BBB Accredited Business since

Shirey Handyman Service LLC

Phone: (425) 392-8301 Fax: (425) 392-8302 View Additional Phone Numbers 230 NE Juniper St Ste 200, Issaquah, WA 98027 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.shireyinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers remodeling and custom construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shirey Handyman Service LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shirey Handyman Service LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Shirey Handyman Service LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2003 Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Donna Shirey, Member Ms. Robin Bryan, Project Coordinator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Robin Bryan, Project Coordinator
Principal: Mrs. Donna Shirey, Member
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Shirey Handyman Service LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 230 NE Juniper St Ste 200

    Issaquah, WA 98027 (425) 427-1300 (425) 392-8301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted this company to repair wind damage my barn roof. I spoke extensively with the office person explaining exactly the work I needed and even sent photos to show the issues. I was unable to be present on the scheduled day for repair. The work included removing rotten wood and replacing it; replacing the damaged plywood, appx 4X8 foot section; and replacing damaged roofing shingles. She estimated the work to be $800. I explained that I expected more($1500)and sent the photos to explain. When I returned the work was not complete and the little done, was not to satisfaction. The rotten wood was not removed. Only an area 3X3 of plywood was replaced and less then a packet of shingles was used. The bill was over $1000.00. I questioned the fees and was told he needed to purchase tools (roof brackets and 2x6's to stand on) to perform he work. I questioned the need for tools and why they weren't left since I paid for them. In addition I was charged for 8 hours of labor for appx 4 hours worth of work. I sent new photos and talked with them again. The shingles had not been cut at the end of the roof leaving hangover that the wind would catch again and cause repeated damage. The bill was reduced $200 to account for the charge of tools and one hour of labor for the unnecessary second trip made to****** to return extra supplies. In addition, he didn't go to the nearest****** for supplies. I asked that they send a rep out to see the work and discuss an adjustment for the poor work. I was informed that the owner would not reduce the amount and they insisted on payment. I offered $675 settlement for this corrected $850 bill for unacceptable work and they declined. I have photos and emails regarding all of the exchanges. I also have a construction professional as a witness to the poor work performance and conversations. Product_Or_Service: roofing repairs

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the bill reduced to $650, an appropriate amount for the work performed and the uncut roofing shingles cut correctly at no additional charge plus metal flashing applied to the edge of the roof to hold down the shingles since the rotten wood was not removed as requested and the nails are into rotten wood.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/14) */ We were asked to repair where shingles had blown off a roof. It was in two areas, and the existing roofing and framing is deteriorating from years of neglect. The client is not realistic about the amount of rot on this roof. The entire roof needs to be replaced because a large amount of the roof joists are rotten. Because of the deteriorated condition of the roof (a safety issue), our technician was unable to replace as much of the rotted wood as the client wished. He nailed new plywood sheathing into a rafter that was not rotted, then adhered the new shingles to the new substrate, in the area where the shingles had blown off. The roof is no longer leaking in the area repaired. The client also does not understand the correct way of installing roofing material. The asphalt shingles were installed with an overhang to direct rain water to drip off the edge, not into the framing. We sent an example (a schematic drawing) of correct shingle installation which she still does not understand. Because of the steep pitch of the roof, our technician had to purchase roof brackets and 2x6x12 boards to navigate the roof. Although this was a material purchase made in order to safely accomplish this specific job, we gave the client credit for this expense. These items are what she is referring to as "tools." I don't know how she came up with $650 or her assumption of "appx 4 hours of work." (She wasn't there) Our billing method (time and materials) was explained to her. We have already given her a credit of $194.48 with sales tax. Our original invoice was $1,065.02; with the credit, she now owes $870.54. We feel we have offered an appropriate credit and we will not do the resolution she is proposing because it is not the correct way to install roofing. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The owner has only made excuses for over charging for tools, time, and poor work. I asked for his phone number prior to initiating this appeal and never received it. I would welcome him to view the site. I still contend the job performed was worth $650 and this has been paid. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/24) */ First, while the technician had seen the photos the client provided, our technicians cannot carry equipment for every single type of work they may be asked to perform, so it is not unusual that he did not have roof jacks in his vehicle. It would not have made sense for him to make a stop to purchase roof jacks, then go back to the store for the roofing material. Second, it was difficult for the technician to ascertain how much roofing material would be required as the roof was covered in what appeared to be *****'s Wet patch, an asphalt compound used for sealing roof leaks on wet surfaces. We presume this is because of all the leakage issues due to the deteriorated condition of the barn and roof. Since the technician did not yet have the roof jacks, he felt it was better to err on the side of purchasing too much material rather than not enough. Third, when the appointment was made, it was with the understanding that the homeowner would be present. The day before the appointment, she called and said she had to go out of town, but wanted the technician to come anyway, so we sent him. Last, we did offer to have the technician come out to look at it (an email was sent), but received no reply. The roof is not leaking and we feel concessions have already been made.

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our kitchen remodeled by Shirey. The job was completed in January, 2013. Four of the kitchen replacement doors, Cherry Color, do not match the rest. The supplier, 6 square cabinets, attempted to correct the doors and sent out replacements. They still do not match. The rep. for 6 square, ***** ******** stated that 6 Square has spent enough money on the attempted correction and are refusing to make things right. ***** ****** of Shirey Handyman has inspected the doors, took pictures of the problem and stated that she would get back to us as she stated "WE WANT YOU TO BE SATISFIED." I have a file of communication with Shirey Handyman which was started back in January. The last communication with ***** ****** was two weeks ago, May 14, 2013 she stated in an e-mail in part, "I have an idea about the doors and need some time to do an experiment. I have not given up and want you happy."

Desired Settlement: All we want is for Shirey Handyman to stand up to the problem and get the four kitchen doors in question to match the remaining doors in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/10) */ I am writing in response to Complaint #******** about Shirey Handyman. Their desired outcome is that Shirey Handyman stand up to the problem and make the doors match in a timely manner. Below you will see we have stood up to every objection from the homeowner. We have bent over backwards and have given them great customer service. We met the homeowners at the Issaquah Home Show in May, 2012. We had our first meeting about June 13, 2012 and they then signed a design contract. Our designer met them and drew the cabinet layout for their new kitchen. Nothing was moving, she simply designed a kitchen with up to date materials and configuration. The plans were agreed upon, we ordered the cabinets and other materials. We created a schedule from the cabinet delivery date and worked backwards for the construction start date. Shirey did make one mistake. We did not have the homeowners sign the cabinet layout they selected. We did put a star on the option they chose. When the cabinets were delivered, the homeowners said they did not approve the layout from which we ordered the cabinets. We graciously ordered two new base cabinets to fill the space. Originally, we ordered two 24" drawer base cabinets and they wanted one 18" and one 30". When our skilled, journeyman carpenters were installing the cabinets, the homeowner sat at the kitchen table with his arms crossed, inspecting their every move. He had an issue with the fillers designed for each side of the oven. As we all know, cabinets generally have a "filler" piece between cabinets and especially on each side of the oven. That is how these were designed to make sure it all fit within the existing cabinet area so we did not need to refinish the hardwood flooring. With the homeowner instructing "You will not put fillers in my kitchen," the last cabinet was three inches short. (We left out three fillers which equals three inches.) As a result, we needed to reorder an upper 21" cabinet and a lower 21" cabinet replacing the 18" upper and lower cabinets planned in the original design. We own four extra cabinets. Next came the pantry cabinet. The homeowners did not accept the doors to the cabinets. They thought they were not the best match they could be. Our cabinet rep asked the manufacturer in Minnetonka MN To make four more doors. They did and again the homeowners would not accept the difference in wood grain and slight color variation. They made another set. The manufacturer has now made a total of 12 new doors, none of which the homeowners will accept. We have used this line of cabinets with great success. They are priced well and are a quality cabinet. I do not know where to go from here. I have many photo examples of before and after kitchen remodels where doors have different grain patterns and the stain color varies. It is real wood which has a variety of grain patterns even in the same tree. Some people will never be happy. I don't think we can ever make these homeowners happy. They may continue to give us bad ratings online. So be it........Hopefully, people will recognize our 42 years of construction experience with 99.9% happy customer rating. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2013/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 7-30-13, Shirey's master carpenter came out to inspect the six kitchen cabinet doors that are in need of adjustment and in addition to have us take another look at the very first set of pantry doors to see if we would like them better than the ones that are in right now. The finish on those pantry doors is totally different from the rest of the new cupboards and even the cabinet's manufacturer's rep admitted they were wrong. Why would we want to put those back in ? It still does not correct the problem of the pantry doors matching the rest of the cupboards. We totally get it that wood grains are going to vary. What we are upset with is the fact that the finish on the pantry doors look blotchy and the stain is dark...almost black looking in comparison to the finish of the other cabinets. To correct the loose panels in three of the four pantry doors, a possible solution according to Shirey's master carpenter would be to remove the doors, apply glue along the edges, let dry and then reinstall. To our knowledge, it seems like we are talking about defective doors in the first place, and that the manufacturer needs to stand behind their product. We are encouraged by the fact the Shirey is looking into solving our problem and we can only hope that these problems will soon be resolved. Today, 7-30-13, Shirey's master carpenter stated that Donna Shirey will be in touch with us in regard to this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/07/22) */ We have tried to resolve this issue with the *******. They need to understand that these are wood cabinets and wood grain is different in each piece. The stain can look different on every piece of wood. Wood grain varies and each piece of wood "takes" stain differently. Most people appreciate the grain variations on wood cabinets. This is very common. They are holding us to something I have found to be impossible. After producing 2 extra sets of pantry doors, the manufacturer is not willing to make any more doors. We were in the process of seeing if "faux" painting of the doors would work when the ******* decided to write the complaints about me and the company to the BBB and Attorney General. The AG's office has dismissed the complaint but it is now public record. I don't know what the ******* hoped to accomplish. I can only imagine they were looking to hurt our reputation. For that reason, the damage has been done. In my opinion, the set of doors I have in my possession are the better doors. My solution is to give them to *********** and we can re-install them. They should look at the doors without the can light shining on the top two cabinet doors. View all the cabinets in the same lighting. This is my best suggestion to resolve this issue.