BBB Accredited Business since

Dovetail General Contractors LLC

Phone: (206) 545-0722 3621 Stone Way N Unit A, Seattle, WA 98103 http://www.dovetailgc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dovetail General Contractors LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dovetail General Contractors LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dovetail General Contractors LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1996 Business started locally: 06/01/1996 Business incorporated 07/01/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Edwards, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Edwards, Member
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Contractor - Commercial

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:00am - 3:30pm

Additional Locations

  • 3621 Stone Way N Unit A

    Seattle, WA 98103 (206) 545-0722

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recap of Condensation and Ice on Living Room windows. There has been increased condensation, water and ice on the windows since December 20, 2012. The windows were installed 12/2/2010. The first condensation problems were observed 12/16/2012. From 12/16/2012 to 1/10/2013 there were six days of extreme condensation and ice on the windows. This past winter there were 23 days between 11/20/2013 to 1/24/2014 and two days in March with extreme condensation including ice formation. Nineteen of the days were during the holidays between Thanksgiving and New Year's. We did not select *********. We put our trust and faith in Dovetail Contractors. Dovetail suggested that these were the best windows for our home. We spent I would guess 50% more for ********* windows and now we have this horrible unsightly problem during about 1/3 of the winter. Besides the unsightly look of our Living Room windows water collecting on the inside of the sill will rot the wood underneath. And the collection of the condensation water results in mold which is a health hazard. What we are experiencing with these windows is unacceptable. Dovetail needs to correct the problem. I would suggest you contact the company's insurance coverage and get this resolved immediately. We have been contacting Dovetail constantly about this problem since December 2012. There have been a lot of emails back and forth but no action or commitment to fix the problem. The last comment from Dovetail was on July 7, 2014 and this is a quote, " I've gotten no other information from the window manufacturer or ********* regarding the condensation on the window frames during periods of cold weather other than what I've sent you. At this point theres not much I can do about the windows. Can you remind me what the other outstanding issues are? My understanding is that we had completed everything else. Hope you had a great 4th."

Desired Settlement: Dovetail needs to replace the windows with similar high quality, contemporary windows that will be acceptable to the Seattle climate. These windows must conform in appearance, and energy efficiency as the ********* windows nor installed since we had our entire 1st floor remodel installed with the ********* product. Dovetail also needs to fix/complete the other projects listed in the complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/11/04) */ We have received the issue from ***** ******. We have inspected the windows. The issue is not a window failure but a combined issue of relative humidity and no localized heat source under the windows. The date ranges of the condensation were all time record lows for the city of Seattle. The house is older and not well insulated. In these extreme cases condensation can occur. As a company, we are very concerned about our client's satisfaction. That is why we are continuing to work with ***** ****** on a solution of heat + stabilization of humidity even though we are well outside of our contractual warranty period. We are also committed to bringing a solution even though the issue is a result of "one off" record breaking extreme temperatures. As an aside, we performed the window work in 2010 on a contract amount of $46,752. We brought the project in under at $41,867. ***** ****** was so pleased with the work that she contracted us on a separate kitchen remodel for design and construction. That project had a contracted budget amount of $98,552. We brought that project in at $73,360. $25,000 under budget. We will not be replacing the windows as windows themselves to do not contain condensation. We will work with ***** to address the humidity and heat issues within the room during extreme cold temperatures. We are currently monitoring the humidity and strategizing with HVAC contractors to modify the currently heat source to localize a supply in the window area.