This business is not BBB accredited.

Total Home Improvement Inc

Phone: (206) 941-3791 6921 51st Ave S, Seattle, WA 98118

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers construction and remodeling services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Total Home Improvement Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Total Home Improvement Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2000 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Starla Muir, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Starla Muir, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Hardwood Floor Contractors Stair Builders Cabinets Windows Windows - Vinyl Custom Framing Contractors - Retaining Wall Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Carpenters Contractors - Ceiling Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Contractors - Gutters Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Deck Builder Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Refund and Exchange Policy
Most of our work is warrantied for one year. Manufacturers' warranties on materials used may differ.
Service Area


South Snohomish


Additional Locations


    6921 51st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98118 (206) 941-3791


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company overcharged me a total of $3287.88 for bath remodeling project, listed as below - 1. The company failed to show me the valid receipts charged for materials and labors. 2. The company charged me for the repair of wall damaged by their workman during work. 3. We paid 20% markup for all materials purchased. The company wrongly charged separately for pickup trips, meeting and shopping time. 4. The company wrongly charged us for tool rentals and the tool purchase.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the overcharged amount of $3287.88.

Business Response:

We have had several discussions with Mr.**** about the final bill for the work we performed for him in march and April of this year. He has objected to the cost although he made changes to the scope of work, and there were some repairs we needed to make as a result of previous water damage that were not obvious upon earlier inspection.
We are aware of language barriers in this instance, as Mr **** speaks english as his second language, and we made our best effort to clarify and communicate with him as clearly as possible. We spent several hours in meetings with him trying to make sure he understood the contract language and how we operate. He insisted he understood, but objected to every invoice he received, demanded detailed logs of our hours and expenses, and generally made it very difficult to pay our suppliers/subs in a timely manner.
To address his specific objections:
1) We provided all required receipts both on the final bill and hard copies of the various purchases we made on his behalf. (See attached final bill and materials receipt.)
2)We did NOT charge for repair of an accidentally damaged stairwell wall, we charged for the repair of the bathroom walls adjacent to the tile shower walls, and the walls above the new tile baseboard we installed.(See attached final bill for work performed and related charges)
3)Our contract terms clearly state that we do not mark up materials, but we do charge a 10% overhead fee and a 10% profit on the total cost of the job. Our terms and conditions also state that any offsite work such as securing materials, meetings etc are part of our billable hours. Mr **** did not want to pay for deliveries or a dumpster, so we removed and hauled the debris ourselves and went to the various suppliers to pick up materials or goods ourselves. (See attached Written estimate and Contract)
4) We did charge for specialized tool rentals for this project, but we did not charge for the purchase of any tools. Supplies such as saw blades, drill bits etc are considered part of the materials and supplies to do a job and are billable at cost to the client.

See also the signed Change Order changing the scope of work authorized by Mr. ****.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

<!--[if !supportLists]-->1.       <!--[endif]-->The company failed to present me the valid receipts charged for materials and labors.  I only received receipts of amount of $4,878.29.  Some of receipts were for tool rentals, tool purchases . One receipt included sales tax of $110.56 which was double-charged.

<!--[if !supportLists]-->2.       <!--[endif]-->Their final accounting of $19800.00 (as attached)  did not reconcile with the quoted items nor with the receipts they provided.

3.       They wrongly charged me $260.00 for “searched for paint” as their worker mistakenly pierced holes through the drywall to my stairway wall (photos can be provided)

<!--[if !supportLists]-->4.       <!--[endif]-->You charged 20% markup for all materials purchased. It is outrageous that they charged separately for pickup trips, meeting, phone conversations and shopping time.


<!--[if !supportLists]-->5.       <!--[endif]-->Summary of the project

 The original estimation dated March 16th, 2015                 $14848.00

Change order dated March 26th, 2015                                  Add. $2675.50 (add new shower surround)

Delete repair shower surround                                              Credit of $600

Delete the heating element                                                   Credit of $1030.00

Extra materials more than the allowance                              Add $619.12


The total project estimated and quoted                                $16512.12

Final amount charged and paid                                                $19800.00


The overcharged amount is $3287.88.    I request a refund of the overcharged amount of $3287.88.

The contractor refused to provide valid receipts from the beginning of the job.  She mentioned “language barrier” as an excuse of failing to provide receipts and doing the overcharges.  I graduated from a top U.S. business school with mater degree. I am not an English expert; however, my English should be proficient to communicate the business needs.


******* ****** ****

Business Response: We have already addressed his objections to his bill.
He is attempting to demand a refund of the profit, overhead and sales tax costs of this job.
We have repeatedly responded to his complaints, and we have provided copies of our contract t and paperwork to both Mr **** and the BBB.
Please close this complaint as frivolous

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service