This business is not BBB accredited.

Better Build Inc

Phone: (425) 343-2202 PO Box 6142, Edmonds, WA 98026


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general construction services including roofing, siding, home building, carpet and vinyl installations.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Better Build Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Better Build Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2006 Business started locally: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated 03/01/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob St John, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob St John, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Carpet Installation Floors - Laminate Garage Builders Home Builders Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Siding Contractors Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Contractor - Flat Roof Contractors - Flooring Design & Build Contractor Building Restoration & Preservation Carpet Layers

Hours of Operation
7:30am - 6pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 6142

    Edmonds, WA 98026

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Better Build Inc. to paint my house, after meeting with *** St. **** and after he had submitted a bid to complete the work I requested for a total sum of $3224.56. The work was scheduled to begin on Thursday August 8th, 2013. I received a call from *** on Tuesday August 6th, 2013 at 10:30am. The phone call was to inform me, that Better Build Inc. was going to start preparing my house early and would arrive to my house in 90 minutes on that Tuesday. *** and his worker did not show up until 2pm, 2 hours late. When they did arrive, they were in a vehicle that was labeled "****'s Construction" and the vehicle had Massachusetts vehicle license plates. I expressed my extreme displeasure with him showing up 2 hours late. I never once got a phone call or any courteous notification he was running late, I called him to ask where he was at 12:45pm and he said he was about 20min. away, still arriving 45min after that. *** explained to me that he was going to pressure was my house, completely, that day with the painting beginning 2 days later on Thursday. I left to go to work at 2:30pm with *** and his worker beginning to work on the house. My house-mate was still at the house and later told me that *** and his worker left on or about 5pm, 2 1/2 hours after I left. My fiancé arrived home at 7pm. When she arrived she looked around the house and saw no signs of any pressure washing, aside from one tiny clump of wet dirt, near a corner of the house. The paint on the house in any location did not appear to be pressure washed in any form, the walls were still dirty, there was no paint flaked away from any apparent pressure washing. The ground, around the house was not wet in any location, aside from the above mentioned location. On the following day, Wednesday, I called *** and asked him what work was done the previous day. He explained the house was pressure washed and they would be arriving around 9am, maybe earlier to begin painting the next day, Thursday. After that phone conversation ended, I called *** back a bit later and informed him I did not wish to proceed any further with his company. I no longer felt comfortable using his company to work on my house. I was uncomfortable with the quality of work *** had claimed was already done and I was really uncomfortable with him showing up in a vehicle, displaying a company I did not hire with vehicle plates from across the country. To secure a schedule with ***, he asked that I mail him a check for half of the above total sum ($1612.28) he explained the check would not be cashed until work began and the remainder amount, we would pay after completion of the job. The check was cashed on that Wednesday morning and during the phone call with ***, where I informed him we wished to no longer continue with Better Build Inc. he explained to me, he would mail me all of my money back in a check. When I received the check, it was for the amount of $1312.28. I called *** to ask him what I was being charged $300 for. He explained to me that I was being charged that amount, because the worker he had with him on that Tuesday was charging him $200 for the crew he had set aside to begin painting on that Thursday. I never agreed to have any company, other than Better Build Inc. to work on or paint my house. If he hired another person(s) or company, I am not responsible for any amount, that outside company wished to charge *** and Better Build Inc. for any services projected to provided or scheduling of workers. On August 11th, 2013, I sent *** and Better Build Inc. an e-mail, re-iterating all that has been said here and offered a compromise. I asked he send me $150, half of the $300, because I felt in good faith it was fair I be charged for the work he claimed he had done on that Tuesday, even though I didn't find any evidence of work done. I explained if he did not comply with my compromise offer within 7 days, I would send him to small claims court, which I plan to do but have not filed yet, I would file a report with the Better Business Bureau as well as the Washington State Attorney General's office. To this day, August 18th, 2013, I have not received any check or correspondence from *** or Better Build Inc. in any attempt to right the situation.

Desired Settlement: I request the remaining $300 of refund money from Better Build Inc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/28) */ ****Supporting documents redacted by BBB**** RE:Response to Case #XXXXXXXX Attached is a copy of the original proposal, dated 7/21/2013. As stated, the house was pressured wash with a solution to kill mold and other microbes, not to blow off loose paint material. As stated in line two and three of the proposal; the following day; the base of the house was to be sealed to capture loose paint material, to be then "hand scraped" off. One of my painters, drove me that day in a vehicle he just purchased. It did have old construction company advertising (since removed) on the sides with out-of-state plates. I was unaware, at that time, this would cause conflict. We had quite a few appointments that day and apologize for being behind schedule. That said; the job of pressure washing was performed per agreement; we even went so far as to show the tenant's sister the condition of the deck after cleaning a section of the deck (not part of the paint job). Nothing written or said indicated that the homeowner wanted to be on site at the time of the work. The following day, I went and purchased the necessary wood siding as part of the agreed proposal. That afternoon Mr. Customer contacted me with his concerns. He consistently brought up the out-of-state paint company van; after I explain it was purchased just that week. The pressure washing (or in his mind the lack of) was a secondary matter. There was nothing I could do to change Mr. Customer's mind. I stated the work would be performed exactly as agreed to but to no avail. I agreed to refund the majority of his down payment (two day turnaround), but never gave an amount. Never did I once offer a "full refund". Mr. Customer did state "take out what it cost to do the pressure washing"; no fixed amount was stated or implied by either side. In figuring a refund, I took in account the time spent purchasing materials, the pressure washing and the very last minute termination without a valid cause. I feel the $300.00 + tax. was a fair and just settlement. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) During the phone call with Better Build Inc. on the day I received his check, refunding the partial amount, I asked Better Build Inc. what I was being charged $300 for. He explained that his "partner" charged him (Better Build Inc.) $200, for the crew he had to schedule and secure for the painting to begin. If you are a "partner" you wouldn't have to pay them anything, for whatever crew they had to secure. Thus implying, an outside source, other than Better Build Inc. to which, I never agreed to, nor authorized. Further, I have made no threats. Better Build Inc. will be taken to small claims court, thus, these are not threats, they will be a reality. It is elementary for Better Build Inc. to presume I have made threats to other contractors. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/05) */ Per EPA Small Entity Compliance Guide to Renovate Right: EPA's Lead-Based Paint Renovation, Repair, and Painting Program: September 2011:all homes built prior to 1978 must contain all paint material. We have found that sealing the base of the house before hand scraping the walls is a very effective of capturing loose material. If other companies find they can pressure wash the siding of a house to remove loose paint material and still capture it; more power to them. I spelled out in our proposal how BetterBuild would proceed with this customer's house. No exact timeline was written into the proposal. I fault myself for not stating what our "pressure washing" consisted of namely to kill active enzymes like mold spores. Secondly, this consumer still implies that an outside company was being employed; which I refute. My partner, ******* was in the process of purchasing a replacement work van that had out of state plates. I tried, without success, to explain this to the consumer to no avail. I feel this consumer has threaten other contractors to accept his terms or go through this complaint/court process. I have done nothing that wasn't stated in my original proposal and find his complaint baseless.

10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service