BBB Accredited Business since

Mozy

Phone: (206) 336-7700 Fax: (801) 443-1801 View Additional Phone Numbers 505 1st Ave S # 600, Seattle, WA 98104 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mozy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer software and technical support as well as online data backup services.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Mozy


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mozy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mozy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mozy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2005 Business started locally: 08/01/2005 Business incorporated: 04/19/2012 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harel Kodesh, President Mr. Nate Lever, Support Manager Mr. Steve Mitsuoka, General Counsel Mr. Damien O'Halloran, Director of Support Mr. Russ Stockdale, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harel Kodesh, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Damien O'Halloran, Director of Support
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services Data Processing Equipment - Maintenance

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Decho Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 505 1st Ave S # 600

    Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 336-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not used Mozy for about two years. Suddenly, however, I received a billing charge for $125.79 on my credit card on 1/24/2015. I do not even have the Mozy icon on my computer not to mention that I do not back up with Mozy, nor have I for a while. The reason I am filing a complaint so soon is because there is no way that I can see on the Mozy website to contact Mozy, especially for a (in this case, former) home customer. All attempts to contact Mozy by phone require some sort of customer number and I see no other way to find information or get resolution in the support database.

Desired Settlement: I am simply requesting a refund of $125.79.

Business Response: Hi ****,

We apologize that you've run into issues with our service. Will you please provide us with the email address on the account? We'll also need to know the type of credit card (Visa/AMEX/etc...) the last four digits of the card, and the full name on the card. As soon as we have this info, we'll be able to pull up your account information and get things sorted.

Much thanks,

Mozy Support

Consumer Response: One other thing. Although I accepted the response, I did not realize that Mozy did not provide an e-mail address by which I could give them the credit card information they requested for the refund. I am hereby making this request for an e-mail address because otherwise I do not know how to contact them.

Business Response: Hi ****,

Thanks for the reply. I will have an agent reach out to you so that we can grab the required info that is needed so that we can resolve your issue.

Much thanks,

Mozy Support

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for Mozy, and was offered a free phone call to help me with the installation and initial set-up. At the end of the phone call, I was told that because I had a Mac computer, I needed to talk with an agent at a company called ***** They would make sure that I didn't have any viruses that I would inadvertently upload with my files. I spoke with the **** representative, **** ********** and while we were talking, he said he noticed "zombies" on my computer that showed I had viruses. He then told me that I would need a "tune up and clean up." He said that the ***** ***** would charge me $200, but that he could do it for me for $149. I've since spoken to the ***** store, and they told me that they don't know anything about "zombies" and that any problem like that would be taken care of at the ***** store for free. I absolutely believe this was a scam. I then attempted to contact Mozy. I spoke to someone through an online chat because there is no phone number for home customers to access customer service (which is incredibly maddening). The chat representative told me to email ******* ********, a support supervisor. I emailed him on March 28 and told him this whole story. He replied April 2, and said he would check into it and get back to me. It is now April 19, and even though I have contacted him again numerous times, I've never heard anything else from him.

Desired Settlement: I've cancelled my account. I want to make sure that I am never billed or contacted again by Mozy. I want all the fees I paid for the first month of service to be reimbursed, and I would also like to know if any follow up actions have been taken with **** or any of the the Mozy representatives who completely dropped the ball.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 23, 2014/06/06) */ *****, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. We've reviewed your request and have verified that your account is indeed closed with us. All communication should have stopped upon account closure back in April. I've also requested a full refund of all fees paid. This refund will be made available to you within the next 3-5 business days. We apologize that your experience with us and our 3rd party provider **** was less than pleasant but we sincerely wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. Be safe, Mozy Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 25, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am satisfied with the response. I have not yet received my refund, but I'm assuming that I will. I wish I could know what actually happened, and if there were any measures taken to follow up with ****. I will still never use Mozy again, or recommend it to anyone.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February 2014, I received an email informing me that Mozy had billed my ". . .credit card ending in xxxx for $125.79 for a biennial subscription to Mozy Home 50 GB." I did not approve this subscription. Furthermore, when my personal IT person searched my system, he was unable to find Mozy on it. In addition, he noted that there had been no back up on my system in over 300 days. IT person then ascertained that Mozy had apparently not been installed, nor was he able to succeed installing Mozy. I tried the following ways to contact Mozy, all to no avail: Phone: ************ ("Call the '877' number.") X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. The operator suggested I try ***********@Mozy.com, to which I received the reply "Windows was unable to find this." Also tried mozy.com, plus email, plus reset, plus support, with no result. Next I entered Mozy.com, plus my email address, plus my password, and was rejected. I am very logical and precise in using my pc and in correctly entering passwords, so this has been a tedious process of an exercise in futility. I am requesting a refund of my $125.79 and a cancellation of any subscription to Mozy now and in the future.

Desired Settlement: $125.79 refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Hello *****, We sincerely apologize for the troubles you've had in attempting to contact us. In order to cancel your account, we'll need to verify your account details first. In order to do so, please review the following KB article http://support.mozy.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/How-do-I-cancel-my-MozyHome-account. You may also attempt to contact us via chat at http://support.mozy.com/. If you are having troubles remembering your password, use the "Forgot Password" feature and a helpful email will be sent. Please let us know if additional assistance is required. Be safe, **** *******

5/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first subscribed to the Mozy Pro cloud back-up service on February. On February 7, I put in a request to cancel the service. I wrote several follow-up emails, all with no response. Today, March 20, I have finally received notification that the account has been canceled. However,k the $9.99 that they charged me just last week AFTER I had put in a request for cancellation back in February has not been refunded. I believe this is not correct. I was never even able to use the service because the software was so buggy, which is the reason I canceled the same day I bought it. I actually believe they owe me $19.98, but I would settle for even the $9.99. From what I can see in Google searches, this company has had many of these same sorts of complaints.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the full $19.98 they have charged refunded to me. Failing that, I believe that at the least they should refund the $9.99 they charged my account this month -- a month after I initiated my first attempt to cancel the account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 23, 2014/05/06) */ Hello, We apologize for the delay in our response. Our finance team indicates that a full refund was requested and processed 03/28. The refund would have been processed onto your card shortly after. Will you please confirm? Thanks, Mozy Support

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several years ago I requested information from Mozy when I was researching online storage. Since that time, and even though I never bought or used their service, I have been spammed with Mozy junk. I contacted their customer service, who responded that they would look into the problem. Their response was that I had to sign in to their site (not just unsubscribe from their website link) and find some esoteric way to get deleted. I don't even remember whatever username or password I used several years ago, once to make this work. A second email contact to the same customer service representative has not elicited a response. I want to get off any/all Mozy email lists.

Desired Settlement: I want to get off any/all Mozy email lists --- permanently. Simple.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/21) */ Hi ***, Thanks for contacting us via the BBB. I've checked the email address you provided and it appears that you actually have two accounts with us. One was created back in 2008 but wasn't activated, and the second was created back in March of 2013. Both are free accounts and have no financial obligation whatsoever. Both accounts use *******@netscape.net and would most likely be the reason for the emails from us. Am I correct in understanding you'd like to cancel your accounts? which in turn will put a stop to our emails? Thanks, **** Mozy Support Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have told the company before, in several emails, that I do not want any communication of any kind from them. That seems to be too difficult a concept for them to grasp and take action on. For that reason I do not accept the above solution. They have proven to be untrustworthy. Final Business Response /* (1000, 30, 2014/04/03) */ ***, Our sincere apologies for the frustrations you encountered. I've gone ahead and removed both of your accounts from our system. Both accounts had 0 bytes of data backed up with us. The removal of these accounts will terminate any additional correspondence or interactions from us. Be safe, Mozy Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been down this road before. Mozy will ask for my username and password, which if they ever existed it was years ago when I was learning about their products, and no longer have. I don't want any communication with Mozy. They don't need my (non-existent) username and password to delete me from customer contact lists or any email list. They obviously know what the two lists are, and they know the email address that I want removed. Just do it already (as I have requested several times, which is my complaint).

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to cancel this service for about 2 years and i continue to be charged $5.99 each month. I have called and they will not help. I feel that this business is a trap and once you are in you can never leave. Very disappointed

Desired Settlement: I would simply like to cancel my service and receive a refund. I used the service for 1 week as a test and have never used it again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/17) */ *** *****, Thank you for contacting via the Better Business Bureau. We apologize that you are less than satisfied with the service you've received. I attempted to locate your account in our system using the email address you provided, but am unable to locate your account. Did you sign up under a different email address? If you'd like to cancel your account on your own, you may do so by following these steps: To Cancel your MozyHome Account: 1. Log into your account at Mozy.com/login 2. Click "My Profile" on the left side of the window. 3. Under Communications in the middle of the window: uncheck the "Mozy Newsletter", and Mozy "email notifications". 4. Then click on the "delete account" link next to "member since". 5. Please answer the questionnaire, click submit. Note: Once an account is deleted all data that was associated with the account will no longer be available. You may also open a Support case with us by visiting http://support.mozy.com/ and clicking on "My Support." Any of our Support agents will be able to assist you with your request. Sincerely, **** Sr. Manager, Moz Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/11/18) */ I signed up for Mozy 3 years ago. The next day I wanted to cancel and $ is still coming out of my acct. $5.95 for 3 years! I have tried to cancel and they won't let me cancel. I would like a refund of my money I would simply like a refund and to cancel auto debit from my credit card. I am going to go "social" with this about how lousy this is. It is not right. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/11/22) */ *** *****, As stated on 07/17/2013, we are unable to locate your account via the email address you've provided. We'd love to get this sorted for you but are unable to until we have valid account credentials. Have you attempted to contact us via our Support channels? If not, additional account assistance can be obtained by visiting http://support.mozy.com/. Either way, please provide us with the account email address you used to signup or access Mozy. Thanks, **** Sr. Manager, Mozy

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Business Name is****************************. I purchased Mozy Pro 1 year ago.This past june I transferred all of my Data to **** / **** wanted to also put my Data on their Cloud base. I spoke with Mozy they assured me if I went up to 42 gb I would have enough space with them to have them backup all of my Data. My Business computers Crashed on the weeken of 8/18 I lost everything. Mozy did not back up any of my data since june. they now tell me I did not have enough space with them and they could not backup I should have set my own alerts to know that. I was never advised or sent any emails or alerts from Mozy that they could not do it. When I asked to speak with Supervisors I was told they could not give out names of supervisors. When I asked who the President of the company was no one knew and they said they probably could not give out that information anyway.

Desired Settlement: I am requsting that mozy reimburse me for the restoration cost that my company incurred for their mistake in not backing up my Data.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/05) */ *** *****, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. Your current case with us is XXXXXXXX and is currently awaiting your reply. Please log in to our Support portal at support.mozy.com and respond accordingly. All discussions regarding reimbursement and issue resolution will take place via the Mozy Portal. Mozy Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have Spoken to several supervisors at Mozy Pro they do not stand by their Advertising word "You shouldn't Have To Think About Back Up" "Backup should be set up once then work automatically" They have told us that we should have checked to see that the system was not backing up properly after we upgraded in June. The system stopped backing up June when we upgraded apparently there was not enough gigs . We would have purchased more if necessary we were not advised because the backup as we thought was working and our system was adequate so we thought. Mozy did not advise us properly nor did they Backup our system. Supervisors are not giving us correct information. they Also will not give us the name of the president of the company. They also will not work with us on rembursment For the cost recovering the Data. We keep receiving E mails that our case is closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/09/25) */ *** *****, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. As stated previously, we will not reimburse 3rd party data recovery services. However, we are working on providing you with a resolution through your case XXXXXXX. We should have an update for you on the case within the coming days. Mozy Support

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Only partial refund offered on service period (12 months beginning 10/1/12). I contacted Mozy on July 31 after going 10 days without back-up service. After 2 days of unsatisfactory customer service contact, I uninstalled Mozy on August 2. By that time I had gone 12 days without back-up service. I requested a refund for two months of my pre-paid Mozy contract-August and September-but was told I would receive a refund for September only. When I called the Seattle corporate office requesting phone assistance from the Billing Department, I was told there was no phone number for the Billing Department, and there was no one to take my call. Then, when I attempted to recontacted Customer Service via email, there was also no response to my request for assistance on this matter. No response to my email whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for the months of August and September 2013, according to the terms of the annual contract for service that began Oct 1, 2012.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/29) */ *********, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. We apologize for the experience you had with us. I've reviewed your account and Support correspondence with us and have determined you are eligible for a refund in August. I've made the request and the funds should be returned to you in 7-10 business days. Be safe, Mozy Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/09/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the business's response...only wish they had treated my case appropriately from the start, as it appears to me they only came to this decision because I went to the BBB.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5/19/13 Mozy sent email regarding $109.89 charge applied to my credit card. 5/21/13 I cancelled my subscription and requested a refund. 5/25/13 I opened a case (Case Number: XXXXXXXX) to close account and issue refund. 5/25/13 Mozy sent email with instruction to uninstall app and verify 4 digit of credit card number. 5/25/13 I uninstalled app. 7/21/13 I email Mozy back indicating that I have not received a refund and I had missed the part about verifying the 4 digits on the credit card number. No response. 8/22/13 I contact them again. No response. 8/26/13 I contact them again. No response. Their support number requires a case number. When I enter the above case number, the system does not recognize it. I cannot log into my account to open another case because it doesn't recognize my email. Bottomline: They billed me for a year's subscription and have not refunded the charge after I cancelled the subscription.

Desired Settlement: My refund!! $109.89

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/29) */ *** *********, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB and our sincere apologies for the delay in our response. I've reviewed your account and Support case with us and have submitted a request to have a full refund in the requested amount placed back onto your AMEX card ending 3011. This refund should process and be available to you within the next 7-10 business days. We sincerely wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. Be safe, Mozy Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased product for 219.89 on 5/6 product did not work for the situation i need it for. asked for a refund on 5/8 MozyPro: Cancellation Request Reminder ref:_*********._XXXXXLkGMo:ref had several emails about a refund and talk with a ******* there and said they would issue a refund.. it 7-30 still nothing.

Desired Settlement: my refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/29) */ *****, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. Our apologies for the delay in getting back with you. I've reviewed your request and have put in a request to refund your account in the requested amount. Please allow 7-10 for the funds to become available to you. If there are any issues after that time frame, please let us know and we'll get on it. We wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. Be safe, Mozy Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) RECIEVED THE REFUND, THANK YOU

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have been a customer of MOZY since 2009 and have several clients that use MOZY PRO software to provide "unassisted and unattended backup service to the cloud". In 2011 Mozy lost 1 file that we needed to restore and could not be found. Since that time they provided an additional 1 year of service at no charge. This past year I have had to get additional assistance due to MOZY PRO backup software not backing up properly. Each time it has taken days for me to get assistance. My Customer # is XXXXXXXXX and my current ticket XXXXXXXX number that is taken two days already. I have ticket XXXXXXXX from june 25, XXXXXXXX on 3/12, XXXXXXXX feb 22, XXXXXXXX may 2012, XXXXXXX july 11, XXXX XXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: 1) Correct their business model from "SET IT AND FORGET IT" to " WE ARE LOUSY" 2) CREDIT OUR ACCOUNT WITH 1 YEAR SERVICE, of Which when we find another service they will refund the money to our credit cards. 3) Require their technicians to advise users when they are aware that they have a database problem and send advisories to all users on that database of time when service would be restored.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ ** *******, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. We apologize that your experience has been less than what you expect. I've reviewed your account history and see that case XXXXXXX and XXXXXXXX have been opened on your behalf. Please continue to work with our technicians as they attempt to resolve your issue. Mozy Support Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have continually provided less than even minimum support level. It is not resolved because they continue to advertise "the set it and forget it" and as mozy support personal will tell you it isn't. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/08/19) */ BBB, As indicated in previous correspondences with *** *******... ***** ******* has stated his original issue is resolved... His suggestions for our Support response/handling will also be reviewed and remedied as applicable." Furthermore, our Support offerings are clearly defined and have been explained to *** ******* on numerous occasions. See http://mozy.com/products/. Lastly, if *** ******* is not satisfied with the level of service he is receiving he is under no obligation to remain with us. Based upon the comments made in his original complaint, he seems to believe there may be a better backup provider for him, and we sincerely wish him the best in his future backups endeavors. We will not entertain further discussions with *** ******* regarding this matter. Mozy Support

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund for service cancellation and very poor customer service. I canceled my Mozy Home online backup plan in February 2013.I have since then been unsuccessful at contacting Mozy about my refund of $125 which was charged to my credit card.There is no phone number that the company provides and all attempts at online chats and emails have gone unanswered.It has been almost 6 months and yet there has been no response.Though I don't use the service any longer, I have yet to get a refund. The customer service is horrible and the company makes it very difficult to collect the refund that is owed.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum I am seeking to get a refund from the date of cancellation. Also compensation for the time I have wasted in attempting to contact Mozy and the futility of the process!!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 25, 2013/08/21) */ *** ************, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. I've reviewed your complaint and have submitted a request to refund your account for$125.79 The refund will be placed onto your card ending 1004 in the next 7-10 business days. We apologize that your experience with us was less than expectations. We sincerely wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. Be safe, Mozy Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 27, 2013/08/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This response from Mozy comes finally after a great deal of time and effort on my part. My primary goal was to get a refund for the charges on my card for a service I was not using any longer. I was hoping the company would value my time and offer me some compensation for the hours I have wasted trying to get my money back. However since that was not forthcoming, I accept the company's response and hope to see a credit to my account within 7 business days.

7/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As confirmed by your employees, your website does NOT let consumers cancel billing to their credit cards. I spent over an hour searching your site for a "Cancel Account" function. It was not until I found a chat area, that one of your employees confirmed I could not cancel billing to my credit card on your website, and that I would have to wait for someone from your company to call me. While it is common practice among some companies to make it difficult for customers to stop doing business with their company, it is unethical.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account and remove charges.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/18) */ Mr. *******, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. We apologize that your experience in canceling your account was less than pleasant. Security is very important to us and as such we require all of our MozyPro accounts to cancel with us over the phone. Business data is often considered critical and as such additional security policies are in place to protect the integrity of the account. We sincerely wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. Thanks, **** Sr. Manager, Mozy Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I stand by my complaint. IF you wanted to make it reasonably possible for a customer to cancel their account, you would provide instructions right on the customer's Account/Billing information page informing consumers that they need to CALL you in order to cancel their account - but you don't. When I found a Product Support telephone number on your website, a recording told me I would first need to "enter your 9 digit support I.D." (which of course I could not have had because I was initiating my first call) so I was not able to speak to a human at your company to cancel my account. Also, when I typed How do I cancel my account? in your help area, I was presented with a large number of frustrated consumer posts complaining of also not knowing how or where to cancel their account. Providing clear instructions as to where a consumer has to go to cancel their account with you has nothing to do with "Security or integrity of an account." It was not until i spent over an hour searching for where to cancel my account and finally engaged in an online chat on your site with one of your support representatives (who by the way said he could not cancel my account, but would have someone call me) was I then finally able to cancel my account when someone called me and asked why I wanted to cancel my account. The BBB should post my complaint in support of consumers until your company posts clear instructions on your Account/Billing information page as to how they can cancel their account if they so choose. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/07/10) */ Mr. *******, We appreciate the feedback. There were several knowledge base articles and resources available to you. We apologize that you had difficulty locating them. http://support.mozy.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/How-do-I-cancel-my-MozyPro-account. We do value your feedback and will look into improving our processes surrounding account cancelation. Again, we wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. **** Sr. Manager, Mozy

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for Mozy Computer Backup service through ********. The company charged my credit card, but the backup did not work. I immediately e-mailed for a refund on 5/9/13. I e-mailed again on 5/13, and 5/18. This company is imposssible to reach. They require use of a web site which is cumbersome and hard to use. I was unable to use it to request cancellation, and refund of charge. The charge made to my **** was $49.99. I am also afraid that they will charge me again in one year.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund the $49.99 to my ****, to cancel the account, and verification in writing that my account will not ever be charged in the future.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/03) */ ******, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. We apologize that your experience has been less than pleasant. I understand that ******** is a reseller of the Mozy product. While we do have a stringent application process, every now and then a complaint will be lodged against one of our resellers. While I'd love to help, your payment currently resides with ********* and we do not have access to your information or the details of your account or contract. Unfortunately, there isn't anything I can really do on your behalf other than to encourage you to keep trying to reach ******** directly. My sincere apologies but I wish you the best in getting this issue sorted. **** Sr Manager, Mozy by EMC Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mozy did not resolve the issue for me. However, the issue was resolved by working with *******, and ****************. Mozy has very poor customer support. If a customer is not "computer-savvy" they are totally helpless and it is impossible to reach a real person to help. I am very dissatisfied with Mozy, however the issue was resolved by *******, and ****. Thanks BBB for your help. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/07/02) */ BBB, The customer indicated that no further action is needed. As a reseller of our product, ******** handles all direct billing and other Support related issues. From the Mozy side of things this case is resolved. Thanks, **** Sr. Manager, Mozy

6/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a mozy account and my card was charged but I was NEVER able to log in and access my account. When I contacted the company to cancel my account, they said I dont have an account. I continue to receive bills and email correspondence from the company but they will not cancel my account despite the fact that I have forwarded the bill they sent me to there technical support team member ****** ****** He advised me he couldn't find my account and then stopped replying to my emails.

Desired Settlement: I want my account cancelled and I do not want any correspondence from the company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/03) */ *******, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. I too have attempted to find your account using your email address *****************@gmail.com and have been unsuccesful. Is there another email address that might have been used? Or a list of email addresses that we can try? Thanks, **** Sr. Manager, Mozy by EMC Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you very much. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/25) */ *******, Thank you for your patience while we investigated this issue. I've received confirmation from our Billing Dept that although you received an invoice from us, we did not charge your card. In fact, your card was declined for whatever reason but our system erroneously captured your details and sent you an invoice via email anyways. You should no longer receive additional correspondance from us. If by chance you do, please ignore them and I assure you no repercussions will happen as a result. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience in having to contact us. If you have additional questions or concerns, please let know. **** ***** Sr. Manager, Mozy

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to log on to my Mozy account to deal with an over limit notice I received from the company. I was told that I would receive a notification that an email verification would be sent before I could log on. This email was not received either in my in-box or junk mail. Subsequently, I asked that this email verification be sent again on three different occasions. As of this writing, I have not received any response. On April 26, 2013 I sent an email to Mozy's tech support and received a generic, automatic response with a case number (XXXXXXXX). There was no option to reply to this email and as of this writing Mozy has not followed up with this issue. I also posted two posts on the Mozy discussion forum under the username *********** One indicating that I never received an email verification and the other stating I would like to close my account. I received two very basic responses that were of no help. When I tried to respond to these posts, I found that my email and password were not accepted at all. After multiple tries, I am still unable to log in to my account. I find this odd as only last month Mozy accepted the same email/password combination. Trying to get the above issues addressed is difficult enough but I can't even log in cancel my own account. Mozy provide a phone number or email in which to deal with such issues. Mozy does not give free support even to deal with account issues unless you pay or have a pro account. After reading other related posts on the discussion forum, I find my situation is not unique and numerous others have the same issues and complaints.

Desired Settlement: I want Mozy to cancel my account and refund any charges that may have occurred in 2013.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/13) */ *******, Thank you for contacting us via the Better Business Bureau. I've reviewed your case and it appears as though our Support Representatives have reached out to you via cases XXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXX. Your account has also been canceled as requested. If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact us via our directed Support channels. http://support.mozy.com/ Regards, Mozy Support

6/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER OF THEIRS FOR YEARS AND PAY 19.99 A MONTH FOR THEM TO KEEP MY FILES BACKED UP. EVERYTIME I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THEM I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THEM CORRECTING THEM. I HAD TO CHANGE CREDIT CARDS A COUPLE DIFFERENT TIMES FOR PERSONAL REASONS BUT DID CORRECT AND THEN THEIR SOFTWARE WOULD NOT BACKUP PROPERLY. WHEN I DID AN ONLINE CHAT WITH THEIR EMPLOYEE THIS MORNING THEY TOLD ME THEY WOULD ISSUE CREDIT FOR ONE MONTH FOR ALL PROBLEMS EXPERIENCED THIS MORNING THEN ANOTHER EMPLOYEE TOLD ME NO. I PAY THEM ALMOST $240 A YEAR FOR THIS SERVICE AND SHOULD EXPECT BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE THAN THIS. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THEM OVER THE SAME ISSUE EITHER. MOZY LIKES TO TAKE THE MONEY FROM THEIR CUSTOMERS BUT DOES NOT PROPERLY ISSUE CREDITS WHEN THEY TELL CUSTOMERS.

Desired Settlement: BECAUSE THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THEM AND IF THEY WOULD LIKE TO KEEP ME AS A CUSTOMER WHEN CUSTOMERS ARE ALWAYS SUPPOSED TO BE RIGHT THEN THEY NEED TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND I BELIEVE A PORTION OF THOSE FEES I PAID THROUGHOUT THE YEAR SHOULD BE REFUNDED ESPECIALLY WHEN ONE EMPLOYEE TELLS ME I SHOULD BE ENTITLED TO AND ANOTHER SAYS NO.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/06/10) */ *** ******* Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. I've requested that our Mozy Support Center open a case for you and reach out shortly. They will be able to better assist you with your current issues and any billing related questions you have. Thank you, **** Sr. Manager, Mozy

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mozy to discontinue the backup service which I have not used this entire year. As far as I know, in the years that I have had Mozy, it has backed up my files only once. Therefore, the product is not useful to me. I think I followed the unhelpful procedure to uninstall correctly, but received no response from the company. This request to discontinue would have been done toward the end of April 2013, I think. Contacting the company was almost impossible and the instructions for uninstalling Mozyhome were difficult to say the least. But I thought I was done. Then I received my credit card bill, and Mozy had billed me for another year of service. As a senior citizen with vision difficulties, my oonly recourse is to go to BBB for help. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Please have the company cancel its bill for service. Thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/03) */ ******, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. Your concern is very important to us. I've reviewed your case personally and agree that a refund is probably in order. I've refunded your card ending 9929 for $109.89. This should be reflected on your card within the next 7-10 days. I also verified that your account has been canceled as of 05/02/2013. We sincerely wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. **** Sr. Manager, Mozy

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using mozy.com to back up my computers hard drive since 2010. In that time I have had to recover files on a few occasions. I recently needed to recover some files that were accidentally deleted from my computer (precisely why I paid for mozy's services). I discovered that since I updated to Mac OS X 10.6.8 (last summer) my computer has not been being backed up. I searched thru my inbox to see if I received a notice that my hard drive was no longer being insured and all I found was continued billing notices. I have been paying for mozy's services for months without actually receiving any services. After speaking to customer service representatives I realized that I don't have faith in the mozy brand and would like to take my business elsewhere, where I feel safe and secure, not swindled. I requested I be compensated for the time I was paying for a service I was not recieving and they offered to give me a year free of service, which I considered to be fair until I did further research and realized there is a lot of bad reviews for mozy and they do not offer all the services I desire. I told them I had considered the offer and would prefer a refund instead. They have denied my request for a refund several times, offering different reasons (namely, that they will give me a year free) as to why they will not refund me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the months of service I did not receive the service I was paying for.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/11) */ *** *****, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. I've quickly reviewed your case and have asked our Support team to review all previous correspondance and cases. The review process can take anywhere between 10 and 14 days. I'll come back and update this BBB case as soon as a determination on your requested refund is made. The Mozy internal case number is XXXXXXXX. Additional correspondance may take place but it will take place via the Mozy case system. Thank you, **** Sr. Manager, Mozy Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/06/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am promised a refund for the services I was paying for and not receiving.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was unaware that Mozy would keep charging me each year--my mistake! Since the service wasn't working, I wasn't using it and I was startled to get an email that I was being charged. That same day, I canceled my account and the next day I called to see if I could get a refund--since one gets charged for a year of service and I had canceled on the day the service began. The phone attendant said that she could not cancel my account nor could she transfer me to anyone who could. She said the only way to resolve the issue was through email. I emailed the company and am still waiting to hear from them.

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to return the fee they have charged me since I have canceled my account on the day the service was to begin and I will not be receiving the year of service. I want a refund.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/17) */ Hello ****, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. I can see that you contacted us directly on 04/11/2013 and that the matter was resolved. If this in not the case, please reach out to us directly and I'd be more than happy to get you in touch with the right people to get it resolved. Regards, **** Mozy Support

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The backup client downloaded and installed was never able to complete a backup. Technical support offered no advice. When asked for a refund none was granted based on the policy, but in light of the fact that the service never worked I believe a refund is in order.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the 11.99 charged to me for the month.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/24) */ Mr. *******, Thank you for contacting us via the BBB. I've requested that we refund you $11.99. The refund will be placed back onto your original payment source within the next 7-10 business days. We sincerely wish you the best in your future backup endeavors. Regards, Mozy Support Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/05/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you kindly. I wish it did not have to come to this, but I appreciate that it was handled so quickly to get back money. I will have you know we use your product at the integration company that I worked for, but seriously considered turning away from it. This experience has brought light back to the situation and I believe it was handled equistely.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service