BBB Accredited Business since

Klamath Technology Services

Phone: (541) 205-6332 Fax: (541) 234-4667 View Additional Phone Numbers 2544 Shasta Way, Klamath Falls, OR 97601 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers computer and technology sales and repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Klamath Technology Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Klamath Technology Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Klamath Technology Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 2012 Business started: 03/10/2009 in OR Business started locally: 03/10/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James Hofstetter, Owner Mr. Robert Straitt, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Hofstetter, Owner
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Computer Consultant Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts Computer and Office Machine Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811212)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year warranty on all new computers. 14 day return policy on all electronic items.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Klamath Technology Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2544 Shasta Way

    Klamath Falls, OR 97601 (888) 272-1203 (541) 205-6332


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my work computer into Klamath Tech on Friday 8/1/2014 for them to do a simple diagnostic for 3 issues I was having. 1. BOOTMNG file is missing on start up. 2. Random screen flicker. 3. Audio issues. I told ***** that I worked from home and needed my computer back as soon as possible. ***** told me he should have it done before they closed. I called at 5:30pm (they close at 6pm) and ***** said everything was looking good and he would call me back. He never called me back. I called on Saturday at 9:15am and **** answered and said they were still looking for the issue and he was taking out each component and diagnosing them to make sure they all were working properly. **** stated he was doing the hard drives and the RAM sticks (memory). I told him I needed my computer back because I worked from home and needed my computer. He said he would call me back as soon as he was done. They close at 3pm on Saturday. I went into the business at 2:50 pm to see about getting my computer. **** said he was putting it back together and asked me to wait. I could see what he was doing and he was having an issue plugging my 3 hard drives back in and getting them to work. He told me sorry for the delay but it is giving him an issue now and he was not sure how long it would take to fix it. **** told me that he would come in with a (*****, ****** a male name starting with *) on Sunday and get it back to me as soon as they could. They are not open on Sunday. I called on Monday at 9:15 am and was told they were still working on it. ***** told me as soon as they knew something they would call me. I called at 3 pm on Monday still nothing. Called at 5:30 pm still unable to give me answers. Tuesday morning I call around 9:15 and ***** tells me there is an issue with the operating system and he is doing a process to make sure the hard drive was good and that it takes a while to run. I get a phone call around 2 pm from **** saying that the operating system needs to be re-installed. **** says it would cost $125 to do the repair. I told him I can not wait any longer I need my computer back for work and that I didn't have that kind of money. I went in to pick up my computer and in ****'s words he told me my operating system was Quarked. I told him I would try and work the repair into my budget when I got paid on the 15th. I brought my computer home and all I got when I tried to boot my computer was a blue screen of death. I did the options I was given to try and repair it. It was unable to repair itself. I tried to boot it how I had been booting it for past 8 months and I noticed it was not giving me all my hard drive options to boot from. I opened my computer and 2 of the hard drives were still unplugged along with one of my fans. I plugged everything in they way I had it when it was working and it still would not recognize all 3 of the hard drives. I took it too another Computer Shop on Wednesday. He diagnosed it and said yes the only way to repair it was to re-install the operating system. He backed up my files and did the install with an upgrade from 32 bit to 64 bit for $100. It took him less then 24 hours to diagnose and repair my computer. He is out of town until next week, but told me when he comes back into town he will help me get my hard drives working again. I received my computer in good working order on Thursday. I lost out on work for Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday because of what Klamath Tech did to my computer and how long it took them to get it back to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like Klamath Tech to pay the $100 it cost me to get my computer fixed and $250 in lost wages on these facts: My computer was a reliable working computer with a few minor issues. When they returned my computer to me 5 days later it was not a reliable working computer. I feel that what ever they tried to do diagnostic wise on Friday is what "quarked" my operating system. I feel they were incompetent in returning my computer back to me the way I brought it to them and by the time they said they would return it. I feel these damages are fair, as I am not asking for any compensation to install all the programs so I could go back to work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/11) */ Okay, now that I have grilled my technicians over the issue, I understand what happened in this case. Mr. ***** brought us a malfunctioning computer to be diagnosed for the 3 issues he stated in his complaint after our area had several lightning storms. Mr. ***** asked if we could get the job done quick and we told him that we do have a workload and we would do our best. I now quote my technician: "Brought in customer machine, put it up on bench to test. Started the PC up, it hung briefly and became unresponsive as the screen flickered. Restarted the computer and was greeted with a disk image error from the boot sequence. Individually pulled and scanned each hard drive for integrity violations or signs of mechanical failure. All 3 drives showed no physical issues. Tested power supply and RAM and found no fault with either of them. Checked motherboard for any sign of damage and found none. Began looking into the OS repair options when customer picked up machine." Mr. ***** computer had damage to the operating system. Due to the computer failing over the "Screen Flicker" issue and "disk image error" we conducted a full hardware diagnostic due to the age of his computer. We called Mr. ***** and updated him on the process that was going on. The hard drive scans and diagnostics take time which was more time than Mr. ***** was able to deal with. Once we tested the hardware and found it okay (we do extensive testing with expensive tools) we began diagnosing the software and found the computer needed to have the operating system reloaded. We contacted Mr. ***** and told him what needed to be repaired, he stated that he did not have the money to repair the computer until the 15th of the month and is going to come in and pick it up. We explained to Mr. ***** that the computer was not repaired yet, but he came and picked it up anyway. Mr. ***** then states that he took the computer home, turned it on, and it did not work. That is because Mr. ***** did not have us fix the issue we diagnosed it because he could not afford it "until the 15th". We do apologize that Mr. ***** did not understand his technology and the problem with it. We did our best to explain it to him and to keep him updated. Mr. ***** stated he brought us a reliable working computer with a few minor issues. This statement was untruthful on Mr. ***** account. Mr. ***** brought us a heavily malfunctioning computer with a progressive software issue. Mr. ***** rushed in and picked the computer up in mid repair claiming he "could not afford it" and expected a working computer. This was an unreasonable and untruthful statement by Mr. *****. I do understand the need to have a computer for work, but Mr. ***** lack of patience and honesty was the issue here. The computer would have been repaired within 24 hours of your approval. As far as the "other computer shop", how did Mr. ***** afford to repair it before the 15th? You state they fixed it in 24 hours. That would be because all the hours of troubleshooting were already done by us. We could have finished the computer within 24 hours of your repair approval and we told you this. Finally, in this complaint, Mr. ***** even admits everything we stated here including the lack of ability to afford the repair. If Mr. ***** could not afford the repair, how did he get the computer fixed? I sense untruthfulness. You blame us for your missed work. You missed work because your computer was broken and was in for repair. We are not responsible for what your broken computer caused you and our shop disclaimer that you initialed states this. Repair takes time, especially when the issue progresses and looks like a hardware problem initially. You were kindly, and only charged a $25 diagnostic fee for us to spend hours scanning your entire computer to insure it was fixed properly when we were done. We did not break your computer. We just tried to fix it for you and when we returned the computer to you, we fully let you know the repair was not complete and the status of the computer. You only paid us $25 for our work and your compensation request is inhuman and ridiculous. You lied about being able to afford it and paid someone else that offered to charge less than our repair estimate. Let the truth be known. We will gladly refund the $25 diagnostic fee because of your dissatisfaction. You will need to email your address to ******* so I can send you a refund as your twisting of truth has now led to you being banned from our store. We are VERY honest at Klamath Tech. We expect our clients to be as well. That is what we have won awards for. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not twist any truth. When I brought my computer in, I was able to work on it just fine. Yes my computer had a little bit of a screen flicker, audio skipping and to load windows at start up or during reboot I had to hit F8 and choose the proper HD. I dealt with the issue for many months with no issues. I called and talked to ***** a week before I actually brought My computer in about the issues. ***** assured me then it would only take 1 day to do a diagnosis. ***** told me I should have my computer back that night on the day I brought it in to the shop. I made certain that ***** understood that I worked from home and could not be without my computer. Nobody from the shop called me, I did all the calling for status on my computer until they called me on the day I picked up my computer. I did not ask them to do anything to my computer other then the diagnostic. I am quite capable of working on my computer on my own. I just wanted to know what was wrong with it, so I could maybe fix the issue myself. Yes the issue was beyond my computer knowledge I agree. The big issue that is not being addressed here is the fact I was able to work on my computer when I brought it in. I was not able to work the following 6 days it took Klamath Tech to diagnose my computer, and after I received my computer it was a none functioning computer. They are trying to blame me for the condition my computer was returned to me. How did I have anything to do with my computers downfall while it was in their hands? How did the lightning storms have anything to do with it? I do not have to explain my financial situation to anyone. Especially not Klamath Tech. I needed my computer back so I could work to make money. I spent money to get my computer fixed at another shop because I lost confidence in the company getting my computer back to me in a timely fashion, And that money came out of funds I had earmarked for other things. You say you will refund the $25 I paid for the diagnostic. I have my receipt for the $25 and what I asked to have done. It says nothing about you taking my computer apart and not having the ability to put it back together. I did not authorize you to do anything but a simple diagnostic. I did not ask you to take my computer apart, I did not ok you to keep my computer for more then 1 day and I did not authorize you to make plans to repair my computer. Just do a simple diagnostic is all I asked for. I have been completely truthful in all my statements I have made and I have witnesses as to the condition of my computer when I brought it in. I feel the line and I quote "We do apologize that Mr. ***** did not understand his technology and the problem with it. We did our best to explain it to him and to keep him updated." I understand the technology very well as I am the one that upgraded my system to Windows 7 from XP, I am the one that replaces the hardware when there is an issue with it or when I just want an to upgrade something. I am not computer illiterate as the statement suggests, and I find that statement very insulting to my intelligence. I understand the need to let the "geeks" check on something for me when it is above my knowledge. As for being banned from Klamath Tech I will never come into your shop ever again, I will not refer anyone to you and I will make sure that this issue with your shop gets passed around to every social media site if you insult me 1 more time. I feel the response is a complete insult with no actual facts that I was negligible. I will say it 1 more time. I was assured a simple diagnostic would be done the day I brought my computer in. It took 1 week to get my computer back. I got my computer back in non-working order. It was a reliable working computer when I brought it in. When I picked up my computer it was in disarray with the HD's not working properly and my cooling fans disconnected. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/09/02) */ Once again I apologize that this client was not happy with our services and, in their opinion our testing procedures took too long. When this client brought his computer in, he initialed our disclaimer. I quote 2 lines in our disclaimer: "Client understands that there may be other issues that may be uncovered during diagnosis and will be explained before further action. Client understands that any and all client data should be regularly backed up and Klamath Technology Services will not be held liable for any data loss or corruption in any manner." A similar clause is in just about every computer repair center. This client's computer came in with problems that made him seek professional repair. When we turned on the Client's computer, his issue appeared and progressed right after we initially turned the computer on, and the computer ceased to start up afterward. This would have happened to the client if he had turned it on one more time as well. After our initial troubleshooting did not find a solution, which took a bit more time due to the type of failure that occurred, we contacted the client and informed him of our need to troubleshoot the problem further. Which was going to take more time due to the way the system failed. After doing a complete system diagnostic on each part, and getting the system to boot in a stable manner off of our linux OS drive, we determined that a backup and reload of the operating system would be the best solution. We contacted the client, told him the cost, and he told us that he could not afford to have it done and that he was going to pick up the computer. The client picked up that the computer was not fixed. The client was contacted and informed that his issue progressed and the computer would not function correctly. The client picked up the computer knowing it was not repaired and told us that he wouldn't be able to afford it until a later date. The client complains that he brought the computer home and it did not work making him take it to another repair facility and told him what we said would fix it and pays them before he could "afford it" like he stated to us. We did inform the client that we would have been able to have his computer finished by the next day if he did have it finished. Therefore, we do apologize on how long it took. We also apologize that the secondary hard drive cables were not reconnected. We will not be blamed for your computer not booting. That was the client's computer "finishing" it's breakdown and failure the first time we powered it up to test it. The client was only charged $25 for hours of advanced diagnostic work and drive scans (we don't like it when things "die" on our bench) that he was not going to be charged extra for. We offered to refund the $25. That is more than fair and reasonable on our end. We will not be paying for your computer failure and decision to have another computer shop you talked to while we had the machine finish the repair for less. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) OK I need someone to do a Mediation on this please. Who ever is responding to this obviously has no clue about my computer and what happened. And I will give reasons why I feel this way. 1. He keeps stating that THEY called me and kept me informed on my computer. NOBODY called me. I called them. When I called on Friday when I was suppose to get my computer back like I was told I would, ***** said everything looked good and they were just checking a couple more things. DID NOT GET MY COMPUER BACK. 2. On Saturday I CALLED and spoke with **** in the morning and he said everything looked good he was just trying to finish up. I CALLED at 2:30pm was told it was almost done and everything looked good. I went to pick up my computer at 2:50 pm. **** said I don't know what happened but it is not responding correctly. **** said "it must be allergic to you." (I did not find this funny) I told **** it was very important that I got my computer back so I could work on Monday and he said, "Our main tech comes in on SUNDAY and fixes the things that we do not have the knowledge for and he would come in on SUNDAY as well to get my computer back to me on SUNDAY". I did not get my computer back until Wednesday. 3. The person responding to this says if I would of turned my computer on 1 more time it would of died on me, like it did on them. I disagree. The issues with my computer where minor issues, that just needed a OS repair done from disc according to the ********* website. When I talked to ***** about this a week before, he agreed that was probably all that needed to be done, but they would have to do the diagnostic on it first. 4. the part of the agreement that says "Klamath Tech is not liable for any data loss or corruption in any manner." This to me is saying "yes bring your computer in to us, we can kill it, and then charge you to fix it." If I had read this a little closer I sure as **** would have not left my computer with them. So Summary: Was told they could and would diagnose my computer in 1 day. It took 6 days. Was told a couple of times that everything looked good. When I received my computer back it did not work and not only did the OS not work, 1 of the hard drives is so dead the data on it is lost forever. I really need the Case manager to look this over and make a decision.