BBB Accredited Business since

Vertafore Inc

Phone: (800) 444-4813 Fax: (425) 402-9569 View Additional Phone Numbers 11724 NE 195th St, Bothell, WA 98011 http://www.vertafore.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance agent software for work flow automation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vertafore Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vertafore Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vertafore Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 06/15/1992 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynda McDougall, Executive Assistant Mr. Jeff Groh, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynda McDougall, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
A M S Services Amsworld.com

Additional Locations

  • 11724 NE 195th St

    Bothell, WA 98011 (800) 243-6204 (800) 444-4813

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vertafore took over a company we were doing business with. The company we were doing business with provided our insurance agency management system. Vertafore announced an update recently and provided a software upgrade. Since that time our system has been rendered useless. We have continued to get billed by vertafore, but have NOT been able to operate as before. We have lost a ton of hours at work, lost productivity, fallen behind on schedules, can't work on new or existing business effectively, etc. Vertafores response and answer: "Do you want a sales guy to call you about buying a new system" Are you kidding me????? a software that we working PERFECTLY for 12 years, until VERTAFORE decided they wanted to provide a patch or upgrade. Now lets really think about this, if they provide a patch that can't be reversed, don't tell anyone that it can't be, then render EVERYONES systems inoperable, then have a sales guy sell a new system. Nice pattern if you are VERTAFORE and your sole intent was to make new clients out of all the clients you purchased from the last vender we were doing business with. They are a scam and should be brought up on federal charges for such. DO NOT DO BUSINESS with this company. ****** ****** applies in total. My problem was I was acquired.

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded for all charges I have incurred for "customer support" as they have provided NONE. They simply rendered a perfectly good system inoperable. I want money for my lost time and downtime. I want this business shut down for illegal and unethical behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response  */ ******* ******** contacted our support team on 7/9/2014 to report that his InStar application was running very slowly when a second user logged into the system. As we understand it, Mr. ******** is running our application on a Mac with PC-emulating software, which is not a supported configuration. We have offered Mr. ******** a credit equal to his monthly recurring costs for InStar from July to October. Vertafore has a planned release in October that may or may not address Mr. ********'s issues (he is the only known customer of Vertafore running this configuration). In the event the subsequent release does not alleviate Mr. ********'s problem, Vertafore will release him from his contractual obligations. A sales manager called him August 25th and has not heard back from him to date. Vertafore regrets the experience Mr. ******** has had in the last few months. We hope that he will accept the credit and remain with us on InStar or another of our management systems. Yours sincerely, ***** ******

Consumer Response: The response provided by Verftafore, specifically ***** ******* is a FLAT OUT LIE. There is no other way to phrase it.

Our problem did not start on the date she noted. That was months after the problem was NOT resolved.

Our computer configuration is the EXACT same it has been for 4 (FOUR) YEARS prior. The computers and set up have nothing to do with the instar patch that was installed that has rendered our instar inoperable.

We have NEVER received a credit, indication of credit, return of money, etc. NOTHING. In fact to the contrary, we received a bill for PAST DUE money today for the EXACT months ***** *****s the LIAR provided.

The credit should be for January 2014 forward as that is when they installed the patch that disabled my system.

They have failed to provide the very services they were paid for.

The VERTAFORE staff we spoke with confirmed there are MANY users of INSTAR with the exact same problems since the upgrade.

It is amazing that this ***** *****s took the time to CREATE fake dates for when VERTAFore supposedly took action and called me. The funny thing is that I have spoken with and called back the people, it was three calls. They have yet to return my calls. But the ones i have spoken with ONLY tried to sell me on a NEW system. ARE you kidding me, you "f',,,," up my software and NOW you want me to buy another software from YOU. That would be laughable if I did not find it criminal. ***** *****s is a liar and should be held accountable for her lies. She should be fired or in jail. If she spent HALF the time she spent creating her fraudelent email with made up lies on actually FIXING the problem, we would be up and running by now. She has only lied, created more confusion and has solved nothing since she wrote the letter.

Vertafore needs to refund my money and replace my system or they will be sued. They have caused "property damage" to my ***et and they are liable. The same as they are liable for all others they caused harm to.

I have yet to see an offer for any refund, for my system to be fixed, for a new software, in fact I have been offered absolutely NOTHING other than from a sales call to offer me an opportunity to buy a NEW system.

***** *****s needs to get her head out of her *** and get real. She will be one of the people that will be deposed when the suit is filed for vertafores failure to rectify the property damage they have caused.

This business needs to be shut down, they have ripped off unsuspecting consumers. They seem to buy existing software companies and acquire their clients. Then they choose to willfully damage their software so they can convert the users to more expensive more profitable software versions that vertafore sells. This is a scam and is considered fraudulent activity.

Why don't you ask ***** *****s or any other employee of vertafore why they have NOT responded to any of my emails? responded to any of my phone calls for service? etc.

The answer to me is clear, they are only interested in selling new products and collecting money. They will not get one penny from my company and I am prepared to file a law suit if I do not get a resolution to this matter shortly.

Scam artists and liars are two things I don't tolerate and ***** *****s / vertafore has proven herself to be both with her own words that are not supported by any fact and are clearly abolished by the facts in hand from Vertafore.

I, like all consumers, would expect there would be some level of accountability. When the BBB lets companies post lies without providing any details to support the lies, it allows the businesses to perpetuate their crimes on the consumers.

Where is the credit ***** referenced? that is an easy paper for her to forward? Where are the emails to support that?

Where is the solution she mentioned for October? that also would be an easy paper or email for her to provide. She can't provide anything, because it only exists in her lies.

I can be reached for comment, I would hope others that are affected by verftafore and their illegal behavior will contact me for the suit. I would not be surprised to see a cl*** action on this one.

Business Response: On 12/11/2014 the customer's account was cancelled with an effective date of 11/30/2014 and Vertafore suspended all billing activities. At this point, we consider this issue closed.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The matter will not be closed without proper restitution made by Vertafore for the "direct physical damage they caused to my personal property". It is their responsibility to refund the money they were paid for services they NEVER provided. Provide payment/restitution for the damages they caused. And provide payment for the business disruption they caused. These are the laws they fail to abide by.

It is amazing that they state they consider the matter closed as of a specific date, but to the contrary I have received recent billing invoices from Verftafore requesting payment. This company and their representatives are full of lies and deception. There is NOT one thing that I can point to that they have done with honesty and credible intent. They are full of fraud and abuse.

How convenient to do nothing, damage a persons property, ignore their requests, keep their money and provide nothing, continue billing them long after they have requested to cancel and offer a cancellation date 6 months after the fact of the cancellation request and say with a straight face, "At this point, we consder this issue closed"????? They can go ***** themselves. They are full of ****** and a company like this needs to pay the price.

This matter will NEVER be closed until I get what is owed to me. This company has failed to live up to the basic consumer protections afforded by this country on every level. Abuse of power, fraud, deception, and poor customer service is all that has been produced by vertafore. All there effort for deception and not one ounce of energy towards fixing the problem, repairing the damage, refunding the fees collected from abuse, providing payment for damages caused and for the disruption of business on an ongoing basis. These are FACTS, all else is simply lies.

All consumers be aware, you are BEST to use any other software provider and avoid the aggravation. If your software was purchased by them as in my case, RUN and don't look back. They will cost you more money in the long run and are only interested in selling you on more crap services and they fail to provide anything the consumer pay for. This has been my experience to a T and nobody can dispute it. ****** ******!!!!!!!

Business Response:

Unable to reach a final agreement with Mr. ********, I contacted the BBB for a final judgment on 1/26/2015 and have not heard back as of yet. Please have our case manager review the complaint and reach out to me via ***** ********* with a judgment.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This business is a joke, they have failed to provide the most basic of services I have paid for over years. In addition, they caused direct physical damage to my personal property "my software" when they deliberately installed an update as they called it, but in fact it was a "trojan horse" they sent to disable my software and render it useless to any additional users. 

I own the software, the licensing and the user licenses and Vertafore deliberately damaged it in an attempt to up sell me on other products they offer. This is the most disgusting of bad business practices a company can do and this sort of nonsense should not be tolerated. Vertafore should have to pay for the full replacement of my software and for the ongoing disruption to my business. They have failed to make any sort of restitution, have failed to show any sign of remorse, have failed to restore my system to its prior functionality, have failed at every level imaginable and continue to be deny their involvement and wrongdoing. ****** ******!!!!!! All consumers should be put on notice DO NOT do business with VERTAFORE. They are garbage, thieves and liars. A culture of corruption is widespread in that garbage organization. All current users should cancel their services immediately. All other software users should file a class action lawsuit against this criminal organization.



Sincerely,

******* ********

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ************, who is our account representative was contacted 6/26/14 in regards to cancelling our AMS360 service and migrating the data to another Client Management System. *** was fully aware of our desire to cancel the service as he verbally confirmed multiple times. He said he needed to send us a Docusign document in order to process the cancellation and the migration. We signed and returned and then had several more calls with *** who verified he received everything he need to process the cancellation and the migration. He explained the 60 day cancellation notice requirement and verified again that our last billing would be for August. We should not have had any billings after August. In September we received another bill and I called *** to ask him to correct this billing error. He confirmed that it was an error and wasn't sure why we had been billed again and said he would have the refund processed. After many more calls in which he would verify again that the refund is coming and that we would not be billed again we were never refunded and continued to be billed for October. I again called *** and generally would get a voice mail at this point and no call back. I began insisting to stay on hold sometimes for very long amounts of time and each time *** would come back eventually and say that he had to call me back as his boss was busy or out of the office. There was never a call back and we have been billed now since September incorrectly. *** eventually was able to get approval from his manager to correct the billing error and verified the error was on their end again. I signed the document he sent me with the retroactive billing date and said we would be refunded from September 2014- February 2015. The management approved docuement was sent to ****** ************ in billing who also in writing agreed to the refund for Sep 14-Feb 15 and said it would be processed shortly. I emailed her several times checking on the status of this refund and after several weeks she came back and said there would be no refund and that if there was management would have to approve it. At this point I have written emails and recorded calls from two employees of this company, 1 as the rep and 1 from billing verifying the refund amount and stating that it would be credited to us and 1 manager that has approved the refund. I have spent countless hours on the phone and through email trying to get a resolution to this issue.

Desired Settlement: Immediate stoppage of any future billing and a refund of $3,725.56. This number was given to me by ****** ************ as the amount that would be refunded and the amount that management has already approved in writing.

Business Response: I have reviewed this case and consulted internally. It seems Mr. ********** request was caught up in an internal misunderstanding that has been addressed. We have obtained the proper approvals and will be mailing Mr. ******** a check in the amount of $3725.56. Considering the upcoming holiday and our accounting deadlines, We expect to be mailing that check no later than 2/27/2015.

I thank Mr. ********* for reaching out and allowing us to correct the issue and sincerely apologize for the experience.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: High pressure sale, told me that I could cancel anytime(have in writing). Have tried for 3 months to cancel and they just keep billing me. Have spoke to 5 or 6 people who tell me they will get back to me. someone else calls and tries to tell me I signed a contract. Yes that is true but that there is nothing in the contract that says I can't cancel or I will owe you money. They refuse to cancel this service and they keep billing me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to cancel the service flat. I made the request to cancel one week after starting training. Requested cancel 2/24/2014 and since we only began the process and there was no company downloads or customer downloads that ever took place as well as training only began and more than 2/3 of it not completed, that they cancel the service flat without anything due. They keep citing I signed a contract that entitles them to collect for services even though those services have not been accepted due to my request to cancel because the product is not right for me. They refuse to cancel and every month bill me for another month. Now I am being told I am over 60 days outstanding and I can see where this is going. They refuse to cancel and to continue billing me. I have the original sales rep email that tells me I can cancel anytime. Contract says either they or I can cancel and there is no stipulation about any early cancellation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/07/15) */ Based on emails provided by our very important customer, it appears a former employee provided inaccurate information regarding our cancellation policy. Based on this information we are willing to let the customer out of their contract moving forward. Per the contract we have a 60 day cancellation but we are willing to waive this considering the circumstances. Cancellation will be effective the date of the original cancellation request and all fees charged after this date will be refunded or credited remove outstanding balance. We will also contact the customer to articulate the resolution, and obviously will take measures to ensure that our Sales staff clearly articulate T's & C's properly to our customers in order to avoid unpleasant experiences with Vertafore. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 21, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I except their resolution providing that their is no further financial obligation on my part. My only concern is the language that states they will waive all fees as of the cancellation date.

9/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this email to you and need your help. I started a small business in insurance here in Palm Beach county FL last year after finding myself out of a job and even finding it harder to gain another employment. I have a lot of expenses including daycare for my son I am a single father of an active 5 year old and living expenses to say the least, I was able to scrape together the little savings I had after my 10 years of employment ended to rent an executive office suite, purchase office supplies and business tax receipt and upon doing this I started my business. One year later barely making enough to pay my business and personal expense I was looking at possible hiring someone or have a management system that can help me with time management and servicing my clients and running the business. I found a company on the internet Vertafore headquartered in Washington that claimed to provide that type of service that would help me manage the insurance agency, I contacted them and spoke to a man named ******* ***** in the sales department that assured me they would be able to provide the service I needed which would be able to have all my insurance companies I am appointed to work for within one system that I would be able to seamlessly access and help my customers with their insurance needs as a Florida licensed insurance agent . They told me how much it would cost which is $240 a month then they sent me out a contract that I had to sign the same day and get it back to them immediately to secure this great deal I was told from my salesman which was lower than their regular price. When attempting to sign the document the site was experiencing technical difficulties that the sales guy had to send it back to me repeatedly. I finally got the electronic document and signed the document and they called me and told me they received it the problem no arise where I had no time to read all the information, 1. The supposed software does not put all my insurance carriers together in one system as assured by ******* 2. The amount of $240 is no longer the case it is now $240 + $100+$219 =$559 (which in no way I can afford monthly) I called into Vertafore billing department and talk with an agent ********** ****** and her supervisor ********* ******** ask them to please cancel the contract for the above reason they then told me they cannot cancel I would need to speak with my sales rep ******* and after many attempts to get a hold of my sales rep and leaving messages I finally got a hold of him and was told the same thing that I cannot cancel because it's a one year agreement he also went as far as telling me repeatedly this contract is like a car lease and cannot be broken. This company has my checking account information and continues to charge me for the service I am not using.

Desired Settlement: BBB can you please help me get my money back and cancel this agreement I will even settle for just a flat out cancel as I tried reaching to their director of sales who had me speak to a sales manager who said they may consider canceling however they will charge me $3,000. This is unfair and they will not listen to me can you please help?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/09/06) */ This request is under further evaluation, we will provide more details soon. Thanks Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have signed a contract for the Vertafore PL Rating solution for my insurance Agency. I have been working since the signing of the contract to get the system to work properly. The firm is arguing that the linked "terms" have content (not in the contract itself) about the issue. Solutions at quote is not working but was the largest selling feature. Also, I have been led to believe that this functionality is called "MSB" for months which is an add on for homeowners quotes. PL Rating does not support our carriers for homeowners! Why would I need that? However, no one has corrected me since the first of June 2013 as I try to get the issue resolved. I have been sent to another firm ***** ***** and my own carriers to get the solution to work. This is crazy! No support! Not good support! And, sales people who lie! If it was a mistake they have had 3 months to help explain and correct. Nothing! I need assistance to get resolution as this continues to be emails with no resolution to the sales person. No one in leadership will call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want to be allowed to cancel the contract with no penalty at any time as soon as we can replace the rating solution, hopefully in just a few months. I would also like the MSB refunded as it was never used by my team. It was incorrectly explained via the support confusion that MSB equates to "solutions at quote" and was never corrected. I cannot look for another solution until we have a commitment to release with no penalty from this contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ This complaint has been resolved with the customer per their request Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The firm agreed to allow us to be out of the contract, which was the desired result. The MSB was not refunded by at this point it is fine. I will not work with this firm again. I will not recommend them as well.

6/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service