This business is not BBB accredited.

Summit Solutions LLC

Phone: (425) 413-4000 Fax: (425) 413-0446 26929 Maple Valley Hwy SE, Maple Valley, WA 98038 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.summitsolutions.pro


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer repair, IT Services, software upgrades, virus removal, web design and remote tech support.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Summit Solutions LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Summit Solutions LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Solutions LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2010 Business started locally: 11/01/2010 Business incorporated 11/16/2010 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Melinda McClain, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melinda McClain, Member
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Computers - Sys Designers & Consult Web Design Computers - Security Equip & Systems Computer Consultant Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computer Business Services Computers - Disaster Recovery Computers - Networks

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday 11am - 4pm
Closed Sunday

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26929 Maple Valley Hwy SE

    Maple Valley, WA 98038 (425) 413-4000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is going to be a lot, I realize, but your instructions say to describe the complaint in detail, and I need to get this all down in one place anyway, so bear with me. The story will reveal a lot about ***** *******'s incompetence, which borders on fraud. For the bottom line and where we stand now, you may scroll down to about 4 paragraphs from the bottom, where I have a heading as such, and skip the whole back story if you wish. On 8/2/13, I called the number for ********** that I had in my phone from previous work, XXX-XXX-XXXX I believe, but ***** answered as Summit Solutions. When I asked, she explained that she had worked at/with ********** but had taken over private/residential clients when the company closed and the owner began doing larger projects exclusively. She changed the name to Summit Solutions, stayed in the same storefront location for a short time, and then moved the business to her home because it was more profitable. I explained that I was very concerned about my laptop because for some time it had been overheating and shutting down until it cooled off and could be turned back on, and that this happened almost exclusively when playing high-graphics games or running similar programs. I explained that it was my primary workhorse computer that contained everything I do and that is precious and critical - photos, documents, and all of my homeschooling records and materials, among other things. Because of the overheating, I told her that I was afraid that one of these days something worse would happen and I would lose everything! I conveyed that I do not know how to do proper and complete backups, need one desperately, and have an external Seagate drive purchased with the intention of doing so, but never learned to use it. I was about to leave town for 10 days and thought it would be a good time to have that done professionally for peace of mind while the company would have time and not be rushed with it. This would give me plenty of time when I returned to enter school plans and prepare for the new school year. A complete backup to secure my hard drives was priority number one. I also told her that I needed to learn how to continue doing the backups for myself. Secondarily, but obviously important to the overheating issue, was to check the fan to be sure it was functioning properly and didn't need to be replaced, and if it was working fine, clean it thoroughly. In other words, diagnose why it was overheating and address it. Lastly was to do a general cleaning of the computer/tune-up/optimize operation. She said that was no problem and even told me exactly how she likes to set up backups for maximum safety and efficiency. She said to bring the Seagate external drive for her to use and that she would show me upon return of the computer how to continue backups from home so that it would always be up to date - that it was very easy to show me how. She said the service would be $150. She asked to meet her at ********* that evening to give her the computer and external drive. I was there at the correct time and waited. She did not come. I called her and waited twice more, and finally left. She texted me after midnight saying she had forgotten, was very sorry, and asked to set up another time for early in the morning. Since we were leaving town, I told her I couldn't do that, but that I understood that these things happen and would call her after we returned on the 15th to set up another time. At that time I asked if she could give me a priority rush status then, and she said absolutely. After settling back in after our trip, I texted her (since she had opened that mode of communication) on Sunday 8/25/13 at 9am asking if we could meet that evening or maybe the next day. I also specifically asked how long it would take her at that point in time to do the job. She texted that she was off on Monday and that if we could meet that evening or Monday sometime, she would have it done by Monday evening. We set up the meeting at the same place at 7:45pm that evening, Sunday the 25th. She told us to look for her blue Tahoe, so we waited in the parking lot until she pulled up next to us. I got out and carried my computer and external drive to her car. She stayed in it with her window rolled down. We were backed in so that my husband sitting in the driver's seat of our car with the window down was right next to her with her window down, so he was able to witness the transfer and conversation. She took my equipment through the window and asked, "So what were we doing again?" I said that we had talked quite a bit on the phone about it, and asked if she had not written any of it down. She said she guessed not, so I went over it again - as described here in an earlier paragraph. She picked up some papers off of her passenger seat and, looking at them, asked me if I was the name on two of them. I said no to each, so she got a blank work order/invoice/receipt/whatever to write the information down on. This was the only paper I was to receive from her for the entire transaction. She hand-wrote Summit Solutions at the top, asked me to pay the $150 charge, to be made out personally to her and not to Summit Solutions, and wrote my check number on top. Twice on the "work order" she wrote "Main PC. Back up hard drive - First." and "Uses homeschool tracker. Back up everything." This shows that it was very clear that this was of vital importance and that she understood our conversation about what was to be done! She also wrote on the paper " Overheating - Check fan" and "Shuts down in 20 minutes when gaming." These were all written under Labor Performed. She wrote "Tune-up, optimization", and a price of 150. Total amount at the bottom was 150, with no itemization and no tax. She also wrote my main password on the same duplicate-form paper and gave me the top white copy. I later thought it a little unsecure that she wrote my password down for anyone to see. She said she'd have it done the next day, Monday, and left. When I had to have the computer backed up, repaired, and serviced by someone else later that week (more on that later), they were able to tell from all of her keystrokes and history that she had just begun to copy a tiny bit of data by Monday night, so she had no intention of giving it back to me that evening.) I didn't hear from her all day Monday, but she texted on Tuesday morning at 10 saying "I put your laptop completely back together and it's giving me a flashing error message so I need to redo something. I think it's just the internal keyboard cable but I don't get off work until 7 tonight so I'll have to finish it later tonight and I'll get back to you." (Later I was to find that she fixed this by using inappropriate and unsafe first aid/athletic tape to tape it down. This has cotton fibers and is a fire hazard inside the laptop! I have photos when it was found by the repairing company and have it in a baggie. They could not believe their eyes.) I texted back saying that I trusted that this was ok, and to please let me know that night, Tuesday, if we could arrange a time Wednesday morning to meet. She texted "Okay I will do", but I never heard from her. I texted at 11 that evening because I assumed I wasn't going to hear from her by then, and asked to meet Wednesday please, either around 9:45am, or after 12:30pm. She responded that it would have to be in the afternoon. (There was never any mention during this whole time that she was having any issues, that she had to tape down the keyboard cable and was concerned, or that she was having any problem or was not finished with the complete backup of data to my external drive.) I said afternoon was fine - just let me know what time. She said "ok will do". I texted after 2pm asking how it was going and can we please set up a time to meet. Nothing from her. I texted after 5pm asking for her to please give me an update. She finally answered, saying "Sorry, still having to retake it apart and put it back together. I've had a couple of interruptions thru my day as well. I should have it done later tonight hopefully by 9pm." This time I was worried, not only because she seemed to be taking it apart and trying to put it together several times, but also because our homeschool for our 5 kids was starting on Tuesday and I had a lot of lessons and schedules to enter. I was told I would have it back Monday evening. So I texted "Still getting errors, or have you just not had time? Should I be concerned? I can meet you any time up until 11 tonight. I'm needing to get a lot entered before school starts!" Her response was "Time issues. nice laptop. I'm confident. No worries." So I told her that sounded good, but that I needed it by 11pm that night (Wednesday) or first thing in the morning please, and that I would look for a text by 10:30pm letting me know if tonight by 11 was going to be possible. She thanked me for my patience. She texted after 10 on Wednesday night to say she "got the ribbon she overlooked". (I'm assuming this is the same one she thought she missed on Tuesday morning at 10am?! That was 36 hours prior to this, and we know she ended up fixing it with flammable tape, so maybe this is the point when, her time being up, she decided to just tape it down?) **Notice that she was having trouble taking it apart and putting it back together, and trying to find cables/ribbons she missed, from at least Tuesday morning (I'm suspecting Monday actually since she didn't call me all that day when she was supposed to return it Monday evening.) until Wednesday night after 10pm ... so when was she doing the back-up for me?) So she said after 10pm Wednesday night that she got the overlooked ribbon finally, and to let her finish the tune-up and backup and "u r good. nice and quiet laptop." So she admits that even at this late point the tune-up and backup are still not done! Since it was after 10 and she wasn't done with essentially any part of the job, I asked if we should meet in the morning so she wouldn't have to rush the tune-up and backup. She answered at 10:30pm "Sure but I have to leave by 930. Meet at ********** Morning would be better." I asked if 9:15 would work so she could be on her way by 9:30, but then remembered all we had to go over, so I said "or do you need more time than that to show me the backing-up?" No response for 25 minutes, so at 10:50 I asked "When you get a minute, confirm the time you'd like to meet in the morning that will give us time to go over backing up." (so twice I reminded her that we needed to leave adequate time for her to show me how to continue regular back-ups after I got home) She answered that yes, 9:15 was fine. When my husband and I arrive at ********* on Thursday morning at 9:10/9:15, Monday was inside waiting for her drink to be made. She had left my laptop in her car unattended! She was there before we were and could have had it booted up on a table ready to show me what she'd done, talk quickly about any issues she found, and show me how to continue doing regular backups the easy way she promised to set it up for me to do, as she said she would. When we approached her she said hi and that she didn't have time to show us anything or she'd be late for work. I probably looked more than a little surprised and reminded her that this is why I asked about how much time we needed to leave that morning to do what we needed to. She said yes, but if she did she'd be late for work, and doing the continued backups is SO easy and she had it set up SO easy - that if I had any questions to just give her a call. Then she proceeded to tell me that she re-named my drives so that what was D, for example, was now C, and what was E was now F - or something like that. (I still don't know what I have, but I do know that she should not have done this without my permission. I have also learned from the forensics company that I used to repair her work and do her job (that part is still coming) that no one in the industry would ever name a drive "300gig-2ndDrive", which is what she named my newly switched E drive, and she mislabeled my newly switched D drive as a BD-ROM instead of a CD-ROM.) As we listened to her talk about this, realizing that if we hadn't been standing there talking we could have gone over my computer at least a little, a few young ladies walked in that she apparently knew and she began chit-chatting with them right next to us. My husband and I just looked at each other, wondering if she was for real. I finally said out loud, "I guess I'll just get in line for my coffee then ..." so she said goodbye to her friends and said she'd go with my husband out to her car where she had left my laptop and he can get everything from her. When he came back in, she had left from the parking lot. Knowing now what I do, I understand why she backed out of showing me that morning that the computer was working great and what she had done with the back up ... she hadn't done the backup, she hadn't been able to put the machine back together properly, and it wasn't operational! (Yes, I've learned my lesson the hard way.) At home, when I took it out of the plastic **** store bag that she had it wrapped in, ready to use the remaining 3 days I had left to get ready for school to start, I was surprised that I had nothing but a black screen! I thought I could hear the fan turn on when I powered it up, and the lights above the keyboard came on, but not so much as a flicker on the monitor. I tried powering off and on twice more, but same result. As I was looking at the laptop more carefully than I usually do because I was trying to figure out what was wrong, I noticed that the front of the case had a gap in it. The top and bottom pulled apart and you could see inside the computer! I called ***** and left a message saying that I was getting nothing on the monitor and also describing the gap in the case. I texted her immediately at the same number saying I had left her a message and to please call as soon as possible. She texted back right away that she would as soon as she could. She finally called back an hour and fifteen minutes later, said it was fine the night before at her house and had no idea what was wrong. I described some blinking lights by the keyboard that were flashing in a pattern thinking that might be a clue, and she said that they might be some kind of code but she didn't know for what. Her buddy ****** might know, so she'd ask him to give me a call and maybe he could help fix it. And as for the case not closing all the way - "I probably forgot a screw or something." That's it - nothing about meeting to fix it or anything. (I was to find out later that this is a serious shock hazard, even if the machine is powered down and unplugged!) While I waited to see if ****** would call, it took ME about 30 seconds to google the flashing light pattern and see that it indicated something wrong with the graphics controller or something graphics/monitor related, which explains why I had no monitor. While I never heard anything from ******* ***** texted about 20 minutes later and told me to hook the laptop up to an external monitor and tell her if it worked. I did happen to have one from an old desktop, but had to ask how to go about doing that. My husband and I figured it out ourselves and I texted her back saying the external monitor said "no signal". She told me to hit a "fn" key on the top row to "activate the signal"?? Nothing. I told her what I had found on a quick search for the flashing light code, and confidently and quickly she texted back "Yep its a burned out gpu. Known problem for this model. Its soldered and many just reheat the solder." **So, wait a minute ... she suddenly knows it's a "known problem for this model", but when I took her this model on Sunday and said it was overheating and shutting down when I gamed or used other high-graphics programs she had no concerns nor mentioned anything of the kind, and then later upon getting it home when I had no monitor/graphics at all ... she has no idea what it could be so she'll call ******* Hmmm.** She texts me that "she didn't have any video issues", which is interesting since the folks who had to repair it said a corner of the monitor cable had a broken clip and they couldn't get it to stay in place until they repaired it and locked it down. She said that the GPU needed to be soldered, she didn't do soldering, but her buddy ****** only charges $100 to do it and she'll ask for a discount. (I learned later that might be the thing to do for a desktop tower, but not for a laptop, certainly not for this model of laptop, and absolutely not for a graphics card that is not only soldered but glued into the motherboard. The whole motherboard has to be replaced, which is so expensive that most folks just buy a new laptop. I would also later find out that the reason my computer would not run was not the GPU at all, but rather because she did not reassemble it correctly!) I was beginning to be very concerned about all my data that ***** was supposed to have backed up for me. The whole situation was starting to look pretty bad, ***** was now starting to be defensive, and I had no idea what she'd done to my computer. Instead of letting her and ****** do something else that might make matters worse, I decided to get in touch with an old acquaintance of mine, ******, who works in the field of computer forensics, repair, and all things computers, at ** ********** (This is not an active buddy of mine, but someone I was in a dog agility class with about 4 years ago and with whom I have never socialized outside of being in the same once a week class for a while and waving hello at a dog show.) I was hoping she could help troubleshoot the monitor issue for me, and I also asked her if I should be concerned about the front of the case having a gap. She asked if I could text her a picture of it and when she saw it she immediately said that I should NOT attempt to power up the computer again and not to touch anywhere near the front. This was not just a screw missing - it was misaligned from not being reassembled properly and it could shock anyone who touched it. ***** sent me home with a computer that she wouldn't start up in front of me as promised, wasn't operational when I got home, and worst of all, could have shocked me, my 5 children, my husband, or even my dog! When I told ***** what ** ********* had said about the case being open, ***** said that there was nothing wrong with trying to start it and she'd call me on her break. ** ********* also told me that if it was indeed a bad GPU, this was not a soldering fix like ***** was now trying to sell me. ****** wanted me to get another opinion since the two of them were obviously at odds, and gave me the name of someone at another forensics/repair store that she doesn't know personally, but who has a great reputation in the area among professionals. I called and they told me the same thing ****** did, and that it should be common knowledge to anyone in the field. Both of these companies had the means to get all my data off my hard drives as long as ***** hadn't damaged them somehow. We wondered if she had dropped it, causing the case not to close up properly, and so were unsure of what we would find with the hard drives! I told ***** what I had learned and asked her to, given the circumstances, refund the $150 that I paid her, which she cashed on Monday morning, by the way, before she even completed the job. I told her that I assumed that at least the backup she did was correct and complete so that they could easily transfer everything to the new laptop I was going to have to get. Again, she said she'd call me on her break so we could "speak truth". This was now about 5:30 on Thursday evening. I told her that I was sorry to be abrupt, but I didn't have time to talk, as I now had about 48 hours to rectify this whole situation since she didn't return the computer on Monday like she promised. I had to get a new computer, get data moved, and get all my new school data entered, so please just send the check to the address she had on record for me. She responded that I was being unfair, but "I will refund $100 after you hear exactly what was done. I will make it right but I won't be 'defammed'. You asked me to 'ci' the fan noise and do a tune-up per the work order." (This is not true and I have the "work order" that reads exactly as I described it in an earlier paragraph.) She goes on "I completed that work and backed up your data in addition. We charge $150 to do tune-ups alone." (She backed up my data for free "in addition"?? This was job number 1 on the "work order", AND I was to later have yet another surprise of finding out that she did NOT back up my hard drives, which was supposed to be the very first thing she did. That part is still to come.) She goes on "The screen was in working order when I shut it down last night and I have my Husband and daughter to verify that." (Even if this happens to be true, her job is to have the computer working for ME, not for her family, and she refused to start it up when she returned it to me.) She goes on "I have fixed over 1400 computers by myself in a 12 month time frame. I know what I'm doing. I apologize for the delay. I did not cause the video issue." (This is very impressive since that's over 116 computers per month that she fixed all by herself, and also concerning since that's a lot of income and I later learned that she closed her account with the State Department of Revenue in June and also has no city license to do business.) I asked again for a refund. At this point she began texting me all of her experience in the high tech industry, how shes been a customer service supervisor and developed policies and procedures, and about her awards and work with veterans, etc, etc. She then says she works at a ********* store and family gets a 10% discount, she can "get me a surface tablet for $250 for my kids, she can get me "any other ********* product almost for free" if I needed anything, and to just let her know. The next day, on 8/30, she texts that her buddy ****** will now "repair" my video chip for $60 and can do it quickly because he specialized in this very thing. By this time, the report is coming in from ** ********** so I shared with ***** what they were finding. They imaged the hard drive and could read all of what ***** did at what time and date while she had my computer. They also photographed as they worked, documenting as if they were working on a court case. That seemed a little overkill to me at the time, but it's what they do, and now I'm glad they did. On 8/31 at 2pm, I texted ***** that they were appalled. with what they had found so far and that I was rather angry. The preliminary report was "Let her know how much data was in just your user folder alone - 146GB, yet only 19.2GB was copied." So she had never backed up my computer!!! This was priority number one. Not only did she NOT back up my computer, but she knew it was having problems, and went in to "work" on it without a backup, risking all the data I had if something had gone wrong. In addition, she said everything was done when she returned the computer. She outright lied to me! She knew she had not secured all of my family photos, documents, school records, and other important records and programs, and let me think the backup was complete! I told her that they had been able to get all my data off my hard drives, which they had to pull out and image separately because, not only was the machine was both inoperable and dangerous when they got it, but when they opened the laptop and found that she hadn't even reassembled it correctly, they had no confidence that she hadn't done something bad to the hard drives, like dropping the computer, for example. This is more expensive than just backing up someones' hard drives in a normal way, but we couldn't risk losing everything. I also asked her at this point if she was properly licensed with the city of Maple Valley, because I had done some searching and it looked like she had closed her account with the State Department of Revenue. Her response was "Your data is intact. It was never compromised so I don't know why there would be a great expense to you on that. Regardless, I am willing to refund you half of my charge (notice that it has gone down from refunding 100 to now only refunding 75) but my agreement was to fix your fan noise, (no, that was not "the agreement") and I still maintain that your screen issue occurred after I fixed your laptop (there was nothing to "fix" when I gave it to her) and finished the tune up." (I am told by the ********* company and others in the business that "tune up" assumes cleaning, which I have photos showing that she didn't do either.) She ignored my questions about her licensing. She also asked at this point if "I accepted this offer to resolve this business transaction." I responded that I did not accept this offer because not only did she not do the backup OR tune up, but that more information was coming in from the ** ********* about what exactly she did to the inside of my computer that was now being repaired, if that was possible. I gave her some examples of what they were finding and photographing, asked her to come clean about whatever happened, and said that when all the findings were in we would move forward from there. Bottom Line and Where We Stand Now: On September 3, I received word from ** ********* that my laptop was up and running perfectly! There was nothing wrong with the graphics chip. (It's a good thing I didn't let her friend in there with a soldering iron.) We now knew that my laptop wouldn't start because ***** did not put it together properly! Her ineptitude, pride, and dishonesty put me in a position requiring me to go to another company to 1. Secure my data, 2. Do the backup that she did not do, 3. Do the cleaning / tuneup she did not do, and 4. Assemble my laptop properly so that it would run, which required some repair as well as checking everything she did to find all the mistakes. In addition, she returned to me a DANGEROUS computer. Here is a summary of the findings, which we have photo documentation of: -The case would not close and seal, and therefore the top would also not close because 2 cables were placed on top of the motherboard instead of the slats they go in under the motherboard. This is an extreme shock and burn hazard, even if the machine is powered off and unplugged. 4 screws were also missing. Anyone coming into contact with a computer returned in this condition is at risk, and there are small children living in this home! The monitor cable was not clipped in because one side of the clip was broken, thus no monitor. Normal and customary computer tools were used to repair it and lock it down. -Improper athletic / first aid tape was used to tape down the keyboard ribbon! This tape was clean and clearly new, and was returned in a Baggie for evidence. This kind of tape has cotton fibers. It is a fire hazard! The machine was returned with a fire hazard combined with flowing current with access to anyone touching it -As already mentioned, backup was not done, and it was written on the receipt twice - that this is client's "primary computer - back up first." Not only was a backup not done first, but not done all. -The computer was not cleaned in general. The fan was either not cleaned, or was done so very poorly - especially unacceptable when the receipt / invoice says that machine has been overheating and shutting down, especially when gaming. -About 18 photos document the condition this computer upon being returned to client. Besides being in complete denial about her ability to work inside a computer, what she must not get is the danger she put me and my family in!! That makes the hassle and the stress and the time and the expense pale in comparison! She could have physically hurt someone. Requested resolution - I sent ***** the above information, along with several key photos. I asked for the full 150 back because she did not do any part of what she was supposed to do. In addition, she returned a non-operational computer that I then had to take elsewhere to have repaired. When they saw the shocking "re-assembly" she did, they did not have any idea what she might have done to the hard drives, therefore, securing my data was priority number one, as it was "supposed" to have been for her. My bill was 2 hours of diagnostic/repair of internal hardware and cable checks @ 100/hour = $200. 2.5 hours of diagnostic on boot-up @100/hour = $250. That's $450, and does NOT include file copying or cleaning since I had planned on paying for that when I originally took her the computer. It also does not include consultation or imaging that was done. She is responsible for what they had to do to fix the mess she made, and to do it carefully and legally so that she could be held accountable. She owes me 150 refund and 450 to restore my laptop to working order. That's $600. I told her that I wanted her to have one more chance now that she knew everything she did and didn't do is on the table and documented, but then I was moving on and the BBB would be contacted the next day. The only response I got was "My counsel advised me to not engage with you via text any further. I will be sending you a written response via certified US mail within the next 72 hours to the address on the work order." She gave no indication of what the letter would say, but I've held off for 8 days to give her a chance to get a letter to me. It finally arrived today with a money order for only $150. In the accompanying letter, she never even acknowleges what was found inside my laptop, even though I sent her a few of the photos. She states that I claimed that my screen "went blank" after getting home with it. I never claimed this - I told her there was never so much as a flicker on the screen. She repeats that her husband saw it work at home. Again, she is not being paid to show her husband that it works, she is paid to show me that it works and that her job was done, and she refused to start the computer up for me when she handed it back, which we had clearly agreed to do, and is absolutely normal and expected among professionals in computer repair/work. She states that it's old and has known GPU issues and that she "offered to fix it for me". I am the one who told her that I had learned about GPU issues after the fact, she never offered to fix it for me - she offered to have her buddy ****** solder it for $100. However, all of that is irrelevant because, as I have told her several times, this is not a GPU issue we are talking about at all - my computer is running perfectly fine now that it was reassembled properly! There's nothing wrong with my graphics at the present time. I had no screen response at all because she broke the corner clip on the monitor cable, which was repaired and locked in place by ************ when they fixed it. She states that because her husband saw it running at her home, and because it is 5 years old, that "they" are not liable for any further issues that occurred after returning it. I think that is just about as unprofessional as it gets, is not an accurate summary of the situation at all, and I completely disagree. She also states in her letter that returning the 150 is a "gesture of concern" because, after all, they spent time cleaning out my laptop (the photos speak for themselves), fixed the fan issue (the photos show it was not even cleaned thoroughly), and gave it a tune-up (I'm not sure what she thinks qualifies as a tune-up). This is what they charge 150 for (not what the work order says at all), and this is what they were to do (not what the work order says at all). She indicates that they backed up my computer as a favor, above and beyond earning the 150 they charged me. Again, not only did she NOT do a complete back up but only a very small portion, but doing a complete back up FIRST, as IS written on the work order, was top priority. I do not accept 150 when I am out 600 (actually more, but I am trying to be reasonable). I will leave the money order stapled to the letter as she has it until this is resolved. She still owes me another 450 for fixing the mess she made in order to have my laptop back operational. I would be more than happy to email the photos to you at the BBB. Perhaps another indicator of her integrity and professionalism, is the fact that she is operating Summit Solutions without a state or city business license. I wish I would have checked up on her before entrusting my computer to her, but better late than never. She set up and operated her company, Summit Solutions, with proper licensing I assume at a storefront in Maple Valley, so she is not ignorant of the law. She closed her account with the state when she moved Summit Solutions to her home because as she told me "it's more lucritive than the store". I thought at the time that she just meant operating from her home and having no overhead, not because she's taking in money under the table, operating as the same company. She has run ******* *********** a landscaping services company (now closed with the state) out of her home as well, so she is an experienced, if not successful, business woman. The address on the business card she gave me is the storefront location, now closed, XXXXX ***** ****** ******** but her home address where she is operating from now is XXXXX ** ***** *** Maple Valley, WA 98038, to the best of my knowledge.

Desired Settlement: $150 refunded for agreed upon services that were not completed plus $450 reimbursement for the remedy I was forced to seek due to ***** of Summit Solutions returning my laptop to me in a dangerous and nonoperational condition. It has now been repaired and assembled properly and is in perfect working order. ***** has finally offered $150 as a "gesture", still insisting she completed her job professionally, but refuses to comment on or acknowledge the forensics/repair company's photo documentation that I have provided her of what she did to my computer that required their services.