This business is not BBB accredited.


Phone: (503) 624-1827 Fax: (503) 620-0588

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers computer and electronic sales.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PowerMax include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PowerMax
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 1994 Business started: 05/01/1949 Business started locally: 05/01/1949 Business incorporated 05/27/1949 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Kevin Anderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Anderson, President
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts Computers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
PowerMax PowerMax Companies Inc

Additional Locations


    6077 Lakeview Blvd Ste A

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (888) 769-7629 (503) 624-1827


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: charged me $19.95 for operating system discs after the supplied software load for the computer I bought was incomplete. Reloaded thew software and returned the discs but they refuse refund the $19.95. I have a store credit from a return they wouldn't refund, tried to buy products labelled In Stock from their web site with that credit and they're stalling my order because I asked for a refund and a new customer service rep. If they won't return my money, they shouldn't be playing games with my credit balance.

Desired Settlement: Expedite my order #****** promptly and refund the balance $69.14 of my credit including the $19.95 they charged me to reload the incomplete operating system.

Business Response: The customer does have credit on account of $69.14, and we will happily refund it. In looking at the customer history there seems to be a little confusion regarding some returns, etc., but in our last transaction we had no note that the remaining credit was desired to be refunded. But now that the request has been made we will of course put it through our refund process right away.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a iMac on 12-8-14 and recieved it on 12-12-14. I ran a hardware scan on 12-18-14 it came up with an error 4MOT/1/400000003:HDD-1338 and HDD-1345. Then I went to apple definitions it said Fan Motor. I called and told ***** this he said he had to speak to the Tech department. So I waited 45 Min. for call back. So I called again and spoke to ********. I asked why this was not looked into before it was sent out? It says right on their web site PowerMAx does a bench test. Also on the order form that came in the box said it has a bent foot. So they adjusted price. This has made it so the monitor will not push up. It hangs down! They did not bother to see if I was fine with this. When I called the first time ***** said this was a reason to send back for refund. I agreed with ****** Do you record the phone calls? I would like a manager to listen to the conversation. We spoke to ******** about what she could do to help us because this is our daughter Christmas gift. ******** said I would have to pay for a new computer if we wanted it before Christmas. So ******** wanted us to pay for shipping two times on this first computer. A 10% restocking fee. Also pay for a new computer and shipping one more time on a second computer. All because PowerMax did not do their due diligence in this transaction. PowerMAx expects that I hold up my end of this agreement by paying several times for two computers plus shipping and 10% restocking. That would cost me $871.31. When I agreed to just pay $383.70. Also I would have an iMac computer under my Christmas Tree for my daughter. Now I have nothing. PowerMAx said they could not helping me.

Desired Settlement: I would like PowerMax to pay for overnight shipping on this first iMAc. So PowerMax can get the first iMac verified in time. If PowerMax does not believe it is DOA (dead on Arrival) the bent foot should be enough. PowerMax has that in their own description on their own order form. I should not have to pay for a second computer or 10% restocking.I should also Get a second computer guaranteed by Christmas. I am not asking for a free iMac just for reasonable costumer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/19) */ We had already set this up for a full refund.