This business is not BBB accredited.

Multi-M Contracting LLC

Phone: (206) 786-7082 24 Roy St # 468, Seattle, WA 98109 http://www.multi-m-contracting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial general construction and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Multi-M Contracting LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Multi-M Contracting LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2009 Business started: 10/01/2006 Business started locally: 10/01/2006 Business incorporated 04/18/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Schoenfeld, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Schoenfeld, Member
Business Category

Contractors - General Construction & Remodeling Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24 Roy St # 468

    Seattle, WA 98109

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the long course of our remodel we have repeatedly experienced construction mistakes (confirmed by an expert construction consultant), serious accounting issues, very substantial delays and a general lack of professionalism. At this point we want Multi-M to place serious effort on the project and finish it quickly. It has been over a year and a half and ********** (Multi-M) had written in the contract that it would take 6 months. Their current effort is equivalent to having walked off the project.

Desired Settlement: We want the following defects corrected immediately: defective windows and latches fixed or replaced, the front door to be made square with weather stripping, the irrigation system to be fixed, the gutters and downspouts corrected as discussed, and the issue of water in crawl space addressed. There is a longer list of defects and problems below. We want all items fixed with quality workmanship or addressed as stated. A full crew of appropriately skilled individuals is required daily until the project is complete. 1. Pay Stucco contractor in full so that lien against home is released. 2. Reimburse cost of railing installations, clearly needed to bring remodel to code and pass ********** and an obvious component of the remodel. 3. Fix Irrigation system; mount control box, move wire that is currently sitting under garage door 4. Fix front door; make it square, install weather strips, install missing screws in front door jamb, fix warped trim due to improper install of hinge screws. 5. Install NE downspout such that drainage is sufficient and as discussed, and fix gutter at front entrance - replace nonfunctional roof curb eyesore, Correct direction of flow in all gutters 6. Fix leaks in crawl space caused by pipe installations during construction, or poor gutter installation 7. Fix Anderson windows - latches, defective glass (UV coating), and defective living room operable window 8. Install Anderson deck screens, not obvious that they even fit doors 9. Fix electrical problems - Ethernet line to first floor study and dual light switches in stairwell not working. 10. Install missing fan in master bathroom 11. Replace cracked tiles on cooktop backsplash 12. Paint baseboards in front entry, upstairs bedroom, garage stairs and mantle 13. Fix oak floor - large gap at French door and buckled boards in kitchen 14. Finish painting Hardie board near kitchen French door 15. Replace broken screws in door hinges 16. Repair and finish patio posts - trim detail (as in permitted plan); remove plaster from stone 17. Fix French drains - blocked by plaster and paint during construction 18. Give decks final coat so that no longer spreading sand grains into house, fix 1 puncture 19. Paint tread on steps to garage - trashed during construction 20. Fill gaps in soffit - due to poor installation 21. Finish trellis beams in front and back - fix large splinted/chipped areas, plug holes 22. Vacuum HVAC ducts - vents were not covered throughout construction 23. Cover exposed wires in kitchen area

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, ****/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@*********************** For those of you who need a short explanation, There seems to be (in our opinion) a severe roll reversal and spousal miscommunication and a general mistrust that includes extended family. For those of you that need more...her you go. *** and *** ******** are husband and wife that intended to add onto a house they sold to ***'s mother (***** ********). The addition to the house was intended for the ********* and their two children to move into and live with ***** whom splits her time with Italy (I believe ***** to be full Italian). For the decision process, *** ran the project and reported back to ***, whom would contact *****. As you can imagine, it took an unusually long time to make decisions on changes (there were 13 change orders...or change of allowances). On several of the Change Orders, there were multiple different changes/versions. The first two CO (Change Order) occurred before the project even began. On several invoices and Change Orders, we would get them back with changes/omissions/corrections from the *********. Very very convoluted. When there was frustration from ***** or ***, *** would simply blame Multi-M and or the Superintendent. Which is why they had two separate superintendents on their project. The project was put on hold by ***** (we believe it was ***** since she seemed to be the one in charge and payments were coming from her). The issue seemed to be the extended amount of time the project was taking. Once, I met with *** and *** to explain the delays that were clearly labeled on the CO with additional time that the CO would take, and the additional time delays from the decision making process. Later, I met with ***** and *** and it became very clear that ***** was not being told the whole story and the decisions were not up to *** (whom was left to be in charge of the project by *** and *****). Also, we began to understand that *** had not informed *** and ***** of conversations he had with on site reps and subcontractors. When confronted by the acting super and myself, *** lied and said he had no recollection of that conversation. While we are not licensed to diagnose, we believe *** to be severely passive ********** and obviously not the pants wearer. *** tried several times to recruit our employees and subcontractors to do work on the side away from Multi-M which we informed him was a breach of contract...that did not stop him. The project was again put on hold for 3 months and all payments ceased as there was a total breakdown of communications from Multi-M to the client and the client amongst themselves (this is where the change of super became necessary. The acting super let *** know we could not move forward until the decisions were made on the matters pending) The ********* hired an outside rep whom came to investigate the current conditions. *** also requested that the city inspectors red tag his project (a means of which the city declares unsafe conditions and/or a cease and desist work order). The city refused as they had inspected the work performed to date and what they had not inspected, was not life threatening or improper (per code). *** insisted Multi-M, the city and his newly hired rep meet and go over the details the rep had found. Upon the walk through, the major issues were 1. Siding too close to the concrete (*** had hired the concrete company on the side to add concrete where there once was a flower bed...this put the siding too close to the concrete) 2. Improper window installation on ONE window. (Multi-M had installed the correct window and the ********* requested we change it to just glass as they were not happy with the lack of light. This "improper window install" remains to this day as the ********* want the light, not the window) 3. The filtration had not been installed in the furnace system. (we add that at final, not rough in) All other matters were not an issue with the city, just the rep. Therefore, they were not code violations, just preferences. These included; 1. microwave ventilation (we offered to move it with an additional fee, *** declined) 2. Front entrance and stair railing (not bid by Multi-M and therefore would constitute an additional charge) 3. replace damaged tile in kitchen (Multi-M did not break them. There were several contractors hired by the *********...again, a breach of contract) 4. Repair damaged landscape sprinklers (the ********* again hired contractors and the damages were not caused by Multi-M) and so on and so on. Multi-M signed a supplemental agreement that gave the ********* more security and assurance of completion on contracted work. The first item was there were to be NO MORE CO! *** then made 4 more CO and refused to pay some of them by saying we agreed there would be NO MORE CO! I think what he thinks the agreement means is that we would not charge him for changes he makes and he can therefore refuse to pay for changes he requested. Yes, this is typical as to how this project and communication have gone. When we do put everything in writing, we are met with hostility and demeaning responses. We currently have placed a lien on the ********* as they have refused to pay the last invoices and Change Orders. It is always unfortunate when a client feels angry or hurt, we always strive for satisfaction, even at our own expense. The end result is the ********* have a beautiful house to live in and enjoy...even if they blame me for everything. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, ****/09/18) */ In the second paragraph of my previously submitted final BBB comments I had written Sept dates in the 2nd paragraph when I meant August. Please make note of this. Again we will state (and would be happy to send additional supporting documents) that a company demonstrating frequent grossly incompetent and unprofessional behavior such as MultiM should not be BBB accredited. They have terrorized us for close to 2 years. We would have gotten rid of them a long time ago if they hadn't frontloaded a substantial amount of our money. They will make arguments to justify their behavior but the facts we summarized for the overall construction project cannot be dismissed. Furthermore, they did not complete all the work they should have completed (they did fix some defects), they have not agreed to give us the reimbursements or anything close to the promised 5% discount. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, ****/09/20) */ I am truly sorry that anyone would feel the way that they are claiming to feel. However, perhaps they should look up the definition of "terrorize" prior to throwing that around, especially in today's day and age. The only issue we have with the client is the inability to tell the truth. *** has shown to be underhanded and deceitful at every turn. We did have to claw our way out of this project and tolerate the belittling and name calling the whole way. Most every subcontractor we have refuses to do work for them on this or any other project. Even the ones that wanted to help felt betrayed and lied to. The ********* are trying to make a case on BBB and Angie's list as we are currently suing them for lack of payment, deformation of character and slander. Personally, if you choose to believe them, ***'t call me. We do not want business from anyone that would have them as friends or even remotely take their side on any subject matter.