BBB Accredited Business since

Westhill Inc

Phone: (425) 483-0999 Fax: (425) 487-9444 PO Box 306, Woodinville, WA 98072

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers design/build, remodeling, additions, custom homes, maintenance and home care services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westhill Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Westhill Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Westhill Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1997 Business started: 07/01/1974 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/1974 Business incorporated 07/01/1974 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Charles Russell, President Ms. Sue Tughan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Russell, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Tughan, Office Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Handyman Services Architects Interior Decorators & Designers Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 306

    Woodinville, WA 98072


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a severe house fire on 9/15/2012. My home was dstroyed and I pretty much lost everything. I hired Westhill to rebuild my home which was gutted down to studs. I was suppose to be moved back home after 7 months and found out 1 week before that they had built my home with NO city permits and inspections. This means my house has to be torn up AGAIN so the city can inspect the work that will be done again. The fire caused lots of structural issues as well. Seven trusses were replaced and 4 were "repaired" but not done properly to pass a structural engineer. This company can NOT be trusted back in my home and they need to step up to the plate and make things right. They have continued to lie to me and not produce the papers when I ask for them.

Desired Settlement: I'm going to be forced to hire a "reputable" contractor to tear it up and do it properly so the city can inspect everything and sign off on my home. This huge cost should fall on Westhill along with my relocation costs. I can NOT trust them back in my home.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/29) */ Westhill Inc. has received this complaint in error and should not be charged against us. The complaint should have been directed to Westhill Restoration Inc. They are two different companies with separate employees and management. This was reflected in an email sent to the BBB on April 24, 2013. The information below was obtained from Westhill Restoration Inc. as a response to the complaint. Our team did not get a building permit prior to job start. That was an over site on our part; although, we did have the structural engineering done. Westhill and the City of Snohomish worked together to gather all permit information and formulate a plan for inspections and final approval. The permit is ready to be issued. This process was halted by the homeowner prior to release of the permit. The City agrees it is in the best interest to issue Westhill the permit, obtain inspections and put this matter behind us. We have discussed with the City the requirements for inspections. Nothing has to be "torn up" and any inspection access required by the City was planned for repair before completion. Communication has been a problem with the homeowner since the project began. She has refused to attend our weekly scheduled job meetings; electing to communicate via short cryptic emails. We were on schedule to complete the project by the date given to me (April 19) by the homeowner, but were denied access to the site on the dates we scheduled to finish the project. We have repeatedly attempted to move forward and finish the job to her satisfaction but to date we have not given the opportunity. There is a long chain of emails verifying this issue. To our knowledge the homeowner has not moved back in the home even though it is 99% complete and fully functioning. With cooperation from the homeowner and access to the house, the job would now be finished. We regret this unfortunate, no win situation for everybody. The painful part of this whole process was that we did lose trust with the homeowner by not getting the permit in the beginning, but were not given the opportunity to do our job and to rebuild that trust. Since we have not been informed that we have been terminated as the project contractor, we stand ready now, as we have always been, to complete the project. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/05/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A little late. The job was suppose to be fully completed by March 30, 2013. Westhill "applied" for permits on April 6, 2013. Still to date Westhill has NOT come to me and explained how they will make this right and their plan to do that. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/05/22) */ We have the permits. Our attorney is in the process of negotiating for job completion.