowing.. After the initial cutting we go over it again as long grass tends to bend over and leaves wind rows. The lawn gets mowed an addition cutting so that it looks proper before we leave. The foreman of the crew that did this work has been with me for over five years and assured me that they hauled off 52 (Fifty-Two) full 33 gallon bags of debris. The amount charged hourly for this amount of debris is consistent with the hundreds of other jobs completed by my company last fall. 1) This was a large area with lots of leafs and tall grass over one foot tall. 2) Customer admits it takes her 2 hours when regularly cutting the law when short and manageable. 3) The person that took the order remembers the conversation with this customer and was clear about the rate charged during initial contact. 4) The amount charged is consistent with countless other jobs completed respectively. Unfortunately, some customers that are not used to paying for this type of service and do not realize the cost of doing business. They are surprised at how much they get charged. After paying the people doing the work, workers comp insurance, and taxes, not to forget the cost of the equipment and the fuel,the business still has to pay the light bill, cost of office space, and the postage. Our rates are consistent with other businesses in the Anchorage area. The lawn was more than 1 foot tall and we hauled 52 bags of debris. *A full refund request is an unrealistic expectation. In an effort to satisfy this complaint I would like to offer a 10% discount on the labor portion of this invoice. I understand how a large bill unexpected can strain a persons finances. This job was a lot of work and was charged fairly. Although we regret having a customer complaint, we did provide the service requested in a timely manner to industry standards. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate that a thorough job takes time and effort, but I was very clear over the phone that I just wanted the lawn mowed as well as a small patch of devil's club cut down. The rate was given to me by the owner of the company before he transferred me to the woman who processed my order; she never gave me any rates, just asked what I wanted done on the property. Also, I requested to be called if any extraordinary expenses were perceived when they reached the property. I did receive a call, but it was to inform me that the lawn had been mowed and the devil's club removed, and that they were about the lime the yard. Which I was very surprised to hear and immediately told them that 'no, I did not want that service.' So, I few closing points: - I never said that it took me 2 hrs to cut the lawn when it was short and manageable. I cut the lawn 3 times over the course of the summer, it was never short when I cut it. - I also contest the length of "1 foot" - There was obviously a lack of communication on the office's side, to both myself and the laborers - A customer should never be surprised by a bill Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/24) */ OK, If I was the one who initially talked to Mrs ***** as the owner I am always clear that our rates are $55.00 per man per hour for labor on lawn clean up. This is not my first time addressing the problem of the customer not hearing per man per hour. Our policy is to have the work order signed before we start the job to avoid any misunderstandings. If we do not get a work order signed because the customer will not be present at the time of the work being performed we always make sure we are clear about the rates and get a credit card for payment. I am sorry that Mrs. ***** NEVER requested to talk to me personally about her invoice. The statement that we refused to speak to her about this complaint is nonsense. Not our policy! I am very open to hearing and addressing any customer's problem with our service. I would have met with Mrs. ***** along with the foreman and the crew that performed the service at her property immediately upon notification of any issue regarding service. It is my experience and policy that immediate resolution is the best practice. The jobs time can be justified by the workers in person while the scope of work is fresh in everyone's mind. Although the crew is not available now, the foreman is and I am still willing to bring him to meet at the property to discuss the job. My man insists that this job was completed in a timely manner for its degree of difficulty. Upon reviewing the work order #XX-XXXXX I see that lime and fertilization was requested with the fall clean-up on 10/07. work was completed on 10/08/14. The closing points I would like to make are: 1) We always make clear the costs of labor especially if the customer is not going to be present to sign the work order as in this case. 2) I have a work order #XX-XXXXX with the request for Lime and Fertilizer. We always ask about this service and would not have included this request if it had not been made. We always note if the offer was refused on the work order. This work order says the request was made. 3) I am available for complaint resolution anytime I receive a complaint. The notion no one would even speak to Mrs. ***** to address this complaint is simply not true. 4) This lawn was tall and we removed 52 ea. 33 gallon plastic bags of debris from this property. The time charged for service is consistent with the amount of debris removed. Although I empathize with the fact that the bill might have been more than expected, I cannot understand the statements on this complaint regarding the scope of work, cost of services and especially the statement "we refused to address her complaint". These statement are all not consistent of our standard operating procedures. I might consider this complaint as reasonable if there were not so many conflicting complaints that we never get. When a customer never has had this type of work done professionally sometimes there is an expectation that the work is easy and can be done quickly and cheaply. This lawn was tall and wet with leaf debris included. Mrs Sauves contention that this should have been a 15 bag job tells me this is probably our situation. I am still willing to extend the 10% labor discount to solve this complaint. Thank You, **** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am sorry to see that a valid complaint is being stubbornly ignored. The owner of Tony's Enterprises obviously has employees that he trusts and a system that he believes is working. Unfortunately, the company's process seems to have failed in my case. The level of communication they seem very adamant about, did not happen in my case. I understand the want to believe your company's work history over the claims of a customer, and that mistakes can happen very rarely and all at the same time. But, from looking around on the internet it does appear that ****'s Enterprises has had similar problems in the past and I would suggest measures to improve their system in the future. I am going to cease this argument, as they apparently have your own version of what happened, that they will not budge from.

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not only did they mislead me on pricing and bill me nearly triple what they verbally quoted me but they left my house a mess and didn't even complete all the work I asked them to do. They verbally quoted me $75/hr which was satisfactory but never stated that it was $75/hr per person they had on site. They handed me an order to begin work as they were leaving so I signed it... and apparently this was the magic form that clarified the per hour rate. They were in my house for 2 days doing work... 2 people for 4.5 hrs and 3 people for 8 hrs. Here's the best part... all I asked them to do was rehang 2 doors and finish/reframe them. Patch a whole in my wall and paint a small bathroom and retile a very small on suite bathroom. They contracted someone else to come in and do the tile so that wasn't even included on my invoice from ****'s. They did tear up the old tile... but they did not paint my bathroom, they just painted the patched area. I feel that this work does not require over 30 hrs of labor to complete. I feel like I was unfairly charged and misled. They didn't even finish cleaning up before they left and now I have to clean up after them. I have photos to back up the mess left behind as well as photos of the work that was completed. Many things will have to be refinished at additional cost to me. I am not pleased. Not at all.

Desired Settlement: I will not allow this company on my property ever again, I paid the bill because I am honest and follow through with my commitments but I would expect to be reimbursed for some of these man-hours that I feel were absolutely wasted. This was never a 3 man job and if this company had been forthcoming and honest with me about the rates and expected man-hours I never would have hired them in the first place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ This is the first time I have heard that we had any issues with this project. If Mrs. ***** had issues at anytime that were not being address by the workers a simple call to the office would have got me involved. The worker Quoted her a price and had the work order signed. We exceeded the time we quoted so her actual rate was $55.00 per man hour.If anything was not done to her satisfaction I would like to personally deal with her and complete the repairs at no additional cost. Our tile guy was on vacation so we got another company to complete the tile work which she paid for directly to the installer. It is my understanding he must have left the mess. My guy says he went over the invoice with the customer and discussed the job at length with her. It is my policy to settle all complaints immediately. If the work was not to her satisfaction we will correct any mistakes made. I would encourage Mrs ***** to call me directly on my cell phone XXX-XXX-XXXX to arrange a meeting to go over her concerns and make arrangements for us to repair any work that has not been completed appropriately.

10/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service